Jiuhu slaves buy these breakfast and lunch at 4am in JB before coming to Singapore to earn SGD. bro , their breakfast quite standard

Be aware that, especially in JB, their A grade fresh produce are mainly exported to Singapore because they can fetch much higher prices, even for vegetables from Cameron Highlands. Unless you go to those better Atas restaurants, their regular hawkers are mainly getting only grade B and below raw ingredients. That's also how they can be cheaper.

Also, the varieties are pathetic. For example, their bak chor noodles only have minute amount of minced meats, a few pieces of fish balls and several shreds of vegetables. They also use pork lards, which is unhealthy if consumed frequently. The Singapore's version contains much more ingredients like shreds of dried salted fish, liver, more portion of minced meats and spring onions, etc. Also, the Singapore's version seldom use pork lards.

Similarly, their wanton noodles have much less ingredients as compared to the Singapore's version. Generally, I find that only a handful of those Atas restaurants in JB can offer dishes compatible to Singapore's standards. Even their restaurants of the same name, but their outlets at different locations will have vast differences in quality and taste. For example, their Pekin Restaurant, only the Sutera Mall outlet is acceptable. Their other outlet in Taman Sentosa is a failure.
Noted what you mentioned. You must visit JB quite often. I have not eaten at JB for a very long time. The last time was probably in the early 2000s. I remember their duck rice, BKT, ikan bakar were fabulous, In recent years, when I go to mudland, I usually visit KL and Penang. I prefer street food, which usually don't disappoint as compared to their atas restaurants. Even almost all their atas restaurants or as I like to call them "boutique" restaurants were good too. Quantity wise, I find their portions have gotten smaller and smaller. So need to order at least a medium or a large.

What I've realised is that more ingredients do not equate to a better dish, especially for bak chor mee, wanton mee and kolo mee. Most important is the noodles have to be good (good texture and taste), add some bits of meat and veggie, and have the requisite sauces, prepared by an experienced hawker. Bonus if the hawker is a chiobu :biggrin:. Purist (traditional) approach is what I prefer.

I stayed in a hotel overlooking the rooftop of Komtar. I noticed that the parking lots are pretty empty. Maybe can rent a parking lot there and buy a Civic in Malaysia.
If you not staying there better get a secure parking area. With security. Plus car wash where they rub car once every few days.

Another delusional high and mighty sinkie
Haha sg with all the filthy imports you think you the food outside is clean? Even local hotels also got food poisoning case.
For a long time, we also predicted SG is doomed with Standard going down using FWs in kitchens. Even the rich will not be spared.

Noted what you mentioned. You must visit JB quite often. I have not eaten at JB for a very long time. The last time was probably in the early 2000s. I remember their duck rice, BKT, ikan bakar were fabulous, In recent years, when I go to mudland, I usually visit KL and Penang. I prefer street food, which usually don't disappoint as compared to their atas restaurants. Even almost all their atas restaurants or as I like to call them "boutique" restaurants were good too. Quantity wise, I find their portions have gotten smaller and smaller. So need to order at least a medium or a large.

What I've realised is that more ingredients do not equate to a better dish, especially for bak chor mee, wanton mee and kolo mee. Most important is the noodles have to be good (good texture and taste), add some bits of meat and veggie, and have the requisite sauces, prepared by an experienced hawker. Bonus if the hawker is a chiobu :biggrin:. Purist (traditional) approach is what I prefer.
Penang's street food are actually over hyped. I've tried their famous char-kuey-teow at Chulia Street before, which claimed to have legs and hands, but for my wife and me, they are not even of average quality. Many of their street hawkers along Gurney Drive are just average only, nothing fantastic. In KL, their Hokkien noodles are filled with so much pork lard that I was very much shocked. However, the locals like it this way and told me it tastes good, but will it be healthy? We'd once tried the fried chicken nasi lemak at a Malay restaurant in PJ where they had claimed that even Mamak Kutty had patronized them, with a photo of him giving a thumbs up with the boss on its walls. However, we find that the fried chickens are too dry and saltish to our taste.

As for the noodles, they use excessive alkaline water to make them, which if consumed in excessive amount will be bad for your body. They are doing so in order to make the noodles springy but at the expense of your health and longevity. From my interactions with many Malaysian Chinese, I'd realize that they only care to nourish/enrich their pockets and nothing else matters more. Since there is not much regulations governing their F&B trade, so, who cares? As long as good money comes in, that's all that is important.

There are many uncles who think that Singapore and China are the best
Guess their race and religion ?

Most of them worked in ulu ulu place like Tuas, Sungei Kadut. I would do the same because sinkies food in Ulu town is an utter junk not fit for human. Next time asked your Jiu Hu colleague to Tabao for you from JB.
I agree that most of the food available at industrial estates leave much to be desired, but there are a few such as Loyang where the food is more than 1/2 decent.

Thanks but I will stick to margarine and butter
butter, the healthy ones only...not all butter... absolutely not margarine.

How is margarine made?

Margarine is made by a process called hydrogenation.

What is Hydrogenation? It’s complicated, so rather than explain it I’ll send you here – (how margarine is made).

Did you read it? It’s not simple, and it’s not natural – at all.

Recap: God made butter and it’s natural. Chemists make margarine and it’s anything but natural.

KISS challenge winner? BUTTER!

Challenge 2: What Does Nature Teach​

Since God created the world, I like to turn to His creation when I’m stumped.

So let’s ask the ants!

Dear ants, would you prefer margarine, low-fat margarine, or butter?

Butter-margarine.jpg