• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Thai Language Lovers -share rescources here!

Queen Seok Duk

Alamak don't tell me that ramseth was wrong again, it's pai tiao instead of tham ngan?

I wouldn't say Ramseth is wrong. It's just that I have never come across Thais describing a party as 'tam ngan'. I have ever been asked 'gan mueng' or 'pak gan mueng' which means party.

Then again, there are ladies in my building who sleep during the day and dress up and 'chiong' at night. Maybe their work is to party.

The OP is hinting liao, now seeking resources liao.:biggrin:

I wouldn't say Ramseth is wrong. It's just that I have never come across Thais describing a party as 'tam ngan'. I have ever been asked 'gan mueng' or 'pak gan mueng' which means party.

Then again, there are ladies in my building who sleep during the day and dress up and 'chiong' at night. Maybe their work is to party.

Which condo you live sia? In Ratchada?

:smile:

Queen Seok Duk

Another thing about the Thais, and it's language related.

The lower class Thais will use the word 'faen' interchangeably with 'samee' or 'panreya', meaning husband or wife.

This is important because the word 'faen' blurs the distinction between boyfriend and husband or girlfriend and wife. The objective is to also blur the line between cohabitation and marriage.

When everybody starts using the word 'faen' to mean husband, a woman who cohabits will not feel ashamed at all when she refers to her fellow cohabitant as 'faen' as many will take it to mean 'husband'.

OP? You mean the thread starter? Which post was it?

Another thing about the Thais, and it's language related.

The lower class Thais will use the word 'faen' interchangeably with 'samee' or 'panreya', meaning husband or wife.

This is important because the word 'faen' blurs the distinction between boyfriend and husband or girlfriend and wife. The objective is to also blur the line between cohabitation and marriage.

When everybody starts using the word 'faen' to mean husband, a woman who cohabits will not feel ashamed at all when she refers to her fellow cohabitant as 'faen' as many will take it to mean 'husband'.

Is faen pronounced fan as in ma fan de fan? Or as in fern like fern leaves?

Btw when you say lower classed thais you mean lower classed as in economically? I know it's pretty dumb to ask in such a manner but you know i don't really know where the line is drawn bet lower classed and middle class. I have only visited bkk and pattaya and none of the provinces hence perhaps i have not really met a lower classed thai?

Lastly do you know of stereotypes of thais from different provinces? Something like cantonese are black hearted, hakkas are cunning that sort of thing? Ppl from northern china are more direct.

I have heard of this stereotype from my thai fren about southern thais also known as tai. Khun tai jai dum as in black hearted cos many southern thais are muslims and they commit terrorist acts.

Btw when you say lower classed thais you mean lower classed as in economically? I know it's pretty dumb to ask in such a manner but you know i don't really know where the line is drawn bet lower classed and middle class. I have only visited bkk and pattaya and none of the provinces hence perhaps i have not really met a lower classed thai?

Lastly do you know of stereotypes of thais from different provinces? Something like cantonese are black hearted, hakkas are cunning that sort of thing? Ppl from northern china are more direct.

I have heard of this stereotype from my thai fren about southern thais also known as tai. Khun tai jai dum as in black hearted cos many southern thais are muslims and they commit terrorist acts.

But is a fact. Even my colleagues in Bangkok looked down on the Issan people as poor and stupid. They don't tell me directly (cos they know I'm pro-Red), but when they talk, they imply. Example a few closer ones told me that the Issan folks dunno how to vote and they cannot think because they are rural folks, farmers stupid, little education etc...

So annoying!!!

That's me!!

Chai laeew, share more resources. Here's one

http://www.ethaimusic.com/

:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

I like their fast upbeat music. It has a very unique dancing beat to it that is purely thai. I noticed when some mediacock documentaries show thailand they will play that upbeat music. I also learned their folk music mostly played by the village ppl is called luk thung.

Their sentimental songs are ok but nothing special since chinese music has sooooooooo many sentimental songs but surprisingly it sounds different from chinese music. I am also quite pissed off that chinese music copied a few songs from thailand considering that china has a larger population and a longer history how could they copy thailand's songs? Examples are like grasshopper copying bird's songs.

Here's some thai disco dance music. I extracted the audio from youtube and made it into mp3

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/KpUz7CqxVsc?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/KpUz7CqxVsc?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

luk thung song. This gal is quite pretty

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/MdSN79Mbh3U?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/MdSN79Mbh3U?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Queen Seok Duk

I have a thai fren and she stays at a condo in rachada but she works as a nurse.

That is not the end of the story. You must find out who she is living with. As far as I know, nurses are not paid enough to live in a condo. Most live in quarters (which are decent apartments) built or leased out to Hospitals.

But is a fact. Even my colleagues in Bangkok looked down on the Issan people as poor and stupid. They don't tell me directly (cos they know I'm pro-Red), but when they talk, they imply. Example a few closer ones told me that the Issan folks dunno how to vote and they cannot think because they are rural folks, farmers stupid, little education etc...

So annoying!!!

Is there anyway to physically tell an issan thai? I think i might have gotten it correct a few times before.

They are usually dark skinned but don't look like the local malays here. Usually the central thais and southern thais are equally dark skinned but have that malay look about them. I hope you know what i'm talking about, those issan folks don't look as malayish as the southern folks especially.

There are also many fair skinned chinese looking issan thais too. I even know one gal from surin which is extreme northeast next to cambodia that can pass off as a jap and where tony jaa comes from and he looks exactly like those low class cambodian type of thais.

I know I may be outdated. But the only morlam and luk thung singer I know is Jintara Poonlab

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/qv0qvEErm08?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/qv0qvEErm08?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

:smile:

That is not the end of the story. You must find out who she is living with. As far as I know, nurses are not paid enough to live in a condo. Most live in quarters (which are decent apartments) built or leased out to Hospitals.

I actually stayed in her condo for a few days. Doesn't have a bf or sponser. We also went to pattaya to holiday and she lied to them that she was sick so that she could go pattaya with me. I'm just saying she seemed rather lonely but maybe i don't know the full story.

Queen Seok Duk

Btw when you say lower classed thais you mean lower classed as in economically?

Khun tai jai dum as in black hearted cos many southern thais are muslims and they commit terrorist acts.

No question is dumb. More like people who answer are desperate to show they're cleverer. Ignorance is definitely not a sin.

Yes, it's pronounced as 'fan'. The lower class Thais are the monkeys from Isaan.

Don't mix up 'khun' with 'kone'. It's 'Kone' Tai (dtai = south). Khun is 'Mr'.

Queen Seok Duk

I actually stayed in her condo for a few days. Doesn't have a bf or sponser. We also went to pattaya to holiday and she lied to them that she was sick so that she could go pattaya with me. I'm just saying she seemed rather lonely but maybe i don't know the full story.

She 'lied'...that's the key word ! Lied to 'who' ?

Of course if you would never know the full story until you paid enough 'school fees'.

There are also many fair skinned chinese looking issan thais too. I even know one gal from surin which is extreme northeast next to cambodia that can pass off as a jap and where tony jaa comes from and he looks exactly like those low class cambodian type of thais.

You are right about the fair skin Chinese Issan people. All the while I thought all Issan people are dark skin. Until one day, I went to Udon Thani and stayed one night there (actually I was on my way to Nong Khai). Boy, I was real surprised to see quite a few Chinese looking Thais and a number of Goldsmiths shops there own by them!!

I can't really tell whether a dark person is from Issan, Klang or Tai. But of course when they speak their local dialects, I can tell. Somehow, those Klang people outside Bkk also speaks a little different from the Bkk Thai.

She 'lied'...that's the key word ! Lied to 'who' ?

Of course if you would never know the full story until you paid enough 'school fees'.

When i wrote she lied i meant that she lied to the hospital.

She has to work in the hospital at around 7am to like 8pm at night. She wanted to go to pattaya with me hence she called up the hospital and lied to them that she was ill and wanted to take a day off.

No question is dumb. More like people who answer are desperate to show they're cleverer. Ignorance is definitely not a sin.

Yes, it's pronounced as 'fan'. The lower class Thais are the monkeys from Isaan.

Don't mix up 'khun' with 'kone'. It's 'Kone' Tai (dtai = south). Khun is 'Mr'.

Thanks for clarifying. Thais i noticed pronounce the words differently from how it's spelled maybe cos it's something like hanyu pinyin?

Like they always pronounce words with an R as an L.

Roi (hundred) becomes loi. Arai = alai. Platinum mall is called pratunam. Central world becomes sentan world. Punch is called pun and so on. Last time one of them was working in arena club in clarke quay pronounced it as alina. I tried searching on the directory and couldn't find it. :confused: I should have figured the r and l pronunciation thing at that time.

If they pronounce english words wrongly it's still okay but how could they mix up thai words too.