• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Whathefish

Thanks bro..i use the FD rate as the risk-free I/R...what can i get had i not used the monies for investment. So if rental yield is not too far from risk free rate, then it makes more sense to just to put it in Msia FD. Having rented out properties in SG before, I know it is not exactly a headache free undertaking..haha.

I sometimes suspect the way M'sians architects state the size of the lot..maybe its the ruler they use..i dont know..on paper, it can state 2500 sqft, but on site it looks more like 2000 sqft. for impiana, yes their 3 bedder doesnt look like it has 106 sqm...it doesnt help also when their show units did not display the unit type.

my options are still open on impiana...mmm.
Hmm, what i meant is that the FD rates really cannot be used as benchmark compared to rental yields. FD depends on lump sum payment. Assume 1. you have 100k now 2. rental yield and FD at 3%. If you choose to put in FD, you get 3k after one year, 6.1k 2nd and so on, maybe at 5th year you've got >15% over your capital, however, that's only a 16k+ profit. If you put in property, you're leveraging money, your capital vs yield scales differently along the years (i.e. lose money till breakeven, then accelerated earnings over the years, then stabilise, then decelerated earnings as the property turns older<more for leasehold>).

You can try download a amortisation chart/spreadsheet and compare yourselves.

Btw, Impiana 2-rm is 106-112 sqm, 3-rm is 130-134 sqm. Not one tier above HDB's size, ish two tiers :biggrin:

Investor

oh ya i remember now. so many posts, how to remember hehe..

why so negative, not always sway what. before marrying him, ask for all his credit info. like what bankers do.

Don't mind me asking, so you got any home in SG? staying with parents now?

Fwah Lastresort really chop chop kalipok man, few hours back just tried to check whether or not she's married, now wanna meet her parents already ah? :*:

crystal_tiong

Yes I tried before. I can put up with it. Alternative is to buy a Malaysia car and drive to bus interchange Lo. Very easy. My JB friends working in Sg also do the same, of course gotta illegal park la, else thats another cost just for parking.

And with completion of tuas mrt, will be much more convenient too. SBS is in the pipeline of operating via second link. It can only get better.
I have full confident. Based on all assessment, I have little to lose even if it doesn't work out to plan, but very big gain and lead the lifestyle I endure. I can see that my buddies in Singapore will envy me for having a house and a car much earlier than them lol ... Anyway not a race , it's a choice :-)

Maybe get a bike license ?

DREAMorACTION

London/uk has a good system too. One can easily identify their hot districts like those in sg. Their agents are very professional and the agents are also part valuers. I was there before so I know a bit :-) in addition, their price has slumped a lot compared to 4 to 5 years ago. If got good local people to guide u, it's definitely one of the top choice to consider :smile:

same here although i won't rule out having one purely for investment in time to come. right now, London is looking more & more attractive vs sg.

Whathefish

yea do agree we've all started out like that but that attitudes does leave much to be desired. the tone of condescension and elitsim. hope that's the case for him.

Such people should be ignored, coz you'll not want someone like him to be your neighbour. Stay away from Nusajaya.. lol

crystal_tiong

U bought or intend to buy a sg car too?

Erm, I been driving for 7 yrs. only recent 2 yrs, a guy friend brought me to explore jb sentosa etc And this yr aug, I start to explore more in Indah alone using gps . And been driving weekly at least once or twice to pump petrol, shopping n golfing.

crystal_tiong

Fwah Lastresort really chop chop kalipok man, few hours back just tried to check whether or not she's married, now wanna meet her parents already ah? :*:

Investor,

U really can think out of box hor. So funny.
Seriously, last resort n myself hv no feel on each other la
And I think he is born in dragon yr

DREAMorACTION

Can't believe u just said that. U have belief to change mindset and buy in JB. And u have no belief a dragon will match up with Capricorn. Suddenly u back to traditional mindset. Boooo ... Lol

Investor,

U really can think out of box hor. So funny.
Seriously, last resort n myself hv no feel on each other la
And I think he is born in dragon yr

crystal_tiong

Can't believe u just said that. U have belief to change mindset and buy in JB. And u have no belief a dragon will match up with Capricorn. Suddenly u back to traditional mindset. Boooo ... Lol

Wow. U should be reporter leh. Anyway twist words. I mentioned dragon coz I m dragon too !! That shows our age gap la.

yonglip

Hmm, what i meant is that the FD rates really cannot be used as benchmark compared to rental yields. FD depends on lump sum payment. Assume 1. you have 100k now 2. rental yield and FD at 3%. If you choose to put in FD, you get 3k after one year, 6.1k 2nd and so on, maybe at 5th year you've got >15% over your capital, however, that's only a 16k+ profit. If you put in property, you're leveraging money, your capital vs yield scales differently along the years (i.e. lose money till breakeven, then accelerated earnings over the years, then stabilise, then decelerated earnings as the property turns older<more for leasehold>).

You can try download a amortisation chart/spreadsheet and compare yourselves.

Btw, Impiana 2-rm is 106-112 sqm, 3-rm is 130-134 sqm. Not one tier above HDB's size, ish two tiers :biggrin:

Ya. my typo sir...i was referring to the 2 rooms...yes they have B and B1...notwithstanding, all of the show units feel small..haha.

lastresort

holiday season so high ah, tomorrow still got stressful work! better sleep now. Later discipline master Mr Zhang will check. Time out now.

Investor

Yes. bro. i do agree with many of the points you raised. human beings are never contented. I have many friends who stayed in landed and told me the same thing..."Landed is no big deal"...Similarly, many people in SG yearn to upgrade to a condo when they have a HDB, and as it turns out, having stayed at a condo before, i can categorically say that "staying in condo is also no big deal"..in fact i prefer my present HDB to my previous condo. Its like buying toys for my toddler kids, after playing for a while, they will chuck it one side and ask "whats next?"....

Ironically, people tend to treasure what they dont have and take for granted what they have. I always like the story of asking a Beijing resident whether have they climbed the great wall, and you will be surprised how many of them have not done it cos its in their own back yard and they feel they can go anytime while tourist from faraway places pay thousands just to visit the great wall. So to M'sians, landed can mean nothing cos it is so common and cheap there,..but in land scarce SG, it represents a breath of fresh air from the bird cages we have been born into.

cheers.

You are really a great thinker, I've always enjoyed reading your views bro :smile:

DREAMorACTION

Hey, good night. And think of ah tiong jie. Age is never an issue. We r yuppies. We change tradition and we make things happen okay!!! :wink:

holiday season so high ah, tomorrow still got stressful work! better sleep now. Later discipline master Mr Zhang will check. Time out now.

Status
Not open for further replies.