Late 30s and Still Rejected: The Harsh Reality of Upskilling in Singapore

I believe only very minority really benefitted from the upskilling. Or maybe it was just their luck came at that time.
Means, even without the uni upgrading, they were already on the way about to get a job.
Those subsidizes as I said, we're merely packaged to look nice.
All they want is their money.
Ok. So that means we should go and see which are the courses that pays an allowance or fully covered under some grant before taking up?

Are upskilling courses really certified or for show or just like to take up as spare hobby like learning to make coffee?
The salary and career progression for non Uni and Uni grads can be very wide unless one is doing sales then different story cos they only wanna see $

Don’t know lah for example I mean I feel like if I do work from 8am to 5pm and get 1K vs Patrick across the cubicle who has a Masters and do the same amount work time but he gets 3 times of what I earn

I will think like should do something for myself to reach Patrick’s level one day. Of cos that is my own thinking

I see. The outsourced 3rd party providers that includes bootcamp training like teaching people things like what is AI? Many courses can learn online and for free. Are these 3rd party course providers any different from Coursera?

I would rather go learn how to do plumbing instead for free.
Choosing the correct course is the way to go.
Usually it works in the opposite way.
Those that needed more cash topup are more likely the useless course.
AI is one of it.

Learning a hard skill is definitely more worthwhile. And if I'm not wrong, hard skills are also those that will have lower cash upfront.

Ok. So that means we should go and see which are the courses that pays an allowance or fully covered under some grant before taking up?

The salary and career progression for non Uni and Uni grads can be very wide unless one is doing sales then different story cos they only wanna see $

Don’t know lah for example I mean I feel like if I do work from 8am to 5pm and get 1K vs Patrick across the cubicle who has a Masters and do the same amount work time but he gets 3 times of what I earn

I will think like should do something for myself to reach Patrick’s level one day. Of cos that is my own thinking
Those with allowances, mostly or even all are binded by bonds. Have to be extra careful.
Eg nursing etc.
Many people fell into this trap too.
After that they kpkb when they failed the course and made to compensate all the allowances and course fee that usually amounting to more than 100k

Choosing the correct course is the way to go.
Usually it works in the opposite way.
Those that needed more cash topup are more likely the useless course.
AI is one of it.

Learning a hard skill is definitely more worthwhile. And if I'm not wrong, hard skills are also those that will have lower cash upfront.
That means IT, AI all have to top up more and hard skills like making coffee top up lesser?

I see. The outsourced 3rd party providers that includes bootcamp training like teaching people things like what is AI? Many courses can learn online and for free. Are these 3rd party course providers any different from Coursera?

I would rather go learn how to do plumbing instead for free.
My advice to unemployed sinkies is to stay calm and positive.
It is usually at this desperate times that those evil organisations can easily attack their weakness. At their low life, they cannot make positive decisions , and end of the day caused more troubles to them than benefits.

Sit there and starve....they voted for pap....they freaking deserve it..n don't forget .. even fresh grads have employment issues too..but all happily voted for pap
But for many years, fresh grad have employment issues. But why do people over 45 deserve it when it’s the companies which moved out of Sg or do automation to reduce jobs?

Like in AI, u do not need 10 workers to be working to pack 100 cans of sardines in a day when machines can pack 100 cans in 5mins and increase the productivity and yield outcome

That means IT, AI all have to top up more and hard skills like making coffee top up lesser?
Usually this is the case.
Becos the course fee will directly be tagged to the potential jobs those skills can offer you.
Unfortunately most of the time it is just a toilet paper.

no uptron no hope in sg.
1000030264.jpeg

Official: China cracks over 1.7 million telecom fraud cases
By Xinhua
def92bd53b53c72e95d177b28dc0c958.png
Criminal suspects are escorted by Chinese police officers at the Kunming Changshui International Airport in Kunming, Southwest China's Yunnan province, Jan 30, 2024. (PHOTO / XINHUA)
BEIJING - Chinese police cracked 1.739 million telecom fraud cases and arrested 366,000 suspects, including 3,442 major financiers and core members of the crime groups, during the 14th Five-Year Plan period (2021-2025), senior police officer Jiang Guoli said at a press conference on Wednesday.

Usually this is the case.
Becos the course fee will directly be tagged to the potential jobs those skills can offer you.
Unfortunately most of the time it is just a toilet paper.
So that means AI jobs are just few but they keep churning out more and more AI grads and harder for them to look for IT jobs because that is what the govt needs at the point of time say a shortage of IT people?

That is what some of my classmates say about some of their degs. It’s a toilet paper in job interviews.

Those with allowances, mostly or even all are binded by bonds. Have to be extra careful.
Eg nursing etc.
Many people fell into this trap too.
After that they kpkb when they failed the course and made to compensate all the allowances and course fee that usually amounting to more than 100k
Like the PCP? I know of a friend who went via the route to nursing n super tiring for her during the bond period cos work like a dog.

People will only fail the course only if the supervisor don’t pass them bah (from what I heard)

But for many years, fresh grad have employment issues. But why do people over 45 deserve it when it’s the companies which moved out of Sg or do automation to reduce jobs?

Like in AI, u do not need 10 workers to be working to pack 100 cans of sardines in a day when machines can pack 100 cans in 5mins and increase the productivity and yield outcome
Both fresh grads n older workers are suffering..but they voted whole heartedly for the pap...so they dig their own hole...they get buried in it....they voted for a gahmen they deserved

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/o...s-year-long-job-hunt-highlights-new-jobseeker

So that means AI jobs are just few but they keep churning out more and more AI grads and harder for them to look for IT jobs because that is what the govt needs at the point of time say a shortage of IT people?

That is what some of my classmates say about some of their degs. It’s a toilet paper in job interviews.
Because AI need to be tag with other engineering field of specialisation for real world benefits

Gov just conveniently say that there is shortage so that they can bring in more ceca.
AI jobs, if any, are not for sinkies.
Don't waste the time and money.

Both fresh grads n older workers are suffering..but they voted whole heartedly for the pap...so they dig their own hole...they get buried in it....they voted for a gahmen they deserved

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/o...s-year-long-job-hunt-highlights-new-jobseeker
The question is why are there fewer and fewer jobs for Sinkies. Know of people asked to retire at 53 or 55 because company downsize. They go to look for this Wsg also no use. Best is still have own network and contacts.

Like the PCP? I know of a friend who went via the route to nursing n super tiring for her during the bond period cos work like a dog.

People will only fail the course only if the supervisor don’t pass them bah (from what I heard)
PCP is usually for mid career switching, and mostly have T&C binded to it.
Many people made wrong choices due to spur of moment act, and end up regretting after signing up.

From my observations, anything that is leelated to wsg, are not jobs with good salaries. It is merely an alternative for them to move on instead of giving up on themselves.

Be very careful about it and don't fall into trap.

Gov just conveniently say that there is shortage so that they can bring in more ceca.
AI jobs, if any, are not for sinkies.
Don't waste the time and money.
They don’t just bring in CECA. CECA are very smart and sly people. They won’t take the bull shit from Sg reduce CECA coming into, they go Middle East and US n show backside to Sg.

The AI jobs here, mix of CECAs n Prcs.

However the CECAs in Sg esp mid management level do earn high salaries at ard 15k to 20K even for their unknown 2nd tier CECA Uni, their starting pay can be 5K to 6K in Sg

It’s now lots of PRC Chinese. Go Bidadari new hdb estate, got one block every level ppl go, got young PRC wives like a PRC community.

now oversupply of grab and taxi drivers. Got peo say might need to take 16 hrs to earn I won’t surprise esp for rental car