• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

To all Sg fugitives in Thailand : Is Ramkamhaeng a nice place to live ?

Yes, motorbike is the best option. Most Thai bikes are fully automatic, Honda Scoopy, Click and Yamaha Fino, Nuova. If you can ride a bicycle, you can ride the bikes. Few things to note when renting bikes:
1. Insurance and Taxes are paid.
2. Helmet (Protect against police and accidents)
3. Driving/Riding license is usually not required but will be important for Insurance. SG License is accepted in Thailand if you are in Thailand for less than 3 months.
4. You will also need to pay a deposit, think about THB 2000-THB3000. DO NOT DEPOSIT YOUR PASSPORT!
5. Whenever possible, rent from the hotel you are staying. Many case of rental bikes went "missing" and these small rental shop confiscated the deposit. Also tested the brakes and lookout for scratches. Small shops like to deduct from the deposits claiming scratches created after you rented the bike.
6. Parked at crowded place. Even better if can locked with a chain/padlock.
7. Try not to go too fast. Traffic condition very different and unpredictable and not everyone obeys traffic rules. Many don't even have a license.
8. If accident without injury with other bikes/cars, call the hotel if you rent the bike from them. Let them negotiate.
9. If there's injury in accident. Call local police and rescue service. One thing to note is the Rescue service is quite fast and the locals will usually call them immediately upon witnessing an incident.

bro, i stay in phuket for 2 years

1) theres no need to deposit any money if you want to rent a motor bike ...but sometimes need to deposit your passport ( no problem at all ) .

2) dont need to wear helmet ...if kena caught just pay 200THB ( sin$8 ) to the traffic police .

3) dont need to use chain/ padlock lah ....dont be a kiasee or kiasu sinaporean .

4) most of the motor rental shop in phuket dont have insurance so dont need any riding license ...( if kena caught by traffic police just pay 300THB (sin$12 )

5) if kena accident , dont let the bike shop know , dont ever let them negotiate among themselves ...they might just gang up and rip you off ...

This is the best advise.....if you damage bike in any way.....DO NOT go back to the shop. Forgo your deposit and push the bike off a cliff

dont need to push your bike off the cliff lah ...theres always tons of motor bike repair shop in phuket town ...its cheap ....

Whatever the case, foreigners CANNOT own any land directly unless its a fully foreign owned business owning INDUSTRIAL land for business. Not residential.

So if you have Thai wife, YES you can but land/house no problem but then it will be 100% owned by wife not even 0.0001% by foreigner. And if its a join venture company, the company can also buy land/house provided foreigner share is not more than 35%. Both cases the land owners are Thai wife and Thai company (with foreigner share not more than 35%). And in both cases personal TRUST is involve meaning you must be able to trust your Thai wife or Thai partners. I belong to the second case. The problem in the first case is what happen if the wife gone before the foreigner? Shit will hit the fan. But if you have a Thai kid then the house will go to the kid of course and as a parent you can stay to take care of your child but still you cannot own the house and land.

I agree the loop hole has full of loop holes. :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin: I don't mean Singaporeans can own any land here la but at least for the few of us staying here and "owning" it through the company or spouses here Singaporeans will get jealous.

coffee1.gif

Unless and until Thailand changes its Land Laws, Singaporeans will have no chance of sniffing any detached houses in Thailand. The so-called "loophole" of using one's Thai's wife to buy is a cleverly contrived scam to fleece foreigners of their hard earned money. Whichever way you look at the loophole, the foreigner will never have "ownership rights" to the property. If one is content to having a 30-year lease as protection, might as well rent the house from a third party. Buy a condo that you have have absolute ownership and rent it out. In turn, use the rental income to rent a house of your choice.

Forvendet

if kena accident , dont let the bike shop know , dont ever let them negotiate among themselves ...they might just gang up and rip you off ...

The way people drive and ride in Thailand, if you get into an accident, the bike shop can tell when you show up with one leg less or worse...never show up at all RIP.

dont need to push your bike off the cliff lah ...theres always tons of motor bike repair shop in phuket town ...its cheap ....
My personal experience.....
Songkran many years back.....fell off bike and broke the brake handle.....contact the rental shop and could see the glee in the guy face when he appeared....wanted 30K for repairs. I volunteered to repair the bike but he refused saying shops not open.....summoned his gang to intimidate me wanted to beat me up........end up tourist police intervene....knn police also wanted a piece of the action. Talk down to final price 15K in police station and force me to pay.....confiscated my passport......i told them need to go back hotel room to take money from safe.....wanted to escort me but told them not to worry as passport with them........went back to hotel packed my bags and fucked off from that place........back to bangkok and went to the embassy.

The way people drive and ride in Thailand, if you get into an accident, the bike shop can tell when you show up with one leg less or worse...never show up at all RIP.

dont need to be another kiasee singaporean ...theres nothing dangerous riding in thailand ...been there done that and im still here ...

My personal experience.....
Songkran many years back.....fell off bike and broke the brake handle.....contact the rental shop and could see the glee in the guy face when he appeared....wanted 30K for repairs. I volunteered to repair the bike but he refused saying shops not open.....summoned his gang to intimidate me wanted to beat me up........end up tourist police intervene....knn police also wanted a piece of the action. Talk down to final price 15K in police station and force me to pay.....confiscated my passport......i told them need to go back hotel room to take money from safe.....wanted to escort me but told them not to worry as passport with them........went back to hotel packed my bags and fucked off from that place........back to bangkok and went to the embassy.

thats why i said , never let the motor bike rental shop know you kena accident ...just go and find a bike repair shop and settle everything . with the price of sin$15k ...the bike shop can buy 3 bikes :wink:

Forvendet

dont need to be another kiasee singaporean ...theres nothing dangerous riding in thailand ...been there done that and im still here ...

It has nothing to do with kiasi or Singaporean. I travel with my wife most of the times. I have to take care of her. I'd rather pay more for safer transport.

when in thailand , nothing is safe . when i was in thailand with my wife , we also rented a bike / jeep .... nothing happen . if you really want to be safe then stay in singapore is better ...holiday is about having fun together .

thats why i said , never let the motor bike rental shop know you kena accident ...just go and find a bike repair shop and settle everything . with the price of sin$15k ...the bike shop can buy 3 bikes :wink:
No la 30k baht.....but refuse to pay as matter of principle

Forvendet

when in thailand , nothing is safe . when i was in thailand with my wife , we also rented a bike / jeep .... nothing happen . if you really want to be safe then stay in singapore is better ...holiday is about having fun together .

I've only been to Bangkok once and Phuket once. Didn't really like it there. The language was already huge barrier and problem for me. Anyway both times, we went on packaged tours with English speaking tourguides and tour bus transportation provided.

oh...fucking god ..you actucally use tourguide to visit thailand ? did they bring you for jewellery / bird nest tour :wink: holiday suppose to be adventurous and fun ...

Was about to ask the same question.

I never use tour guides or go on package tour except to Korea. Prefer to drive and enjoy the independence. If not driving, and usually Asian countries, I take public tpt.

drifter, with your Thai palaya you mean?

Was about to ask the same question.

I never use tour guides or go on package tour except to Korea. Prefer to drive and enjoy the independence. If not driving, and usually Asian countries, I take public tpt.

hi bro , yesterday got win money ?
i also love talking to the locals when im on holiday ...even got language barrier . i stop using tour package when i reach 18 years old :wink:

Forvendet

Yeah, all kinds of designated shopping stops. We understand these are all commissioned but nevermind. I didn't buy much but my wife had her fill of shoes and bags. We didn't buy foodstuff like sharkfin and birdnest since we have no idea how to cook it anyway. The adventure part was of course the free and easy hours on our own without tourguide and tour bus. That's when adventure turned boring with the language barrier, though we understand the universal language of numbers - they were trying to overprice and con us most of the times.