• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Goh Meng Seng Challenge Yaw Shin Leong to contest in Tampines

leetahbah

Goh Meng Seng Challenge Yaw Shin Leong to contest in Tampines

Goh Meng Seng does not have the privilege to challenge. He is not an office holder and has never won any elections.

The only person who has the privilege to challenge Yaw Shin Leong is the incumbents in Tampines.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Basically, Marine Parade is our "hidden card". Sebastian has spent lots of effort in cultivating Macpherson when it was a SMC, knocking three rounds of doors.

Some have asked me whether we had planned to go to MP prior to all negotiations, actually yes. It was an IDEAL TRAINING GROUND for NSP because it has three elements: first, MP was a better training ground to NSP as compared to AMK to WP back in GE2006. Because at least we have covered at least 3 times in one of the main constituency....i.e. Macpherson, along with an aggressive newspaper sales scheduled there and Geyland Serai.

Second, GCT is there. It is always better to use a large target board as training practice.

Last but not least, Tin PL.

I have told reporters and it was reported several times that NSP definitely has interests in contesting in MP.

But if WP is to insist to contest MP instead of MK, they have valid reasons to do so. Geographically, it is just next to Aljunied and East Coast; it would be easier for them to manage. From NSP's perspective, our main aim is to let our two scholars to contest in MK which at that point of time, it was their first choice. Though I thought that MP was actually a very attractive ground (up to the point that I was seriously considering contesting there if the scholars would contest in Tampines), but at party level, the strategy is to use MP as training ground for young candidates.

Thus personally, I feel that giving up our "training ground" in MP in exchange for MK would be appropriate. Of course, on hindsight, MP turns out to be a very good ground in the end.

I believe, in balancing the interests of both NSP and WP, letting WP to contest in MP would be the best move. Of course on hindsight, it is a blessing in disguise that NSP got to send Nicole to MP instead.

On hindsight, if WP has made the right move of contesting MP instead, it would have even higher chance of winning MP and EC together in next GE. The likelihood of MP having 3 corner fight would be almost zero. It is actually WP's strategic loss.

Now that NSP has performed well in MP, most likely NSP will continue to work on that ground. Even if WP wanted to contest in MP in next GE, it would most likely face 3 corner fight and the possibility of winning MP would be very very slim.

I would say that this is really unfortunate "karma" in action. When you thought you win all by elbowing into MK, you actually lose more in the long term.

Goh Meng Seng

would you feel less aggrieved if WP insist on MP instead??

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
when you say it like this, it sound much more reasonable...
instead you kept calling WP team 3rd rate.... that really reflect quite badly on you

but wasnt MK a ploy by you and LTK to distract PAP and make them think that LTK was goin to MK....

WP MK Team is 3rd rate in relative to other WP team what! I mean we have to be truthful to ourselves in such assessment.

I have said it openly and published in the papers that if WP send its top team, best if it is LTK leading the team to MK, I would gladly concede and give my full support and blessings to them....

As for your speculation of conspiracy, I really have no comment. :wink:

Goh Meng Seng

3rd rate is a bit discourteously harsh term to use but WP M-K 2011 team was prepared to lose. The purpose was only to kick NSP out of old JB (now M-K) to make a foothold for WP in the next GE. Let's be frank about it since all with brains and eyes can see. WP doesn't negotiate anymore. It contests where it strategically wants to regardless of how many corners. PAP also can't be bothered. It's big enough and simply contests all regardless of who contests where. That's the way to go.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Well, we also don't need to be "courteous" but utterly frank: the only way to do this is to send third rate GRC teams around, hoping that the WP Hammer brand itself can hold the ground.

In terms of strategy, I don't think WP has good strategies at all. They should have contested in MP but just because strategically, they have been fooled by GCT' Myth of popularity.... But fair enough, that's karma.

Goh Meng Seng

3rd rate is a bit discourteously harsh term to use but WP M-K 2011 team was prepared to lose. The purpose was only to kick NSP out of old JB (now M-K) to make a foothold for WP in the next GE. Let's be frank about it since all with brains and eyes can see. WP doesn't negotiate anymore. It contests where it strategically wants to regardless of how many corners.

brocoli

Basically, Marine Parade is our "hidden card". Sebastian has spent lots of effort in cultivating Macpherson when it was a SMC, knocking three rounds of doors.

Some have asked me whether we had planned to go to MP prior to all negotiations, actually yes. It was an IDEAL TRAINING GROUND for NSP because it has three elements: first, MP was a better training ground to NSP as compared to AMK to WP back in GE2006. Because at least we have covered at least 3 times in one of the main constituency....i.e. Macpherson, along with an aggressive newspaper sales scheduled there and Geyland Serai.

Second, GCT is there. It is always better to use a large target board as training practice.

Last but not least, Tin PL.

I have told reporters and it was reported several times that NSP definitely has interests in contesting in MP.

But if WP is to insist to contest MP instead of MK, they have valid reasons to do so. Geographically, it is just next to Aljunied and East Coast; it would be easier for them to manage. From NSP's perspective, our main aim is to let our two scholars to contest in MK which at that point of time, it was their first choice. Though I thought that MP was actually a very attractive ground (up to the point that I was seriously considering contesting there if the scholars would contest in Tampines), but at party level, the strategy is to use MP as training ground for young candidates.

Thus personally, I feel that giving up our "training ground" in MP in exchange for MK would be appropriate. Of course, on hindsight, MP turns out to be a very good ground in the end.

I believe, in balancing the interests of both NSP and WP, letting WP to contest in MP would be the best move. Of course on hindsight, it is a blessing in disguise that NSP got to send Nicole to MP instead.

On hindsight, if WP has made the right move of contesting MP instead, it would have even higher chance of winning MP and EC together in next GE. The likelihood of MP having 3 corner fight would be almost zero. It is actually WP's strategic loss.

Now that NSP has performed well in MP, most likely NSP will continue to work on that ground. Even if WP wanted to contest in MP in next GE, it would most likely face 3 corner fight and the possibility of winning MP would be very very slim.

I would say that this is really unfortunate "karma" in action. When you thought you win all by elbowing into MK, you actually lose more in the long term.

Goh Meng Seng

did you try to offer them MP for MK since MK was such a big deal for you?

MP and 10kkj will not be so easy in 2016 ...are you sure you wan to fight with WP over this 2 GRCs ? you may actually lose more in the long term.
Tin Peiling has already complete @ least 30 rounds of knocking doors in MacPherson, regardless of huat the whole world think, its the MacPherson voters who decide...
if I am LHL, I will crave MacPherson into a SMC and let TPL smash Nicole Seah into political oblivion once and for all... but dun think LHL is too bright

are you sure NSP want to contest Marine Parade wagainst the full time MP TPL ?
TPL may be the weakest link in GE11 but think GE16 will be a different story

WP MK Team is 3rd rate in relative to other WP team what! I mean we have to be truthful to ourselves in such assessment.

I have said it openly and published in the papers that if WP send its top team, best if it is LTK leading the team to MK, I would gladly concede and give my full support and blessings to them....

As for your speculation of conspiracy, I really have no comment. :wink:

Goh Meng Seng

WP MK Team is 3rd rate in relative to other WP team and WP MK Team is 3rd rate means very different thing...
think you better be clearer next time... the damage is already done... you make a lot of enemies with that statement... it make you look vindictive ???

brocoli

Well, we also don't need to be "courteous" but utterly frank: the only way to do this is to send third rate GRC teams around, hoping that the WP Hammer brand itself can hold the ground.

In terms of strategy, I don't think WP has good strategies at all. They should have contested in MP but just because strategically, they have been fooled by GCT' Myth of popularity.... But far enough, that's karma.

Goh Meng Seng

srsly I dun think NSP scholar team would gotten a higher % than WP MK team. WP MK team maye be 3rd rate compare to other WP teams but they are still more than a match for NSP scholar team

I also dun think that any WP teams would have done better than NSP MP team since the NS vs TPL contrast was too strong but this will not happen again in 2016 again

so what ever happen happen in GE2011 for the best...and you should stop harping on this issue....

in GE2016, 10kkj will have HSK and BYK, mahboro will step down
Marine Parade will have Wayang full time MP TPL would be quite strong....

it make strategic sense to let WP have Marine Parade and 10kkj give their Geography and NSP can chop other places like MK, Pasir Ris, BS-TPY, PP. and not be seen as spoliers

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
If you have followed the GE news closely, you would have noticed that I have put up the question why WP didn't want to contest in MP instead of MK.

I cannot offer MP openly to them nor in private negotiation because it is meant to be a hidden card.

Never say never in politics. WP may be seen as on the high cloud nine now but you will never know what will happen in the following 4 or 5 years.

But at this instance, I do not favor 3 corner fights as I have said before. The critical aim of depriving PAP the two third majority has not been achieved and we should not have 3 corner fights; we should win as many seats as possible for ALL opposition parties, not just WP. But it seems that WP members don't really understand the importance and priority of that.

It is not up to my call now whether NSP will go into 3 corner fights with WP over these two or even MORE GRCs or not. But one thing for sure, I would not want to have anything to do with all these silly acts on both sides.

Most WP members are irrational most of the time and it doesn't really matter if they hate me or not. When reasons failed, only emotions will make sense to them.

Everyone knows the MK team is just a rookie team, a decoy so to speak. I would be surprised if all of them will contest in next GE, in those serious teams (A or B or even C) to fight to win. Just as Ramseth has correctly pointed out, they are just there to chope place.

Goh Meng Seng

did you try to offer them MP for MK since MK was such a big deal for you?

MP and 10kkj will not be so easy in 2016 ...are you sure you wan to fight with WP over this 2 GRCs ? you may actually lose more in the long term.
Tin Peiling has already complete @ least 30 rounds of knocking doors in MacPherson, regardless of huat the whole world think, its the MacPherson voters who decide...
if I am LHL, I will crave MacPherson into a SMC and let TPL smash Nicole Seah into political oblivion once and for all... but dun think LHL is too bright

are you sure NSP want to contest Marine Parade wagainst the full time MP TPL ?
TPL may be the weakest link in GE11 but think GE16 will be a different story

WP MK Team is 3rd rate in relative to other WP team and WP MK Team is 3rd rate means very different thing...
think you better be clearer next time... the damage is already done... you make a lot of enemies with that statement... it make you look vindictive ???

In terms of strategy, I don't think WP has good strategies at all. They should have contested in MP but just because strategically, they have been fooled by GCT' Myth of popularity.... But fair enough, that's karma.

Goh Meng Seng

Funny. Alllegedly no good strategy won 6 seats and 2 NCMPs with all candidates scoring above 40%. What's your strategy?

Thick Face Black Heart

Goh Meng Seng, its a bit foolhardy to think people cannot read between the lines. You think that throwing off such remarks and then leaving the scene is perfectly all right. It reflects on your attitude and level of maturity.

Quite disappointing.

Since LTK took over, WP has a nationwide outreach strategy. Where to contest is another matter for strategic reason and manpower limitation. GMS should know this best.

Perspective

3rd rate is a bit discourteously harsh term to use but WP M-K 2011 team was prepared to lose. The purpose was only to kick NSP out of old JB (now M-K) to make a foothold for WP in the next GE. Let's be frank about it since all with brains and eyes can see. WP doesn't negotiate anymore. It contests where it strategically wants to regardless of how many corners. PAP also can't be bothered. It's big enough and simply contests all regardless of who contests where. That's the way to go.

It has been established as a fact that WP's only first rate team won Aljunied. Whether the same team going to MK will forever remain unknown and any other team would not be 1st rate. That, anyone with common sense can tell.

But I wonder who sees any sense in saying, if I give you a "present" you must use it. If I give you a blender or cooker, you must throw away the existing blender or cooker that you have. Again, that is not someone with human sense will say.

Perspective

The logic is if NSP CCK team had gone to MK they would have won - which means if WP MK team were to go to CCK GRC, they will probably get only 35%, much much far below the rest of the WP teams. Does that make sense given that all WP scored above 40%?

But if it is true and CCK GRC was indeed such a hard ground - causing NSP's A team to do poorly and possibly WP's team to score way below others - then isn't contesting there basically reflecting poor judgment?

And if it is so unbelievable that NSP CCK scored low and not so unbelievable that WP MK scored low, why are there NSP teams and SMCs scoring even lower than CCK (eg Jurong 33%), but WP weakest teams are all the same 41%?

The whole logic is so warped and messed up, Vitas would be singing out-of-tune.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Save your pity for yourself. You are really pathetically politically ignorant here. You have just reinforce the public perception that WP is a party which will just discard those people who have contributed to the party in the past when they are no longer find them "useful". Eric Tan's case is the prime example.

I think ironically, you are the one along with those other WP insects here who should be "managed"! :wink:

Goh Meng Seng

I damn pity you.

Why are you so concerned about WP? Its either an obsession or there must be reason for this current state.

Save your pity for yourself. You are really pathetically politically ignorant here. You have just reinforce the public perception that WP is a party which will just discard those people who have contributed to the party in the past when they are no longer find them "useful". Eric Tan's case is the prime example.

I think ironically, you are the one along with those other WP insects here who should be "managed"! :wink:

Goh Meng Seng