Sinkies your HDB flat got no value

Well the other way PAP could do it is to give residents "something" when their flat leases expire. But only if they vote PAP.
Hey hey, why you give them ideas again?

At least some residual/scrap value? Don't think they are so magnanimous or generous.

Hey hey, why you give them ideas again?

At least some residual/scrap value? Don't think they are so magnanimous or generous.

Probably in the form of credits to pay towards their next HDB flat.

Oh I wrote this way back in 2004 in the old delphiforum days. So I am sure the PAP already knows of this idea a long long time now. They are just waiting for those flats to reach those ages.

If the PAP is worried about being able to hold on to power they might also start to have cheaper flats but with substantially shorter leases. Instead of 99 maybe 60 years. How that will affect the broader property market I don't know. But certainly banks may get more anxious to offer mortgages to HDB owners.

It will be good business. Extend the leases. Tell people you can use CPF to pay for it (thereby reducing a large chunk of CPF burden)
yalor, can extend leases by another 69 years machiam like giving out reverse mortgages or equity loans but with the caveat of hdb tenants surrendering flats back to gov upon death or demise plus children and grandchildren servicing loans that still have balances. win win win for gov. huat ah!