Jiuhu slaves buy these breakfast and lunch at 4am in JB before coming to Singapore to earn SGD. bro , their breakfast quite standard

Still better compared to the same items in sinkie coffee shops and hawker centers, their eggs also look more fresh and bigger, if you ever visited the old Woodlands Centre Road hawker center before PAP demolish it that place fucked up never upgrade at all the Malaysian workers used to eat there for breakfast. Too bad all the lao jiao sinkie hawkers there retired although the place is very old but never kena food poisoning from those old hawkers
I agree. Mudland food is fresher, taste better, and cooked with passion, not to mention cheaper than SG.

Still better compared to the same items in sinkie coffee shops and hawker centers, their eggs also look more fresh and bigger, if you ever visited the old Woodlands Centre Road hawker center before PAP demolish it that place fucked up never upgrade at all the Malaysian workers used to eat there for breakfast. Too bad all the lao jiao sinkie hawkers there retired although the place is very old but never kena food poisoning from those old hawkers
Well said TS talk machiam he got private chef or eat breakfast in hotel restaurant every morning.

Their chai png not expensive and server can communicate with non Chinese easily
The best part of Malaysia cai png is you help yourself to whatever u want and whatever quantity , buffet style. Than just show to the server and he tells you how much. In Spore the server counts the number of measly portions he puts on your plate. I hardly had to pay more than rm10 for a plate overflowing with meat and veges in Malaysia.

The best part of Malaysia cai png is you help yourself to whatever u want and whatever quantity , just show to the server and he tells you how much. In Spore the server counts the number of measly portions he puts on your plate. I hardly had to pay more than rm10 for a plate overflowing with meat and veges in Malaysia.
No coe
Cheap or no rental
Cheap water and electricity bill

Only retard Sinkies look down on Mudlanders. They still think they are better off not knowing that the Mudlanders own land, private homes, cars and can retire with no worry. Furthermore no need for cdc vouchers.
You must be a sua ku. Don't you even know that they have the CDC equivalent known as MyKasih program?

Only retard Sinkies look down on Mudlanders. They still think they are better off not knowing that the Mudlanders own land, private homes, cars and can retire with no worry. Furthermore no need for cdc vouchers.
I know a Malaysian couple - husband is an engineer and wife a teacher - who own a terrace house and 2 cars in Penang. In S'pore, this couple would be staying in a HDB flat and rely on public transport.

No coe
Cheap or no rental
Cheap water and electricity bill
Mudland soo bagus that singkies now opening eateries in JB..

Johor Bahru called a lifeline for Singapore's struggling food businesses - Singapore News​

40358129_1885908784789841_5428687316086423552_n-e1753087756631-1068x602.jpg
Photo: Facebook/Amari Johor Bahru
July 21, 2025
SINGAPORE: It has been widely reported that many eateries in the Little Red Dot have been having a difficult time due to high rentals, manpower issues, rising ingredient costs, and other reasons. For a city that has made a reputation for itself as a foodie haven where delicious and affordable food is abundant, this has been a cause for no small concern.

A report last week in the South China Morning Post (SCMP), however, says that Johor Bahru, the Malaysian state closest to Singapore, is offering a “lifeline” of sorts to struggling eateries, providing food business owners an opportunity to continue serving up delicious meals.

The report cited the high number of restaurant closures in Singapore in the past year and a half. In 2024, 3,047 eateries shut down, the highest number in nearly two decades. And this year, 1,404 food businesses folded between January and June.

Among the notable eateries that are now gone are established names such as Eggslut, Burger & Lobster, and Manhattan Fish Market, as noted by the SCMP. In addition, Wala Wala Cafe Bar also shut its doors, as has the 20-year-old Holland Village branch of Crystal Jade La Mian Xiao Long Bao.

The main attraction of Johor Bahru, and indeed the rest of Malaysia, for Singaporean food businesses is the affordability of both manpower and rent. This gives eateries a chance not just to survive but to thrive, even though the restaurateurs SCMP spoke to said they recognise that ingredients are costlier in Malaysia. For example, Govinda Rajan, who opened a Mr Biryani outlet in Johor Bahru last April, told SCMP that in Singapore, his priority had stopped being profitability and had shifted to survival.

Not that the food business is slowing down in Singapore itself, as more F&B establishments opened than closed last year. In 2024, 3,793 new outlets opened, the second highest in more than 30 years.

The Singapore Business Review reported on Jul 17 that in 2023, there were 22,747 licensed food establishments in the city-state, which is the highest number ever. It added, “The risk of oversupply is no longer theoretical.”

Moreover, in a commentary published last week in Channel NewsAsia, former restaurant owner Chua Ee Chien asked whether it’s time to change Singapore’s F&B rules.

“Licensed F&B outlets shoulder an enormous burden well before serving their first customer. Rent in prime locations can exceed S$20,000 monthly. You don’t have to run a fancy fine-dining joint for fit-out costs to reach six figures. There are various regulatory requirements that businesses must meet across agencies, such as the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA), Singapore Food Agency (SFA), National Environment Agency (NEA), Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF), and Building and Construction Authority (BCA).

“On top of that, daily costs are compounded by things like utilities, safety inspections, staff training and wages, Central Provident Fund contributions, pest control, professional fees, regulatory delays, and so on.” /TISG

I agree. Mudland food is fresher, taste better, and cooked with passion, not to mention cheaper than SG.
Be aware that, especially in JB, their A grade fresh produce are mainly exported to Singapore because they can fetch much higher prices, even for vegetables from Cameron Highlands. Unless you go to those better Atas restaurants, their regular hawkers are mainly getting only grade B and below raw ingredients. That's also how they can be cheaper.

Also, the varieties are pathetic. For example, their bak chor noodles only have minute amount of minced meats, a few pieces of fish balls and several shreds of vegetables. They also use pork lards, which is unhealthy if consumed frequently. The Singapore's version contains much more ingredients like shreds of dried salted fish, liver, more portion of minced meats and spring onions, etc. Also, the Singapore's version seldom use pork lards.

Similarly, their wanton noodles have much less ingredients as compared to the Singapore's version. Generally, I find that only a handful of those Atas restaurants in JB can offer dishes compatible to Singapore's standards. Even their restaurants of the same name, but their outlets at different locations will have vast differences in quality and taste. For example, their Pekin Restaurant, only the Sutera Mall outlet is acceptable. Their other outlet in Taman Sentosa is a failure.