• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sammboy forummers - time to check your attitude

Clone said:
Wah... Bro OTC so fast got 300 link points liao with a meagre 300+ post count.

It sure pays to mingle with people in very high places.

Huat ah! :D

You just gave me an idea how to find out who knows people in high places. Thank you.

back in 07, i think i posted this thread in old Delphi, subsequently that picture wasn't used in public media much.

Hahahaha, and I think I remember it....................... :D

First on the list would be the general peace that we have. The lack of lawlessness and violence on the streets are a good index of how well run this place is.

Glad you share similar sentiments. I've seen people jogging at public parks at 10pm, even 11pm at night, without fear of being mugged. Our womenfolk can return home late from a long day at the office without anyone escorting them. People feel safe in the well-lit neighbourhoods, especially with the Neighbourhood Police Post (NPP) within walking distance of every HDB estate. Ordinary citizens are not permitted to carry guns, hatchets, and knuckle-dusters in Singapore. You go to other countries and you get random school shootings and highway robberies.

People take our low crime rate for granted.

Wow! You sure are quick trying to fall in line with forum host Mr Leongsam aren't you. I didn't know there are forummers here without a backbone of their own

You are quite mistaken. It is precisely because I've finally decided to be honest with myself and speak the truth that I've started this thread.

In the past, I chose to voice anti-PAP sentiments in order to be popular and make many friends. I've now come to regret this as it is dishonest and cowardly. Finally speaking my mind has given me a vast sense of relief!

I commend you for following your conscience. Too many members here simply jump on the bandwagon and attack the PAP just because they think it's a "cool" thing to do and it will make them popular with other members here.

It takes courage for a person to reveal his true feelings despite the fact that they go against the flow.

Once again I thank you for sharing your wisdom and insight and giving those who read this forum, especially those from abroad, a chance to see what a wonderful country Singapore is and how well the PAP is running the show.

Sg had a headstart from good admin and infrastructure left behind by the old colonial rulers. The govenment simply took the baton and ran with it. There was regional peace - thanks to the creation of ASEAN. In Peesai, there wasn't factious ethnic/religious chasms, which enable continued growth. Good geographical position without natural calamities made it attractive for foreign investments. The rest is simply human sweat and effort.

Credit is unfairly claimed by the government.

I disagree. The British left us with a good administrative service, but the national infrastucture was nothing to shout about when we first gained internal self-governance in 1959. Poverty was rampant, there were racial riots, and communists were using violent tactics to destabilize the system and overthrow the government. Malaysia had declared a state of emergency due to the violent communist insurgency, and there certainly was no peace in the region.

The PAP brought things rapidly under control after 1965 when we finally separted from Malaysia. The first thing they did was to imprison violent communist insurgents, discredit their ideology, and squash the communist threat once and for all.

They then proceeded to build a nation based on racial and religious harmony. They instituted HDB racial quotas to ensure that communalism could never take root in fragile Singapore. The PAP used English to unite the different races and give the citizens a headstart in the regional marketplace. They enacted tough laws and were swift and efficient in meting out justice.

Finally, through their vast international network of business contacts and industry partners, they brought a huge amount of investment into Singapore and turned a swampy third world slump into the modern metropolis we see today.

I give full credit to the PAP for creating the clean, efficient, safe and prosperous garden city that I am proud to have my children live in.

You are quite mistaken. It is precisely because I've finally decided to be honest with myself and speak the truth that I've started this thread.

1532123557bdcc66fe801c97d73a9ded6d1ddaf8.jpg

15320031d9561b88a24c03f6d2be5fb08ac5675a.jpg

Glad you share similar sentiments. I've seen people jogging at public parks at 10pm, even 11pm at night, without fear of being mugged. Our womenfolk can return home late from a long day at the office without anyone escorting them. People feel safe in the well-lit neighbourhoods, especially with the Neighbourhood Police Post (NPP) within walking distance of every HDB estate. Ordinary citizens are not permitted to carry guns, hatchets, and knuckle-dusters in Singapore. You go to other countries and you get random school shootings and highway robberies.

Singapore low crime, Monaco no crime. No PAP in Monaco either. Majulah Monaco! :D

Au contraire. Sinkie sheep never tire of waxing lyrical about how safe Sinkieland is while turning their noses up at First World Western countries with large population sizes to contend with. Much of the leeway and power accorded to the PAPpies are predicated on trivialities like how clean and safe our streets are: "Wah song ah! PAP give us lift upgrading. They are doing such a fine job making sure my corridor doesn't have rubbish lying around. Let's reward them with salaries higher than that of the President of USA!" Speaking of ministerial salaries, I wonder how well paid the ministers of Austria, Japan and Iceland are.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_intentional_homicide_rate

Sam will do better if he gives that 300 pts each to everybody still under Moderation that will bring them out of mod and hit the ground running!

Meantime, veterans here should just cross our legs sip wine and watch the show from the sides while Sam hauls in his catch of bright-eyed newbies waving PAP flags.

For 50s/early 60s standard of infrastructure in colonial outposts - in Singapore, it was state of the art. Water treatment, refinery, airports for jets, and not to mention, one of the most modern harbours in the world - that was what independent Singapore started with.

Racial riots, communist threat - what happened in Singapore is (infinitesimally) small compared with the region's giant like Indonesia. In Malaysia, The War of the Running Dogs - is more likened to keeping a bunch of bandits on the run compared to the real war in Indochina.

C'mon. Running Peesai is a piece of cake. Don't give the rulers that kind of credit for work that is their duty to carry out. You mean to say that the working class people of Singapore are useless and without the leadership of the PAP Sg would still be a "lowly fishing village?" For all the accolades the media have given to them, I believe many people would prefer life in the fishing village. And for goodness sake, racial harmony and peace exists whenever there is economic growth, other countries like Canada, USA, Oz, Egypt, and dozens of other have had a higher mix of racial (and religious) groups than Sg.

I disagree. The British left us with a good administrative service, but the national infrastucture was nothing to shout about when we first gained internal self-governance in 1959. Poverty was rampant, there were racial riots, and communists were using violent tactics to destabilize the system and overthrow the government. Malaysia had declared a state of emergency due to the violent communist insurgency, and there certainly was no peace in the region.

The PAP brought things rapidly under control after 1965 when we finally separted from Malaysia. The first thing they did was to imprison violent communist insurgents, discredit their ideology, and squash the communist threat once and for all.

They then proceeded to build a nation based on racial and religious harmony. They instituted HDB racial quotas to ensure that communalism could never take root in fragile Singapore. The PAP used English to unite the different races and give the citizens a headstart in the regional marketplace. They enacted tough laws and were swift and efficient in meting out justice.

Finally, through their vast international network of business contacts and industry partners, they brought a huge amount of investment into Singapore and turned a swampy third world slump into the modern metropolis we see today.

I give full credit to the PAP for creating the clean, efficient, safe and prosperous garden city that I am proud to have my children live in.

Agoraphobic said:
C'mon. Running Peesai is a piece of cake. Don't give the rulers that kind of credit for work that is their duty to carry out. You mean to say that the working class people of Singapore are useless and without the leadership of the PAP Sg would still be a "lowly fishing village?"

"Lowly fishing village" has been a myth. Couldn't remember 50's or 60's that fishing was a big business in Singapore. How recently was Singapore self sufficient in fish? On the contrary, Singapore had been very much dependent on Malaysia for its food and water for a very long time, definitely well before the 50's. This falsehood is allowed to propagate for so long. Post-65s don't have any memory before independence so they can be fooled. If Singapore was so big in fishing, Sam would not have to leave for NZ.

You're right. Somehow, this myth became a "fact." Malaysia was the biggest producer of rubber and almost all of that was shipped out - through Singapore. The Brits build Singapore to become known as The Gibraltar of The East (until the Japs came). Somewhere in some history book too I read that before WW2, the largest floating dry dock in the world was in Singapore but was scuttled by the British military to prevent it from falling in the Nip's hands.

On the side, Singapore was at one time the biggest exporter of ornmental aquarium fishies. Don`t know if it still is.

Agoraphobic said:
On the side, Singapore was at one time the biggest exporter of ornmental aquarium fishies. Don`t know if it still is.

Singapore was, in fact, once called the "New York of Malaysia", by the Old Man if I remember correctly. If it was NY, how could it be a fishing village, self-contradictory isn't it? The world's biggest exporter of ornamental fish and orchids (now no more) were achieved during PAP's reign. You have to give it to them.

Leongsam said:
Once again I thank you for sharing your wisdom and insight and giving those who read this forum, especially those from abroad, a chance to see what a wonderful country Singapore is and how well the PAP is running the show.

Sam, why are you talking to yourself?

When I was small and christmas tree was tall,
I used to be proud of my country but not anymore when I have grown taller than the chrismas tree.
Our gahment used to be made up of good people for our people but now, not anymore.
This nation of ours is going down the longkang with these present bunch of heartless, evil and selfish sycophants running it (LHL is also a headless
chicken, so the blind leading the blind).
Only way out is change the people in the gahment come next election, I don't care single party or coalition but all for the good of our nation.

For 50s/early 60s standard of infrastructure in colonial outposts - in Singapore, it was state of the art. Water treatment, refinery, airports for jets, and not to mention, one of the most modern harbours in the world - that was what independent Singapore started with.

Racial riots, communist threat - what happened in Singapore is (infinitesimally) small compared with the region's giant like Indonesia. In Malaysia, The War of the Running Dogs - is more likened to keeping a bunch of bandits on the run compared to the real war in Indochina.

Bro,

Don't need to rebut OverTheCounter. This prostitute was paid 100 reputation pts by Leongsam to write this crap. By replying to him you're only going to up his year end bonus to 200 reputation pts.

Infrastructure? Oh my God, please spare all of us forummers here the PAP drivel. SG Infrastructure was best in the region in 1959. You want to credit PAP for infrastructure? You want to credit them for security? Why don't you start by asking him about the Bukit Ho Swee fire in 1961, their instigation of the riots as political tools to serve their own ends, sentosa cable car accident, Mas Selamat Kastari, and the most recent SMRT fiasco. And those topics are just for appetizers.

This is over the top. I don't want to reply directly either to Leongsam or his newfound hooker to dignify what they are doing, but I suspect the former is having some kind of mid life crisis and the latter has no idea that he is playing the fool, no one is falling of his silly antics, and yet he thinks of himself as being smart for unzipping his pants in public.