• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Noodle Thread

No longer being made by Hokkiens. Fried by Ah Tiongs from Hunan.

Don't worry, it's Halal compliant.

More and more Ah Tiongs taking over local dish already .
Ah Tiongs cooking halal food ? must be joking..
I don't think any Mats will go for them.. :D
Scare got pig oil.. :D

How about open Char Kway Teow stall in Tokyo ? :D
Sure good business ...

bro...no good . japanese prefer hokkien mee then char kway teow ...they find char kway teow too sweet .

japanese like ....

1 ) carrotcake ( white )

2 ) oyster egg

3) horfun

4) chicken rice

5) batku teh

6) chilli crab

7 ) fish soup

8) fried rice

9) bbq chicken wings

10) mee siam ( if they like spicy food )

bro...no good . japanese prefer hokkien mee then char kway teow ...they find char kway teow too sweet .

bro, I find that SG char kway teow damn sweet and lousy.
Only prefer the one at North. especially penang. Power !:cool:

More and more Ah Tiongs taking over local dish already .
Ah Tiongs cooking halal food ? must be joking..
I don't think any Mats will go for them.. :D
Scare got pig oil.. :D

Yup!!! Ah Tiongs have been taking over most of the local delights. Though I don't like them in competing with local hawkers, they generally serve bigger portion than local sellers. I find local sellers generally very Kiam Siap in portion and ingredients.

in the sf bay area, we have the best of everything, including noodle dishes from asia. however, there is one noodle dish served in a restaurant setting that has eluded the entire bay area, no... plus california and the whole united states for over 6 years. it used to be served the authentic way in a cafe in fremont that had closed for good. unless we cook it on our own, we cannot find good old fried hokkien mee.

everything else we have and can find. we even have roasted garlic ramen noodle soup from maru-ochi, by far the most popular ramen chain in the bay area. we have one of the best hong sau beef and tendon noodle soup restaurants out west in liang's kitchen. the best hong sau beef noodle in the east can be found at golden wok, in raritan, new jersey. we have mee siam, mee rebus, laksa, prawn noodle, char kway teow, hor fun, and all comfort noodle food that is loved in sg... except for fried hokkien mee. damn!

laksa... how can you forget laksa with round rice noodle? that is the signature dish of sg and penang. both styles of laksa have very slim following here in the bay area. for most of the folks here, sg laksa is too coconutish and spicy; penang laksa is too sour and the sardine base pisses people off. not popular at all, but the malaysian style prawn noodle is great - with bee hoon and yellow noodle.

i can prepare all of the above, but i prefer to sit down and be served... after a hard week of reading news and shit stories on sbf.

in the sf bay area, we have the best of everything, including noodle dishes from asia. however, there is one noodle dish served in a restaurant setting that has eluded the entire bay area, no... plus california and the whole united states for over 6 years. it used to be served the authentic way in a cafe in fremont that had closed for good. unless we cook it on our own, we cannot find good old fried hokkien mee.

Do visit Gopalan Nair when you're in Fremont. He has good French restaurant to intro and belanjah. :D

i've been to that faux french freakhole. not worth it.

the best french restaurant in the entire united states, according to many french i know, is the french laundry in yountville, napa, california. it has a 2-year wait in the reservation line. the next in line is bistro bouchon, also in the same town. bistro bouchon is more casual than the french laundry, but run by the same founder. the next in line after bistro bouchon is bistro jeanty, slightly a block away from bouchon. personally, i prefer jeanty over bouchon. not far from napa in sonoma, the next in line is the girl and the fig. if i go to napa, i would drive straight to yountville and hang around between bouchon and jeanty.

i've been to that faux french freakhole. not worth it.

the best french restaurant in the entire united states, according to many french i know, is the french laundry in yountville, napa, california. it has a 2-year wait in the reservation line. the next in line is bistro bouchon, also in the same town. bistro bouchon is more casual than the french laundry, but run by the same founder. the next in line after bistro bouchon is bistro jeanty, slightly a block away from bouchon. personally, i prefer jeanty over bouchon. not far from napa in sonoma, the next in line is the girl and the fig. if i go to napa, i would drive straight to yountville and hang around between bouchon and jeanty.

If he belanjah, whatever lah. Anyway the best Frenchies in USA are found in Lousiana, quite a distance away from California, about 3 hours by flight or 3 days by drive. Best French food outside France, try Montreal. :)

Quebec city pretty good too.

Aiyo, you forgot one very important noodles that most Singaporeans will like.

7. Prawn Noodle Soup.

Soup, with Yellow noodle, that is black and cooked with soya bean to give fragrant to the shrimp stock. Generous Kang Kong, few slices of pork meat. fish cake and deshelled shrimps. Sprinkled with fried onions, set come with dry or soup and choice of red chilli powder or huge chilli cut mixed with light sauce.

Apparently, the many so-called hawkers that have long queue doesn't seem to meet my childhood longing taste of the above prawn noodle.
Of course I didn't forget prawn noodles (soup), it's just not one of my favourite noodle dishes.
But I know a place to have good prawn noodles. The stall is at Lavender Square hawker centre (the one at Eminent Plaza). As noted by Golden Dragon, there is also a very good wanton mee stall there.

Those interested can go there and have a double helping. :o

Of course I didn't forget prawn noodles (soup), it's just not one of my favourite noodle dishes.
But I know a place to have good prawn noodles. The stall is at Lavender Square hawker centre (the one at Eminent Plaza). As noted by Golden Dragon, there is also a very good wanton mee stall there.

The hay mee soup there with a little spicy tinting, not so heavy as Penang hay mee, but still very good and longstanding famous. Thw wanton mee there is too expensive. I'd rather stack on another dollar and eat a pork chop.

BTW, while you're there, don't forget to visit NSP HQ which is just on the opposite of Jalan Besar.

canadian french is faux french. i'll be in montreal next summer. beats a 2-year wait for a seat at the best, ironically, in my own backyard.

Ajisen ramen is the worst japanese ramen i have ever tasted in singapore ...
Where are the best Japanese ramen places in SG in your opinion?

Other noodle dishes:

7. Prawn noodles - already discussed.

8. Hokkien fried noodles
Don't eat those at the food courts, especially along orchard road. There is a very good stall in Geylang (Lorong 20+ something). Another very good stall in Toa Payoh.
The sambal chilli is of utmost importance, together with the lime.

9. Zha Jiang Mian, Dan Dan Mian and Suan La Mian
A good place to have these noodles is Crystal Jade. A bit expensive but portions are substantial.
Has anyone eaten the Zha Jiang Mian at Ding Tai Fung? Any opinions? Personally don't like it.

10 Lor Mee
The Bak Chor mee at Golden Mile Hawker Centre was voted one of the best stalls in SG. But in my opinion, the best dish at this stall is their Lor Mee. Full of ingredients and the gravy is not too rich.

The hay mee soup there with a little spicy tinting, not so heavy as Penang hay mee, but still very good and longstanding famous. Thw wanton mee there is too expensive. I'd rather stack on another dollar and eat a pork chop.

BTW, while you're there, don't forget to visit NSP HQ which is just on the opposite of Jalan Besar.
Bro, pork chop in HK means ugly girl. :o

There's no reason to visit NSP HQ, I already know the difference between "taking care" and "looking after". :D

btw, he cannot belanjah anymore. he's broke.

Triple helping bro. The beef noodles at Eminent also very good. Other beef noodles of standard includes the ones at Blk 232 or 233 AMK, Hong Kee at Telok Ayer. Beef horfun at Geylang lor 9 is just too good to be true. Will make my way to Eminent after Newcastle and Liverpool game and from there, to RWS.

Last heard, he's doing brisk business for Indian immigrants to US. ;)

just enough to survive, pay rent, get drunk, and buy the next air ticket for another round of sg bashing on sg soil. last heard, his former clients were so pissed they wanted his head. guess those new immigrants never learn and never know what is a poor track record of honoring commitments. getting a greencard is a very long term commitment in the legal process.