SG Millennials, what are some behaviors that seems normal in the 80s-90s but would be a big hoo-ha now?
Let's see...
- Husbands / Fathers going to kopitiams for beer after 9pm. I believe most of us would know someone, who's dad can be spotted at the kopitiam in the 80s-90s after 9pm, drinking beer, flirting with beer lady and talking to other uncles until late. Sometimes, they might even bring us to the kopitiam to sit there and stare into space or play that 0.20 cent airplane or rotating seat by the kopitiam. Fast forward to 2026, any husbands that dare to leave the house after 9pm for beer sure kena wacked by wife.
- Annual community led gathering in July/August/September. There will be this community where boomer parents will join and they will gather every July/August/September depending on the Lunar calendar. There will be amazing food, very kampong festive vibes which will culminate with a big dinner event, usually on Saturday and Sunday. Now you got see any young couples do such community led gatherings outside of PA organised events? Probably not.
- Chased out of the house as a form of punishment. When we do something wrong as kids, will kena punished to stand outside the house. Still remember the shame when neighbours walk pass and they know you are standing outside because you did something wrong. Now in 2026, if you try to do that with your kids, neighbours will poh mata and invite you to lim kopi.
- Asking elders to "吃饭" during meal time. I personally think this is a very Cantonese thing because some of my friends don't have this rule. But the idea is during gatherings, the younger generation is expected to ask all the elder to "eat" 1 by 1. It was more strict when the boomers' parents were around and got less strict to a "大家一起吃" by late 90s. Now in 2026, it's more of us asking our kids to eat instead.
- Using "吃饱没" as a greeting to neighbours and acquaintances. When I was a kid and go to market with my mum on Sundays in the 80s and 90s, I will hear her say "Jiak pa buey" or "sek fan meh" to other uncles/aunties. Now we as grown ups just do that awkward nod to our fellow same age neighbours if we see them around.