• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ho Chin - Investment Guru?

JohnTT

Ho Chin is presently the head of Temasek. She was recently been voted as one of the most powerful ladies in the world. How did she manage to attain all these achievement? What is her secret recipe?

Her investment in Thai & Indo did not turn out well, & so is her investment in US banks, mortgage houses & brokerage houses which was heavily criticised by financial media for averaging down the purchase price.

Is she really good? Or is she a guru in disguise? How would you rate her on a scale of 10? :smile:

Shi Jin

Ho Chin is presently the head of Temasek. She was recently been voted as one of the most powerful ladies in the world. How did she manage to attain all these achievement? What is her secret recipe?

Her investment in Thai & Indo did not turn out well, & so is her investment in US banks, mortgage houses & brokerage houses which was heavily criticised by financial media for averaging down the purchase price.

Is she really good? Or is she a guru in disguise? How would you rate her on a scale of 10? :smile:

She slept with the PM and has him by the balls when she blows him :biggrin: She is terrible. Like most of her kind just good at following the market trend nothing more.

hughgrant

i suspect she is not the one making the analysis there are many experts working on that. she makes the final decision

Shi Jin

i suspect she is not the one making the analysis there are many experts working on that. she makes the final decision

No need to suspect, she just reads the reports and recommendations of 'experts' and goes with the one with the most buzz words. Market says this hot she follow. Which is why we got burnt.

Nomad

Guru,more like Goondu.
so many lost money investments liao,and it is not small amount.
all are damn hugh amount.

hughgrant

if she's so lousy, y the board of directors never fire her? surely cant show favouritism just cause she is PM wife?

Frankiestine

if she's so lousy, y the board of directors never fire her? surely cant show favouritism just cause she is PM wife?

she is the woman with the Medusa touch not Midas touch... and as you know in Greek legends Medusa was a half serpent half woman and anyone that stares directly at her will turn to stone but in the case anything she touches or dabbles in turns to losses...:biggrin:

if anyone can remember one good example was Micropolis...many got screwed by her..

borom

Why not you do us a favour and check out who are the directors .

I believe one reason given is that they are "long term investments".One 84 year old say long term meant around 30 years .So they have 30 years to show results. I wish I'm given such a term of reference too.

congo9

She was name most poswerful woman because depsite losing so much money , no one in the country can fire her. That why she is the most powerful woman in the world !

kakowi

you have to be a very motivated director in order to propose to the Board that the CEO who is also the PM's wife and MM's daughter-in-law to be fired.

Besides, fired for what? Investments that failed? The counter-argument will be those are honest mistakes. Followed by we are introducing a culture to take risks. And risks involves mistakes.

Having said that, judging by the number of publicized failures she cannot be said to be an investment guru. But she is very important in the investment world because she manages a sovereign fund. That is a very powerful position.

Investing has a steep learning curve for someone as brilliant as Madam Ho Ching. I'm sure she's learn't alot from those loses.

LKY knows this & giving his daugther-in-law the oppurtunity to learn on the job. Don't worry lah sure to improve, if not its only money Sporeans can't touch anyway