• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Lim Boon Heng thread... merged

†††††

Lim Boon Heng 'I supported casino in 2005, bec unemployment was high'

A difficult decision

IN 2005, when Mr Lim Boon Heng backed the Cabinet's decision to allow two casinos in Singapore, unemployment was high.

That made it 'particularly difficult' for the Minister in the Prime Minister's Office to say no to the integrated resorts (IRs), even though he is personally against using gambling as an industry and a source of income for Singapore.

Mr Lim had choked up when he spoke during the April 2005 casino debate in Parliament, when he said his decision hinged on the 35,000 jobs the IRs would create.

But unemployment is no longer a problem today - and the potential social costs of gambling on families continue to weigh heavily on Mr Lim.

The casinos have only been around for a year, yet there are already accounts of people who have blown fortunes, Mr Lim said in response to reporters' questions: 'If it is people who have a lot of money, I would not worry too much, but if it has also affected families, then I think it's not good for Singapore.'

He also explained why it was not a good idea to make public the debates on sensitive matters, including industrial relations, which he oversaw as labour chief for 13 years.

'If you want to come to a rational solution or good compromise, then you want to do it so that no party loses face. The trouble is, if you have a public debate on some matters that can be very sensitive, somebody would have to lose face,' he said.

The PAP's approach of bringing in people from different backgrounds and with strong opinions and good minds, and engaging in an internal process of debate, 'would allow us to get the best policies for Singapore', he said.

Yet, Mr Lim also conceded that in a small number of cases, as with the casinos, he continued to question the final decision taken by Cabinet.

'Life is not perfect... we have to accept that there are certain things that when we decide as a Cabinet, we have to take collective responsibility. So it's a price that we all have to pay,' he said.

seebaysong

Re: Lim Boon Heng ask you to be kind and considerate to the PAP!

Wa ! This is a 2009 post ?!?
Grudges last long long hor...

KNNBCCB

Re: See lah...you make Lim Boon Heng cry...

That's what i called..CRY MOTHER CRY FATHER.

WHAT A FUCKTARD..

hairylee

$2 million plus a year! that is something worth crying about.

Khun Ying Pojaman

Re: Lim Boon Heng 'I supported casino in 2005, bec unemployment was high'

'Life is not perfect... we have to accept that there are certain things that when we decide as a Cabinet, we have to take collective responsibility. So it's a price that we all have to pay,' he said.

Is he referring to his million-dollar salary ?:eek:

slohand2

A difficult decision

['Life is not perfect... we have to accept that there are certain things that when we decide as a Cabinet, we have to take collective responsibility. So it's a price that we all have to pay,' he said.

But I assure you, there is no Group think ! Whichever way he choose to describe Group Think, the need for parliamentary discussions is more pressing. Our bunch of MPs, use the party whip as an excuse for changes that damage our future, and he may feel remorseful, but its not going to change.

Why cant he leave the PAP when the ideals are obviously different from his. Im sure he is not the only one. How I wish the Ministers strengthen their back bones instead of crying spilt milk

denzuko1

A difficult decision

IN 2005, when Mr Lim Boon Heng backed the Cabinet's decision to allow two casinos in Singapore, unemployment was high.

That's funny, Singapore Economy was recovering in 2005, 2004 was the end of recession.

denzuko1

There is not supposed to have "group think" in a democratic society, that is why even in parliament, MPs vote on issue. They are representatives of the people from the constituencies that they come from.

LBH's "group think" perception is dead wrong as a politician under democratic system.

denzuko1

Are you sure we made him cry? I thought its the lost of SGD2Mil per year income that made him cry!

why all those with surnames starting with L cry de?

LKY , LSS, now, LBH....all with surnames L...

cooleo

What a hypocrite. I bet Ass Loong must have fired him or they had a falling out, and hence the 'tears'.

Remember this - The last time LKY cried, he conned a whole nation for a few decades. Don't repeat the mistake! lol

Re: SHOCKING NEWS:- PAP is divided says Lim Boon heng

can some one remind me? Was he part of the cabinet back in 2005 when they took the decision to vote in the casinos?

batman1

Re: Lim Boon Heng cries bec he couldnt object agianst casino

IF he is a real man,IF he is against MIW setting up gambling dens inside Singapore,HE SHOULD RESIGN from the cabinet
then .This piece of shit really got no convictions,beliefs,values ! What is his KPI or achievements ??? He succeeded in depressing the workers wages and opening his legs wide for foreign workers to come to sinkeeland.

KuanTi01

Re: Lim Boon Heng quit PAP to focus on PA, NTUC and reading

Actually, as u know, I am no fan of PAP and god knows, not of LBH. Having said that, he would have been CEO of NOL if he stayed there, so being minister actually cost him lost pay. And he was not a president or saf scholar, but family paid for his education and he joined NOL and rise up more or less on merit as far as i know.

However, the tears over the low wage worker is disingenous and really not credible, shit, his eyes were not even wet or swollen or red. The best way for him to help low wage earners is to stop importing even lower wage earners to undercut their already low wage. got it? LOL. For him not to know this is really difficult to believe.

I do appreciate your clarification. :smile: Perhaps he is talented in his own way and could have risen far in his original NOL posting but the point is that money-wise he is still overpaid for the "little" he did; factoring his perks, pension, bonuses etc. Finally, having read what you said about him rising up the NOL ranks through his own merits, perhaps I've been too harsh on him! He deserved a more senior position than "junior executive.":biggrin:

wizard

'There's no groupthink within PAP'
Minister turns emotional during media conference when responding to question
By Yen Feng
lbh2.jpg

PEOPLE'S Action Party (PAP) chairman Lim Boon Heng became emotional during a media conference on Monday when introducing the party's latest batch of candidates.

Tears welled up in his eyes when he was replying to a reporter's question about potential 'groupthink' within the party, which recently fended off criticism about its one-party rule, and slate of new candidates for an apparent lack of diversity.

'There is no groupthink,' said Mr Lim as he composed himself after he was overwhelmed by emotions.

Mr Lim cited the casino issue back in 2005, when it was hotly debated among Singaporeans and MPs.

During the 2005 parliamentary debate, Mr Lim was equally emotional, struggling to hold back his tears when he made a moving speech on how gambling had wrecked a family.

At Monday's media conference, Mr Lim told reporters that the Cabinet was not of one mind on the controversial issue.

'Within the Cabinet it was very divided,' he said. 'For me it was a very difficult process to accept the casinos. I almost couldn't make my speech in Parliament.'

Mr Lim, 63, who is Minister in the Prime Minister's Office, announced his decision to retire from politics on Sunday.

http://www.straitstimes.com/GeneralElection/News/Story/STIStory_655519.html

Wat's the point of debating in parliment about casino when the pilling is going on in marina for the casino..

This is what happen when the decision is make by the inner circle and the rest of PAP MPs know they would not last long if they veto against it. Worst the opportunity of retirng into NTUC or GLC link companies is lose. So lets bring back the TING, people protest because as they know she is going into there with GRCs to say YES to the inner circle. BUt Lee HW divert it to be a gender issue. Total fuck up, vote for them is the best insurance.. SIAO

hairylee

Re: Lim Boon Heng cries bec he couldnt object agianst casino

When it comes to debating their pay increase they all think alike.

dankos

'There's no groupthink within PAP'
Minister turns emotional during media conference when responding to question
By Yen Feng
lbh2.jpg

Tears welled up in his eyes when he was replying to a reporter's question about potential 'groupthink' within the party, which recently fended off criticism about its one-party rule, and slate of new candidates for an apparent lack of diversity.

'There is no groupthink,' said Mr Lim as he composed himself after he was overwhelmed by emotions.

http://www.straitstimes.com/GeneralElection/News/Story/STIStory_655519.html

so he is implying that ah loong is a liar.