• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Story of Ama Keng Clinic

SalahParking

just to share:

http://www.facebook.com/TanChengBock

2012-11-21
The story of Ama Keng Clinic.
Today is my last day of medical practice in Ama Keng Clinic. It is indeed very sad to part with my clinic which I started in 1971, 41 years ago. I named my clinic after the village Ama Keng. This far away village was 28km from town, along Lim Chu Kang road.
My clinic was a run down shophouse made of wooden planks and zinc roof. Many thought l was crazy as there were so many other options in town. But I love medicine and practicing in the rural environment was my idea of doctoring. It was obviously challenging as you had to manage the cases all by yourself as the nearest hospital was 28km away from the village.
My patients were generally poor farmers growing vegetables and other crops, tendering to the chickens and a few pigs. Their homes were attap huts and the roads to the huts were laterite m&d tracks with numerous pot holes. Making house calls to the sick in their homes involved crisscrossing these narrow tracks. When it rained the tracks got flooded. Once the villagers lifted my car out of a flooded ditch. The village children were incredible, I love them, full of fun and loved playing in the rain. They all love to carry my doctor’s bag.
Many homes did not have tap water. Water was from deep wells and water standpipes. So the villagers had to carry water buckets on their shoulders from these 2 sources. No flushing toilets, bucket system prevailed.
My medical fees were low yet some still cannot afford, so they pay me in kind like eggs, vegetables, and chickens. For those who cannot pay l waived the fees. They were very grateful. Over the years the villagers and l developed a special bond that money cannot buy… a deep trust and respect.
Then came resettlement. One day, we were told we had to move out because of comprehensive redevelopment of the area. It was devastating for many as they had no other skills except farming. Many villagers look to me for help for their resettlement problems. I obliged. I had to speak on their behalf on their housing problems and compensations. It was sad, seeing friends moving out of this village. We were one big family but we had to go separate ways. We were resettled to different parts of the island but primarily to Punggol, Bukit Panjang, Jurong West, Boon Lay and Chua Chu Kang.
I was resettled to Teck Whye but continued to practice under the name Ama Keng Clinic. The HDB practice was different from old Ama Keng. I moved 2 more times before moving to my present clinic at Jurong West where l practiced for another 15 long years.
Many old patients from old Ama Keng and staying far away continue to see me. My oldest patient is more than 100years old. She appeared in my facebook before and 4 generations of her family sees me today.
I have come to accept the fact that Ama Keng Clinic will finally close its door on 22nd Nov. 2012.
I want to thank all my patients for their faith in me.
Goodbye AMA KENG CLINIC.

longbow

Perhaps, he should have continued that clinic but instead offer FOC for people without the means - especially the elderly. He can donate the premises (if it is rented, pay for rental or if he owns the place just donate the place). Then appeal to young doctors from SMA to donate 3 to 4 hours a week/month. Even specialist could offer special sessions foc.

Donations could be gotten to fund the daily operations of the place - utilities, admin staff, etc. Dr Tan could start with a $1M initial endowment. In the future, there could be more of such places throughout Singapore.

My impression is that Dr Tan has the means and I think a $1 to 2m endowment (plus support from SMA - I think many new doctors would not mind doing pro bono work) is totally affordable to him and allows him to champion this Ama Keng Clinic that he is so proud off.

Basic premise is - pay what you can
Have excellent care

good idea and a good proposal.i think the good doctor is completely burnt out. spend time with family and with grandchildren now...good for him.

charity clinics can be openly abused. and even volunteer doctors and nurses can be publicly abused too...

sometimes, it's not very wise to perform too much charity. there are always people who will abuse the system.

just look at the government's CHAS for Singaporeans.....it's sick to see how people can abuse this scheme. the more your give, the more freebies and the more welfare you give, the more abuses...and the more sick the population become....and the people make more demands....and they become real ugly!!! good morning sunday singapore!!!!:smile:

longbow

Dr Tan may have family commitments but I am sure there are many "young Mr Tan out there". By using his name and throwing some seed money, he could keep it alive. If the shop space is his, just donate it. If system needs some $, just kick in the first $500K of $1M (pretty sure he can get some matching funds from Lee/Shaw foundation). Pharmaceutical companies could donate drugs, etc etc.

From the start idea is to help people. No professional staff is paid except for some basic admin staff. I would not be surprised if such a selfless idea would attract top specialist doctors to donate a few hours each month of their time FOC. If I were a doctor, I would not mind giving back a bit of my time to society.

There is bound to be some form of abuse but that should not detract from real needs of many. And abuse can always be managed.

If you have 80 percent geniune cases and 20 percent abuse and you have 100 patients a day, that is fine. Because at the end of the day you are still helping 2400 a month! I prefer to look at the 2400 being helped than worry about those that scam the system.

I agree with your very noble and charitable proposal to keep the Clinic alive to serve the people and to give something back to the society.

Attending to 100 patients a day is no joke. The attending doctor will get burnt out very easily. And it's not easy to get doctors to cover the such a busy clinic, even if they are paid well. My family GP sees about 30 to 40 a day and he tells me, it's more than he can take. Anything more than that , he will lose his sense of concentration and devotion. He gets piqued and he loses his sense of direction, especially when he encounters problem patients and patients who abuse the system.

Not easy to be a doctor, let alone a doctor performing charity work.It is more demanding especially when you are dealing with
" sick " people....Medicine is not so straight forward. The doctor deals with all sorts of " nonsensical" things too.:smile:

It's pretty sad that in a country where we have the highest paid civil servants there is still an need for "affordable" medical care.

with PAP around, even if we have all the oil in middle east also no use lah...............

aiyah.......i didn't know Tan Cheng Bok operate the clinic............otherwise i vote for him liao lor...........i was telling all the people i know to vote for Tan Jee Sus..........

i don't see the irony of it all. "affordable" medical care is sufficient. "free medical" is a bottomless pit. it will drain the society and it will create a sick society. people should be partly responsible for their own health and well being.

SalahParking

i don't see the irony of it all. "affordable" medical care is sufficient. "free medical" is a bottomless pit. it will drain the society and it will create a sick society. people should be partly responsible for their own health and well being.
whatever name to call it, medical care must be have quality and relevance...no point giving free treatment or affordadble treatment like in the the polyclinics they say"take 2 asprins and call me in the morning" and pay 20 bucks.... meaning dont bother me with your trivial problems and dont forget to make payment first

Obviously the PAP can afford to pay themselves multi-millions AND have all their health costs covered while "lesser mortals" are on their own:rolleyes:

Of course, otherwise what would be the point of being a greater mortal or striving and yearning to be a greater mortal like what so many sycophants, porlumpars and wannabes are doing?