• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HSK wants to bring back estate duty tax

It was years later that I realised that many of these excuses were a cover for fear of failure and not succeeding. Some were due to pride but many were the fear of failing their family. I guess we were conditioned to be non-risk takers.

About 6 mths ago, met a guy who had applied for Canadian visa but very cautious. Finally moved in Nov and within a month has got a job in Montreal on the same grade that he was in prior to his mover. He is so delighted.

Sometime I wonder if comments from those who did it makes a lot of difference.

When I left Singapore I encouraged my collegues who owned million dollar properties to cash out and follow suit.

The two standard excuses were

1. Parents too old.

2. Kids too young.

20 years have passed. The parents are dead and the kids have carved out their own careers in distant lands. They live a lonely existence burdened by ever increasing costs. Many can't afford cars anymore.

They are now stuck in sinkieland because they are too old. No country wants old farts.

All I can say is "I told you so".

nayr69sg

Staff member
Scroobal, no one is asking for encouragement.

Also people think I am you.

Also people believe I am lying when I say I made the move.

This is sinkies for you.

SgGoneWrong

Scroobal, no one is asking for encouragement.

Also people think I am you.

Also people believe I am lying when I say I made the move.

This is sinkies for you.

Those who only kpkb but no guts to move from sg and can only move to netherworld when time is up likes to think sinkieland is heaven and those who said they moved are lying.

Heaven is within the well. Can never jump out of it.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Moving from sg takes commitment and determination.

Since my move I have convinced my sisters to apply for Canadian PR. And they have got it. They will land next May.

My parents are waiting for the lottery. Liberals changes the system to a lottery for parent sponsorship.

But if you live and work hard and stay the course the pay off is fantastic.

You should continue to encourage everyone that you meet to migrate. Focus on young families. For some it is never dawned on them until someone mentions it.

I have doing this over 2 decades and I continue to do so.

Canada is now a big draw because of its relative easier move due to paperwork and the appeal of Canadian culture, beautiful country. I did not realise how popular it was until recent years. This year alone met 3 different families all with young kids. 2 families are parents that are in the early 40s and one family where the parents are in the mid 30s.

I am also not sure but one of them told me they got the visas within months of applying and they already moved to Montreal.

Moving from sg takes commitment and determination.

Since my move I have convinced my sisters to apply for Canadian PR. And they have got it. They will land next May.

My parents are waiting for the lottery. Liberals changes the system to a lottery for parent sponsorship.

But if you live and work hard and stay the course the pay off is fantastic.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Yes my sisters visited me last Oct 2016. They decided to apply in May. They were lucky the ITA points cut off fell quite a bit. They got their PR landing papers in Oct 2017.

Fast! Too fast in a way. They plan to land next year and then really move in 2020.

nayr69sg

Staff member
The procedure has changed quite a bit so I wasn't really much help. But because I am settled in Calgary I can do much more when they do finally move here.

In the old days, there was lot of wait for these countries. Good to see they have speeded up.

Yes my sisters visited me last Oct 2016. They decided to apply in May. They were lucky the ITA points cut off fell quite a bit. They got their PR landing papers in Oct 2017.

Fast! Too fast in a way. They plan to land next year and then really move in 2020.

you being a relative and sponsor who’s established in calgary helps to speed up the process. if you’re a social welfare recipient and hardcore dependent on dole outs it may be different.

Cut him some slack, not easy to move to new country at 69 years of age. Sinkies of his age may complain a lot, but they are the generation that has benefited most from the lky's rule, pioneer generation!! not easy to let go!
i’m sure after 6.9 months in land of smiles he will kpkb and wishes he’s back in sg. yes cannot let go after enjoying all the benefits.

nayr69sg

Staff member
you being a relative and sponsor who’s established in calgary helps to speed up the process. if you’re a social welfare recipient and hardcore dependent on dole outs it may be different.

No leh. They applied under express entry skilled worker program. They go by points. When my sister's applied having brother did not have any points but the cut off fell.

Reason is that prior to June 2017 they had a lot of backlog of applicants who were already in Canada and had jobs. So the cut off was high. After the backlog was cleared then the international overseas offshore fellas came into the picture.

So my sisters were very lucky.

Nothing to do with me.

No leh. They applied under express entry skilled worker program. They go by points. When my sister's applied having brother did not have any points but the cut off fell.

Reason is that prior to June 2017 they had a lot of backlog of applicants who were already in Canada and had jobs. So the cut off was high. After the backlog was cleared then the international overseas offshore fellas came into the picture.

So my sisters were very lucky.

Nothing to do with me.
are they in medical professions too?

rushifa666

My thoughts

1. Most people moved out upwards (to 1st world) however I had moved downwards (to 3rd world Thailand) is this a downgrade? Well my posts here speaks for itself.

2. I shall not use my lifestyle there to compare with sinkie lifestyle here however I shall use "poor" 3rd world people's life style to compare with "Swiss Standard, 1st World" ordinary folks here and I have to say in many ways the quality of life these "poor" people live where I am is better than sinkieland, yes these people may not have the opportunity to travel as much as sinkies and enjoy the "high life" of sinkies but all these come with a price, very very high price.

3. Sinkies pay low tax? My simple logic is so simple, money not in your pocket is taxes and I don't need to explain more. I am master of my money not some CPF but of course the PAP had already programmed people living here that you are unable to manage your own money neither can you manage your "retirement" funds as very soon it will disappear to casinos and PRC ladies etc. After all the World Number 1 western education sinkies are still so damn stupid to believe, unbelievable.

4. I don't even want to go to the World Class Transportation area but just a short note, you can chose where you live thats close to your daily activities and don't have to go through the traffic jam, we are human please we can plan we can chose oh wait a minute no no no I need to wait for PAP to plan for me and make decision for me.

5. Number ONE, Most POWERFUL Passport in the world - come on this is only for convenience especially for business people. How many sinkies have to travel to USA once year? Ok ok bad example, it should be according to sinkies "I have this passport and I can go anywhere anytime" so does that make my 3rd world colleagues or friends unable to travel? Well it may take a bit of time and money but its not a daily inconvenience. I am a sinkie too but what price do sinkies pay to ave this most powerful passport convenience go figure.

6. Many of you will say but Froggy lucky have work outside sinkieland, if I am allowed to speak for all the quiters, we planned for this a long time, we prepared for this it did not drop from the sky, we dare to go, we sacrificed for it and yes with just a tiny luck we left and are who we are today. It's not about luck.

Anyway I shan't talk too much, after all in the Swiss Standard eyes of sinkies, I am a downgrade, a quiter who left for a 3rd world. Better finish my morning coffee at Tanglin Halt market and get out of this Disneyland fast before being lynched.

โชคดีคนสิงคโปร์

View attachment 34657
Froggy well said. I will add some more points. If you are driving, like most people in any big country, why would anyone even think of public transport?? How can it be more convenient? The fast and furious cast were shocked by our car prices, yet these clowns continue to say affordable. The disconnect is too great. There is simply no point in discussing anything. They have given up everything for nothing. And their children will pay the price

rushifa666

It's obvious to me that the PAP are looking at ways to get more $$$ They have already started to increase the water & electricity prices.

Don't forget about the mandatory annual MediShield shield costs we are all paying.

If you read the article bro Zihau has referenced they are looking at changes to the estate laws, capital gains tax, ...etc

Such changes would affect me & since I don't work in Spore, I can simple relocate else where. I have looked at various places & all one needs to do is show that you have US$40,000
i went back for holidays, it's actually a nice place with more variety and cheaper market food. However eating at a restaurant can cost more with 17% taxes and lesser portion of food.

There was no train breakdown that period and travelling was cheap and fast though crowded.

Weather is hot and humid, seems like whole year round now?

Was told by ex-colleague that things are changing very fast in sg now. I can't feel it as I'm not holding a job there. The crowdedness seems the same. More bad news reported online of psychos and sex related crimes compared to years back.

Sinkie colleagues are still having a good life earning high salaries and going to Europe for holidays.

Customer service staff are more friendly and helpful compared to those in Australia. Taxes are less. Weather is more stable with just hot and hotter and I dun have to check the online weather forecast.

Overall it is a nice place to visit. And at the root of it all, I am just another sinkie peasant, though I have taken the sinkies kpkb one step further by moving out on a long term basis.
Just two simple points. How much leave do sinkies have? How much pay does a fresh grad get? Both answers are the same, which is pathetic. We rank only above china for leave, and a full time fast work aussie worker proably make as much as our local fresh grad. 16aus? And yes the people you know may have high salaries? Do more or less people make that kind of money? Wage stagnation has been a decade old. And i have been told even agc are getting lawyers from India. There are only signs that it is going to be much worse. Already my old bank has tons of foreigners displacing locals. These are not meagre jobs.

rushifa666

There were much discussion about Sgd collapsed and keeping foreign currency.

When my kids needed usd and euro many many years ago, I changed whenever the rate was good. When they were back I had some extras but held on to them thinking that they might come in handy as a contingency. Then come 2008, and both currency nosedived. Todate, after about 10 years, I will not recover the loss in exchange rate if I convert them back to sgd. I wondered how much our GIC has lost and those that claimed to hold assests in these currencies.
J have a temasek story, Bank of AMERICA they lost big. I made 300% . Hopeless investing. But no one fired

rushifa666

There were much discussion about Sgd collapsed and keeping foreign currency.

When my kids needed usd and euro many many years ago, I changed whenever the rate was good. When they were back I had some extras but held on to them thinking that they might come in handy as a contingency. Then come 2008, and both currency nosedived. Todate, after about 10 years, I will not recover the loss in exchange rate if I convert them back to sgd. I wondered how much our GIC has lost and those that claimed to hold assests in these currencies.
Then you dont know it works. You exchange when other currency is low or sgd is going to tank. Else not going to make money

KuanTi01

When the late LKY wanted to abolish estate duty, every white lapdog dutifully said their little pieces in support; many years later they are thinking of a U-turn. Twist and turn; flip and flop! Classic asses!