Late 30s and Still Rejected: The Harsh Reality of Upskilling in Singapore

PCP is usually for mid career switching, and mostly have T&C binded to it.
Many people made wrong choices due to spur of moment act, and end up regretting after signing up.

From my observations, anything that is leelated to wsg, are not jobs with good salaries. It is merely an alternative for them to move on instead of giving up on themselves.

Be very careful about it and don't fall into trap.
Thanks for sharing

Thanks for sharing. PCP means I can be a 59 year old uncle and my classmates are 17, 18? Are Wsg jobs are stagnant? I find some classmates who worked for years in some civil service like police or Scdf

They come out n very hard to go back, so they go take a gd long break of 1 or 3 years without looking for jobs or go back to sch n study

Cos they got gd bonuses when they left and they end up overspending and finally open mouth to ask classmates to intro jobs but their last job scopes so so so different. Abit hard lah
I think it depends on what course we are talking about.
In the case of nursing, which I have considered to sign up before, the course was an accelerated dip in nursing at nanyang polytechnic, which was a compressed 2 years course, so if I had signed up, I would not be together with those ginna in the standard 3 years course.

The question is why are there fewer and fewer jobs for Sinkies. Know of people asked to retire at 53 or 55 because company downsize. They go to look for this Wsg also no use. Best is still have own network and contacts.
Yes, the easiest way to land another job after being unemployed for whatever leeson is still through network leeferal.

I had never gone unemployed for more than 3 mths in my entire working life, despite beating mgt to puppies and leaving without a job all the time.

Once someone leefered me, I always managed to get another one, within the same field or scope very easily. Becos I had already bypassed the standard emails screening process, so I just needed to score the winning goal during the interview.

There is a growing concern among local job seekers that some foreign HR managers, particularly those from the same nationality, may have a preference for hiring individuals from their own country, leading to perceptions of ethnic favoritism or clique hiring practices.
It was the same when Chinese migrated to Malay archipelago.

The question is why are there fewer and fewer jobs for Sinkies. Know of people asked to retire at 53 or 55 because company downsize. They go to look for this Wsg also no use. Best is still have own network and contacts.
The issue is own network also have problems bcos everyone else is suffering...unless U r a shitca or mudlander or ah tongs...in the past .I advocated for high level of protections for the PMEt category but alas high n mighty forumners here say all categories be protected and all sorts of crap....so now the flood gates are open...and are suffering and still vote pap. So go ahead and get buried by the pap...and one other thing...this time round the other opposition have much better quality candidates and yet..same shit still happens...look at PSP...the 2 NCMPs did such a great job..n .ah chee and ah Paul have articulated the issues well and they still lost..so with singkies like tat .wat hope has the country have? N look at singkies attitude keep plps the wankers...and the wankers have been in oppie for 15 years .and what have they done for singkies? Just acting as pap lite n plp the pap...so with this erection results...these singkies get buried..they deserve it..now hor not only older workers are suffering...new workers too. So both young and old suffer..they bought it upon themselves...and they all voted pap...so parents are voting for their children to suffer..and their children vote for themselves to suffer too...

We must be aware of this agenda that the day when pap thought of skillfuture and its credits, the intension was never to upskill sinkies.
They wanted to help the business owner of those educational institutions much more than the unemployed sinkies.
Most probably becos, they hold some shares in it eg ntuc learning hub etc.

I made this conclusion after some personal experience too.
I doesn't know how others think.
But from early this year, I could see ntuc learning hub hard selling skillfuture courses, everywhere in the malls.

They appear to be more concern of our future then ourselves?

I think it depends on what course we are talking about.
In the case of nursing, which I have considered to sign up before, the course was an accelerated dip in nursing at nanyang polytechnic, which was a compressed 2 years course, so if I had signed up, I would not be together with those ginna in the standard 3 years course.
I see. Its the bond period that really matters isn’t it?

The issue is own network also have problems bcos everyone else is suffering...unless U r a shitca or mudlander or ah tongs...in the past .I advocated for high level of protections for the PMEt category but alas high n mighty forumners here say all categories be protected and all sorts of crap....so now the flood gates are open...and are suffering and still vote pap. So go ahead and get buried by the pap...and one other thing...this time round the other opposition have much better quality candidates and yet..same shit still happens...look at PSP...the 2 NCMPs did such a great job..n .ah chee and ah Paul have articulated the issues well and they still lost..so with singkies like tat .wat hope has the country have? N look at singkies attitude keep plps the wankers...and the wankers have been in oppie for 15 years .and what have they done for singkies? Just acting as pap lite n plp the pap...so with this erection results...these singkies get buried..they deserve it..now hor not only older workers are suffering...new workers too. So both young and old suffer..they bought it upon themselves...and they all voted pap...so parents are voting for their children to suffer..and their children vote for themselves to suffer too...
Ask those who lives in Nee Soon n the ward which Ah Paul go contest, why they don’t want to vote them n let shit continue.

Why all categories are protected? Well I see my female friend kena like that, the 66% is not right. Simi can happen to anyone.

The thing is Sinkies always wack other sinkies at work and anywhere else unlike PRC, Viet mei mei sibei clan-ish and helpful to their own people.

Wankers ah? I got friend with wife, baby, family nucleus can’t get BTO several times go ask wankers MP for help only to be asked why not buy resale flat 6 months can get. In the first place people can’t afford resale so apply BTO

Another guy I know he went to look for a wankers MP cos the hospital treat him badly and that MP told him go the doctors there tell them what happen. Same as my other friend. See what happen lah.

I doesn't know how others think.
But from early this year, I could see ntuc learning hub hard selling skillfuture courses, everywhere in the malls.

They appear to be more concern of our future then ourselves?
They earn commissions from those courses sale?

Yes, the easiest way to land another job after being unemployed for whatever leeson is still through network leeferal.

I had never gone unemployed for more than 3 mths in my entire working life, despite beating mgt to puppies and leaving without a job all the time.

Once someone leefered me, I always managed to get another one, within the same field or scope very easily. Becos I had already bypassed the standard emails screening process, so I just needed to score the winning goal during the interview.
How do u beat mgt to puppies and make those crows run away and survive like that?

I know of HKies who call us Sinkies as sheeps.

skill future is for 2 purposes ...

1) for govt people to earn extra

2) act like do something for singaporeans

The truth is PAP govt dun care about Singaporeans.

They know a lot of things can be done. but all too troublesome for them.

How do u beat mgt to puppies and make those crows run away and survive like that?
Not easy to describe here as it is an art.
And I had never been fired having doing all the beatings. Cos I will only beat it when I clearly knew I didn't committed any negligence nor laziness at work, so none of them was able to justify termination.
But by doing this sort of lj thing, my appraisals was mostly affected, and ended up I was always the one to self terminate.

All this upskilling nonsense basically postpones the inevitable -- you are surplus to the industry and unless you pivot you will remain unemployable. What can you learn in fucking two months what people have spent years training in theory and practical experience? The worst is, the fucking piece of paper from skills future is not transferable -- in other words it can't be used to leverage university entrance or be ported across borders.

skill future is for 2 purposes ...

1) for govt people to earn extra

2) act like do something for singaporeans

The truth is PAP govt dun care about Singaporeans.

They know a lot of things can be done. but all too troublesome for them.
Not easy to describe here as it is an art.
And I had never been fired having doing all the beatings. Cos I will only beat it when I clearly knew I didn't committed any negligence nor laziness at work, so none of them was able to justify termination.
But by doing this sort of lj thing, my appraisals was mostly affected, and ended up I was always the one to self terminate.
Any tips on how to do that like any examples? Becos some people should be beaten to puppies because they are so used to doing that

All this upskilling nonsense basically postpones the inevitable -- you are surplus to the industry and unless you pivot you will remain unemployable. What can you learn in fucking two months what people have spent years training in theory and practical experience? The worst is, the fucking piece of paper from skills future is not transferable -- in other words it can't be used to leverage university entrance or be ported across borders.
It’s true. Many are just bootcamps like how to even learn so much in such period of time and only waste time and money