• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Goh Meng Seng Challenge Yaw Shin Leong to contest in Tampines

HedgeTrader

Oh come on. WP also has their own strategy. They will know in which GRC they has the highest chance of winning and therefore, sending in their strongest team. If they were more confident in capturing MK, I would bet with my last dollar that you will see LTK leading a team there.

By saying someone as 3rd rated, it is as good as saying that he is not good enough by any standard. You don't comparing them with other WP teams and then say that they are 3rd rated. You can however, say that they are the 3rd strongest WP team. That would be more appropriate in my humble opinion.

GMS look his dictionary. Find and find. No such word humble LOL

@rmadill0

Save your pity for yourself. You are really pathetically politically ignorant here. You have just reinforce the public perception that WP is a party which will just discard those people who have contributed to the party in the past when they are no longer find them "useful". Eric Tan's case is the prime example.

I think ironically, you are the one along with those other WP insects here who should be "managed"! :wink:

Goh Meng Seng

With all due respect, it is a tough decision for WP to make to choose between Eric and Gerald to take up the NCMP position. Giving it to Eric, it is like a reward, a recognition to what he had done for WP. However, that would deprive Gerald the chance of making himself more prominent and an opportunity to shine. It is not a straightforward decision. The CEC voted and majority felt that Gerald will be a better choice and Eric should accept that decision.

I am disappointed with Eric for not able to put party interest before self. I do not see that he was discarded because his is no longer "useful".

first said WP choped seats but isn't that what u r doing now for nsp?

call wp non aljunied grc candidates as second or third rate, but nsp grc teams first rate?

10% vote swing from a low base = great nsp result

3-5% vote swing from high base = so so wp result, never mind wp have higher overall vote.

i too admit wp result no good as it only won six seats. huh how much nsp win,zero... tsk tsk... so much for good result.:rolleyes:

sure nsp have rights to promote themselves in any parts of singapore, including the northeast, at the very least let older folks know there such a opposition party. As for who can contest where, it should also be free to contest anywhere. in fact i will welcome even u to contest in the punggol grc which i currently staying in just to get rid of the sda. like i said previously, in 2016 pasir ris-punggol grc confirm kenna break up due to increase population. tch should remain in pasir ris so a new ministar will helm the new punggol grc, who know it maybe auction caller tsl helm it as ministar. surely u can do better than a auction caller.

Perspective

WP's interests is the interest of all Opp interests, since its the "dragon head" of opposition movement,

WP is not the 1 here sprouting about the bigger picture of the Nation's political development in the first place.... you are ...

if you spent 0.0001% of your time scheming against WP on scheming against PAP, you would have gotten seats liao...

all rational opp voters will naturally gravitate toward WP because its the natural thing to do.... not because they are WP insect...
why does the biggest club have the most fans is becaus they can win... simple as that

if you cant win then dun sabo

- Not in NSP CEC cannot answer for NSP - but certainly can answer a lot of things for WP (eg why they didn't go MP and how they must be feeling now).

- And also seems that those who were NEVER in WP or NEVER in WP CEC, he also take it as WP's answer.

The compliation of this list of self-contradicting fallacies will never end it seems.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
rmadill,

You must understand that the choice of MK is not about the "best chance of winning" to WP because it was meant to be the "training ground" for its rookies. But MK is NSP's choice of "best chance of winning". That's the difference in perspective.

So the question is this, if it is just meant to be "training ground" why not MP or AMK? AMK is just NEXT TO Nee Soon GRC which they have contested and MP is JUST NEXT TO Aljunied and East Coast. Well, it may be argued AMK is 6 seat and the PM is there. People may construed as WP trying to topple PAP by contesting its PM. But MP is the PERFECT place for WP actually. It is just next to Aljunied and East Coast, just nice for its future expansion plan when GCT is to step down.

There is no necessity to create bad blood between WP and NSP by insisting in chasing out NSP from MK and destroying its best team's plan. The only reason I can think of is because they want to deprive NSP's chance of winning, that's all.

NSP also has the need to train its young candidates. We are not chasing out anyone from MP (since WP didn't want to go) by sending our young team there. But I understand its implications for future GE and that is why I am very careful in putting this team up. If I can avoid putting the team in MP, I would. But WP's action leaves me no choice. So be it.

Goh Meng Seng

Oh come on. WP also has their own strategy. They will know in which GRC they has the highest chance of winning and therefore, sending in their strongest team. If they were more confident in capturing MK, I would bet with my last dollar that you will see LTK leading a team there.

By saying someone as 3rd rated, it is as good as saying that he is not good enough by any standard. You don't comparing them with other WP teams and then say that they are 3rd rated. You can however, say that they are the 3rd strongest WP team. That would be more appropriate in my humble opinion.

ssrrvv11

loser gms,

just answer this question is u dare.

IF u were the WP chief instead of LTK for the 2011GE, do u think u can win more than 6 mp + 2 ncmp positions? Yes, No, Maybe, Don't Know?

Most ppl will say no way u can do better than him but knowing u, u will probably answer as "Don't Know" to save your own thick-skin. nobody will know the answer to this as this thing never happen.

thus in the same breathe, i don't know how can u confidently say your NSP team will do better in MK if allowed to contest instead of WP. pls lah i can also say IF your mother have balls she would have been your father instead. tiu.

reasoning with u is worse than reasoning with a 1 year old kid. u just cannot accept logic. any1 that counters u here must either be from pap or wp. siow.

loser gms, dont siam the question hor.

3_M

I am in no position to answer your question because I am not in CEC. But your guess is as good as mine.

Even so, I think if you agree to WP's moves to safeguard their own interests and should disregard others like NSP, then why should you have any objections or problems for NSP to do likewise? In game theory, this is definitely the lose lose situation but NSP is just doing what is best for itself, just like what WP is doing.

If WP is not interested in the bigger picture of the Nation's political development in the first place, why should NSP care?

I am saying this not because I am NSP member but this is exactly what will happen and it is only fair to apply the same standards on both parties.

In game theory, normally the win win situation will only occur when there is collaboration. But most of the time, due to the selfish human nature, we will end up with a lose lose situation.

Goh Meng Seng

Let look at it this way. If you can't play well on the field, be prepared to get substituted for the betterment of the team. No point insist on playing when a better player is there waiting at the sideline.

Likewise NSP have yet to produce any result after all these years whereas WP has shown us the way forward. We are all for the progress of opposition cause as a whole and we the opposition supporters deserve to get the best team to represent us. At the moment, NSP just don't measure up.

skponggol

There is no necessity to create bad blood between WP and NSP by insisting in chasing out NSP from MK....

Goh Meng Seng

But there is the great necessity to create bad blood between NSP and RP by insisting in kicking them out of Radin Mas, Pioneer and CCK...

NSP is merely a small bully who only dares to challenge the weak and small like RP but chicken out when facing the strong and big like WP.

Historically, NSP had been responsible for triggering mutlti-cornered fight like 1992 MP by-election when it lost the deposit as well as 1997 CCK's 4 corner-fight when it can barely defeat an independent candidate.

wwabbit

You have to be seriously naive if you think that the opposition today should be the same as the opposition before, where they cooperated (somewhat) and tried to stay out of each others way, which is much easier to do because there's a lot less candidates back then compared to the number of seats available.

Times are different now, and the whole of Singapore is being competed for, and there are a lot more potential opposition candidates now. The most likely way for Singapore opposition to move forward is no longer to have several loose parties, but to have a dominant opposition party like in the majority of democratic countries out there that are in two (or three in some cases) party system.

It is therefore now a race between the opposition party to become the dominant opposition party, and WP is in the lead now, with NSP and SDP behind them. It is therefore no longer in WP's interest to "give way" to the other parties when choosing the constituencies that they want to compete in. Whatever they choose to do is part of their longterm strategy for GE2016 and beyond. There is no point trying to guilt WP into giving way by saying that three-corner fights only help the PAP - while this is true for the immediate GE, it is actually in WP's interest to have three-corner fights as part of the longterm strategy. This was seen in Punggol East SMC, with the results showing that WP is the dominant opposition party over SDA, and makes SDA irrelevant to the political scene in Singapore.

Whether this would have happened in MK, no one knows. What is obvious is that WP had the stomach and will to go into a three corner fight, while NSP... doesn't. I don't know, but I think that they may have been disappointed that the 3-corner fight didn't happen, because Singaporeans really need to know about the necessity of tactical voting because that is going to become more relevant in GE2016. The PE2011 results was probably good for WP because it exposed Singaporeans to why tactical voting is necessary.

I'm sorry, but I'm not buying the excuse that you withdrew from MK for the sake of the opposition. This may be true if either NSP or WP had a chance of winning MK, but neither of them did. I'm definitely more inclined to think that you withdrew because you had no stomach to fight and afraid of losing the deposit like what happened to Desmond Lim.

If you actually believe so, then I guess you are only fooled by yourself. :wink:

Goh Meng Seng

Bro GMS, I have some brotherly advice for you though I am no politician.

Leave this forum. The people here are not politically savvy. They talk nonsense all the time, unlike your good self. Do not be distracted. Do not lose your motivation to serve the country etc. S'pore needs you!

Last but not least, whatever you contribute here won't win you votes even though we all know your intellectual level, your commitment to the cause and whatever etc etc.

Go down to the ground. Chat with your residents. Assist them in whatever manner possible. If can't, offer them a listening ear. Even a shoulder to cry on.

You never get a second chance to create a first impression. Iron your pants! Look them in the eye to show sincerity. Never engage your residents with your reasoning. They are far behind you intellectually. Engage them on bread and butter matters etc.

Take my brotherly advice. Leave this useless and unappreciative forum NOW and start walking up and down staircases. Emulate what SL did after the 06 GE. You stand a better chance this way.

I like this post. There is something for everyone. :p

yellowarse

Leave this forum. The people here are not politically savvy. They talk nonsense all the time, unlike your good self. Do not be distracted. Do not lose your motivation to serve the country etc. S'pore needs you!

Very sensible advice. No point arguing with a bunch of anonymous forumers when you're a politician and your identity is known.

brocoli

rmadill,

You must understand that the choice of MK is not about the "best chance of winning" to WP because it was meant to be the "training ground" for its rookies. But MK is NSP's choice of "best chance of winning". That's the difference in perspective.

So the question is this, if it is just meant to be "training ground" why not MP or AMK? AMK is just NEXT TO Nee Soon GRC which they have contested and MP is JUST NEXT TO Aljunied and East Coast. Well, it may be argued AMK is 6 seat and the PM is there. People may construed as WP trying to topple PAP by contesting its PM. But MP is the PERFECT place for WP actually. It is just next to Aljunied and East Coast, just nice for its future expansion plan when GCT is to step down.

There is no necessity to create bad blood between WP and NSP by insisting in chasing out NSP from MK and destroying its best team's plan. The only reason I can think of is because they want to deprive NSP's chance of winning, that's all.

NSP also has the need to train its young candidates. We are not chasing out anyone from MP (since WP didn't want to go) by sending our young team there. But I understand its implications for future GE and that is why I am very careful in putting this team up. If I can avoid putting the team in MP, I would. But WP's action leaves me no choice. So be it.

Goh Meng Seng

your best team cant even get 40% in CCK. against an unpopular manpower minister Gan, alvin and zaqy are not appt holders, LOw Yen LIng and alex Yam are totally noob

Low Yen Ling couldnt make it in pte sector.... Alex Yam is as raw as Tin Peiling .... TIn have gone thru a baptism of fire so I dare say ALex Yam is the weskest of all PAP MPs

this is from a Blog

The PAP appears to be taking a genuine gamble in fielding such a raw team in Chua Chu Kang. Perhaps they are taking a bet that the Opposition will be giving Chua Chu Kang a miss? They could be wrong

You have to be seriously naive if you think that the opposition today should be the same as the opposition before, where they cooperated (somewhat) and tried to stay out of each others way, which is much easier to do because there's a lot less candidates back then compared to the number of seats available.

Times are different now, and the whole of Singapore is being competed for, and there are a lot more potential opposition candidates now. The most likely way for Singapore opposition to move forward is no longer to have several loose parties, but to have a dominant opposition party like in the majority of democratic countries out there that are in two (or three in some cases) party system.

It is therefore now a race between the opposition party to become the dominant opposition party, and WP is in the lead now, with NSP and SDP behind them. It is therefore no longer in WP's interest to "give way" to the other parties when choosing the constituencies that they want to compete in. Whatever they choose to do is part of their longterm strategy for GE2016 and beyond. There is no point trying to guilt WP into giving way by saying that three-corner fights only help the PAP - while this is true for the immediate GE, it is actually in WP's interest to have three-corner fights as part of the longterm strategy. This was seen in Punggol East SMC, with the results showing that WP is the dominant opposition party over SDA, and makes SDA irrelevant to the political scene in Singapore.

Whether this would have happened in MK, no one knows. What is obvious is that WP had the stomach and will to go into a three corner fight, while NSP... doesn't. I don't know, but I think that they may have been disappointed that the 3-corner fight didn't happen, because Singaporeans really need to know about the necessity of tactical voting because that is going to become more relevant in GE2016. The PE2011 results was probably good for WP because it exposed Singaporeans to why tactical voting is necessary.

I'm sorry, but I'm not buying the excuse that you withdrew from MK for the sake of the opposition. This may be true if either NSP or WP had a chance of winning MK, but neither of them did. I'm definitely more inclined to think that you withdrew because you had no stomach to fight and afraid of losing the deposit like what happened to Desmond Lim.

can I claim credit for converting wwabbit to my 2 party system ideology

Last but not least, whatever you contribute here won't win you votes even though we all know your intellectual level, your commitment to the cause and whatever etc etc.

Go down to the ground. Chat with your residents. Assist them in whatever manner possible. If can't, offer them a listening ear. Even a shoulder to cry on.

You never get a second chance to create a first impression. Iron your pants! Look them in the eye to show sincerity. Never engage your residents with your reasoning. They are far behind you intellectually. Engage them on bread and butter matters etc.

he started as an keyboard warrior... not as an politician... Gilbert GOh say he wear bermudas to recruit GE candidate... satki or not???

he is not even in SIngapore, ,if he couldnt be bother to knock door as SG of NSP.... .you expect him to do it now?:confused::confused::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Perspective

Incoherence 1: Suddenly WP's MK team is not third rate team anymore, but a rookie team. There's a whole world of difference between the 2. A third rate team should not be fielded and is untrainable, whether MK or MP, they are unimprovable and any training ground is useless. A rookie team with lots of potential is different matter. There's Aljunied and EC with a better winning chance already and mostly 2nd time candidates, so why does WP need to send them to a place newer for the party?

Incoherence 2: If MK and not MP, they are wasting the training around and causing an NSP opportunity. If MP and not MK, someone will assert they are a suicide team.

Incoherence 3: Someone's trying to say that NSP has to be totally stupid. They withdrew from MK, the only constituency which they could win (since it is established that they did not win the rest).

I don't understand the darnest things modern village idiots say these days - in the past, they were idiots, but not incoherent.

Perspective

Thanks for calling me just now. I'm only mostly free at night nowadays. But as usual, I'll support you when I think you're right and not when I think you're wrong. In this case, there's no claim to higher macro level when you can't even win at lower micro level. Sorry, but that's frank and fact. Unless you have something like Liu Bang, Zhang Liang, Han Xin and Xiao He gang...kept losing every battle and finally won the war.

So after losing in the forum one goes out to win allies? Sounds like kindergarten kid.

brocoli

MK is NSP's choice of "best chance of winning". That's the difference in perspective.???

NSP's best chance of winning still cant beat WP third rate team...
hard truth
if WP really wan to sabo NSP for the sake of sabo without having a better chance of winning, we will all eff WP for you ....
your scholar team just have paper , no charisma....

38.8% against a weak CCK team is under performing.... where is Sivalingam and Nor Lella Mardiiiah now ?? ?

simply cant imagine them MPs....

can I imagine Somasundaram, Frieda and Hong Boon as MPs, maybe not yet but @ least they are sill working hard in serangoon and paya lebar....

your CCK/MK team are nowhere to be seen CCK or MK....

your young guns are pathetic, abdul salim is quiting politics, Spencer Ng is scandal tainted and being outreach head, have posted 0 peektures of NSP outreach... I am still waiting...

Nicole Seah @ most can be online MP only... even then she is not every active anymore,,,

I am still awaiting your response about snatching Radin MAs , Pioneer and CCK from RP

HedgeTrader

Cut the bull about 3rd rate, rookie, trainee, chance to win, MK or MP. GE11 is over. Plan for next GE.

I fairly tell one thing GMS say untrue here. During GE11 GMS say Tampines is NSP best chance to win.

Perspective

Cut the bull about 3rd rate, rookie, trainee, chance to win, MK or MP. GE11 is over. Plan for next GE.

I fairly tell one thing GMS say untrue here. During GE11 GMS say Tampines is NSP best chance to win.

You don't understand the purpose. It's about the albatross. It's the intention. It's what's here (heart). The same as why one would say, "I don't agree with you that this is a horse, I say it is a horse."