• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Will Govt. charge Anton Casey under Sedition Act?

They may not make fun of them publicly but I'm pretty sure they feel exactly the same way that this Anton character does.

Hell I'm hardly rich but I too don't like associating with poor people. They disgust me no end with their loser mentality and their constant whinging and complaining about their poverty and the how their plight is the fault of everyone but themselves.

The poor have only one function and that is to make life easier for the rich. When this function can ultimately be fully automated, the poor can then be disposed of.

Anyone seen Tonychat?

peppertail

Hell I'm hardly rich but I too don't like associating with poor people. They disgust me no end with their loser mentality and their constant whinging and complaining about their poverty and the how their plight is the fault of everyone but themselves.

The poor have only one function and that is to make life easier for the rich. When this function can ultimately be fully automated, the poor can then be disposed of.

'Poor' is very subjective. I know plenty of people who are poor in monetary terms but don't complain about it. They are actually content with it because being happy is good enough for them. Each their own.

yellowarse

'Poor' is very subjective. I know plenty of people who are poor in monetary terms but don't complain about it. They are actually content with it because being happy is good enough for them. Each their own.

It's not that 'poor' is subjective; it just depends on what specific measure of poverty is used.

If you have a high Gross Domestic Product (GDP) per capita, you're rich in financial terms.

If you have a high Gross National Happiness (GNH), you're rich in spiritual terms.

It's what kind of wealth you want for yourself, and for your nation. Bhutan has the world's highest GNH, but one of the lowest per capita GDP. Singapore is the reverse.

It's not that 'poor' is subjective; it just depends on what specific measure of poverty is used.

If you have a high Gross Domestic Product (GDP) per capita, you're rich in financial terms.

If you have a high Gross National Happiness (GNH), you're rich in spiritual terms.

It's what kind of wealth you want for yourself, and for your nation. Bhutan has the world's highest GNH, but one of the lowest per capita GDP. Singapore is the reverse.

If you are happy with your life, why give a damn about money?

I didn't know Singaporeans were that easily insulted, must be a lot of pent up frustrations. The world is getting very very globalised, and people travel to work, visit friends and places very often now, not like during our parents time. As a global city, there will be plenty of travellers in Singapore at any one time. You won't be able to avoid it. I know most people will blame the gahmen for it, but it is not their doing, it is just the way things are now. No difference in KL, Jakarta, Manila, HK, Taipei, anywhere. Too bad for this Anton guy, for the silly thing he said, people are letting out their steam on him.

Yes, there are lots of suppressed frustrations and it will blow up. You better run road soon.
Globalization will be radically changed in the next few years simply because it is hurting the majority of people in the developed world.
In sinkapore's case, globalization is a lame excuse to load up the population with 40 percent of foreigners, rising to 60 percent in a decade. No developed country has allowed that to happen. So, what kind of development path is sinkapore attempting? It is a path to destruction of a society.
Casey is just a reflection of the kind of foreigners we allow in. The government let foreigners in to spit on us and treat us like dirt. The government has not even utter a word since this incident became public. So much for a government that purportedly defends sinkees.

My suggestion is that you make your dough and run road soon as the tinderbox will blow up anytime.

Re: What kind of retarded lawyer did Anton Casey hire?

From business point of view, company should relocate him to HK for 2 years. Let the matter cool down. He can still service his clients in Singapore, just needs to travel more. I cannot see any benefits for him to stay in Singapore given all this publicity. Politically, there is already a lot of tension over FT, second class citizens. So best to skip town.

This whole HNW boutique thing is about polish, confidentiality, trust.

Also, no need for all this personal attacks.

Unfortunately, not likely to happen. this article from an industry insider says that CrossInvest does not give a shit about our opinion of their firm or their employee Anton casey.

WHY YOU SINGAPOREANS HAVE NO INFLUENCE OVER ANTON CASEY'S EMPLOYER

OK I thought I'd do a quick follow up to the Anton Casey case. Yes his remarks have been ill-judged at best, after all, there's really little to be gained by being the center of a hate campaign in Singapore. Whatever little thrill he may have gained by spouting all those snide remarks on social media cannot justify the kind of uncertainty he is facing now as this story drags on. This is another classic case of 得不偿失 - "the gains do not make up for the losses". Surely he should have known better. (Hindsight is 2020, I'm sure.)

I would like to deal with one issue though, many Singaporeans on social media have assumed wrongly that by publicly raising the fact that he works for Crossinvest - a wealth management specialist in Singapore, his employers would somehow be embarrassed by being associated with him and this story, thus forcing him to be fired. That is not going to happen at all. Look, I have worked in Singapore in 2011 in the wealth management industry and know quite a lot about this industry, so let me explain some basic facts for my readers about wealth management in Singapore.

There is a substantial expatriate community in Singapore - now we're talking about rich white expatriates here, rather than Bangladeshi construction workers or Filipino domestic maids. We're talking about the rich white expatriates who have very well paid jobs, live in beautiful condominiums, send their kids to international schools and pretty much live in their own little expatriate bubble, making virtually no contact with any local Singaporeans and have no Singaporean friends. Okay, not all expatriates are like that - but a substantial number are.

There are quite a number of wealth management companies in Singapore which specifically target white expatriates in Singapore: these companies are staffed only by white expatriates and every single one of their clients are white. Now you may wonder, why can't a rich white expatriate in Singapore use the private banking services of a local Singaporean banker? Don't they trust a local Singaporean banker? Why do they need to deal with banker from their own country?

You know, I don't even have the perfect answer to that question. This is not just a Singaporean situation, but you can go to anywhere in Asia and there will be such wealth management companies run by white bankers in Asia exclusively for white expatriates in Asia. In many cases, a white expatriate in Asia may wish to return to his country of origin after some years - so he would rather deal with someone who is familiar with the pension planning systems in the country where he plans to retire. So a Singaporean banker may know all about the CPF rules but be clueless about structuring a British pension in a tax-efficient manner. And then there's also the more basic issue of trust and customer service, the white expatriates still have a trust issue when it comes to whom they hand their money over to manage.

It was a bizarre experience for me in 2011 when I dealt with this industry- back then, I was working for a Luxembourg based fund manager and I was promoting their funds to wealth managers who serve expatriates (such as Crossinvest) across Asia. I often found myself in meetings where I was the only Asian person in the room, heck, make that the only Asian person in the office. Sometimes there may be a secretary or office manager who was Asian, but the directors, senior managers and anyone dealing with the white clients were always white. Somehow, because I had a British passport and a British accent and I worked for a European company, I was able to move around in those circles and was treated like an expatriate. (I work for a different company these days and am based back in London in 2014.)
Oh yes, I had good times in Singapore in 2011.

So - you need to understand just how small and very niche this industry is. Anton Casey is in Singapore to serve white expatriates, not Asians. As a senior wealth manager, he would probably have a very modest number of clients - all of whom are probably rich, white, British expatriates working in Singapore. Casey's job would simply revolve around servicing these clients - taking care of their pensions, tax planning needs, dealing with various issues like setting up trust funds for their children, finding the best investment opportunities and maybe even dealing with issues like inheritance planning. He doesn't need many clients as each client would pay a lot for his service and that is why he is so rich. He needs to be pretty good at his job, otherwise he won't be where he is today.

At this point, someone like my dad would quickly point out to me that there are many rich Singaporeans who need wealth management services too and these Angmoh bankers are missing out by ignoring the local Singaporean market. Guess what? They don't care - there are local Asian wealth managers serving the rich local Singaporeans and managing their wealth. These white wealth managers like Anton Casey are quite happy to deal only with white expatriates and that's just the way the wealth management market in Singapore is. If you're a rich Asian, you'll get an Asian wealth manager. If you're a rich white expatriate, you'll turn to someone like Anton Casey. That's just the way things are and that is why Anton Casey has a very well paid job in Singapore.
Oh I have fond memories of working in Singapore back in 2011...

Wealth management companies like Crossinvest serve a very small, very niche market and they are not like some company selling a product like chocolate biscuits, toothpaste or tissue paper where they need as many people as possible to buy their products. The very people who Casey has offended are Singaporeans and even if every single Singaporean in Singapore is angry with Casey - guess what? It doesn't matter one bit because every single one of his clients are British expats, none of them are local. His clients may not approve of some of his snide comments which have caused offence, but at the end of the day, they are probably more interested in the quality of his service rather than what he may have said on social media, especially since they are not personally offended by what he has said.

Gosh, this does remind me of a similar case I talked about last year. The conclusion is the same: you Singaporeans can bitch all you want on social media about an expatriate you don't like, but at the end of the day, you have no influence whatsoever on this guy's employers. You are not going to put any pressure on his employers to sack the guy because of the nature of this company's client base. The key word is niche - which is the opposite of mass market. It's economics 101 people. I remember rolling my eyes last year when I wrote about the Timetric case because none of the Singaporeanswho bitched about that company even paused for a moment to realize just how extremely niche their products are. By the same token, Crossinvest is an extremely niche company in the financial services sector.
Some businesses cater only for a niche market and do very well.

So there you go, that's my short lecture on the nature of wealth management for white expatriates in Singapore for you. It's the same thing that goes on in other Asian cities like Hong Kong, Kuala Lumpur and Bangkok. So for all the Singaporeans who are saying, "we don't need people like Anton Casey in Singapore, we have local Singaporean bankers". Guess what? You Singaporeans may not need him or want his services, but it is the white expats in Singapore who do and that's why he has a good job and earns so much.

Seee3

Good article. As long as his clients are happy with the returns they don't give a shit to what the public think of him. They probably making more jokes on the outcry over their glass of wine. We can only deal with such situation to our satisfaction if we become like China or N Korea.

Yes, but at the same time, if you are one of his angmor clients, you will also feel uneasy. After all, if u are a rich angmo, u go to this type of investment house like CrossInvest for discretion and anonymity. You don't want your investment advisor to show such little self restraint and trumpet to the whole world his ignorance.

Yes, there are lots of suppressed frustrations and it will blow up. You better run road soon.
Globalization will be radically changed in the next few years simply because it is hurting the majority of people in the developed world.
In sinkapore's case, globalization is a lame excuse to load up the population with 40 percent of foreigners, rising to 60 percent in a decade. No developed country has allowed that to happen. So, what kind of development path is sinkapore attempting? It is a path to destruction of a society.
Casey is just a reflection of the kind of foreigners we allow in. The government let foreigners in to spit on us and treat us like dirt. The government has not even utter a word since this incident became public. So much for a government that purportedly defends sinkees.

My suggestion is that you make your dough and run road soon as the tinderbox will blow up anytime.

Ok, govt. did utter some words already.

By Kash Cheong

Law Minister K. Shanmugam said he was "terribly upset and offended" by Briton Anton Casey's comments which referred to public transport commuters in Singapore as "poor people". But he urged Singaporeans not to flame the Briton's family because "Singaporeans can be bigger than that".

Mr Casey's comments were "deeply offensive, wrong and unacceptable", he said in a Facebook post on Thursday. "Those who have done well in life should always be looking out for others - especially the less well-off or needy. It is basic human decency. Instead Mr Casey showed contempt. Having money and a Porsche does not automatically mean that one is superior. Character is important," he wrote. "I am glad the community has come together to condemn what he has said."

Mr Shanmugam also noted that some also felt Mr Casey's apology lacked sincerity, and "I think there is some basis for thinking that".

Two of Mr Casey's Facebook posts began circulating on the Internet on Monday, sparking fury among local netizens. In one, a picture of his five-year-old son on an MRT train was accompanied by the caption: "Daddy where is your car & who are all these poor people?"

escher

1557624_580911941986901_1088469822_n.jpg

1532046_580911975320231_276686966_n.jpg

1185459_580911971986898_1870718532_n.jpg

In which case Anton Casey be photoed just like in above.

escher

Sinkies remember not only that PAP fucked and screwed and robbed you of billions of your money

PAP ALLOWED FOREIGN TRASH LIKE ANTON CASEY TO WORK IN SINGAPORE AS A PRIVILEGED FT TO INSULT AND SPIT ON YOUR FACES AND GO
ON TO PROTECT ANTON ALLOWING HIM MORE CHANCES TO SPIT YOU IN YOUR FACE AND KICK YOU IN YOUR TEETH

REMEMBER PAP FOR DOING ALL THAT IN 2016

peppertail

Unfortunately, not likely to happen. this article from an industry insider says that CrossInvest does not give a shit about our opinion of their firm or their employee Anton casey.

WHY YOU SINGAPOREANS HAVE NO INFLUENCE OVER ANTON CASEY'S EMPLOYER

Every company has its own policies and rules, no matter which industry they are in. Hell, sometimes it comes down to the mood of its president or CEO. Don't need a so called 'industry insider' to give us a lecture...

blindswordsman

The Govt should charge that FTsh and kick him out of this country. At one time, it was also a Briton scumbag bank director who attacked an elderly taxi driver and got away with just a small fine. Monkeys see, monkeys do. Now another scumbag monkey is out to attack Spore and divide this country into rich and poor. This red dot needs to take tough action.

peppertail

The Govt should charge that FTsh and kick him out of this country. At one time, it was also a Briton scumbag bank director who attacked an elderly taxi driver and got away with just a small fine. Monkeys see, monkeys do. Now another scumbag monkey is out to attack Spore and divide this country into rich and poor. This red dot needs to take tough action.

Might as well throw every criminal and asshole out of the country than, citizen and foreigner alike. No?

Bigfuck

Any government that can sell X'mas island can sell its people as well. All actions point to a bunch of cowards who claim to be the government but will sell anything to keep their hides alive. I cannot see a difference between Leegime and Anton.

escher

Sinkies remember not only that PAP fucked and screwed and robbed you of billions of your money

PAP ALLOWED FOREIGN TRASH LIKE ANTON CASEY TO WORK IN SINGAPORE AS A PRIVILEGED FT TO INSULT AND SPIT ON YOUR FACES AND GO
ON TO PROTECT ANTON ALLOWING HIM MORE CHANCES TO SPIT YOU IN YOUR FACE AND KICK YOU IN YOUR TEETH

REMEMBER PAP FOR DOING ALL THAT IN 2016

Remember the PAP gaberment no fucking hui you.
PAP been fucking and tiewing sinkies for so long that now only they think it is natural to fuck and tiew sinkies, the foreign trash that the PAP maggots cockroaches
being in can also tiew and fuck sinkies

PAP will not allow anything to happen to their fucking foreign trash.

YOU WANT JUSTICE, YOU GET IT YOURSELF
YOU CANNOT RELY ON THE FUCKING PAP

REMEMBER THAT ANTON CASEY FACE.
REMEMBER THAT FACE

JUSTICE IS WHAT YOU CAN GET FOR YOURSELF

WORK TO THROW OUT ALL THOSE MOTHERFUCKERS MAGGOTS IN WHITE IN 2016 SO THEY CAN NO LONGER FUCK AND SUCK US OF OUR MONEY INTO LKY STINKING STINKAPORE SOVEREIGN FUND AND THEIR GROTESQUE SALARIES.