• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Fathers' Chatgroup Thread

tobelightlight

Money can earn back. Health once damaged difficult to recover. Stay happy most important.
Of course, health once damage, gone liao. Especially to those who love malls and restaurants and their beloved job.

FB_IMG_1637917363106.jpg

Ralders

However, looking back, I'm contented with what I have achieved for myself today. I am of the opinion that my hardship was worth the while since I can be financially independent at about 45 years old and with some luck with my own investments, I now have a very good and submissive wife, 3 fully paid houses and no debts whatsoever. Cannot be asking for more lah.
Bro , u only 45?

Bacccarat

Teach the young to get into the sg system to earn money, then clock out of the system to spend money.

Earn in sg, then stay in jb. Perfect.

No offence. Very sorry not a good idea.

Before Pandemic, i had this idea.
But somehow, my heart had a strange negative and very weird feeling.

Its truly fortunate I did not get a condo in JB. It would have been left to rot and rust for 2~3 yrs during the travel ban.

Heng ah....

Want to take home $6000-$12000, must work like crazy in private sector unless you sign on SAF, be a teacher or hide in some ministry, stat board and wait for annual pay increment and bonuses,
Lol you must be crazy if you think a teacher can earn $12,000. Maybe the highest level such as principal or head of dept.

tobelightlight

Its truly fortunate I did not get a condo in JB. It would have been left to rot and rust for 2~3 yrs during the travel ban.

Heng ah....
pandemic over. no worries.

winners

I knew a teacher of the 1960s era. After retirement he is still receiving a pension.

Of course, now, this scheme is abolished.
When we went for our Northern Lights tour in Norway and Finland, there was a group of about 8 ex-teachers on the pension scheme. They even said that they use their pensions to travel for holidays at least twice a year. Clearly these people are taking good advantage of the government's (and indirectly the public's) money, which I don't think they deserve to be.

LittleP

From my observation, kids today are soft and only wants to make easy money. I don't know if it's due to the Western culture influence or what, but many just don't believe in working hard for their money.
Its their upbringing. They get everything easy & prolly never had to slog for anything that's why

LittleP

Tell this to the current Gen Z. they'll just spend as much as they earn and don't even think about saving for a rainy day.
Again I feel its all upbringing. My kid is very thrifty. Prolly learned that from her mom & not into material stuff. Whereas, her dad, me, is opposite la:roflmao:

LittleP

Not just easy money, they have an inflated sense of self-entitlement. Are selfish, conceited and lack the proper values. They expect to have the best without working to earn it. They expect to be pampered and treated like royalty, and are habitual freeloaders. They expect the world to bend backwards for them. Gosh, I really hate them.
A kid is like a plant. How you groom it will bear you the fruits of your labour

winners

Its their upbringing. They get everything easy & prolly never had to slog for anything that's why
I do agree that good upbringing does play a part to some extent, but the real problem is many will pick up their "wanting habits" during their school years. Eg: seeing their classmates have handphones, they will also want one from their parents, otherwise, you'll know what will happen next.

LittleP

I do agree that good upbringing does play a part to some extent, but the real problem is many will pick up their "wanting habits" during their school years. Eg: seeing their classmates have handphones, they will also want one from their parents, otherwise, you'll know what will happen next.
I am sharing, not debating, so pls don't take it wrongly.
As a parent myself, to a 22yr old now doing her Master's at Uni of Mel, I hv had my share of what's the right & what's the wrong stance to take on many many incidences.
Am I the perfect know it all parent?? Trust me, I am no where near, but to date, I dare proclaim I'm not a F type parent.
My objective:
a) I don't want my kid to lose out when she enters society
b) I want to impart as many life experiences I went thru in my blessed yet F type life
c) I do not dictate my child, since she was a kid living in sinkie till we migrated here in 2014. Even when she finished college here till uni till now Master's, I hv trained her to discuss everything, listen to opinions & make her own informed choices, and thus be responsible for her own decisions.
d) I train my kid to look at the end game, and from there, she'll know what are the steps needed to take to reach her FINAL aim in life. I personally practice this mantra, that's why I'm retired and now 52yrs young.
e) do not be worried about how others look, wear. It's them not you. What you are, is you.

Back to the iphone crap.
My kid was from CHIJ, yes, she has spoken many times to me abt iphones whilst in primary school, I always said no but gv her an old nokia phone of mine instead. Take it or leave it. Give me 1 reason why you deserve an iphone? She could never reply.
At the end of Pri.4, I finally bought her one. Why? Cos she was warded into Mt E Orchard for a nasal/dental surgery. Half her face was swollen after, she was in very low spirits, so I walked to lucky plaza, and bought her one without hesitation. It worked. She was so engrossed with that phone, she didnt even need to take pain killers. Believe it not!!!

As she grew up, it became an achieve & reward thing between dad & her.
But mom was different. Mom was from a poor family. Parents were cleaners. For me, let's just say I was born & stayed in a 3digit unit along Mountbatten Road all my young life.
So through her mom, she acquired the habit of being thrifty. Mom became the OB marker for her. I would buy jeans & stuff from Ralph Lauren at Taka, but she would not even let me buy her anything. Fearing reprisal from her mom.

We don't live a poor or middle class life that's for sure, but I dare say, we do not live a materialistic one. My most expensive watch is a Tag Heuer 3000 series which I bought with my 1st paycheck whilst I was a regular in RSAF decades ago & still wearing it now.
Wife's most ex bag is a Guess bought in sinkie donkey years ago & wear a Raymond Weil also bought long long ago by me.

When she was offered Scholarship at Uni of MEl, I brought her to a watch shop here which specialises in Rolex. Told her, well done, super proud of her, choose anything you want, its yours. She said waste money. Lets go for your fav cuppa & ice cream dada.
:cry:I teared.
Educate your child abt peer pressures. Looks mean nothing. I always teach her, most who act rich are either not aka empty shells or prolly had loaded parents which also makes them useless riding off their parents wealth. Some may strike it, see how long they can sustain it.

The only material thing I bought her is her GLC 300. This I also must explain. Its more for safety than anything. Melb is not as safe as it was when I studying here ages ago. Other than that, her credit card bill never gave me a shock. Even at the age of 22.

Train from young. Don't gv yourself excuses. "They're like that one." These type of parents, their kids no brainer one:roflmao:

winners

As a parent myself, to a 22yr old now doing her Master's at Uni of Mel, I hv had my share of what's the right & what's the wrong stance to take on many many incidences.
Am I the perfect know it all parent?? Trust me, I am no where near, but to date, I dare proclaim I'm not a F type parent.
My objective:
b) I want to impart as many life experiences I went thru in my blessed yet F type life
c) I do not dictate my child, since she was a kid living in sinkie till we migrated here in 2014. Even when she finished college here till uni till now Master's, I hv trained her to discuss everything, listen to opinions & make her own informed choices, and thus be responsible for her own decisions.
d) I train my kid to look at the end game, and from there, she'll know what are the steps needed to take to reach her FINAL aim in life. I personally practice this mantra, that's why I'm retired and now 52yrs young.
e) do not be worried about how others look, wear. It's them not you. What you are, is you.

Back to the iphone crap.
My kid was from CHIJ, yes, she has spoken many times to me abt iphones whilst in primary school, I always said no but gv her an old nokia phone of mine instead. Take it or leave it. Give me 1 reason why you deserve an iphone? She could never reply.
At the end of Pri.4, I finally bought her one. Why? Cos she was warded into Mt E Orchard for a nasal/dental surgery. Half her face was swollen after, she was in very low spirits, so I walked to lucky plaza, and bought her one without hesitation. It worked. She was so engrossed with that phone, she didnt even need to take pain killers. Believe it not!!!

But mom was different. Mom was from a poor family. Parents were cleaners. For me, let's just say I was born & stayed in a 3digit unit along Mountbatten Road all my young life.
So through her mom, she acquired the habit of being thrifty. Mom became the OB marker for her. I would buy jeans & stuff from Ralph Lauren at Taka, but she would not even let me buy her anything. Fearing reprisal from her mom.

We don't live a poor or middle class life that's for sure, but I dare say, we do not live a materialistic one. My most expensive watch is a Tag Heuer 3000 series which I bought with my 1st paycheck whilst I was a regular in RSAF decades ago & still wearing it now.
Wife's most ex bag is a Guess bought in sinkie donkey years ago & wear a Raymond Weil also bought long long ago by me.

When she was offered Scholarship at Uni of MEl, I brought her to a watch shop here which specialises in Rolex. Told her, well done, super proud of her, choose anything you want, its yours. She said waste money. Lets go for your fav cuppa & ice cream dada.
Educate your child abt peer pressures. Looks mean nothing. I always teach her, most who act rich are either not aka empty shells or prolly had loaded parents which also makes them useless riding off their parents wealth. Some may strike it, see how long they can sustain it.

The only material thing I bought her is her GLC 300. This I also must explain. Its more for safety than anything. Melb is not as safe as it was when I studying here ages ago. Other than that, her credit card bill never gave me a shock. Even at the age of 22.

Train from young. Don't gv yourself excuses. "They're like that one." These type of parents, their kids no brainer one:roflmao:
Congratulations, you've got a daughter who is only 1-in-20 in this world. Her thriftiness like her mother is an added bonus and you should be very proud of her. Not every parent is as fortunate as you.

SBFNews

My objective:

Back to the iphone crap.

Congratulations, you've got a daughter who is only 1-in-20 in this world. Her thriftiness like her mother is an added bonus and you should be very proud of her. Not every parent is as fortunate as you.

Nowadays, I see teenagers and young working adults must Starbucks everyday. Paying $5 $6 a day for a kopi seems to be norm. Very rich I hope, otherwise, money spend very fast.

Byebye Penis

Lol you must be crazy if you think a teacher can earn $12,000. Maybe the highest level such as principal or head of dept.

no sir, the rates are better now. If first job is teaching, many clocked $70,000 a year by age of 30 and many in late 40s and 50s bring home about $120,000 year. If someone turns adjunct and teaches 4-5 days a week, they also clock $4000-$5000 a month.

Byebye Penis

Heng ah....

JB is not a good place to raise kids. Only for singles or retirees.

Byebye Penis

When we went for our Northern Lights tour in Norway and Finland, there was a group of about 8 ex-teachers on the pension scheme. They even said that they use their pensions to travel for holidays at least twice a year. Clearly these people are taking good advantage of the government's (and indirectly the public's) money, which I don't think they deserve to be.

For these seniors, many even own landed properties. I know several secondary school retired-teachers who own landed properties. While once upon a time, their take-home was $3000, their purchasing power was stronger.

It's like back to the original post of this thread, now young teachers may make $10,000 a month, after deducting for their car, childcare and child-enrichment centres, landed-properties are beyond reach.