• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How to move to jb?

tobelightlight

I need to get this off my chest because whenever I tell my colleagues I live in JB, they look at me with a mix of pity and horror. They immediately imagine the 4:30 a.m. alarm, the soul-crushing human crush at the CIQ, and the exhaust fumes of the Causeway.

But here’s the confession: I’m living the Singaporean Dream, just not in Singapore.

I’ve cracked the code. Because my working hours fall during the "reverse traffic" window, I’m cruising at 80km/h on the bridge while everyone else is stuck in a 2-hour gridlock going the opposite way. I have "best of both worlds" syndrome, and frankly, looking at the cost of living in SG right now, I feel like I’ve escaped a burning building.

The real eye-opener happened last weekend. I was having coffee with my neighbors—a group of Singaporean retirees in their early 60s. We live in a gated and guarded landed estate. These uncles and aunties are playing the game at a level most of us haven't even considered. They told me they’re renting out their 5-room HDB flats in places like Queenstown or Ang Mo Kio for $5,500 a month.

Let that sink in.

They take that $5.5k SGD, convert it to roughly RM18,000+, and use just RM3,500 of it to pay off a massive, luxurious mortgage in Malaysia. Their CPF? Untouched. It’s just sitting there compounding while they live like royalty. They aren't on MM2H either; they just pop back to SG every three weeks to see the grandkids and top up their Bengawan Solo cravings. They don’t deal with neighbor disputes over corridor clutter or PMD fire risks. It’s quiet, it’s secure, and it’s dignified.

After paying the mortgage and expenses, they still have enough left over to maintain a decent car (the "norm" here) and save more than most mid-level managers in SG.

We always talk about the 1:3.5 exchange rate like it’s just a number, but we forget the human element. Yes, the SGD is stronger, but a Singaporean’s life isn’t three times longer than a Malaysian’s. We all have the same 80-odd years on this earth. Why spend 60 of them "hustling" in a pressure cooker just to afford a shoebox?

In Singapore, the "norm" is the MRT squeeze and the "pardon me" dance with rude strangers at the hawker center. In JB, the "norm" is driving. You spend your transit time in your own private sanctuary with your own music. You encounter fewer "Karens" because you aren't constantly bumping shoulders with them in a crowded mall.

People say JB is "dangerous," but honestly? I feel safer in my gated community than I did dealing with the passive-aggressive notes from my old neighbor in Jurong.

I see my friends in SG stressed about COE prices and GST hikes, and I’m sitting here in my garden in JB thinking: Why are we all competing for the same 700 square kilometers? The math just doesn't add up anymore. If you can handle the border (and do it smartly), the quality of life isn't just slightly better—it’s a different universe.

Thoughts? Am I the crazy one, or is everyone else just too afraid to jump ship?

FB_IMG_1778809835921.jpg

That is why i need to take over the island nation and turn it into a swamp. Remove all the filthy scumbag investors, like Ms Adelson sand's casino and replace it with sandy beach.

I need to get this off my chest because whenever I tell my colleagues I live in JB, they look at me with a mix of pity and horror. They immediately imagine the 4:30 a.m. alarm, the soul-crushing human crush at the CIQ, and the exhaust fumes of the Causeway.

But here’s the confession: I’m living the Singaporean Dream, just not in Singapore.

I’ve cracked the code. Because my working hours fall during the "reverse traffic" window, I’m cruising at 80km/h on the bridge while everyone else is stuck in a 2-hour gridlock going the opposite way. I have "best of both worlds" syndrome, and frankly, looking at the cost of living in SG right now, I feel like I’ve escaped a burning building.

The real eye-opener happened last weekend. I was having coffee with my neighbors—a group of Singaporean retirees in their early 60s. We live in a gated and guarded landed estate. These uncles and aunties are playing the game at a level most of us haven't even considered. They told me they’re renting out their 5-room HDB flats in places like Queenstown or Ang Mo Kio for $5,500 a month.

Let that sink in.

They take that $5.5k SGD, convert it to roughly RM18,000+, and use just RM3,500 of it to pay off a massive, luxurious mortgage in Malaysia. Their CPF? Untouched. It’s just sitting there compounding while they live like royalty. They aren't on MM2H either; they just pop back to SG every three weeks to see the grandkids and top up their Bengawan Solo cravings. They don’t deal with neighbor disputes over corridor clutter or PMD fire risks. It’s quiet, it’s secure, and it’s dignified.

After paying the mortgage and expenses, they still have enough left over to maintain a decent car (the "norm" here) and save more than most mid-level managers in SG.

We always talk about the 1:3.5 exchange rate like it’s just a number, but we forget the human element. Yes, the SGD is stronger, but a Singaporean’s life isn’t three times longer than a Malaysian’s. We all have the same 80-odd years on this earth. Why spend 60 of them "hustling" in a pressure cooker just to afford a shoebox?

In Singapore, the "norm" is the MRT squeeze and the "pardon me" dance with rude strangers at the hawker center. In JB, the "norm" is driving. You spend your transit time in your own private sanctuary with your own music. You encounter fewer "Karens" because you aren't constantly bumping shoulders with them in a crowded mall.

People say JB is "dangerous," but honestly? I feel safer in my gated community than I did dealing with the passive-aggressive notes from my old neighbor in Jurong.

I see my friends in SG stressed about COE prices and GST hikes, and I’m sitting here in my garden in JB thinking: Why are we all competing for the same 700 square kilometers? The math just doesn't add up anymore. If you can handle the border (and do it smartly), the quality of life isn't just slightly better—it’s a different universe.

Thoughts? Am I the crazy one, or is everyone else just too afraid to jump ship?

View attachment 241685
IMHO, they are exploiting a loophole for long stay in JB, the big BUT is how long Malaysia Gov choose to turn a blind eyes loh

I have similar plan too but maybe “butterfly” around few more safe destinations

A sinkie i knew had a gf in KL and he lived with her and do visa run every month for maybe 5 years till They broke off. Only once the immigration ask why he didn't seek long term visa.

Malayu or Cina?

no MM2H Visa will sure kenna banned from entering later ... now custom all computerised, the number of days stayed in Malaysia will be captured by computer at custom and will sure kenna deported if without that visa ... no believe just wait and see them kenna deported back .... :whistling:

Ramesh is having the time of his life in Sickipoora. His monthly salary was over 30K sgd 5 years ago and a government who put foreigners first. MAJULAH.

Who knows if Ramesh can climb to some Ministar level in Yeedia?

All these FTs that can parachute in to take high places are somehow related to some VViPs back in their kampong de

Dun offend them, no much chance for Happy Ending

JB is more or less Sinkie-fied now, an urban shithole. Even that little extra perks from the exchange rate isn't worth the hassle.

no MM2H Visa will sure kenna banned from entering later ... now custom all computerised, the number of days stayed in Malaysia will be captured by computer at custom and will sure kenna deported if without that visa ... no believe just wait and see them kenna deported back .... :whistling:
No need lah. Just rent dont buy..if cannot come in then nothing lost.