• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

S$2.50 To Watch Son's POP

And I thought Sgns didn't like NS!!! Don't attend POP lah!!

FYI, I attend B on POP. Didn't even tell my parents. And looking back, I actually enjoyed NS. No one at BMT from my company died, one paralysed during SOC practice, one became mad.

Indeed, charging $2.50 is an insult. Having it at $200 per head would make it a prestigious event for the whole family to attend.

the citizens raise their sons until 18yo...spend countless $$, countless effort to serve the nation 2 years...

the least the nation can do, is to provide FOC for the parents to attend the POP...moreover, after POP, they will continue to serve the nation.

Why have to charge 2.50? CB...everything also want to charge.

i always wonder why anyone want to bother family members for such boliao event.

for me, my pop at commando camp was a individual event, i never inform my parents. pop end liao just return weapon and book out for 3 days leave and report back to commando jetty for unit posting. i didnt even bother to throw the cap in the air, keep it on, return arms and walk out of the camp.

reservist MR parade also boh chap, went to hide till parade start. parade ended then outpro and dont even attend to MR D&D which i heard less than half battlion attend and CO beri no face in front of Bde Commander because so many didnt attend. IMO, i already done my duty, so i no need to give face to occifiers liao.

i personally think the $2.50 is a joke. With the many billions allocated in the defense budget, mindef cannot even allocated a couple thousand for the pop refreshment. mindef had lost the plot, if my son pop need to paid money, limpeh will go there to fark the GOH. I personally felt the NS system is in need of a revamp, conscription is not the way for the future. professional soldiers support by well train militias/national guards volunteers should be the way forward. national defense tax for those who opt out/female/foreigners/PRs/new citizens to pay for the price of professional. there no need for a large force, 50K fully trained men should be enough, 4 brigade of infantry/guards/armour/arty should be more than enough for the defense of the island.

as for ppl here who claim NS/Reservist is a holiday camp, i strongly disagree. i admit there were lull period but when training in its earnest, it could be dangerous. There are only 10-12 active combat battlions in SAF for NSFs, so many serve NSF in lobo fashion but those suay suay kenna riflemen, every training are downright dangerous. in a full strength platoon, there should be 18 riflemen but my platoon have only 13 and we were not the most understrength. There are many platoons in the battlion in worse condition than us. While u could claimed ppl chao keng but SAF medical board is famous for die die wont downgrade yet my unit strength speak for the type of training we were subject to.

Actually i look ard me, many of my relatives served in lobo units such as RP, SCE (not polar bear), signal, etc etc... What combat units went thru in training is an unknown to ppl in lobo vocations. Each combat vocations have its own danger, the doctrine and TSR are there for wayang only, it there to protect the occifiers when something went wrong.

reservist MR parade also boh chap, went to hide till parade start. parade ended then outpro and dont even attend to MR D&D which i heard less than half battlion attend and CO beri no face in front of Bde Commander because so many didnt attend. IMO, i already done my duty, so i no need to give face to occifiers liao.

i .

i know occiffers means officers. but any idea what does it implies? lucifers? or what?

anybody have any idea?

i know occiffers means officers. but any idea what does it implies? lucifers? or what?

anybody have any idea?

officer + lucifer = occiffer, didn't they told you this in BMT? :D

i always wonder why anyone want to bother family members for such boliao event.

for me, my pop at commando camp was a individual event, i never inform my parents. pop end liao just return weapon and book out for 3 days leave and report back to commando jetty for unit posting. i didnt even bother to throw the cap in the air, keep it on, return arms and walk out of the camp.

i personally think the $2.50 is a joke. With the many billions allocated in the defense budget, mindef cannot even allocated a couple thousand for the pop refreshment. mindef had lost the plot, if my son pop need to paid money, limpeh will go there to fark the GOH. I personally felt the NS system is in need of a revamp, conscription is not the way for the future. professional soldiers support by well train militias/national guards volunteers should be the way forward. national defense tax for those who opt out/female/foreigners/PRs/new citizens to pay for the price of professional. there no need for a large force, 50K fully trained men should be enough, 4 brigade of infantry/guards/armour/arty should be more than enough for the defense of the island.

as for ppl here who claim NS/Reservist is a holiday camp, i strongly disagree. i admit there were lull period but when training in its earnest, it could be dangerous. There are only 10-12 active combat battlions in SAF for NSFs, so many serve NSF in lobo fashion but those suay suay kenna riflemen, every training are downright dangerous. in a full strength platoon, there should be 18 riflemen but my platoon have only 13 and we were not the most understrength. There are many platoons in the battlion in worse condition than us. While u could claimed ppl chao keng but SAF medical board is famous for die die wont downgrade yet my unit strength speak for the type of training we were subject to.

Actually i look ard me, many of my relatives served in lobo units such as RP, SCE (not polar bear), signal, etc etc... What combat units went thru in training is an unknown to ppl in lobo vocations. Each combat vocations have its own danger, the doctrine and TSR are there for wayang only, it there to protect the occifiers when something went wrong.

unfortunately if without conscription, we will not have 10% of the force via volunteerism.

why NS has degenerated to today's level - alot to do with the morale of the NSFs....imagine you coming to Sammyboy reading all the postings since you are 13 / 14...by the time 18...u are disillusioned with the whole concept.

Me too, i just serve n fuck off, doing the minimum, never stand out - although i can if i want, but never also sabo your platoon...i dun want to get blanket partied...if we go war, fuckers like me will not be an efficient fighting force...

Look at the marine standing guard outside the US embassy, any one time, he can shout "Yes sir" louder, and with more pride than our NSFs/ NSman.

It cuts both ways. You wanna set super high standards for PAP and attribute every single positive thing to them, it's only natural that they should be blamed for everything that goes wrong.

ST23Mar2007-+Why+pay+must+go+up.JPG

unfortunately if without conscription, we will not have 10% of the force via volunteerism.

why NS has degenerated to today's level - alot to do with the morale of the NSFs....imagine you coming to Sammyboy reading all the postings since you are 13 / 14...by the time 18...u are disillusioned with the whole concept.

Me too, i just serve n fuck off, doing the minimum, never stand out - although i can if i want, but never also sabo your platoon...i dun want to get blanket partied...if we go war, fuckers like me will not be an efficient fighting force...

Look at the marine standing guard outside the US embassy, any one time, he can shout "Yes sir" louder, and with more pride than our NSFs/ NSman.

in term of war, i believe most reservists will do their duty. As for whether the reservist can do a good job is another story. imo, chao keng is alright but make sure chao keng dont get platoon in trouble.

As for how low NSF fallen, these is society fault. local children too pamper liao. Those born after 1985 went thru a very different enviornment from those born in the 70s. The singapore i went thru is very different from what my cousins born in the 80s grew up in. by the 90s, it change again for the worse, maids and working parents turn the youngsters into spolit brats. When i NSF in 96, there were only 1 washing machine in one coy but by 2006, there were at least 6-8 sets of washing machine in the coyline.

As for the volunteerism, there are ways to "motivate" the potential volunteer. As the saying goes, money can make the ghost push the grindstone, so give them an allowance that is attractive, insurance and medical coverage plus a small pension. just get rid of the stupid MUP, pay the volunteer for he/her worth. At the same time, give ppl who volunteer for the militias/national guards advantages over the non volunteer, such as priority in hdb flats, more subsidies in flat purchase, tax exemption etc etc... the nation shd reward its citizens for volunteering instead of BS about motivation from the heart.

There are various obligations in life that have to be performed. NS is but one of them.

Take school for example.. education is compulsory and all children have to go to attend classes. Some children end up being killed while commuting. Others are killed when an accident occurs during school hours. That's part of the risk of living. We don't shut down the whole education system just because some kids are killed or injured while being educated.

We do try to minimise the risks that's all we can do. NS is no different.

What kind of fucked up example is this? School children commute to school can get killed in accident. Agreed. NSmen commuting back to their camps or reservist call up can also die in accident. That is not the point. The point is that once the children arrive at the school, what do they do? The commuting part is just a short part of the day. Compare it to what an NSmen does after he arrives in camp. He can get blown up, shot at, drowned, killed by heavy machinery, etc. Children can get killed by an exploding 120mm mortar round meh? Children got live ammo in their classroom? Children can get killed when their tank overturns meh? Children lose their right eye when the 5.56mm round cook off in their rifle? Children got lose theiir hearing in their right ear after 2 years of firing 155mm rounds? Don't talk cock here, if your thinking is really like what u say, than all I can say is u have shit for brains.

Conscripts can't win wars unless both sides are conscripts. Conscripts can't win wars against regulars. That's proven by the history of wars. There's nothing so lengendary about Vietnamese ability to fight from cities to jungles. They beat the US off because the troops the US sent were almost all conscripts. That was so because at the height of the Cold War with the USSR, most US regulars were tied down on the German front and the Korean front. After the Vietnam War lesson, the US abolished conscription. In Desert Storm, US and UK and other allies combined with less than 100,000 regular troops to whip more than 1,000,000 Iraqi conscripted troops in Iraqi homeground.

OK, here's another version how occifer came about.

Started when the Hokkien Pengs started to get enlisted. Their England really cannot make it and many pronounce Officer as Or-Ci-Fer. They can pronounce Or-Ci very well because it means shitting in Cantonese. And Or-Fi-Cer (Officer) doesn't goes well with Hokkien Peng's tounge and so it became Occifer.

You need to put things into perspective.

Bad things happen during NS lah.

I'm from the old batch & personally know someone who died during the obstacle course, he slipped & fell. I don't think his parent have forgotten about it as he was their only son :rolleyes:

During NS I was also volunteered to attend the funeral of someone who was killed during ROC. He was run down by a gun. :eek:
My friend was downgraded because he was injured. He was unfortunate to be posted to the commandos.

When i NSF in 96, there were only 1 washing machine in one coy but by 2006, there were at least 6-8 sets of washing machine in the coyline.

Wah, got washing machine:eek:

During my time got no such conveniences:(

Conscripts can't win wars unless both sides are conscripts. Conscripts can't win wars against regulars. That's proven by the history of wars. There's nothing so lengendary about Vietnamese ability to fight from cities to jungles. They beat the US off because the troops the US sent were almost all conscripts. That was so because at the height of the Cold War with the USSR, most US regulars were tied down on the German front and the Korean front. After the Vietnam War lesson, the US abolished conscription. In Desert Storm, US and UK and other allies combined with less than 100,000 regular troops to whip more than 1,000,000 Iraqi conscripted troops in Iraqi homeground.

In local context you should not even be thinking about winning war. One should wonder what it is capable of defending against. There is not even a need for an invasion. Believe it or not, three days continuous air raids and the whole island is doomed.:p

Mindef have $12b/year budget but cannot allocate few thousand $ for the event.
One trip of training F16 for one hour will cost $100k included maintenance,fuel, salary, airport facility........

The 60 % Don't Care !

old-aunties.jpg

This is ridiculous, expect conscripts to pay for their own POP. PAP has gone too far, thanks 60%

The 60% are made up of idiotic and selfish people who support a fascist party blindly and even if they are wrong, who cares because they are NOT the ones doing NSF especially the LINE DANCING AUNTIES and the KARAOKE UNCLES at all fascist's CCs or the PA centre.

They CANNOT be bothered with your sacrifices. You die for them ! But, they don't think they want to die for you. If you die, it is your business. If you are permanently injured, it is ALSO your business because SAF and those aunties and uncles will NOT care !

You want to talk about sacrifices ? For whom ? For the fascist to be rich and peaceful or those who don't even care a hoot about your stupid sacrifices ? They ... don't ... care ... They ... and ... the ... FTs ... are going to vote you out !

The stupid women also don't care because they DO NOT do NS at all ... they can really heck care about your so-called 'sacrifices' and some daft students also don't care ... until they get a taste of NS themselves !

PAP+rally+in+Yio+Chu+Kang.jpg

In local context you should not even be thinking about winning war. One should wonder what it is capable of defending against. There is not even a need for an invasion. Believe it or not, three days continuous air raids and the whole island is doomed.:p

In context of modern technology and weaponry, it's more like three hours.

Bad things happen during NS lah.

I'm from the old batch & personally know someone who died during the obstacle course, he slipped & fell. I don't think his parent have forgotten about it as he was their only son :rolleyes:

During NS I was also volunteered to attend the funeral of someone who was killed during ROC. He was run down by a gun. :eek:
My friend was downgraded because he was injured. He was unfortunate to be posted to the commandos.

Unfortunately we are not so blessed that, our father shadow, we can get 12 years disruption & live a healthy life with offspring. Run down by a gun, or mow down by a gun? the gun must be towed behind a ten tonner, brand MAN!;)