• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sinkies Speak Bad English & Bad Chinese. I Agree With Jim Rogers.

Where got. Never leh. My tiong woman just laff at my 普通话.. :biggrin:

Mrs Ah Meng appreciates Sinkees; that's why she is sticking around. Ambassador Ah Meng is doing a great job fostering warm ties between peesai and Ah Tiong land. Xi should give you a medal.

Poor mothers orways get abused.... why scold mothers where you came out from her cb....

世上只有妈妈好.... remember that.... fucker fathers is good... fuck Indian fathers lagi good they are rapist of the world... cow orso fuck no mercy...

Who say so. All the motherly greetings like Knnbccb and variants are uniquely Sinkiepore :biggrin:

bart12

https://thenewageparents.com/british-english-vs-singaporean-english/
WHEN GIVING A CUSTOMER BAD NEWS

Britons: I’m sorry, sir, but we don’t seem to have the sweater you want in your size, but if you give me a moment, I can call the other outlets for you.

Singaporean: No stock!

RETURNING A CALL

Britons: Hello, this is John Smith. Did anyone call for me a few moments ago?

Singaporean: Hello, who call huh?

ASKING SOMEONE TO MAKE WAY

Britons: Excuse me, I would like to get by. Would you please make way?

Singaporean: S-kew me…

WHEN SOMEONE OFFERS TO PAY

Britons: Hey! Put your wallet away, this drink is on me.

Singaporean: No need lah.

WHEN ASKING FOR PERMISSION

Britons: Excuse me, but do you think it would be possible for me to enter through this door?

Singaporean: (pointing at the door) Can ah?

WHEN ENTERTAINING

Britons: Please make yourself right at home.

Singaporean: No need shy one lah!

WHEN DOUBTING SOMEONE

Britons: I don’t recall you giving me the money.

Singaporean: Where got?

WHEN DECLINING AN OFFER

Britons: I would prefer not to do that, if you don’t mind.

Singaporean: Don’t want lah.

IN DISAGREEING ON A TOPIC OF DISCUSSION

Britons: Err…Tom, I have to stop you there. I understand where you’re coming from, but I really have to disagree with what you said about the issue.

Singaporean: You mad ah?

WHEN ASKING SOMEONE TO LOWER THEIR VOICE

Britons: Excuse me, but could you please lower your voice? I’m trying to concentrate over here.

Singaporean: Shut up lah!

WHEN ASKING SOMEONE IF HE/SHE KNOWS YOU…

Britons: Excuse me, but I noticed you staring at me for sometime. Do I know you?

Singaporean: See what, see what?

WHEN ASSESSING A TIGHT SITUATION

Britons: We seem to be in a bit of a predicament at the moment..

Singaporean: Die lah!!

WHEN TRYING TO FIND OUT WHAT HAD HAPPENED

Britons: Will someone tell me what has just happened?

Singaporean: What happened ah? Why like that one ah?

WHEN SOMEONE DID SOMETHING WRONG

Britons: This isn’t the way to do it. Here, let me show you.

Singaporean: Like that also don’t know how to do!

steffychun

US billionaire Jim Rogers surprised by S’poreans’ poor command of English & Chinese when he moved here
He was half kidding.
Matthias Ang |
clock.png
September 18, 2018 @ 06:26 pm

JimRogersSGskyline.jpg

You might have heard of the Rogers family.

They are an extremely rich American expat family living in Singapore.
Jim Rogers is a prominent billionaire investor who started Quantum Fund — a well-known hedge fund — together with George Soros, another well-known investor.
The Rogers family have made headlines with the insistence on the young ones learning Chinese.

So much so that one of Rogers’ daughters is able to speak better Mandarin than most Chinese Singaporeans.

The Rogers family have been living in Singapore since 2007.

Why did they move to Singapore?

According to a Aug. 27 talk Rogers gave in San Francisco titled, “Where Are The Opportunities Today?”, he said his main reason for moving to Singapore was to give his children the chance to learn Mandarin:

It would not be a stretch to see that part of this move stems from Rogers’ view that the global economy’s future will be driven by Asia.
Notably, he has even called the 21st century the “century of China“.
Advertisement

Finding out the reality of standards

However, much to the amusement of his audience, Rogers said he found the reality in Singapore to be something else:

He proceeded to qualify his statement with some tongue-in-cheek observation.
“Now there are some people who speak good English and some people who speak good Mandarin,” he said.

And then he joked: “I’m sure I’m going to be arrested as soon as I get back to Singapore.”

"I’m sure I’m going to be arrested as soon as I get back to Singapore" sue him till his pants drop!

https://thenewageparents.com/british-english-vs-singaporean-english/
WHEN GIVING A CUSTOMER BAD NEWS

Britons: I’m sorry, sir, but we don’t seem to have the sweater you want in your size, but if you give me a moment, I can call the other outlets for you.

Singaporean: No stock!

RETURNING A CALL

Britons: Hello, this is John Smith. Did anyone call for me a few moments ago?

Singaporean: Hello, who call huh?

ASKING SOMEONE TO MAKE WAY

Britons: Excuse me, I would like to get by. Would you please make way?

Singaporean: S-kew me…

WHEN SOMEONE OFFERS TO PAY

Britons: Hey! Put your wallet away, this drink is on me.

Singaporean: No need lah.

WHEN ASKING FOR PERMISSION

Britons: Excuse me, but do you think it would be possible for me to enter through this door?

Singaporean: (pointing at the door) Can ah?

WHEN ENTERTAINING

Britons: Please make yourself right at home.

Singaporean: No need shy one lah!

WHEN DOUBTING SOMEONE

Britons: I don’t recall you giving me the money.

Singaporean: Where got?

WHEN DECLINING AN OFFER

Britons: I would prefer not to do that, if you don’t mind.

Singaporean: Don’t want lah.

IN DISAGREEING ON A TOPIC OF DISCUSSION

Britons: Err…Tom, I have to stop you there. I understand where you’re coming from, but I really have to disagree with what you said about the issue.

Singaporean: You mad ah?

WHEN ASKING SOMEONE TO LOWER THEIR VOICE

Britons: Excuse me, but could you please lower your voice? I’m trying to concentrate over here.

Singaporean: Shut up lah!

WHEN ASKING SOMEONE IF HE/SHE KNOWS YOU…

Britons: Excuse me, but I noticed you staring at me for sometime. Do I know you?

Singaporean: See what, see what?

WHEN ASSESSING A TIGHT SITUATION

Britons: We seem to be in a bit of a predicament at the moment..

Singaporean: Die lah!!

WHEN TRYING TO FIND OUT WHAT HAD HAPPENED

Britons: Will someone tell me what has just happened?

Singaporean: What happened ah? Why like that one ah?

WHEN SOMEONE DID SOMETHING WRONG

Britons: This isn’t the way to do it. Here, let me show you.

Singaporean: Like that also don’t know how to do!

It got my favorite like that also dunno. Very authentic! :thumbsup:

Hypocrite-The

I will share with you guys that my Mandarin is truly FUCKED up!

I thought I could speak Mandarin and Cantonese and serve the Chinese population in Calgary.

After 3 years I gave up. Constantly ridiculed by the China and Hongkie patients for not knowing words.

Sorry man I don't speak those languages apart from at work. And my vocabulary sucks.

You see in Chinese classes in Sinkieland they love to make us learn all those fucking idioms!!!!! FOR FUCKING WHAT MAN?

Instead of having us learn words to improve vocabulary. We learn all these fucking flowery crap phrases called CHENG YU which is FUCK SAKE NO USE unless you want to be some MING DYNASTY SCHOLAR OR POET!

Anyway fuck the chinese lah! Come to Canada, refuse to learn English expect the Canadians to learn Chinese!
I never have this problem with hongkies Even though I can't read and write cina. I just tell them I have no formal cina education n they say it's ok. U willing to speak n willing to learn so it's good enough

Hypocrite-The

Bad as in Sinkies level of vocabulary in the Chinese language SUCKS!

They cannot speak FULLY in Mandarin because they dont know the Chinese words to many daily things not to mention technical jargon in specific fields.

And EVEN if the KNOW the words, they often like to replace the chinese word with the english word if it is easier to say.

So you end up having sentences with BOTH Chinese and English in ONE sentence!

eg

"你想 order 什么? 我在想 popcorn and nachos."

"Later go where eat lunch? Then after lunch, 我们去 NTUC ok. I need to buy tissue paper for office lor"

Even some forumers here do that when writing!

The PRC Chinese don't appreciate that. And they wont understand this mix of different languages in each sentence.

The English speakers will not understand either with the mix of Chinese words.

So you are neither here nor there.

Further more, the GRAMMAR used by sinkies is CHINESE MANDARIN grammar. The sentence structure spoken follows that of a mandarin sentence. Broken grammar.
Tat is singkies speaking singlish. But the point still not addressed is what is good mandarin? Mudland cinas who r cina educated. Is their Mandarin good enough? Singkie ah pek educated in nantah is their Mandarin good enough?

Asterix

And I cringe whether I hear mixture of Enhlish Mandarin and Hokkien cumming out of Sinkies' mouth:

Examples:

1. Tomorrow 我们去那里?Take MRT or Bus?
2. He is damn suay lor, 每次 tio sabo one.

Proof that Sinkies speak and write bad English:

Advise vs advice

Whether vs whenever

mudhatter

Evil race angmoh never failed to critize others except themselves...

Angmohs raped their own daughters and daughter's girl friends too...

Angmoh are taught from young to despised other races except their kind and one can make a different or change the world. Even own daughters are not spared from raped by fathers and brothers... it is a fact.... one are tuaghht he can change even fucking is included...

Many failed miserably like Jim Rogers... why chao angmoh Jim Rogers did not raise his UK angmoh bar to claim glory BE rule Singapore for 100 years 1819 abused and run monopoly opium trade in Singapore and SEA...

Becos evil cannot be surfaced to claim victory... Singapore run by Chinese become prosperity nation has no place for evil BE Jim Rogers.....

È

Ang Mohs sound like Ah Nehs.

That explains their love for ah nehs.