• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Xmas fruit cake

k then, back to fruit cakes... the food kind...

anyone can recommed a good one.. ie order from someone ?

lets see... how am i asking you to pity me with the above post? LOL

Holiday spirit, do forgive no point making your own life bitter and stress, other do what they want, life is short so be Happy and don't Worry.....:)

73259_478098702232800_507427476_n[1].jpg

Do not know how true, but one of my my Eurasian family friend told me they have a 15year's+ fruit cake in their freezer compartment; which was passed down from their grand aunt.Occasionally they would bring it out and add
some liqueuers onto it to maintain it's structural stability..:)

castro street, san francisco. you can find any fruit cake on the street. add lots of rum, but they don't warm up to women.

lets see... how am i asking you to pity me with the above post? LOL

English Fruit Cake with rum, call the major hotels & see if they do bake one.

Do not know how true, but one of my my Eurasian family friend told me they have a 15year's+ fruit cake in their freezer compartment; which was passed down from their grand aunt.Occasionally they would bring it out and add
some liqueuers onto it to maintain it's structural stability..:)

You don't bluff...the contents of the fruit cake would have rotted ages ago....I know what goes into the fruit cake..

Fruit Cakes - after those made by my wife, the best fruit cakes in Singapore come from Lana's in Bukit Timan (couple of shops from Wagon Wheel).

Lana..got kena chop chop chop or not ?..:eek:;)

My wife buys the cakes from them, usually carrot cake (not chai tau kwey) so I do not know how they sell, but just supply the cash. If by chop chop chop you mean whether they kotok or not - definitely, Bukit Timah locale in expat residence, surely one. But their cakes are good.

Could be be due to white expats go home? Like that better open pub for Indian expats. (Sg long time no toddy already).

wagon wheel was owned by a local guy. maybe he wanted to retire.. heard there is a french restaurant taking over the space

Was there (wagon wheel) only once before during the early nineties when I had an ang moh boss who'd end up there almost everyday downing beers before going home. All the shops around there cater to white expats Watch out for French restaurants here when they serve rabbit. Insist on them producing the animals' ears - if they can't, likely to be common alley cats.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/v6dqQYGg42k" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Make your own lah Wendy

i can actually make a very good one, but circumstances not convenient at the moment

Hi Wendy,
You should really try to remember your recipe and steps well. But understanding your circumstances, you may not have opportunity for hands-on practice now. Anyway, it's an asset, especially if yours really tastes good.
i can actually make a very good one, but circumstances not convenient at the moment

I mean you should treat all your knowledge as a useful asset which can be beneficial in future for eg, if an opportunity arises for a seasonal business idea in future. Having an ongoing business is the only way to sustain one's existence.
You should really try to remember your recipe and steps well. But understanding your circumstances, you may not have opportunity for hands-on practice now. Anyway, it's an asset, especially if yours really tastes good.

i love this christmas fruit cake....the more the rum the better.my neighbour used to make and sell...but now no more.have to look around and hunt for a really shiok fruit cake.......i will follow closely this thread. thank you for the post.:)
Angel uncle,look for aunty Heng who used to work for RAF family in Seletar and make fantastic fruit cakes,pl try.