• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WP at the Crossroads?

Satyr

Most of you are just too coined in that little box of PAP.

There are four official languages in Parliament and Chinese is one of them; not Hainanese.

LTK looks very pathetic when he needs to listen to interpretation while PM Lee hoot him while he tried very hard and sometimes LOST when he translated his thoughts from Chinese to English. Just let PM Lee listen to interpretation while trying to understand LTK's rebuttal lah!

LTK has said he doesn't aspire to be to PM and WP not going to be ruling party any sooner. There is absolutely nothing wrong with using Chinese. In fact, if PM Lee or PAP shows any issue with this, LTK would have mocked them for their failure of "Mother Tongue" education!

Between looking like a lost sheep or tongue tied while debating vs making effective strong points during it, I would choose the later. In fact, I will switch in between languages!

Goh Meng Seng

LTK is not going to use Chinese in parliament. That would label the WP as provincial. They are already national. People will make allowances for the disparity in language skills. LTK ain't dumbo.

Thick Face Black Heart

Most of you are just too coined in that little box of PAP.

There are four official languages in Parliament and Chinese is one of them; not Hainanese.

LTK looks very pathetic when he needs to listen to interpretation while PM Lee hoot him while he tried very hard and sometimes LOST when he translated his thoughts from Chinese to English. Just let PM Lee listen to interpretation while trying to understand LTK's rebuttal lah!

LTK has said he doesn't aspire to be to PM and WP not going to be ruling party any sooner. There is absolutely nothing wrong with using Chinese. In fact, if PM Lee or PAP shows any issue with this, LTK would have mocked them for their failure of "Mother Tongue" education!

Between looking like a lost sheep or tongue tied while debating vs making effective strong points during it, I would choose the later. In fact, I will switch in between languages!

Goh Meng Seng

I am not sure about you but mandarin is not my mother tongue.

Maybe I am the odd one out, I don't know.

In any case you think you can do better than ltk? Maybe you should try to get into parliament first and then you show us how it's supposed to be done.

kryonlight

In any case you think you can do better than ltk? Maybe you should try to get into parliament first and then you show us how it's supposed to be done.

How do you expect that piece of rubbish to enter parliament? He doesn't even have the patience and determination of a politician.

I know how hard the WP works. I see them at various places on Sundays selling their party's letter. It is always a pleasant surprise. I saw Sylvia Lim standing there on a drizzling morning. I saw LTK smiling at me with his letter. These are the people with the passion to serve. I never once saw a men-in-white even though their HQ is only round the corner. I only saw their faces on the notice board, and it's always the same pathetic face.

You are absolutely right about WP. There is no more hardworking than WP. And they truly belief in their cause. I remember many years ago debating with Lockeliberal, a member of WP then if their approach was effective and productive. I thought it would not produce results. It was directly opposite to the style of JBJ. I was glad to be proven wrong.

I know how hard the WP works. I see them at various places on Sundays selling their party's letter. It is always a pleasant surprise. I saw Sylvia Lim standing there on a drizzling morning. I saw LTK smiling at me with his letter. These are the people with the passion to serve. I never once saw a men-in-white even though their HQ is only round the corner. I only saw their faces on the notice board, and it's always the same pathetic face.

To take stock after 100 over posts, there is no other organised party with achievable manifesto and down to earth party members than WP. A complete opposition of the PAP who are arrogant, overcompensated and detached from the very people they are supposed to represent and lead.

People will complain every now and then but they generally do so in the same vein as one chides his kids to strive for more. I am certain everyone in this thread who has issues with WP will still vote WP against the PAP.

PTADER

To take stock after 100 over posts, there is no other organised party with achievable manifesto and down to earth party members than WP. A complete opposition of the PAP who are arrogant, overcompensated and detached from the very people they are supposed to represent and lead.

People will complain every now and then but they generally do so in the same vein as one chides his kids to strive for more. I am certain everyone in this thread who has issues with WP will still vote WP against the PAP.

Most people mistakenly assume that there are only two ways to vote. There is a third way and that is to spoil your vote.

There's no point voting for a useless, incompetent and effete opposition in protest of the PAP. To do so is to send a message to the WP Parliamentarians, or any opposition party for that matter, that choosing to be a career politician simply because the jobs pays very well but being hopeless, useless, incompetent, ineffective, effete and pussilanimous are acceptable conduct and performance as an opposition MP.

I will strongly encourage people to spoil their votes and not vote for the WP until and unless these elected WP MPs shed their incompetence, cowardice, silence and lift their game.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I don't agree with you, even though I think WP has lots of lapses and room for improvement. We still need to tackle the bigger problem PAP in GE. If it is by-election, yes, maybe spoiling votes will give a strong signal. But for GE, it is totally a different ball game.

Goh Meng Seng

Most people mistakenly assume that there are only two ways to vote. There is a third way and that is to spoil your vote.

There's no point voting for a useless, incompetent and effete opposition in protest of the PAP. To do so is to send a message to the WP Parliamentarians, or any opposition party for that matter, that choosing to be a career politician simply because the jobs pays very well but being hopeless, useless, incompetent, ineffective, effete and pussilanimous are acceptable conduct and performance as an opposition MP.

I will strongly encourage people to spoil their votes and not vote for the WP until and unless these elected WP MPs shed their incompetence, cowardice, silence and lift their game.

Thick Face Black Heart

That is an old and extremely silly idea. A spoilt vote is virtually a vote for the PAP given the kind of unlevel playing field, unfair control of the media, gerrymandering, etc, that the PAP is capable of. A spoilt vote will just give the incumbent a good hearty laugh to the bank - and it will be guaranteed that policies will not change and status quo will remain. A vote for the opposition even if it is a PAP-lite Team B wayang poodle dog is a slap on the PAP's face that will back the PAP into a corner. The political calculus is as simple as that. I'm not rewarding the WP for poor performance, I'm slapping the PAP for poor performance. GET IT!?!?

Thick Face Black Heart

I don't agree with you, even though I think WP has lots of lapses and room for improvement. We still need to tackle the bigger problem PAP in GE. If it is by-election, yes, maybe spoiling votes will give a strong signal. But for GE, it is totally a different ball game.

Goh Meng Seng

In the last BE, a young lady who was painted by the media as nothing more than an "N" level holder gave a DOCTOR and his party the best political SLAP in years. I'd rather send a strong signal to the PAP to change. They are the ones with 92% of Parliament under their belt. If anyone should change, it is THEM! GET IT!?!?

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Such thinking may just backfire, really.

BE is the time to remind political parties what voters really want without affecting the whole country's political landscape. Thus, it is only opportunity for voters to display informed voting.

Unfortunately, opportunities have been lost in both BE. Wrong signals have been sent, so be it.

Goh Meng Seng

In the last BE, a young lady who was painted by the media as nothing more than an "N" level holder gave a DOCTOR and his party the best political SLAP in years. I'd rather send a strong signal to the PAP to change. They are the ones with 92% of Parliament under their belt. If anyone should change, it is THEM! GET IT!?!?

You are playing into PAP's had with that approach. It is the very reason why the recent antics by the PM, Janil and Indranee in parliament. We are not doing a Barisan again.

I rather have bicycle thieves in Parliament than the PAP. We need to send a message to the PAP. Eventually when there are sufficient numbers we can chose to be more demanding of opposition candidates.

Old man had the habit of putting down candidates when it came to their a academic qualifications and work background. And it worked until Chiam proved him wrong. The voters too have wised up. Look at Lee Li Lian.

Thick Face Black Heart

BE is the time to remind political parties what voters really want without affecting the whole country's political landscape. Thus, it is only opportunity for voters to display informed voting.

Unfortunately, opportunities have been lost in both BE. Wrong signals have been sent, so be it.

Goh Meng Seng

Yah, and if people voted in KPK with a 55% majority as opposed to LLL, what message would they have sent the PAP? That we forgive you for screwing up the FT policy, and housing policy and CPF because the bucktooth lady happens to be from a party that is perceived at PAP-Lite. What kind of political prioritizing is that? Its called cutting off the nose to smite the face - that's what it is. Doesn't matter BE, GE or even PE. A vote of the PAP candidate sends the same message.

Yingge

How do you expect that piece of rubbish to enter parliament? He doesn't even have the patience and determination of a politician.

You mean we pay our MPs 16K per month to selling party letter??? If PAP MPs are seen selling PAP news letter... They will be fucked left, right and centre...:biggrin:

This has to be most ridiculous post ever by you.

There were no distraction and to your point an opportunity that does not affect the political landscape ( I think you mean normal function of government), and the voters had clear options. And in both BEs, they spoke loud and clear. It was not a freak result.

The only uncertainly is the inertia associated with party incumbency.

It no longer was about Yaw, scholars, professionals, etc. It was about the conduct and performance of the PAP which they rejected and chose 2 people who have proven themselves to the voters. Png Eng Huat was no frog jumping from party to party. Li Lian walked the estate twice and the contested the ward unsuccessful during the GE. She and Png also did not make arrogant and stupid comments to the press and the public. Both also did not come out with some silly story about being born in biscuit tin and only with a pair of chop sticks to survive.

Honestly what results would have been good. Who do you think should have won the BEs - Desmond?

Goh Meng Seng

Your assumptions may be right. In the past. May not be so recently.

The introduction of highly qualified chaps in the WP and poor perfornance of the MIW may well be factors that a change in political landscape may not be a bad thing afterall.

3_M

That is an old and extremely silly idea. A spoilt vote is virtually a vote for the PAP given the kind of unlevel playing field, unfair control of the media, gerrymandering, etc, that the PAP is capable of. A spoilt vote will just give the incumbent a good hearty laugh to the bank - and it will be guaranteed that policies will not change and status quo will remain. A vote for the opposition even if it is a PAP-lite Team B wayang poodle dog is a slap on the PAP's face that will back the PAP into a corner. The political calculus is as simple as that. I'm not rewarding the WP for poor performance, I'm slapping the PAP for poor performance. GET IT!?!?

We often met friends who KPKB but ended up voting for PAP. I came to realise voters may be unhappy with gov policies but their distrust of opposition is greater than their unhappiness for the ruling party. Such people often are the vote bank of PAP. Whenever I encounter them, it futile to sell opposition policies but it easier to encourage them to spoil their votes. If I can succeed, it may not have add +1 vote for opposition but it definitely a -1 vote to PAP because I am eroding their vote bank.

Now we have individual who claims to be opposition supporter advocating spoiling vote on WP. Such people are deluded to such extend that they think having a confrontational opposition with no parliament seat is much better than one that is conciliatory (on a tactical sense) but with a practical chance of denying PAP the seats. Then when we ended up with no representation in parliament, what next? Blame that XX% who voted PAP instead of the opposition tigers. They will never blame themselves.

Thick Face Black Heart

The introduction of highly qualified chaps in the WP and poor perfornance of the MIW may well be factors that a change in political landscape may not be a bad thing afterall.

Now we have individual who claims to be opposition supporter advocating spoiling vote on WP. Such people are deluded to such extend that they think having a confrontational opposition with no parliament seat is much better than one that is conciliatory (on a tactical sense) but with a practical chance of denying PAP the seats. Then when we ended up with no representation in parliament, what next? Blame that XX% who voted PAP instead of the opposition tigers. They will never blame themselves.

Yes, the WP candidates are no bicycle thieves or placard waving fanatics or bleeding heart liberals with hidden agendas or xenophobes wearing ninja turtle scarfs. These are good, honest down to earth candidates who have shown they can take seats away from PAP. No reason at all to spoil votes and deny such candidates. Maybe if you get SKL in your ward its a different story.