• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HSK wants to bring back estate duty tax

SgGoneWrong

johnny has been talking about it for over 6.9 years or eversince the new sbf forum started. everytime got 1 new excuse. it’s a slow motion movie in the making. most likely i die already and it still keeps going at 6.9 frames per hour.

Maybe the real fear for moving is never confronted. Like how his money is safer in cpf and in sg bank accounts than getting conned by Thai ladyboys.

Easier as a tourist, no need to learn a new language, no need to commit as can tell the ladyboys cannot stay as no pr.

You should move out. Dun wait for the impending cataclysm. When the SGD is worthless you will be unable to move anywhere. This is the scenario that sinkies think is IMPOSSIBLE. But I tell you most sincerely that it is a probability.

I haven't got any large investments in Spore except for my home. I'm getting the bulk of my $ from my investments in the US & Malaysia.

Used to invest in Spore but with all the fees they started charging it adds to the cost.

PAP is killing Spore with all these price hikes. Now with things breaking down in Spore, it might be time to consider moving out.

I haven't got any large investments in Spore except for my home. I'm getting the bulk of my $ from my investments in the US & Malaysia.

Used to invest in Spore but with all the fees they started charging it adds to the cost.

PAP is killing Spore with all these price hikes. Now with things breaking down in Spore, it might be time to consider moving out.
keep hearing the same for over 6.9 years. still waiting with abated breath.

nayr69sg

Staff member

Bad luck!

Ok guys. Work is over for me this week.

See you guys Monday!

Maybe the real fear for moving is never confronted. Like how his money is safer in cpf and in sg bank accounts than getting conned by Thai ladyboys.

Easier as a tourist, no need to learn a new language, no need to commit as can tell the ladyboys cannot stay as no pr.
may be thai ladyboys keep asking about his cpf account.

All the excuses :

1) language barrier
2) too cold
3) too dangerous
4) no job
5) don't know anybody there
6) don't like the place
7) food is horrible
8) wife say cannot

What's wrong with being contented with what one has?

Had a good job which provided me the opportunity to become a millionaire. I've paid off my mortgage & have no debts. With $$$ life is stress free & you have a freedom of choice.

I use Spore as a base & take frequent trips around this region. However if the PAP increases the costs in Spore my plan is simply to move.

Living in Spore has it's pros & cons. I will make my move when it suites me.

SgGoneWrong

What's wrong with being contented with what one has?

Had a good job which provided me the opportunity to become a millionaire. I've paid off my mortgage & have no debts. With $$$ life is stress free & you have a freedom of choice.

I use Spore as a base & take frequent trips around this region. However if the PAP increases the costs in Spore my plan is simply to move.

Living in Spore has it's pros & cons. I will make my move when it suites me.

Nothing wrong. Just that kpkb sometimes affect those who take your kpkb serious and tried to help. Thanks, with this post we know you are happy and kpkb is just part of your nature. And we will just take it as such next time.

You can move around the netherworlds when the right time comes.

I Guess I'm easy to satisfy. That's why you hear the same song from me. I've of course looked around & have made my own plans as to when or if I will move.

Met up with some friends & they asked me if I got bored because I haven't worked for 10+ years.

Told them If you have $$$ you can do what you like. Sleep, wake, take trips, ... whatever. So I'm ok with how things are right now. I take about 10 overseas trips per year.

I can live with all the PAP price hikes but will consider moving if the PAP makes more drastic changes. it is a matter of principal. Why should I have to pay more when things in Spore are failing?

nayr69sg

Staff member
I Guess I'm easy to satisfy. That's why you hear the same song from me. I've of course looked around & have made my own plans as to when or if I will move.

Met up with some friends & they asked me if I got bored because I haven't worked for 10+ years.

Told them If you have $$$ you can do what you like. Sleep, wake, take trips, ... whatever. So I'm ok with how things are right now. I take about 10 overseas trips per year.

I can live with all the PAP price hikes but will consider moving if the PAP makes more drastic changes. it is a matter of principal. Why should I have to pay more when things in Spore are failing?

Reading what you wrote I now understand.

You aren't going to leave Singapore bar a collapse of the SGD causing chaos. Or some how 100% taxes.

By then I pray you have enough foreign currency

Nothing wrong. Just that kpkb sometimes affect those who take your kpkb serious and tried to help. Thanks, with this post we know you are happy and kpkb is just part of your nature. And we will just take it as such next time.

You can move around the netherworlds when the right time comes.

Sorry if I seem to Kpkb but isn't that a common thing among Sporeans?

It has driven Sporeans to moved to JB, while others to Australia, Canada,....

There is a reason why I'm excluding Australia & Canada from my plans. Although these are great places if you are young & starting a family. However if you are old & have $$$ it's not so good because of the colder weather & taxes.

My thoughts

1. Most people moved out upwards (to 1st world) however I had moved downwards (to 3rd world Thailand) is this a downgrade? Well my posts here speaks for itself.

2. I shall not use my lifestyle there to compare with sinkie lifestyle here however I shall use "poor" 3rd world people's life style to compare with "Swiss Standard, 1st World" ordinary folks here and I have to say in many ways the quality of life these "poor" people live where I am is better than sinkieland, yes these people may not have the opportunity to travel as much as sinkies and enjoy the "high life" of sinkies but all these come with a price, very very high price.

3. Sinkies pay low tax? My simple logic is so simple, money not in your pocket is taxes and I don't need to explain more. I am master of my money not some CPF but of course the PAP had already programmed people living here that you are unable to manage your own money neither can you manage your "retirement" funds as very soon it will disappear to casinos and PRC ladies etc. After all the World Number 1 western education sinkies are still so damn stupid to believe, unbelievable.

4. I don't even want to go to the World Class Transportation area but just a short note, you can chose where you live thats close to your daily activities and don't have to go through the traffic jam, we are human please we can plan we can chose oh wait a minute no no no I need to wait for PAP to plan for me and make decision for me.

5. Number ONE, Most POWERFUL Passport in the world - come on this is only for convenience especially for business people. How many sinkies have to travel to USA once year? Ok ok bad example, it should be according to sinkies "I have this passport and I can go anywhere anytime" so does that make my 3rd world colleagues or friends unable to travel? Well it may take a bit of time and money but its not a daily inconvenience. I am a sinkie too but what price do sinkies pay to ave this most powerful passport convenience go figure.

6. Many of you will say but Froggy lucky have work outside sinkieland, if I am allowed to speak for all the quiters, we planned for this a long time, we prepared for this it did not drop from the sky, we dare to go, we sacrificed for it and yes with just a tiny luck we left and are who we are today. It's not about luck.

Anyway I shan't talk too much, after all in the Swiss Standard eyes of sinkies, I am a downgrade, a quiter who left for a 3rd world. Better finish my morning coffee at Tanglin Halt market and get out of this Disneyland fast before being lynched.

โชคดีคนสิงคโปร์

IMG_20171209_071251.jpg

Reading what you wrote I now understand.

You aren't going to leave Singapore bar a collapse of the SGD causing chaos. Or some how 100% taxes.

By then I pray you have enough foreign currency

I keep most of my $$$ offshore so even if Spore collapses only the value of my home in Spore will drop.

I will only have money problems if there is another global recession. If that happens, it will affect everyone, no matter which country they are living in.

Actually I have very little cash in my CPF. Most of it is invested in the investment scheme & used it to pay for my current home.

Haven't given much thought about my CPF because I can't touch it. The people who will benefit will be my relatives when I up the lorry.

I try to keep my SGD account to a minimum so that I can keep it in USD to invest in the US market

zeebjii

Cut him some slack, not easy to move to new country at 69 years of age. Sinkies of his age may complain a lot, but they are the generation that has benefited most from the lky's rule, pioneer generation!! not easy to let go!

I'm not that old yet but already feeling my age :(
Common to have aches & pains..

When you are young making a decision to move is an easy thing to do because you have very little baggage. It get's more complicated as you age.

I suspect that some of those criticising my decision are actually living in Spore? It's always easy to criticise especially when it is behind the veil of anonymity.

The reality is that the more you own the more complex things get. What to do with my property & all my possessions? I still need a Spore address for all my bank accounts & brokerage accounts. Have to consider things like property ownership, tax liabilities, .. etc. I know others who are facing the same dilemma.

So I simply postpone making a decision & use Spore as a base & just take frequent holiday trips around this region. This is why I haven't had a haircut in Spore in over 15+ years.

It is not always greener in the 1st world. My relatives from Australia have their share of complaints.

If the PAP changes the rules I will have to re-eavaluate the situation but I will wait & see what kind of changes they make 1st & avoid moving just because everyone is doing it.

People forget that Spore belongs to Sporeans & it does not belong to the PAP. This is why I have voted for the opposition & not the PAP for the nth time.

Doc,

you need to cut some slack here. This forum is dominated to the hilt by folks who resent the PAP by a bagful. So there is no need to convince how bad Singapore is or that it is sliding.

There are various reasons why many do not leave. Lot of the reasons are personal and there are lot of other dependencies as well. Singapore is also not exactly the 3rd World.

Firstly many are not young families where parents are blessed by being born into well to do families who can provide insurance if things do not work out. Secondly some have learnt to adapt and make use of Singapore to build a lifestyle without sucking up to the PAP.

A more positive contribution would be to provide guidance to those who are not sure but who are considering or who have yet to consider migration.

Not right to bash those who have chosen to remain and yet want to speak up against the PAP. They have every right to bash the PAP just like you and me.

All the excuses :

1) language barrier
2) too cold
3) too dangerous
4) no job
6) don't like the place
7) food is horrible
8) wife say cannot
9) not enough money

All the excuses :

1) language barrier
2) too cold
3) too dangerous
4) no job
6) don't like the place
7) food is horrible
8) wife say cannot
9) not enough money

When I left Singapore I encouraged my collegues who owned million dollar properties to cash out and follow suit.

The two standard excuses were

1. Parents too old.

2. Kids too young.

20 years have passed. The parents are dead and the kids have carved out their own careers in distant lands. They live a lonely existence burdened by ever increasing costs. Many can't afford cars anymore.

They are now stuck in sinkieland because they are too old. No country wants old farts.

All I can say is "I told you so".

Leaving Disneyland guys. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Seee3

There were much discussion about Sgd collapsed and keeping foreign currency.

When my kids needed usd and euro many many years ago, I changed whenever the rate was good. When they were back I had some extras but held on to them thinking that they might come in handy as a contingency. Then come 2008, and both currency nosedived. Todate, after about 10 years, I will not recover the loss in exchange rate if I convert them back to sgd. I wondered how much our GIC has lost and those that claimed to hold assests in these currencies.