lianbeng heard during CNY Eve cannot sleep one must stay awake whole night till daybreak!
The version I heard is can sleep after midnight but leave the lights (in old days, candlelights) on until morning.
lianbeng heard during CNY Eve cannot sleep one must stay awake whole night till daybreak!
Bro...your post so boring lah.:( I remember my Godma served a small bowl of boiled longan tea with white fungus. The rest as you mentioned are all common cakes and drinks most residences offered.
View attachment 3563
Char Hokkien Mee
The best CNY firecrackers are at Hatyai and Phuket. Malaysia got some but officially illegal, smuggled and blast once a while at night only, usually at the CNY eve midnight hour. Singapore has totally none since years ago. Total ban. In the good old days when we could get smuggled firecracker rockets, we let go in cinema midnight movies. Those days, we had real big high ceiling cinema halls like Lido and Capitol, high enough for firecracker rockets, not like now mini-hall multiplexes.
Ramsy, Khun Jom my made making preparation to fire 8 strings of 500 fire crackers each in an hour time.
HUAT AH EVERYBODY !

Ok actually our reunion dinner is tonight at Ghim Tin in AMK. But mom being mom wanted to cook something for some of us at her home so this is just a home cooked food semi-reunion lunch -
View attachment 3560
Just came back from Reunion Dinner at the Xin Hai Shan Restaurant along Tiong Bahru. The food sux and it's damn expensive. AVOID!!!!!
Can I bring my wifey to your mum's place next year ?
No worries , I'm not an abalone fan :p machiam chewing gum lah
Wow this looks good.
Never invite me to light the crackers. :(
I'm expert at lighting fireworks in US and crackers in Malaysia and Thailand.
But in Singapore, cannot, my ex-colleagues will arrest. :(
I think I make a mistake in my spelling Ram, I meant to say my maid Khun Jom was making preparation but now its over. She fired all 8 strings of firecrackers liao.
Ramseth said:Most younger Sinkies nowadays don't know what it's like to light firecrackers nowadays since it's been banned for so long. You could actually risk getting your palms blown off if not properly trained first, observed how the experienced adults do it first. But it was fun, and it was real training for manhood and adulthood.
It's known as "守歲“ and the belief is such that the longer you stay awake past midnight, the longer the lifespan of your parents.
laksaboy said:Lee Hsien Loong must be downing lots of coffee now. That filial cheeky fecker!