• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Crane operator can earn up to $7000!

soIsee

The way the Shitty times is stirring the shit soon they will report that a garbage cardboard collecting old Ah ma can earn $8000!

You mean operators really sit up there for the whole 12 hours of work! Really so productive?!

They have shift & the number of hours spent up there, including breaks etc...you want to know, go M.O.M. site & research the regulations..

singham

this is no secret in the industry but in recent years there was an accident involving the crane falling, and the operator was killed instantly. i'd rather go drive a class 5 and make about 5k per month.

In early 2000s, the market rate for Crane Operators was around 4 to 6K before CPF cut..

Experienced operators could easily get 5K a month.. But many were freelance Crane Operators hired by construction companies on project basis..

The money maybe good but the downside is, No project No work, No work no money..

Discovery

Few Singaporeans want to be crane operators despite good pay

May 3, 2013 - 1:01am

By: Linette Heng

27844311%20-%2002_05_2013%20-%20lhcrane-001.jpg

TNP PHOTO: ARIFFIN JAMAR

He had to climb 15 storeys up a tower crane on his first day of work.

But halfway through, 28-year-old crane operator Muhammad Imran Ahmad felt a cramp in his hands and had to take a short break before resuming climbing.

The perceived dangers of working as a crane operator is one reason for the shortage of local workers faced by construction sites.

Despite an attractive starting pay of about $3,000, construction companies are finding it difficult to recruit Singaporeans.

Crane companies which The New Paper contacted have a common gripe – a high demand for operators but a short supply of them. This is due to the increasing number of public and private housing projects, coupled with tightening manpower policies in the construction industry.

Read the full report in The New Paper on Friday (May 3).

In early 2000s, the market rate for Crane Operators was around 4 to 6K before CPF cut..

Experienced operators could easily get 5K a month.. But many were freelance Crane Operators hired by construction companies on project basis..

The money maybe good but the downside is, No project No work, No work no money..
$5K per month in a dead end mundane job, still must risk life and limb is hardly considered good money

wanker10

TC operator can difinitely earn up to $6k per mth. But their job is damn tough & long hours. They need about half an hour to climb to about 20+ storeys & they will stay up there till the end of the day. Imagine they have to eat, shit, urine at the cabin up there. Sometime u see there are cardboard or wooden planks around the back of the cabin & that's where they do their business. During bad weather, it is quite scary up there. So far, my site had 5 TC & 4 operators are singaporean & 1 malaysian.

PUNISHER

Confirm its true . I have a friend who operate crane bring home about 6k . Not alot of ppl have crane license .

PUNISHER

TC operator can difinitely earn up to $6k per mth. But their job is damn tough & long hours. They need about half an hour to climb to about 20+ storeys & they will stay up there till the end of the day. Imagine they have to eat, shit, urine at the cabin up there. Sometime u see there are cardboard or wooden planks around the back of the cabin & that's where they do their business. During bad weather, it is quite scary up there. So far, my site had 5 TC & 4 operators are singaporean & 1 malaysian.

You are right that's what my friend told me ..

Crane topples, killing worker

05:55 AM Mar 18, 2010 A 32-year-old Malaysian worker was killed when the boom of a tower crane toppled and hit him at a construction site in Punggol yesterday evening. Three others - a 40-year-old Chinese national, a 30-year-old Thai and a 33-year-old Bangladeshi - were sent to Changi General Hospital with injuries. The SCDF said it received a call at 5.24pm about the accident at the junction of Punggol Central and Punggol Road, where construction of HDB flats is underway. Its officers arrived at the scene at 5.32pm and pronounced the victim dead

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Construction crane topples over at NUS, killing 3 men

5 Mar 17, 2010
By Hoe Yeen Nie, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 22 February 2008 2230 hrs

SINGAPORE: Three workers were killed when a crane collapsed on them at a construction site at the National University of Singapore (NUS) on Friday afternoon.

The 60-metre crane toppled over at 2.15pm, crashing into a bus stop and several motorcycles that were parked nearby.

By the time the Civil Defence rescue team arrived, three workers had died. One of them, a Chinese national, was found beside the wreckage. The other two were crushed underneath.

One of the trapped men was a 47-year-old Singaporean crane operator and the other was an Indian national.

It took rescue officers 45 minutes to extricate them – a job made difficult by the tangle of steel bars protruding from the ground.

Two other workers with minor abrasions were rushed to the nearby National University Hospital.

The Manpower Ministry (MOM) said the main contractor, Kimly Construction, has not had any fatal accidents over the last two years.

Work on the NUS Alumni Complex is scheduled to be completed this April, but MOM has ordered a full stop work order while investigations are being carried out

That is also the problem. How come they cant design or add in a hoist etc to lift the operator up? With modern tech etc surely something can be developed to make life easier n better for the operator. Which 8n turn will increase productivity.

Tat is y it sucks as no improvement etc has been made to enhance productivity and increase comfort.

That is also the problem. How come they cant design or add in a hoist etc to lift the operator up? With modern tech etc surely something can be developed to make life easier n better for the operator. Which 8n turn will increase productivity.

Tat is y it sucks as no improvement etc has been made to enhance productivity and increase comfort.
install aircon with attached toilet.......plus mini kitchenette you want? As if pappies care about workers.....pap put in a farce union.....workers only a digit in their eyes...........

In oz land. It seems some of the dump trucks in the mines have loos etc in the truck. That is welfare etc n it boosts productivity. Pap hard up want money but dont want to invest. Its like say i want to buy property n sell when price goes up. But buy the crappiest property n dont do renovation etc n still want high rent etc. No investment to increase value

install aircon with attached toilet.......plus mini kitchenette you want? As if pappies care about workers.....pap put in a farce union.....workers only a digit in their eyes...........

bryanlim1972

$5-6K got to risk limb and bear agony of killing fellow workers (even if they are FTs).......they can take the job and shove it up those MIWs' millionaires asses.

taxi driver job also risky. we shove those up miw's asses too lah.

how about airline pilots? 8-15k also not worth it with ur logic.

PUNISHER

I believe the 6k is true (maybe with some OT throw in). Crane operators are regulated. Need to have the right licence + also registered with MOM + pass medical checkup. But I agree this job pays quite well and doesn't need high academic qualifications.

The pay is ok but too dangerous . Yes 6k is true . my friend only study until secondary one . But he's very hardworking always go for OT .

PUNISHER

5-6K not a lot of $. But you need to consider the education levels of these crane operators. If they don't work as crane operators, they will most likely earn less than the 5-6K.

What you said is true but then again alot of lowly educated ppl also can make money doing sales . Sale job also good for those ppl .