• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Post What You Have For Re-Union Dinner

lianbeng heard during CNY Eve cannot sleep one must stay awake whole night till daybreak!:D

The version I heard is can sleep after midnight but leave the lights (in old days, candlelights) on until morning.

lianbeng heard during CNY Eve cannot sleep one must stay awake whole night till daybreak!:D

It's known as "守歲“ and the belief is such that the longer you stay awake past midnight, the longer the lifespan of your parents.

Bro...your post so boring lah.:( I remember my Godma served a small bowl of boiled longan tea with white fungus. The rest as you mentioned are all common cakes and drinks most residences offered.

Windsor, your mum must be Cantonese. My mum served it with hard-boiled quail eggs, bless her.

I have 2 invites which I have to turn down. The GF insists I must go to her parents place in Kandal province, since her mum is I don't know how many parts Chinese. She's 60 and speaks Chinese as well as an Indian. And if I was informed I would never have thought so.

I called my teenage son and apologised for not being there with him and he said he understand. If only he realised how much I miss him.

The best CNY firecrackers are at Hatyai and Phuket. Malaysia got some but officially illegal, smuggled and blast once a while at night only, usually at the CNY eve midnight hour. Singapore has totally none since years ago. Total ban. In the good old days when we could get smuggled firecracker rockets, we let go in cinema midnight movies. Those days, we had real big high ceiling cinema halls like Lido and Capitol, high enough for firecracker rockets, not like now mini-hall multiplexes.

Ramsy, Khun Jom my made making preparation to fire 8 strings of 500 fire crackers each in an hour time.

HUAT AH EVERYBODY !

Ramsy, Khun Jom my made making preparation to fire 8 strings of 500 fire crackers each in an hour time.

HUAT AH EVERYBODY !

Never invite me to light the crackers. :(

I'm expert at lighting fireworks in US and crackers in Malaysia and Thailand. :)

But in Singapore, cannot, my ex-colleagues will arrest. :(

Just came back from Reunion Dinner at the Xin Hai Shan Restaurant along Tiong Bahru. The food sux and it's damn expensive. AVOID!!!!!

Owner opened the prata shop at road junction. Bloody miser chap. Both wives run the place. Golf enthusiast.

Most younger Sinkies nowadays don't know what it's like to light firecrackers nowadays since it's been banned for so long. You could actually risk getting your palms blown off if not properly trained first, observed how the experienced adults do it first. But it was fun, and it was real training for manhood and adulthood.

Can I bring my wifey to your mum's place next year ?
No worries , I'm not an abalone fan :p machiam chewing gum lah :D

You and mrs are most welcome to join us. But if you come Bangkok I can also whip up similar quality dinner for you guys.

Wow this looks good.

Overnight is more better bro Jah.

Never invite me to light the crackers. :(

I'm expert at lighting fireworks in US and crackers in Malaysia and Thailand. :)

But in Singapore, cannot, my ex-colleagues will arrest. :(

I think I make a mistake in my spelling Ram, I meant to say my maid Khun Jom was making preparation but now its over. She fired all 8 strings of firecrackers liao.

I love a woman who can fire a Glock and firecrackers. Please reserve her for me.

Ramseth said:
Most younger Sinkies nowadays don't know what it's like to light firecrackers nowadays since it's been banned for so long. You could actually risk getting your palms blown off if not properly trained first, observed how the experienced adults do it first. But it was fun, and it was real training for manhood and adulthood.

The longest firecrackers in the old days used to be the one at Mandarin Orchard, lasting
half an hour.

It's known as "守歲“ and the belief is such that the longer you stay awake past midnight, the longer the lifespan of your parents.

Lee Hsien Loong must be downing lots of coffee now. That filial cheeky fecker!

laksaboy said:
Lee Hsien Loong must be downing lots of coffee now. That filial cheeky fecker!

He won't be sleeping. Too many problems to solve.

Tonight is one very few occasion that we ate reunion dinner out. Place is Ghim Tin restaurant (Hokkien) at 157 AMK Ave 4. I have to say the food is really really good despite its eve of CNY. I am also very impressed by the staff, the old aunties and also others who are all very polite and patient. Good management and leadership. I salute them. Its a fixed menu and we choose the $888 menu with peanuts, towels and GST became $968.99 for 10. I have to say its worth every single cent because of the quality and freshness and also the taste. I'd like to post every dish in this "Re-Union Dinner" thread:

Photo Jan 23, 12 55 21 AM.jpg
Yu Sheng

Photo Jan 23, 12 55 34 AM.jpg
Buddha Jumps Over the Wall

Photo Jan 23, 12 56 36 AM.jpg
Mixed Vegetables with Macadamia and Ginko Nuts

Photo Jan 23, 12 57 13 AM.jpg
Stir Fried Prawns