• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Great News! 350 Sinkies Leetenched by Panasonic!

Pinkieslut

Panasonic to lay off 700 workers, shut refrigeration unit in Singapore​

Staff Writer, SingaporeThu, 23 September 2021, 7:49 PM
Panasonic Appliances Refrigeration Devices Singapore. (SCREENSHOT: Google Street View)

SINGAPORE — Electronics giant Panasonic is retrenching 700 employees in Singapore as it plans to cease manufacturing of refrigeration compressors here by the end of September 2022.

In response to media queries, Panasonic said about half of the affected workers are Singaporean and another 13 per cent are permanent residents. About 60 per cent of the workers are aged 50 or older, while another 30 per cent are between 30 and 50 years old.

The first batch of retrenched staff will work until 31 March 2022 while the last day for the second and last batch will be on 30 September.

Panasonic Appliances Refrigeration Devices Singapore, located in Bedok South Road, currently has 760 employees. With the closure of the unit, Panasonic will consolidate its compressor manufacturing operations to its facilities in Malacca in Malaysia and Wuxi in China.

Panasonic said in a statement, “We are working very closely with the relevant authorities, government agencies, and United Workers of Electronics & Electrical Industries to ensure all affected employees are well-supported during this transition, including assisting with job placements.”

The company’s research and development operations in Singapore will remain while the city-state will continue to be the global headquarters of the refrigeration compressor business.

“Singapore remains a regional and important hub for Panasonic. The Panasonic group in Singapore will continue to have more than 1,400 employees across various business domains, including high-value manufacturing, R&D and our Asia Pacific Headquarters.”

plzhelpme

KNN chek arc man KNN my uncle think many of the old farts are those from teens worked with them till old kind KNN go out will not know where to and how to find another job KNN

knn

from the late 1990s, manufacturers had been shifting their operations to cheaper labour market.

this factory ops will be shifted to malacca and wuxi

juz hope those loyal old farts leeceive goodest retrenchment benefits

that’s premium real estate opposite bedok mall. time for them to fold and go. that eyesore has been there forever producing crap outdated refrigeration products that nobody wants. and yes, good riddance to 699 (token) jobs. japs also love 69 and 699.

Around half of these workers are Singaporean, while another 13 per cent are permanent residents.
https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...-shut-some-manufacturing-operations-but-rd-to

Why is it that in Parliament you tell me, SINGAPOREANS = Citizens + PR
Then in retrenchment, SINGAPOREANS refers to just Citizens?

They are trying to confuse you and hoping you wouldn't notice. :wink:

This post sums it up perfectly:
https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/wh...ment-quarantine-facility.303261/#post-3385191

Additional references:

https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/741-cases-on-7-may-2020.285242/#post-3116382
https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/cc...ta-to-show-hes-not.278416/page-3#post-3024946
https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/xe...-sinkies-only-guess-race.277589/#post-3015809
https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/lo...ign-born-singaporeans-pr.310448/#post-3476182
https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/guess-the-race-i-cant-tell-mum-i-fucked.302467/#post-3354239
https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/pa...n-during-recession.216292/page-3#post-2298208
https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/sh...ce-not-born-in-singapore.306631/#post-3424400
https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/pr...in-heated-argument.205994/page-5#post-2184696
https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/heng-arh-lucky-my-degrees-are-geniune.206649/#post-2189478
https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/ho...-with-singaporeans.207669/page-2#post-2201228
https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/be...n-a-citizen-in-singapore.182749/#post-1891844
https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/pr...g-hdb-resale-flats-drops.171176/#post-1740236
https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/si...embers-of-the-police-spf.172762/#post-1760400
https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/10-things-i-love-about-being-a-singaporean-pr.187842/#post-1971383
https://www.sammyboy.com/threads/si...growth-in-10-years.190738/page-2#post-2010333 **

** (Notice how the links to their news articles often become dead links whenever they 'revamped' the user interface of their shitty websites? Great way to memory hole daft Sinkies. :cool:)

whoami

knn

from the late 1990s, manufacturers had been shifting their operations to cheaper labour market.

this factory ops will be shifted to malacca and wuxi

juz hope those loyal old farts leeceive goodest retrenchment benefits

Coming from a Japanese firm, dont expect good retrenchment benefits. Japanese are cheapskates!

borom

Locals keep losing jobs while PAP letting in more and more foreigners esp CECA.
Now they are even saying more locals must die to open the country for foreigners to come in -uniquely PAP.
The frog being slowly boiled alive

Coming from a Japanese firm, dont expect good retrenchment benefits. Japanese are cheapskates!

Not really. Jap companies are not trigger happy when it comes to retrenchment. They tend to explore all options available until truly tak boleh tahan, only then will they retrench. Can't say the same for other non-Jap companies. :wink:

I’m surprised it even lasted that long!

After the boom in the 80s and 90s in manufacturing brought on by major players like Sanyo, Sony etc , Singapore has already lost whatever edge it has as a production site. Labor way too expensive, no natural raw materials on site, everything has to be imported. U have to be a real retard to manufacture anything in Singapore.

no_faith

Not really. Jap companies are not trigger happy when it comes to retrenchment. They tend to explore all options available until truly tak boleh tahan, only then will they retrench. Can't say the same for other non-Jap companies. :wink:
In the past maybe but now i dont think so
They will ways to make you resign by freezing you :biggrin:
Time has changed

In the past maybe but now i dont think so
They will ways to make you resign by freezing you :biggrin:
Time has changed
it can also mean sg wuhan virus situation is not so bad as not a single freezer truck is needed to be used as mobile “overflow” morgue like in nyc. otherwise the bedok plant will be busy churning out refrigeration compressors not only for the region but also the local market.