• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Just now on the way walking from MRT station to my home, I bumped into my retiree neighbour...

Flibbertigibbet

Stupidman
Then we exchange greetings... then I asked him going out ah. He said he going to kopitiam to eat dinner because his wife went out with friends. Then he asked me whether I want to join him for dinner to which I declined. Then we chat a little here and there...then he suddenly said retirement life nothing to look forward too except eat, sleep and hope to strike big on Toto and 4D....then chat finished I continued my walk home...

Then I cannot help to think really meh, retirement life nothing to do?
I mean can do what you always want to do mah. No time pressures, no fuckup bosses try to make life difficult for you, no need to become yes man because you need the salary to live. Can go holiday book the cheapest flight because no one will fight for those tickets that have weird timing, can go eat Michelin hawkers without long queues...etc etc...

And really meh? Eat sleep and gamble?

Then we exchange greetings... then I asked him going out ah. He said he going to kopitiam to eat dinner because his wife went out with friends. Then he asked me whether I want to join him for dinner to which I declined. Then we chat a little here and there...then he suddenly said retirement life nothing to look forward too except eat, sleep and hope to strike big on Toto and 4D....then chat finished I continued my walk home...

I mean can do what you always want to do mah. No time pressures, no fuckup bosses try to make life difficult for you, no need to become yes man because you need the salary to live. Can go holiday book the cheapest flight because no one will fight for those tickets that have weird timing, can go eat Michelin hawkers without long queues...etc etc...

Can go Chinatown sing and dance.

Normally upon retirement executives become consultants or advisors. Or appointed as director. Like part time. But still. Earn a income.

Many go queue at oriental kopi

My retired friends seem to be busy most of the time. They travel, play golf, accompany aged parents to medical appts, exercise, swim, run errands, window shop, meet friends for meals, volunteer with social service agencies etc.

Normally upon retirement executives become consultants or advisors. Or appointed as director. Like part time. But still. Earn a income.
I take on such projects while enjoying other pursuits like golf, working out in the gym, swimming, travelling, dining with retired buddies, volunteering etc.

Maybe got to plan a daily training programme after retirement. 555

The hardest part of retirement is losing the identity that once gave you confidence and a sense of connection.

You did the smart thing by keeping your distance and not becoming his refuge, protecting both your peace and your strength.​

How about spending time in tracing your family roots? Both maternal and maternal side. Then do a family tree chart. May have to travel to Tiongland to find out more about the great-grandfather generation and prior to that.

The hardest part of retirement is losing the identity that once gave you confidence and a sense of connection.

You did the smart thing by keeping your distance and not becoming his refuge, protecting both your peace and your strength.​
You mean basically from a somebody becoming a nobody?