• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Will Govt. charge Anton Casey under Sedition Act?

numero uno

Re: What kind of retarded lawyer did Anton Casey hire?

Every company has its own policies and rules, no matter which industry they are in. Hell, sometimes it comes down to the mood of its president or CEO. Don't need a so called 'industry insider' to give us a lecture...

some of the comments here make me laugh. It just shows how sheltered and idiotic some sinkies are. All bankers are the same. they are only interested in money. His company like lehman bros, goldman sachs, Barclays etc are all con men and would give some PR shit just to appease some stupid locals. they would probably give some stupid vague response about some disciplinary measure and some sinkie would sy let's move on. But backin the boardroom the CEO would probably extend his contract so long as he brings in the dough for the company. effectively means nobody esp these asshioles bankers or investments crap people gives a shit about locals. This anton " apology" was made because he now realised he might have to leave singapore or get flak or fear his car might get vandalised or his son being ridiculed in school. It's more abbout the fact he is concerned about HIS interests. he send a lawyer letter and threaten certain website is indicative of his character typical of scums who would lie, cheat and threaten even when he is in the wrong. this type of people would never change. havinn travelled to europe and USA his attitude is one of racism and also typical of alot of overseas Brits who still think they are whites lords in a colonial world. he wouldn't dare to post such remarks in Europe or US. the fact he ridiculed a taxidriver showed what kind of real scum he is. It is deeply ingrained and cannot be cahnged overnight. he shoudl go back to UK where this type of people are a dime a dozen. BTW some of the rich locals are also no better. alot of the vitriol here is nothing but sourgrapes also.

Tuayapeh

Every company has its own policies and rules, no matter which industry they are in. Hell, sometimes it comes down to the mood of its president or CEO. Don't need a so called 'industry insider' to give us a lecture...

your avatar spoke my mind.....

i seem to be saying to you ...eh you kum nim peh eh lanjiao la .....nbccb

JHolmesJr

Marie Antoinette said something in a similar vein a few centuries ago...look what happened to her.

Tuayapeh

some of the comments here make me laugh. It just shows how sheltered and idiotic some sinkies are. All bankers are the same. they are only interested in money. His company like lehman bros, goldman sachs, Barclays etc are all con men and would give some PR shit just to appease some stupid locals. they would probably give some stupid vague response about some disciplinary measure and some sinkie would sy let's move on. But backin the boardroom the CEO would probably extend his contract so long as he brings in the dough for the company. effectively means nobody esp these asshioles bankers or investments crap people gives a shit about locals. This anton " apology" was made because he now realised he might have to leave singapore or get flak or fear his car might get vandalised or his son being ridiculed in school. It's more abbout the fact he is concerned about HIS interests. he send a lawyer letter and threaten certain website is indicative of his character typical of scums who would lie, cheat and threaten even when he is in the wrong. this type of people would never change. havinn travelled to europe and USA his attitude is one of racism and also typical of alot of overseas Brits who still think they are whites lords in a colonial world. he wouldn't dare to post such remarks in Europe or US. the fact he ridiculed a taxidriver showed what kind of real scum he is. It is deeply ingrained and cannot be cahnged overnight. he shoudl go back to UK where this type of people are a dime a dozen. BTW some of the rich locals are also no better. alot of the vitriol here is nothing but sourgrapes also.

i agree....this twacheebye mouth angmor dares to fuck around because your govrenment allows him to fuck around with you....

if he was back in london and he tries to pull such a stunt ....i assure you he will get sacked and rendered persona non grata in his "profession of bullshitters conmen and cheats" .... if hes lucky or if hes not, he will get knifed.......

SirRichard

Thanks for sharing...

I'm curious just how well paid he is ? I believe he is a high income earner but certainly don't have net worth of say 10 million...

My guess is he makes around sg 500k to 800k a year ??? Enlighten me pls.

Unfortunately, not likely to happen. this article from an industry insider says that CrossInvest does not give a shit about our opinion of their firm or their employee Anton casey.

WHY YOU SINGAPOREANS HAVE NO INFLUENCE OVER ANTON CASEY'S EMPLOYER

OK I thought I'd do a quick follow up to the Anton Casey case. Yes his remarks have been ill-judged at best, after all, there's really little to be gained by being the center of a hate campaign in Singapore. Whatever little thrill he may have gained by spouting all those snide remarks on social media cannot justify the kind of uncertainty he is facing now as this story drags on. This is another classic case of 得不偿失 - "the gains do not make up for the losses". Surely he should have known better. (Hindsight is 2020, I'm sure.)

I would like to deal with one issue though, many Singaporeans on social media have assumed wrongly that by publicly raising the fact that he works for Crossinvest - a wealth management specialist in Singapore, his employers would somehow be embarrassed by being associated with him and this story, thus forcing him to be fired. That is not going to happen at all. Look, I have worked in Singapore in 2011 in the wealth management industry and know quite a lot about this industry, so let me explain some basic facts for my readers about wealth management in Singapore.

There is a substantial expatriate community in Singapore - now we're talking about rich white expatriates here, rather than Bangladeshi construction workers or Filipino domestic maids. We're talking about the rich white expatriates who have very well paid jobs, live in beautiful condominiums, send their kids to international schools and pretty much live in their own little expatriate bubble, making virtually no contact with any local Singaporeans and have no Singaporean friends. Okay, not all expatriates are like that - but a substantial number are.

There are quite a number of wealth management companies in Singapore which specifically target white expatriates in Singapore: these companies are staffed only by white expatriates and every single one of their clients are white. Now you may wonder, why can't a rich white expatriate in Singapore use the private banking services of a local Singaporean banker? Don't they trust a local Singaporean banker? Why do they need to deal with banker from their own country?

You know, I don't even have the perfect answer to that question. This is not just a Singaporean situation, but you can go to anywhere in Asia and there will be such wealth management companies run by white bankers in Asia exclusively for white expatriates in Asia. In many cases, a white expatriate in Asia may wish to return to his country of origin after some years - so he would rather deal with someone who is familiar with the pension planning systems in the country where he plans to retire. So a Singaporean banker may know all about the CPF rules but be clueless about structuring a British pension in a tax-efficient manner. And then there's also the more basic issue of trust and customer service, the white expatriates still have a trust issue when it comes to whom they hand their money over to manage.

It was a bizarre experience for me in 2011 when I dealt with this industry- back then, I was working for a Luxembourg based fund manager and I was promoting their funds to wealth managers who serve expatriates (such as Crossinvest) across Asia. I often found myself in meetings where I was the only Asian person in the room, heck, make that the only Asian person in the office. Sometimes there may be a secretary or office manager who was Asian, but the directors, senior managers and anyone dealing with the white clients were always white. Somehow, because I had a British passport and a British accent and I worked for a European company, I was able to move around in those circles and was treated like an expatriate. (I work for a different company these days and am based back in London in 2014.)
Oh yes, I had good times in Singapore in 2011.

So - you need to understand just how small and very niche this industry is. Anton Casey is in Singapore to serve white expatriates, not Asians. As a senior wealth manager, he would probably have a very modest number of clients - all of whom are probably rich, white, British expatriates working in Singapore. Casey's job would simply revolve around servicing these clients - taking care of their pensions, tax planning needs, dealing with various issues like setting up trust funds for their children, finding the best investment opportunities and maybe even dealing with issues like inheritance planning. He doesn't need many clients as each client would pay a lot for his service and that is why he is so rich. He needs to be pretty good at his job, otherwise he won't be where he is today.

At this point, someone like my dad would quickly point out to me that there are many rich Singaporeans who need wealth management services too and these Angmoh bankers are missing out by ignoring the local Singaporean market. Guess what? They don't care - there are local Asian wealth managers serving the rich local Singaporeans and managing their wealth. These white wealth managers like Anton Casey are quite happy to deal only with white expatriates and that's just the way the wealth management market in Singapore is. If you're a rich Asian, you'll get an Asian wealth manager. If you're a rich white expatriate, you'll turn to someone like Anton Casey. That's just the way things are and that is why Anton Casey has a very well paid job in Singapore.
Oh I have fond memories of working in Singapore back in 2011...

Wealth management companies like Crossinvest serve a very small, very niche market and they are not like some company selling a product like chocolate biscuits, toothpaste or tissue paper where they need as many people as possible to buy their products. The very people who Casey has offended are Singaporeans and even if every single Singaporean in Singapore is angry with Casey - guess what? It doesn't matter one bit because every single one of his clients are British expats, none of them are local. His clients may not approve of some of his snide comments which have caused offence, but at the end of the day, they are probably more interested in the quality of his service rather than what he may have said on social media, especially since they are not personally offended by what he has said.

Gosh, this does remind me of a similar case I talked about last year. The conclusion is the same: you Singaporeans can bitch all you want on social media about an expatriate you don't like, but at the end of the day, you have no influence whatsoever on this guy's employers. You are not going to put any pressure on his employers to sack the guy because of the nature of this company's client base. The key word is niche - which is the opposite of mass market. It's economics 101 people. I remember rolling my eyes last year when I wrote about the Timetric case because none of the Singaporeanswho bitched about that company even paused for a moment to realize just how extremely niche their products are. By the same token, Crossinvest is an extremely niche company in the financial services sector.
Some businesses cater only for a niche market and do very well.

So there you go, that's my short lecture on the nature of wealth management for white expatriates in Singapore for you. It's the same thing that goes on in other Asian cities like Hong Kong, Kuala Lumpur and Bangkok. So for all the Singaporeans who are saying, "we don't need people like Anton Casey in Singapore, we have local Singaporean bankers". Guess what? You Singaporeans may not need him or want his services, but it is the white expats in Singapore who do and that's why he has a good job and earns so much.

GoldenPeriod

Thanks for sharing...

I'm curious just how well paid he is ? I believe he is a high income earner but certainly don't have net worth of say 10 million...

My guess is he makes around sg 500k to 800k a year ??? Enlighten me pls.

I also wonder how much he making....

Difficult to say, this type of job is commission based. Probably has generous company housing and car allowance, that's why he can live in nice house, and drive nice cars. I would imagine most people bragging they are rich like this asshole would have 2 cars. I guess he does not have 2 cars or his wife would send him to pick up and drop off his car.

Michael Fay

fay was just a white punk who scratch some rich bugger's cars. not even worth a mention at all. has he gone to do his rounds at hdb carparks it wouldn't even get a mention on MSM.

this pc of trash is different. he rubs shoulder and collude if you will with the rich. and the monkies scratch each others scrotums. just look at ionescu.. literally forgotten after locals being ran over.

Agoraphobic

I am not a rich bloke and am just drawing an ordinary salary. However, my needs are simple and all I hope for is the Sing Dollar doesn't depreciate badly or a property slump hits when it is time for me to, like you say, run road (although I am not in a dire situation). Hope to hang on and see a little more of the region (Myanmar, Laos, Cambodia) before that happens.

My suggestion is that you make your dough and run road soon as the tinderbox will blow up anytime.

longbow

Much would depend on size of his company. If it is a small player then indeed nothing might happen. But if company were of a certain size, Mgmt might say "please relocate to HK/Shanghai for 1 years, here is a $500K extra living allowance. You commute into Singapore every other week for business". After all what is an additional $500K to these companies.

If $500K can make it go away that is small price So lets see how. Or rather lets see how big this company is. If it were one of the larger ones (UBS, MS, CS) I guarantee you the guy would have been quietly relocated and problem solved.

Unfortunately, not likely to happen. this article from an industry insider says that CrossInvest does not give a shit about our opinion of their firm or their employee Anton casey.

WHY YOU SINGAPOREANS HAVE NO INFLUENCE OVER ANTON CASEY'S EMPLOYER

OK I thought I'd do a quick follow up to the Anton Casey case. Yes his remarks have been ill-judged at best, after all, there's really little to be gained by being the center of a hate campaign in Singapore. Whatever little thrill he may have gained by spouting all those snide remarks on social media cannot justify the kind of uncertainty he is facing now as this story drags on. This is another classic case of 得不偿失 - "the gains do not make up for the losses". Surely he should have known better. (Hindsight is 2020, I'm sure.)

I would like to deal with one issue though, many Singaporeans on social media have assumed wrongly that by publicly raising the fact that he works for Crossinvest - a wealth management specialist in Singapore, his employers would somehow be embarrassed by being associated with him and this story, thus forcing him to be fired. That is not going to happen at all. Look, I have worked in Singapore in 2011 in the wealth management industry and know quite a lot about this industry, so let me explain some basic facts for my readers about wealth management in Singapore.

There is a substantial expatriate community in Singapore - now we're talking about rich white expatriates here, rather than Bangladeshi construction workers or Filipino domestic maids. We're talking about the rich white expatriates who have very well paid jobs, live in beautiful condominiums, send their kids to international schools and pretty much live in their own little expatriate bubble, making virtually no contact with any local Singaporeans and have no Singaporean friends. Okay, not all expatriates are like that - but a substantial number are.

There are quite a number of wealth management companies in Singapore which specifically target white expatriates in Singapore: these companies are staffed only by white expatriates and every single one of their clients are white. Now you may wonder, why can't a rich white expatriate in Singapore use the private banking services of a local Singaporean banker? Don't they trust a local Singaporean banker? Why do they need to deal with banker from their own country?

You know, I don't even have the perfect answer to that question. This is not just a Singaporean situation, but you can go to anywhere in Asia and there will be such wealth management companies run by white bankers in Asia exclusively for white expatriates in Asia. In many cases, a white expatriate in Asia may wish to return to his country of origin after some years - so he would rather deal with someone who is familiar with the pension planning systems in the country where he plans to retire. So a Singaporean banker may know all about the CPF rules but be clueless about structuring a British pension in a tax-efficient manner. And then there's also the more basic issue of trust and customer service, the white expatriates still have a trust issue when it comes to whom they hand their money over to manage.

It was a bizarre experience for me in 2011 when I dealt with this industry- back then, I was working for a Luxembourg based fund manager and I was promoting their funds to wealth managers who serve expatriates (such as Crossinvest) across Asia. I often found myself in meetings where I was the only Asian person in the room, heck, make that the only Asian person in the office. Sometimes there may be a secretary or office manager who was Asian, but the directors, senior managers and anyone dealing with the white clients were always white. Somehow, because I had a British passport and a British accent and I worked for a European company, I was able to move around in those circles and was treated like an expatriate. (I work for a different company these days and am based back in London in 2014.)
Oh yes, I had good times in Singapore in 2011.

So - you need to understand just how small and very niche this industry is. Anton Casey is in Singapore to serve white expatriates, not Asians. As a senior wealth manager, he would probably have a very modest number of clients - all of whom are probably rich, white, British expatriates working in Singapore. Casey's job would simply revolve around servicing these clients - taking care of their pensions, tax planning needs, dealing with various issues like setting up trust funds for their children, finding the best investment opportunities and maybe even dealing with issues like inheritance planning. He doesn't need many clients as each client would pay a lot for his service and that is why he is so rich. He needs to be pretty good at his job, otherwise he won't be where he is today.

At this point, someone like my dad would quickly point out to me that there are many rich Singaporeans who need wealth management services too and these Angmoh bankers are missing out by ignoring the local Singaporean market. Guess what? They don't care - there are local Asian wealth managers serving the rich local Singaporeans and managing their wealth. These white wealth managers like Anton Casey are quite happy to deal only with white expatriates and that's just the way the wealth management market in Singapore is. If you're a rich Asian, you'll get an Asian wealth manager. If you're a rich white expatriate, you'll turn to someone like Anton Casey. That's just the way things are and that is why Anton Casey has a very well paid job in Singapore.
Oh I have fond memories of working in Singapore back in 2011...

Wealth management companies like Crossinvest serve a very small, very niche market and they are not like some company selling a product like chocolate biscuits, toothpaste or tissue paper where they need as many people as possible to buy their products. The very people who Casey has offended are Singaporeans and even if every single Singaporean in Singapore is angry with Casey - guess what? It doesn't matter one bit because every single one of his clients are British expats, none of them are local. His clients may not approve of some of his snide comments which have caused offence, but at the end of the day, they are probably more interested in the quality of his service rather than what he may have said on social media, especially since they are not personally offended by what he has said.

Gosh, this does remind me of a similar case I talked about last year. The conclusion is the same: you Singaporeans can bitch all you want on social media about an expatriate you don't like, but at the end of the day, you have no influence whatsoever on this guy's employers. You are not going to put any pressure on his employers to sack the guy because of the nature of this company's client base. The key word is niche - which is the opposite of mass market. It's economics 101 people. I remember rolling my eyes last year when I wrote about the Timetric case because none of the Singaporeanswho bitched about that company even paused for a moment to realize just how extremely niche their products are. By the same token, Crossinvest is an extremely niche company in the financial services sector.
Some businesses cater only for a niche market and do very well.

So there you go, that's my short lecture on the nature of wealth management for white expatriates in Singapore for you. It's the same thing that goes on in other Asian cities like Hong Kong, Kuala Lumpur and Bangkok. So for all the Singaporeans who are saying, "we don't need people like Anton Casey in Singapore, we have local Singaporean bankers". Guess what? You Singaporeans may not need him or want his services, but it is the white expats in Singapore who do and that's why he has a good job and earns so much.

Thanks for the insight. There are less angmo expats now ...many angmos are here on local terms or semi-expats term and they don't need the services of Casey.

Tarnishing Casey is necessary, at least as a minor payback, even though it might seem ineffective given the niche clientele he serves. But that pool is shrinking and it is inevitable that he will have to tap the larger pool of rich Asians, like the Chinese.

my mother brought me up to be brutally honest, so that i may call a spade a spade.

Well, its too late now if the PAP was even contemplating fucking with this asshole. I read some where he run road already. Left in the middle of the night with his tranny wife and son, caught some flight and departed. Unfortunately, our ICA cowards don't dare to fuck with him as he was leaving. You know, a "detailed examination" of his travel documents before he boards, make him miss his flight, that kind of thing. If they can harass Goh Meng Seng at the airport, they sure can harass this asshole too.

In the bigger scheme of things, the citizens of singapore have prevailed. They have forced this asshole to flee. Giving up his nice house and Porsche. His son has had to withdraw from kindergarten and disrupted his life. He is making mortgage and car payments on a house he is not living in, and a car he can't drive. His work has now been disrupted, his book of accounts is now being serviced by other people in his company who will no doubt try to steal all the business they can from him. If he is commission based, he is not making any money and his wife's business is also not being worked by her. Its not the level of punishment on this asshole that I wanted, but its something.

Well done SIngapore, Give yourself a hand.

SirRichard

Well, its too late now if the PAP was even contemplating fucking with this asshole. I read some where he run road already. Left in the middle of the night with his tranny wife and son, caught some flight and departed. Unfortunately, our ICA cowards don't dare to fuck with him as he was leaving. You know, a "detailed examination" of his travel documents before he boards, make him miss his flight, that kind of thing. If they can harass Goh Meng Seng at the airport, they sure can harass this asshole too.

In the bigger scheme of things, the citizens of singapore have prevailed. They have forced this asshole to flee. Giving up his nice house and Porsche. His son has had to withdraw from kindergarten and disrupted his life. He is making mortgage and car payments on a house he is not living in, and a car he can't drive. His work has now been disrupted, his book of accounts is now being serviced by other people in his company who will no doubt try to steal all the business they can from him. If he is commission based, he is not making any money and his wife's business is also not being worked by her. Its not the level of punishment on this asshole that I wanted, but its something.

Pretty sure it's CROSSINVEST that pays for his house and car.

borom

Surprised by the reactions as what Anton said did not make any locals lose anything substantive, like their jobs or places in universities/schools.

I see it as an off the cuff humorous remarks/joke. No different from some of the banter after a few round of drinks.

"Sticks and stones will break my bones
But words will never harm me
"

This sentiment is reflected in/reflects the common law of civil assault, which holds that mere name-calling does not give rise to a cause of action, while putting someone in fear of physical violence does.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sticks_and_Stones_(nursery_rhyme)

Locals should vent their anger instead at the people whose actions result in losses of jobs and educational places for locals, overcrowding in medical facilities, breakdown in public transportation, historical high dengue cases, unaffordable housing ect2.

Why are more and more foreigners daring to insult locals openly?
Is it because one party give special treatment to foreigners and ask locals to bent backwards to accommodate them?
How about the remarks that foreigners are brought in as hides on the spurs of locals ?
Why foreigners(PR'S) allowed to buy public housing-why not complain about that vehemently?

blindswordsman

You reap what you sow.. unfortunately this is what our govt has sowed.. FTs are somewhat more carefully treated than locals.. and FT have that superior mindset knowing that our govt can't do withtout them.

I used to be proud of LKY and Singapore. I'm still proud of LKY but i'm certainly not proud of what the current crop of govt has turned singapore into.

Btw, I know of FT angmo who holds a sg passport to enjoy low tax rate but has no intention of calling singapore home eventuallly.

Sinkie land is just their economic refugee camp; they fled from their bankrupt countries to find jobs in sinkie land and got flea infested brain to think they are superior species and indispensable in sinkie land when back home they might even be jobless . Only idiotic Govt welcome FTsh to make locals suffer.

and i urge fellow Singaporeans to rise to the occasion during the next GE and vote the PAP out! recognize the hand that allowed such trash to come upon our shores and trample us in contempt.