• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Loan shark tactic: Send cash to victims then demand they return it with interest

Ah Longs first emerged in the late 80s. It is coming close to quarter of a century and the situation is getting worse. The authorities cannot control the situation. They are now causing harm to neighbours and innocent parties including burning and damaging motorcycles and cars.

This case is extortion but the Police will get off their arse if its a mediacorp pussy. The rest have no recourse.

Please dont blame Ah Long. Blame those take loan from Ah Long. When agree to term then take loan if not agree dont loan. When take loan make sure payment as the term agree.
Fuck the borrower.

But in this case, the ah long "forced" the borrower to borrow money. Also, why are ah long taking it out on innocent bystanders like neighbours? Please loh.

Are you an Ah Long?

Registry of ML not issuing new licenses at this point in time. In the past, interest rates were controlled. Now, only control for those earning less than 30k per annum. MLs not keen on this category of customers.

SPF is not doing well in this area. The syndicates are all now based outside S'pore. If those get caught, only runners or debtors turned runners. Once awhile, 'artists' also get caught. From walls and doors, they have escalated to cars! You hardly come across cases whereby syndicates are crippled. Same for the bookies. Looks like an overseas base is the best way to avert police detection.

Agree.

This should now be a National Agenda and therefore would require a dedicated Dept within MHA. RICO equivalent laws should be enacted where organised crime of this nature is best handled. We made a serious dent when CNB and CPIB were formed.

This requires serious intel, speedy enforcement, prosecution. asset forfeiture etc instead of chasing the tail of an ever bigger growing dragon.

At the moment there is no single individual accountable for this cancer that has embedded itself into HDB land. If there is a rise in drugs, at least the Minister and the public can shoot an arrow at the CNB chief. He has no one else to shift the blame to.

Registry of ML not issuing new licenses at this point in time. In the past, interest rates were controlled. Now, only control for those earning less than 30k per annum. MLs not keen on this category of customers.

SPF is not doing well in this area. The syndicates are all now based outside S'pore. If those get caught, only runners or debtors turned runners. Once awhile, 'artists' also get caught. From walls and doors, they have escalated to cars! You hardly come across cases whereby syndicates are crippled. Same for the bookies. Looks like an overseas base is the best way to avert police detection.

This requires serious intel, speedy enforcement, prosecution. asset forfeiture etc instead of chasing the tail of an ever bigger growing dragon.

At the moment there is no single individual accountable for this cancer that has embedded itself into HDB land. If there is a rise in drugs, at least the Minister and the public can shoot an arrow at the CNB chief. He has no one else to shift the blame to.

I believe MHA and the SPF had the impression that when you legalise high interest rates in the moneylending business, all problems solved. They failed to anticipate the reaction of another group of ah longs. Fair enough, many illegal ah longs converted to licensed moneylenders. A small group decided that to make a lucrative business even more lucrative, they had to go overseas. Some of these runners were recruited outside S'pore - the runroad type for various reasons.

Not so sure if the SPF still have officers capable of picking up such intel. Honestly, I doubt so. When the illegal ah longs as well as licensed ones have no idea who are the ones behind these overseas operations, police officers have no chance to tap on this network. I am aware some of these runners based overseas aren't even aware who the real bosses are. It is a losing battle. I don't see how foreign police forces would cooperate with our SPF. They can easily be bought by the syndicates.

Bro, appreciate your comments.

First there must be political will to put it on the national agenda. That signals the desire to recognise and address the issue which means resources in terms funds and capable people can be put behind this.

Secondly there are many ways to supplement Humint. There are serious and established softwares that trawls for such associations. The SARs reporting can be more targeted and the Banks will have to comply.

Thirdly we use to CL businessmen involved in corruption of Traffic Police. We have also CLed ALS's brother. This was used effectively to fight SS and lets face it, it now uses SS muscles inside and outside our borders.

Because of the current remuneration system, scholars will not be bold or take the risk. There is little to gain and results in such cases would only be enjoyed by his successors due to the 2 to 3 year rotation system and long gestation nature of such programmes.

Lets face it if they can find the culprits behind the mediacorp pussy in real quick time, it tells alot about their priorities. The Aunty on flat x , level 5, block YY who has her door set on fire because her ex neighbour borrowed some money does not register in anyone's radar.

I believe MHA and the SPF had the impression that when you legalise high interest rates in the moneylending business, all problems solved. They failed to anticipate the reaction of another group of ah longs. Fair enough, many illegal ah longs converted to licensed moneylenders. A small group decided that to make a lucrative business even more lucrative, they had to go overseas. Some of these runners were recruited outside S'pore - the runroad type for various reasons.

Not so sure if the SPF still have officers capable of picking up such intel. Honestly, I doubt so. When the illegal ah longs as well as licensed ones have no idea who are the ones behind these overseas operations, police officers have no chance to tap on this network. I am aware some of these runners based overseas aren't even aware who the real bosses are. It is a losing battle. I don't see how foreign police forces would cooperate with our SPF. They can easily be bought by the syndicates.

Agree.

This should now be a National Agenda and therefore would require a dedicated Dept within MHA. At the moment there is no single individual accountable for this cancer that has embedded itself into HDB land. If there is a rise in drugs, at least the Minister and the public can shoot an arrow at the CNB chief. He has no one else to shift the blame to.

I thought there is a Unlicensed Moneylending Taskforce headed by a superitendant Aileen ???

My ex-company kena something like that. They deliver goods and ask warehouse staff to sign for it even when we did not place an order. They then send debit note for payment.

But in this case, the ah long "forced" the borrower to borrow money. Also, why are ah long taking it out on innocent bystanders like neighbours? Please loh.

Are you an Ah Long?

I not Ah Long.
Ah Long who taking on neighbour/family/those person not taking loan is wrong.
Ah Long should only confront borrower.
Borrower should answer/bear all responsibility if cannot repay just stab knife and end life in front of Ah Long.

Its must be Dept level equivalent to CNB. This type of unit is buried and is of little use. They just react to incidents. Then they make song and dance on how they stopped a culprit leaving the country within 24 hrs of the offence in a high profile case.

I am sure we all agree that it has grown worse.

I thought there is a Unlicensed Moneylending Taskforce headed by a superitendant Aileen ???

If they send it to my account , i will say thanks for the donation....want interest or money back sure i can give all back with interest....before doing that they have to pay a small fee for using my account interest rate at 1000% of whatever is in there........:D....not happy go report mata loh....na boh...can lim kopi also can......:D

Yes this is their new tactics. They will target ex-borrowers who has a good track record in settling their debts.... alot of ex-borrowers kena oreadi as confirmed by my mata fren...

One day when I finally get my foreign citizenship, I will borrow six figures from ah long, then run road.

If they send it to my account , i will say thanks for the donation....want interest or money back sure i can give all back with interest....before doing that they have to pay a small fee for using my account interest rate at 1000% of whatever is in there........:D....not happy go report mata loh....na boh...can lim kopi also can......:D

Agree! Only stupid people scare Ah Long. If have nothing to hide no need to worry about loan shark.

9 in 10 people like you not scared. if 1 person like the stomper Kenji is scared and pays up, the ah long has succeeded.

frankly speaking you do not have this type of problem in HK, Japan or Macau or even Malaysia. only in sinkieland you have this type of problem of harassmentt. Why??? simple. either you control it completely or do NOT control it like in HK and Macau . in these places if you default the loansharks would after countless warnings to you, they would cut their losses literally ie chop you up in public(serves as a good example to chronic defaulters who play them out) or dump you off into the sea.
that's why in HK or KL nobody dares to borrow from loansharks unless they are truly desperate and they all know of the fatal consequences if they do not pay. willing buyer willing seller concept. even police do not interfere much which is good as the system sort itself out and no problem for the common law abiding folks. no such stupid cowardly sinkie things like throwing paints or defacing walls or other people cars(only in siillypore, where the loansharks are also cowards).
second is to make borrowing from loansharks illegal, ie persecute all parties and the borrowers from loansharks . overnight all problem solve. why all this problem is because there are unscrupulous people who borrow from them and then cry foul and report to poodles and the poodles actually entertain them or arrest the loansharks(which these people hope would happen so that they do not have to repay the loan. there are such B@stard people locally worse than loan sharks). this is also a waste of taxpayer money controlling them.
only the garmen pretend problem under control when it is not. same as prostitution. no wonder sinkees are the unhappiest people in the world.

frankly speaking you do not have this type of problem in HK, Japan or Macau or even Malaysia. only in sinkieland you have this type of problem of harassmentt. Why??? simple. either you control it completely or do NOT control it like in HK and Macau . in these places if you default the loansharks would after countless warnings to you, they would cut their losses literally ie chop you up in public(serves as a good example to chronic defaulters who play them out) or dump you off into the sea.
that's why in HK or KL nobody dares to borrow from loansharks unless they are truly desperate and they all know of the fatal consequences if they do not pay. willing buyer willing seller concept. even police do not interfere much which is good as the system sort itself out and no problem for the common law abiding folks. no such stupid cowardly sinkie things like throwing paints or defacing walls or other people cars(only in siillypore, where the loansharks are also cowards).
second is to make borrowing from loansharks illegal, ie persecute all parties and the borrowers from loansharks . overnight all problem solve. why all this problem is because there are unscrupulous people who borrow from them and then cry foul and report to poodles and the poodles actually entertain them or arrest the loansharks(which these people hope would happen so that they do not have to repay the loan. there are such B@stard people locally worse than loan sharks). this is also a waste of taxpayer money controlling them.
only the garmen pretend problem under control when it is not. same as prostitution. no wonder sinkees are the unhappiest people in the world.

Agree not need to control loan shark. Let market decide. Willing borrower willing giving loan. Let them settle them self.
If dont want to paid back then dont loan.
Those taking loan and thinking not going to repay back is bastard. No need pity them.
But dont disturb family/friend/neighbour.
Just take it out on the borrower.