• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WP at the Crossroads?

Debonerman

Why not? Why do you feel inferior in using Chinese? You will put him into defensive when you use Chinese! Never fight on your opponent's terms and turfs... strategy 101.

Goh Meng Seng

Talking with your cock in your own arse! Why, Workers Party should request of the PAP Lee gangsters to hold the next GE in Hong Kong? Sor Hai ka neh! You got a degree from NUS?

tanwahp

We should summarize the reasons why WP isn't doing what is expected of them by forummers and decipher these possible reasons. With this, we can lay out the cards on the table and everyone can see their own clearer picture.

1) They are a "false opposition party" or "PAP team B, team lite etc."
This means WP has either been bribed at the leadership level at a certain point in time, infiltrated by PAP members who now form the new leadership of WP or was a PAP set up in the first place. Whatever the scenario, this is a favourite for conspiracy theorists. Critics would argue that allies would not attack one another or bring one another to court and if they are really allies, they would not be bothered to hide it. The less conspiracist would say that WP is trying to emulate PAP's successes. For that, we can look at point 3).

2) They are greedy for the money (MP allowance) and do not want to lose it
Not an unreasonable assertion. The only issue with this argument is, it was used to explain why LTK held down WP when he was the only one earning the MP allowance. He did not need to step into Aljunied to get 4 more WP MPs elected.

3) They do not want to lose the middle ground by associating with certain people, their causes and events
That being the case, do we really want them to lose the middle ground?

4) They want the work cut out for them by others
A paradoxical argument. If there was political capital to milk, they would have wholeheartedly and unconditionally supported Roy; not much effort is needed. Proponents of this argument are indirectly praising the WP for not making use of Roy to gain support.

5) They are afraid of attacks by the PAP
Anyone knows the PAP would not need an issue or timing to attack. We have seen battles between the 2 parties over Hougang, PE, PWP, Public Order Bill, President's Address, PA, TC audit, NEA and hawker centres, Budget 2012, 2013, 2014. Some may still not be convinced.

6) They are not interested in controversial issues or prefer grassroots work
We can see WP avoids controversial issues like gay issues but CPF is certainly not one of them. We know Png has made a speech on CPF and we know the issue here is not about CPF but supporting Roy. And I am sure even if WP decides tomorrow to stop organizing another activity for residents and close down all their MPS, their parliamentary approach would not change.

7) They are simply incompetent and out-of-touch
Without defining what is competency, this aspect is the most subjective and hard to prove among the 7 points; it has to be measured without singling out WP against unfair and unreasonable standards not applied to other parties.

You know very well why not?. LTK is not ex MP MK Jabbar of the PAP of old. He is the leader of the opposition and someone should give him a gold medal for his determination to stick to English. You and I know the PAP wants him to switch to Mandarin. It's ain't happening.

These are things that gets him votes.

Why not? Why do you feel inferior in using Chinese? You will put him into defensive when you use Chinese! Never fight on your opponent's terms and turfs... strategy 101.

Goh Meng Seng

Agree on the SL and PS taking up the slack. They were doing it for sometime but quite surprised lately.

The remuneration is a a difficult proposition. All the 1st world opposition, Westminster, US and French etc are built on scrutinising the policies and actions of the government. For example I was surprised that PS was wasting time endorsing Ng's NS for foreigners crap. They should go for the jugular more often and this government has so many issues to explain.

As to comparing with PAP MPs, that is not a fair assessment. They are controlled by the whip and they are not in opposition. Their role is different. Look what Inderjit Singh wrote in his Facebook. I thought that was the most damaging pieces that any MP contributed in recent weeks in and outside of parliament.

Pritam, Sylvia should take up the slack that LTK leaves behind due to the fact that he is Mandarin speaking and cannot translate his thoughts well into English.

As for whether WP has earned their $16K, I say they have. WP speaks up more in Parliament on a per-MP basis compared to the PAP. There is no issue with both quantity and quality of speeches made. What needs improvement is being quick on the uptake when challenged and getting their wits together when the debate gets hot.

This one is a potential powder keg. It's involves finance and financial probity, similar lines of arguments and scrutiny over things such as CPF.

Even if this be so, surely WP can reel with the punches, play tee gong and come back with a roundhouse kick?

Debonerman

Agree on the SL and PS taking up the slack. They were doing it for sometime but quite surprised lately.

The remuneration is a a difficult proposition. All the 1st world opposition, Westminster, US and French etc are built on scrutinising the policies and actions of the government. For example I was surprised that PS was wasting time endorsing Ng's NS for foreigners crap. They should go for the jugular more often and this government has so many issues to explain.

As to comparing with PAP MPs, that is not a fair assessment. They are controlled by the whip and they are not in opposition. Their role is different. Look what Inderjit Singh wrote in his Facebook. I thought that was the most damaging pieces that any MP contributed in recent weeks in and outside of parliament.

Why can't people give them the benefit of the doubt that they are bidding their time awaiting the eventual demise of the big albeit old cannon in the not too distant future?

People are. As long as they taking seats away from the PAP, they will get the support from those who find the PAP's conduct unacceptable.

These are criticism to spur them on. It's not that they have tongue tied individuals. Did you hear Png Eng Huat Speech at the rally.

We know they can shoot from the right foot, so we are asking them to try the left foot as well.

Why can't people give them the benefit of the doubt that they are bidding their time awaiting the eventual demise of the big albeit old cannon in the not too distant future?

kryonlight

It does not matter whether they get 12.8 or 40%. the fact is they represent the 40% of the people that voted against the PAP too. As an opp, they represent all people who are opposed to the PAP. Wrap that around your head first, moron.

That's absolutely not true at all. It's just your fertile imagination. It's a fact WP got only 12.8% of the total votes, and not 40%. It's in black and white. WP doesn't represent the whole of the 40%. Don't twist facts around.

Debonerman

People are. As long as they taking seats away from the PAP, they will get the support from those who find the PAP's conduct unacceptable.

These are criticism to spur them on. It's not that they have tongue tied individuals. Did you hear Png Eng Huat Speech at the rally.

We know they can shoot from the right foot, so we are asking them to try the left foot as well.

Fair enough. But I feel people should be allowed to eat mee siam the way they like it except for that stupid cheebye who requested mai hum!

He is stating what the people who voted against the PAP want. LTK is the leader of the opposition. He is not the leader of 7 seats. LTK cannot seek a bill where he says that he only represents the 7 seats. It's a huge burden to carry. This is not proportional representation. If it was GMS would be part of the legislature. Then a portion of the burden sits with him.

That's absolutely not true at all. It's just your fertile imagination. It's a fact WP got only 12.8% of the total votes, and not 40%. It's in black and white. WP doesn't represent the whole of the 40%. Don't twist facts around.

kryonlight

He is stating what the people who voted against the PAP want. LTK is the leader of the opposition. He is not the leader of 7 seats.

Get this straight in your head. LTK is NOT the leader of the opposition. There is no such position in the whole of Singapore. It's just your fertile imagination.

People can imagine their votes for NSP, SDP etc are for WP, but the fact remains that this cannot ever be quantified, and can only be relegated to people's imagination.

LTK is only the leader of WP. He can't meddle in the affairs of NSP, SDP etc. Please don't let your imagination twist reality around. Thank you very much.

The guy who asked for mai hum with his mee Siam is screwed not matter what happens with WP's performance in parliament. He and his party will lose more votes for his behaviour towards the WP. LTK speech spoke about political culture and bullying. The prick did not listen and now he is in hot soup. Obviously the wiser one is LTK.

Fair enough. But I feel people should be allowed to eat mee siam the way they like it except for that stupid cheebye who requested mai hum!

Debonerman

Now it just dawned on me that there is no such thing as a Commission in the Mafia world and the equivalent in Chinese triads and Russian gangland. In a coalition government the representative of the smallest component party will become Prime Minister. I need more cowbell.

Wow bro, you certainly set the standard for political awareness.

Get this straight in your head. LTK is NOT the leader of the opposition. There is no such position in the whole of Singapore. It's just your fertile imagination.

People can imagine their votes for NSP, SDP etc are for WP, but the fact remains that this cannot ever be quantified, and can only be relegated to people's imagination.

LTK is only the leader of WP. He can't meddle in the affairs of NSP, SDP etc. Please don't let your imagination twist reality around. Thank you very much.