• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

To all Sg fugitives in Thailand : Is Ramkamhaeng a nice place to live ?

talking about moonshine and whisky......my MIL place up in Nong Khai is near to the Mekhong whisky factory....

just realized bro GD got his own brand of whisky here in LOS.....:biggrin:

View attachment 2417
Sang Som is quite a challenge. Definitely cannot drink neat. Minimum with Soda. Quite "rough" for my taste. Even not many locals can handle Sang Som. Most will go for 285 or 100 piper. The other one is Satho, Issan home brewed rice wine. Look quite innocent but can be quite powderful.

My favorite was Spey Royal, the purple boxed one available from Tops or Tesco off the shelves. When I lived there, I usually bought the twin-bottle pack that came with nice whisky glasses.

Talking Donkey

Alfrescian (S)
I've been to hatyai everal times when i was base in penang and I feel that it is one of the better place in thailand to live in.
I live in a apt owned by my friend a well known smuggling kingpin in liquors and ciggies,his connection with the immigration officers
on both side of the sadao/bkh checkpoint is amazing,once we wanted to go hatyai n i forgot to bring my passport,he says no problem
a few call to his buddies and its smooth sailing all the way.
another reminder to bros,do not use your credit cards to pay for any merchandise or fnb..
chances of your credit cards being duplicate is very very high in penang,kedah,langkawi,all borders and hatyai.
i've seen it all.:biggrin::biggrin:

Hi Chonburifc.

100 sqwa is very big. Assuming land cost is cheap but the cheapest in Bangkok or the areas you mentioned is unlikely to be less than 23,000THB. Even is Pathumthani areas near to Rangsit ot Khlong Luang is around 18,000-25,000 THB meaning just the land itself it will be around 2mil THB. I fhas a house it can easile be around 4-5mil. I guess for the cheapest house and I am assuming with 50-60 sqwa at outskirt will easilly be 4mil. Let me check with my staff who live in a moo baan in Suvarnabhumbi's KingKaew area.

OK, allow me to go back to BKK, possibly back to Ramkhamhaeng.

Don't know if this is realistic. Looking for a 2-3 bedroom house in Bangkok with about 100-120 Tarang Wa total area. Budget is THB 2.5-3 mil and main purpose is for staying a 3-4 times a month as I intend to to start some small investment in BKK. Do not mind the sub-urbans. Prefer areas close to the airport (Rom Klao, Sri Nakarin. Bang Na expressway) as it is also easier to go to and fro my homeground, Pattaya. Will also consider Sri Racha.

Any recommendations from BKK experts?

I'm not a fan of big mansion, even if I have the land or money. I just a like a small comfy studio apartment. What the hell am I going to do with big mansion or big land? I just need somewhere to live reasonably comfortably.

Khun Ying Pojaman

Any recommendations from BKK experts?
6120b1.jpg

http://promothai.com/rental/bangkok-6120.html

I think to fit bro's budget have to go really outskirts to nonthaburi or pathumthani....
By comparison, my house upcountry in udon is 105 wah basic price already 1.8 mil up...

Hi Chonburifc.

100 sqwa is very big. Assuming land cost is cheap but the cheapest in Bangkok or the areas you mentioned is unlikely to be less than 23,000THB. Even is Pathumthani areas near to Rangsit ot Khlong Luang is around 18,000-25,000 THB meaning just the land itself it will be around 2mil THB. I fhas a house it can easile be around 4-5mil. I guess for the cheapest house and I am assuming with 50-60 sqwa at outskirt will easilly be 4mil. Let me check with my staff who live in a moo baan in Suvarnabhumbi's KingKaew area.

I'm not a fan of big mansion, even if I have the land or money. I just a like a small comfy studio apartment. What the hell am I going to do with big mansion or big land? I just need somewhere to live reasonably comfortably.

It really depends how much time you spend at home.

A big mansion can serve several purposes. Can have orchard and farm within the compound. Swimming pool, tennis court, jogging track, library, music room, and several dogs. Inside, can have cinema, gym and other facilities.

If all the time chionging outside, then a studio apartment boleh liao.

I think to fit bro's budget have to go really outskirts to nonthaburi or pathumthani....
By comparison, my house upcountry in udon is 105 wah basic price already 1.8 mil up...

Yes, outskirts especially near to the Survanabhumi airport is ideal. Another recommendation from Bro joetys is KingKaew. Personally, I do not need the big living space but half will be converted to office/store/showroom/parking. Earlier, was thinking of renting a small office in downtown BKK but not practical as I still need to get a seperate accomodation in BKK. And so decide to go with home/office near airport option.

Seems that I need to increase my budget.

Phuket is not expensive generally, unlike it's commonly painted out to be. The only thing expensive is tuk tuk. Food and hotel or longer term apartment accommodation are reasonable. Cheap songtheao "mini bus" plies one route between Phuket town and Patong Beach only. Elsewhere, it's all tuk tuk. You'd have to be able to bargain. Speak English and you're dead carrothead. In any case, even a local Thai speaking Thai, it'd be quite expensive.

you can just rent a auto motor bike for as cheap as sin$8 a day :wink:

Which part of phuket is the best place to stay? The place where bangala road is on the west or where phuket town is on the east?

dont ever stay in phuket town ...its out of the way for most of the action in phuket ..trust me . if you dont like patong beach , you can always stay in kata beach or karon beach area ...

you can just rent a auto motor bike for as cheap as sin$8 a day :wink:
Yes, motorbike is the best option. Most Thai bikes are fully automatic, Honda Scoopy, Click and Yamaha Fino, Nuova. If you can ride a bicycle, you can ride the bikes. Few things to note when renting bikes:
1. Insurance and Taxes are paid.
2. Helmet (Protect against police and accidents)
3. Driving/Riding license is usually not required but will be important for Insurance. SG License is accepted in Thailand if you are in Thailand for less than 3 months.
4. You will also need to pay a deposit, think about THB 2000-THB3000. DO NOT DEPOSIT YOUR PASSPORT!
5. Whenever possible, rent from the hotel you are staying. Many case of rental bikes went "missing" and these small rental shop confiscated the deposit. Also tested the brakes and lookout for scratches. Small shops like to deduct from the deposits claiming scratches created after you rented the bike.
6. Parked at crowded place. Even better if can locked with a chain/padlock.
7. Try not to go too fast. Traffic condition very different and unpredictable and not everyone obeys traffic rules. Many don't even have a license.
8. If accident without injury with other bikes/cars, call the hotel if you rent the bike from them. Let them negotiate.
9. If there's injury in accident. Call local police and rescue service. One thing to note is the Rescue service is quite fast and the locals will usually call them immediately upon witnessing an incident.

dont ever stay in phuket town ...its out of the way for most of the action in phuket ..trust me . if you dont like patong beach , you can always stay in kata beach or karon beach area ...

Oic, i guess i could take some bus or whatever they have to travel to phuket town then if i stay on the other beaches.

There is hope chonburifc.

But first about Rom Klao, King Kaew, On Nut areas the going price for 3 bedroom 2 storeys house usually start with 4-5mil on a 50sqwa area and buildup 120sqm.

However if you can consider Samut Prakan, Teparak area with is also very very close to the airport it may start at 2.5mil for the same type of house as above house but on a 45sqwa land but maybe can only park one car. Now I am not talking about the Samut Prakan at Rama 2 I am talking about the area just across Bangna Trad so it is very close to the airport. See Moo Baan Bureerom (by Lalin Property - http://www.lalinproperty.com/).

You can find some properties here in King Kaew area but it should start from 4mil - http://www.pf.co.th/

Two more specific leads are here:

http://www.pf.co.th/single-detached-house/overview.aspx?project=46

http://www.pf.co.th/single-detached-house/overview.aspx?project=13

Our fellow sinkies will be pounding their chests and fucking PAP when they see these.

Yes, outskirts especially near to the Survanabhumi airport is ideal. Another recommendation from Bro joetys is KingKaew. Personally, I do not need the big living space but half will be converted to office/store/showroom/parking. Earlier, was thinking of renting a small office in downtown BKK but not practical as I still need to get a seperate accomodation in BKK. And so decide to go with home/office near airport option.

Seems that I need to increase my budget.

bro,

Samut Prakan got a brand new shopping mall? Heard its very big.....knew someone who relocated there...........claimed aiport to his house is only 15 mins....was told house prices and office rental all cheap cheap

There is hope chonburifc.

But first about Rom Klao, King Kaew, On Nut areas the going price for 3 bedroom 2 storeys house usually start with 4-5mil on a 50sqwa area and buildup 120sqm.

However if you can consider Samut Prakan, Teparak area with is also very very close to the airport it may start at 2.5mil for the same type of house as above house but on a 45sqwa land but maybe can only park one car. Now I am not talking about the Samut Prakan at Rama 2 I am talking about the area just across Bangna Trad so it is very close to the airport. See Moo Baan Bureerom (by Lalin Property - http://www.lalinproperty.com/).

You can find some properties here in King Kaew area but it should start from 4mil - http://www.pf.co.th/

Two more specific leads are here:

http://www.pf.co.th/single-detached-house/overview.aspx?project=46

http://www.pf.co.th/single-detached-house/overview.aspx?project=13

Our fellow sinkies will be pounding their chests and fucking PAP when they see these.

Right on Narong.

Then again be careful its the part of Samut Prakan near airport (teparak and Bangpli) not the part near to Rama 2. Samut Prakan is very very big. Lets just take Bangna Trad road as a divide between Bangkok and Samut Prakan its just across the road and the property price is much different.

As for new shopping mall its not one but THREE all located close to each other: IKEA (first in Thailand, 40,000sqm opening end of this year) ; The Mall (very big also, just started construction) ; China Trade Centre (mega mega 4million sqm) start construction early this year. All these 3 will bring the prices of property up in this area.

bro,

Samut Prakan got a brand new shopping mall? Heard its very big.....knew someone who relocated there...........claimed aiport to his house is only 15 mins....was told house prices and office rental all cheap cheap

Thanks. So the guy was not bullshitting me then....not savvy to Samut Prakan but think its worth an exploration....

Right on Narong.

Then again be careful its the part of Samut Prakan near airport (teparak and Bangpli) not the part near to Rama 2. Samut Prakan is very very big. Lets just take Bangna Trad road as a divide between Bangkok and Samut Prakan its just across the road and the property price is much different.

As for new shopping mall its not one but THREE all located close to each other: IKEA (first in Thailand, 40,000sqm opening end of this year) ; The Mall (very big also, just started construction) ; China Trade Centre (mega mega 4million sqm) start construction early this year. All these 3 will bring the prices of property up in this area.

Khun Ying Pojaman

bro,

To begin with, Suvarnabhumi Airport is not located in Bangkok, but Samutprakan.

Khun Ying Pojaman

Unless and until Thailand changes its Land Laws, Singaporeans will have no chance of sniffing any detached houses in Thailand. The so-called "loophole" of using one's Thai's wife to buy is a cleverly contrived scam to fleece foreigners of their hard earned money. Whichever way you look at the loophole, the foreigner will never have "ownership rights" to the property. If one is content to having a 30-year lease as protection, might as well rent the house from a third party. Buy a condo that you have have absolute ownership and rent it out. In turn, use the rental income to rent a house of your choice.