• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Loan shark tactic: Send cash to victims then demand they return it with interest

Extremist

loan_shark_tactic_put_cash_in_victims_account-thumbnail.jpg

STOMPer Kenji was shocked when he received a text message that said a loan of $380 had been transferred to his account. The sender then demanded he make weekly payments of $160 unless he wants his parents to be grievously hurt.

Said STOMPer Kenji:

"Please be wary of this loan shark syndicate and stand up for your rights.

"On a Tuesday (Dec 4), a text message was sent from an unknown person by the name of Shawn. I did not bother about it at first.

"Then, on a Friday (Dec 7), Michael called my mobile phone and claimed that Shawn had given him my number and that they were both from 'EzyCash Company' by Singpost, which was a company I had borrowed a loan from 2 years back.

"But I was suspicious as he told me that the payment terms were weekly when I knew it was monthly, so I knew they were not telling the truth.

"On the next day (8 Dec), he claimed that the application for a loan I had made was not cancelled and I soon received a message from him saying that he had transferred $380 into my account. This was all done without my consent.

"However, I checked with the bank and the amount he transferred was only $350.

"I called him back and told him that I did not request for the loan and I demanded that I return him the $350, but they gave me a lot of excuses as to why I could not.

"He insisted that I settle the loan by paying him $160 over 3 weeks.

"I told him I won't pay that amount as only received $350 and I should therefore only return that figure. He finally agreed to it.

"Once I made payment to his account, I gave him a call, but at 9pm that day he called my home and threatened my family.

"I called him back at 10pm on the day itself and he told me that I did not make the payment on time and it was therefore "not counted".

"He said that I was supposed to transfer it by 8pm that day but it was a detail he did not mention throughout the whole ordeal.

"He went on to say that his boss now wants me to pay him $480. I refused as I felt the issue was never going to end.

"He then said that if I did not pay up, "you will see how your parents will die".

"Soon after, he sent me a text with the full name of both my parents.

"I was worried that he might hurt my family as both my parents are handicapped. I decided to made a police report then, but they threatened me by saying the games have just begun and they will see how long I can stand this.

"If you see any suspicious person loitering around Simei Street 1, between blocks 131 and 132, please report them to the police. I do not want any innocent parties to be hurt. Thanks."

Casinos have certainly created jobs, haven't they?

Moneylenders, pawn shops, prostitution etc.

That's one promise the PAP have certainly kept.

These victim were former clients of the loan sharks lah.....

the more pertinent question to ask would be: why are folks desperate enough to borrow from ah longs? to tide over a short period? to fund gambling? for medical bills?
should never borrow from ah longs :o:o:o

Moneylenders confirm boom......hundreds of them now.
Pawnshops also....undergone image change and public listing somemore.
Prostitution boom still not that obvious yet.......maybe still haven explode.

You forgot to mention undertakers also boom..........from the increased in suicides. (i reckon this year is record breaker)

Not pity with the victim. Talk a lot. Just report the SMS and call to police. If he did not do anything wrong.

the more pertinent question to ask would be: why are folks desperate enough to borrow from ah longs? to tide over a short period? to fund gambling? for medical bills?
i wonder if Swiss got ah longs problem......Swiss standard of living mah

Sgplians always kena plague with loansharks problems.

They are not afraid of the police and they can always find people to fill the shoes despite jail sentences.

Something must be done to fix this.

How about a bushmaster ar15?

Never heard of US got loanshark bullshits.

i wonder if Swiss got ah longs problem......Swiss standard of living mah

belum belum... don't think we've reached Swiss Standards of living, currently living in golden period only :p:p:p

"I was worried that he might hurt my family as both my parents are handicapped. I decided to made a police report then, but they threatened me by saying the games have just begun and they will see how long I can stand this.

Can i have the UML contact ??? I already tahan all sorts of nonsense for about 2 years already. Still standing

why ppl borrow from ah long now, i dunno.

but in the past, illegal moneylender it the only place the uneducate and poor and turn to in desperate time. my oldman did borrow from these illegal moneylenders while i was a kid. mostly money use to tide over the month while own debtors also not paying my oldman. those day only a few avenues to turn to, ie. ah longs or those illegal operated tontine. normally $$ were meant to tide over the difficult month or an emgerency. i had seen cleaver stuck into the maindoor or pighead hang at the door in those days. but i dun blame them as i always believe the term "O $$ P $$" once agree to the terms, then the borrower must pay as per agreement.

Not pity with the victim. Talk a lot. Just report the SMS and call to police. If he did not do anything wrong.

You still place your faith in your Poodles? err I mean Police?

They are definitely not doing their job if they had, with so many contact numbers to trace down the exact buggers doing the lending and their accomplices but these characters are STILL FLOATING AROUND.

You can bet your Poodles are only interested in Sex, Lies and Video tapes, err I mean by now the last should be DVDs to boost their KPIs!:D

Sgplians always kena plague with loansharks problems.

They are not afraid of the police and they can always find people to fill the shoes despite jail sentences.

Something must be done to fix this.

How about a bushmaster ar15?

Never heard of US got loanshark bullshits.

Wake the fuck up!

They, your Masters are only interested to fix..

The Oppositions! LOL

Singapore is the only country that allows legally usury. Annual 240%. Some company even dare say flat rate. Which bank offer such rates?
I oso want to start such business.

hahahah...sinkies are going to be enslaved in hell.......

and now that we all heard that the rumour that Steve Wynn is going to open a new (3rd) casino in Singapore ....

wah.... this PAP property ponzi scheme will probably never end!

better faster go and buy some more properties man!!!

Maybe the WP should just take this up as a campaign slogan.... will the PAP undertake that they will not open a 3rd casino.....

I am sure you can already hear a pregnant silence from their side.....

Singapore is the only country that allows legally usury. Annual 240%. Some company even dare say flat rate. Which bank offer such rates?
I oso want to start such business.
Some go as high as 10 percent per week....that's 520%!
This is pap unique way of solving problems.
Leegalized it so problem considered solved.....still can collect tax. Win win situation.
Everything leegalise.

Please dont blame Ah Long. Blame those take loan from Ah Long. When agree to term then take loan if not agree dont loan. When take loan make sure payment as the term agree.
Fuck the borrower.

My whole family would rather on the gas stove and commit suicide than borrow money from ah long.

What would be the most effective way to solve the problem in the post?