• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Crane operator can earn up to $7000!

The reason Singaporeans are generally advised not to invest in this as a career is that there is no barrier to entry from foreigners. In the past Malaysians staying in JB would ride their motorbikes and even they were displaced by Bangladeshis ( yes, for tower cranes) The salary can go dramatically down. With the quota reduction and the need to urgently build new flats to bring prices down, both as a result of electoral losses, there is pent-up demand for the next few years. What next after that. These "high paying jobs" would be targeted naturally by employers to be replaced by cheaper foreigners.

The same thing happened with Port container terminal crane operators. During the downturn, a lot lost their jobs.

Though it is quite demanding work, it is not a long term career choice.

taxi driver job also risky. we shove those up miw's asses too lah.

how about airline pilots? 8-15k also not worth it with ur logic.

if anyone's children aspires to be a crane operator/taxi driver/hawker/dish washer or if anyone does those jobs because he likes it then it fair and fine.
the crux of the problem is pappies are out of ideas but to justify their millions in salaries they now tell sinkies to be crane operators....can every unemployed sinkie become a crane operator? What is the next golden job these clueless fucks will come up with?

As for airline pilots pay.......why not worth it? $8K is for a newly promoted 1st officer.....with the prospect of a good career to become a captain among other things. Pilots if you average out do not work that many hours or sweat it out in a cabin like a blue collar crane operator. And you probably heard air travel is safer than travelling in a car.

no_faith

OT, risk factors, shift work, might contribute for the 7k but this type of job, what is the life span?

$5K per month in a dead end mundane job, still must risk life and limb is hardly considered good money

The crane operators making money would the ones doing Housing Projects.. But these freelancers depend on the duration of their job projects..

While crane operators working in PSA and Shipyards earn less.. Maybe 2.5 to 3K after CPF cut..

looneytan

not surprise... in a land of ball-less sinkies.

go-fuck-yourself.jpg

1. aiyoh!
2. the hard truth sucks hoh:biggrin:
3. since kosong locals take the bite.
4. the floodgate shall be opened to foreign talents with balls mah:p

Poomer

Half of the 3,600 active operators now are Singaporeans, he wrote on his blog.

"But we need more, a few hundred more, as we ramp up our BTO programme," he added. "This is a good job with attractive remuneration."

So after the ramped up BTO programme ends and construction slows, lots of them will kena retrench, then how? Oh ya, they can be $7000 a month taxi driver next.

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/‘s-7k-a-month-driving-a-taxi--possible--but-they’ll-burn-out’.html

So after the ramped up BTO programme ends and construction slows, lots of them will kena retrench, then how? Oh ya, they can be $7000 a month taxi driver next.

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/‘s-7k-a-month-driving-a-taxi--possible--but-they’ll-burn-out’.html

They can apply here for membership, Income Guaranteed for at least $15,000 & appreciation of Mangoes included http://www.pap.org.sg/ but must learn how to sing their National Anthem first, properly, right down to the out of key, tone deaf rendition...you are in luck, best jobs in the world :http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CTMMRrxx-Ug

ykhuser

all jobs also got risk.
road sweeper can kena ran over by lorry
dishwasher can kena hot water in crowed kitchen

ykhuser

all jobs also got risk.

Indeed, but not all jobs are physically strenuous, at the mercy of the weather and the elements, monotonous or dead-end. :wink:

bryanlim1972

the crux of the problem is pappies are out of ideas but to justify their millions in salaries they now tell sinkies to be crane operators....

for many of our fellow sgps who barely passed ITE, what else can they honestly do? how many 1-man entrepreneurs can we create? Sam forever talking cock about investing in yourself and running your own biz. how many can be successful? 1 in 100? maybe 20 in 100? even 50 in 100? how about the other 50?

looking to the west, the solution is to increase the pay and standing of blue collared jobs. maybe its late, but i can't think of a justification for why our government has not gone down this route. maybe their elite brains can't bear the thought of a plumber making more than a sales manager.

War Criminal

Why don't they install those crude lifts on those cranes? Probably quite expensive, but will get a lot more interested parties since it won't be a long, tiring and dangerous trip up and down their office.

A worthwhile investment if you ask me.

ykhuser

Why don't they install those crude lifts on those cranes? Probably quite expensive, but will get a lot more interested parties since it won't be a long, tiring and dangerous trip up and down their office.

A worthwhile investment if you ask me.

after they install it, lot of plp apply,then the pay will be $3k instead of 7k becasue now supply more than decamd

ykhuser

for many of our fellow sgps who barely passed ITE, what else can they honestly do? how many 1-man entrepreneurs can we create? Sam forever talking cock about investing in yourself and running your own biz. how many can be successful? 1 in 100? maybe 20 in 100? even 50 in 100? how about the other 50?

looking to the west, the solution is to increase the pay and standing of blue collared jobs. maybe its late, but i can't think of a justification for why our government has not gone down this route. maybe their elite brains can't bear the thought of a plumber making more than a sales manager.

let be releastic.if everybody become successful, who is going to grow crops, who is going to be in the production line to produce iphone and s3, who is going to build the hosuing , assume everybody now hold $2million each.

there is alway a balance of wealth distribution like yin/yang theory.it defintely has to be like this for the world to be exsistent
everything is here for a reason including aids virus, even western consider appendix useless

These jobs have always been around, bros here have highlighted. Crane operators, prime mover drivers making such income....good money or not....ok it's subjective.

We also know of hawkers making fortunes.....more the exception then the norm but yes they do exist.

The day we invent some medicine to allow us to forgo sleep or food or going to the toilet then $7k or more taxi drivers will be possible. Ok hardworking cabbies can make $3-4k. Maybe for someone who only got a class 3 license and nothing else that's a good income.

These jobs did not suddenly appear....everyone knows about them.
Why are the miws suddenly trumpeting such 'career' options?
Machiam going on a PR campaign to brain wash sinkies to take up such 'high paying' jobs?
They have simply run out of ideas...million dollar talents? My ass!

Many people kena conned big time by the PSA ads requiring drivers for their Prime Movers..

The pay is less than 2K after CPF deduction.. Tiring job, the lorries are in bad state.. Then the job hazard when the crane operator brings downs the container from the vessel onto your waiting lorry..

One minor accident and you will not receive your yearly Bonus.. That's what happened to this Malay chap I knew..