• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Failing organs of govt and the SAF

CP Ng asks for 1000 new police.......... what a fucked up manager!
Mgmt is about how effective you are in using given resourcesis

Resources are NEVER enuf and except for LHL cabinet it cannot be topped up at whims & fancy. eling us how sg compared with Tokyo, HKG, etc without comparing other factors is laughable! Had the 1000 being available the riot would not have taken place or quelled faster...OR there willl be yet another excuse like Money Not Enuf!

Where is the SOP for quick mobilisation of police resources? Clearly there is none & as such anthoer 10,000 new polce men will not be enuf............ a new CP is needed as the whole SSPF is infested with grow fat useless maggots not unlike MIWs at the top ........... look at PM office and ministries with 2 ministers & many MOSs.

Another reason to dump PAP come 2016

what was his rank then, when he was with the First Commando Battalion.

I cannot remember when they changed it from "Who Dares, Wins" to "For Glory and Honour"

Not sure but he was with the SOF that stormed the plane.
Some said he rose from the other ranks......that would make it even more an achievement.

'We Dare' is the SOF's motto....machiam copycat of British SAS.
'Honour and Glory' always been the commandos motto.

The SAF will fail when really tested. Whatever capabilities we have is for show only. By the time clearance is sought for whatever course of action or response, game over. Scholars should remain in the universities or in R&D. Not messing up the uniformed services.

THey aped imperial China where scholars get juicy ministry jobs......... & many went into corruption - we are seeing them aren't we?

NO need to look far: Phillip Yeo spent billions without result or meeting his KPI but instead of being dumped he is now enjoying life in many golden car park jobs............. but what became of our billions????
We lick our wounds & the big spenders are still held in esteem and enjoying fruits of our labour....

THey aped imperial China where scholars get juicy ministry jobs......... & many went into corruption - we are seeing them aren't we?

And machiam imperial china we also have the aristocrats and royalty holding court and playing politics jostling for power.

it is one of the oldest games in the world. we just sit back, make our vote count and eat popcorn

And machiam imperial china we also have the aristocrats and royalty holding court and playing politics jostling for power.

I heard that commando BG very "garang".
If I compare myself with him, that BG super fit commando and super garang.

I speculate that they may be another commando BG in the near future.

If I was him, I rather be commander of the Special Ops task Force than PDF.
In the past, I think our fighter pilots were also very garang. Not sure of the quality now.

Not sure but he was with the SOF that stormed the plane.
Some said he rose from the other ranks......that would make it even more an achievement.

'We Dare' is the SOF's motto....machiam copycat of British SAS.
'Honour and Glory' always been the commandos motto.

Not sure whether or not he was a NCO commando, before being commissioned as 2LT.

He is younger than me, so I did not know of him.

In the past, I think our fighter pilots were also very garang. Not sure of the quality now.

I agree.
One of my classmates was a RSAF fighter pilot, then went to NUS, rose to Colonel, and was retired.

I know of one RSAF Skyhawk pilot from the late 1970's who claimed that "God talked to him, and asked him not to disturb God's territory", and the RSAF transferred him to the Infantry.
I ROD and did not catch up with him

I agree.
One of my classmates was a RSAF fighter pilot, then went to NUS, rose to Colonel, and was retired.

I know of one RSAF Skyhawk pilot from the late 1970's who claimed that "God talked to him, and asked him not to disturb God's territory", and the RSAF transferred him to the Infantry.
I ROD and did not catch up with him
Fighter pilots and commandos have the following common traits :

1. Rather die than lose face
2. Who cares what the book says, as long as it is correct and necessary, I will do it.

Another great quality of commando is their patience. Once, we spotted one of them but prevented not to know. I was greatly impressed when he stayed there motionless for over 24 hours.

I never could understand this. What makes them so qualified to lead sports?

Whst makes a bunch of saf jiakliaobees qualified to run the subway system?
Dun go down this road....else you dig up more saf uniformed deadwood in the many GLCs and stat boards.

instead of kpkb abt flag or field grade officers capabilities, which we know are highly suspected, why not review on the company grade officers, the 2Lt to company commanders. Dont said i see saf no up, only 1/4 PCs know what they are suppose to do. to make matter worse, only 1/10 know what kind of weapon systems the potential enemies are having. they tot the 7.62 gpmg very good liao and dont know the PT91 maybe armed with a 12.7mm HMG.. from a picture from msia parade, it seem the msian ditched the russian NSV 12.7mm to the M2 browning. From active NSF to RODed reservist, i seen many platoon commanders come and go, maybe i lucky, i served under decent PCs with just enough SAF doctrine to dont screw up. But sad to say, other platoons PC mostly CMI, from "Holland" during topo, lousy in delay, CMI in infantry assaults, armour advance also no good, lack fire and comms discipline.... etc etc... why i lousy corporal know so much, well as a 25mm gunner, i can listen to the company net comms via the cfc helmet. because those days the AMX13 were used to support the AI, so the tank platoon was split up to form tag team with AI platoons which meant the tankie Lta is suppose to listen to the AI Lta's orders, so no mean to assess tankie Lta capablities.

i also been attached as "training troops" for SOA OCS and regulars on course convert to armour. i expect screwed up from cadets but the standard of the regulars are no much better. A regular major order us to assault enemy MG over open ground, the cadets on sect comd kept quiet while we look at each other in shock at the order. A Farking Regular Major has no regards to his men lives!!! my respect for the SAF officer corp was lost then and never recover.

Fighter pilots and commandos have the following common traits :

1. Rather die than lose face
2. Who cares what the book says, as long as it is correct and necessary, I will do it.

Another great quality of commando is their patience. Once, we spotted one of them but prevented not to know. I was greatly impressed when he stayed there motionless for over 24 hours.

Yeah, they are always breaking into the Sungei Gedong ammo dump. They will come at night, cut the fence with wire cutters and see how far they can get. Damn lucky they never got shot by duty guards who have live rounds.

instead of kpkb abt flag or field grade officers capabilities, which we know are highly suspected, why not review on the company grade officers, the 2Lt to company commanders. Dont said i see saf no up, only 1/4 PCs know what they are suppose to do. to make matter worse, only 1/10 know what kind of weapon systems the potential enemies are having. they tot the 7.62 gpmg very good liao and dont know the PT91 maybe armed with a 12.7mm HMG.. from a picture from msia parade, it seem the msian ditched the russian NSV 12.7mm to the M2 browning. From active NSF to RODed reservist, i seen many platoon commanders come and go, maybe i lucky, i served under decent PCs with just enough SAF doctrine to dont screw up. But sad to say, other platoons PC mostly CMI, from "Holland" during topo, lousy in delay, CMI in infantry assaults, armour advance also no good, lack fire and comms discipline.... etc etc... why i lousy corporal know so much, well as a 25mm gunner, i can listen to the company net comms via the cfc helmet. because those days the AMX13 were used to support the AI, so the tank platoon was split up to form tag team with AI platoons which meant the tankie Lta is suppose to listen to the AI Lta's orders, so no mean to assess tankie Lta capablities.

i also been attached as "training troops" for SOA OCS and regulars on course convert to armour. i expect screwed up from cadets but the standard of the regulars are no much better. A regular major order us to assault enemy MG over open ground, the cadets on sect comd kept quiet while we look at each other in shock at the order. A Farking Regular Major has no regards to his men lives!!! my respect for the SAF officer corp was lost then and never recover.

Well, the bad news is that some of the SAF Doctrine is wrong and in the case of officers learning the wrong doctrine, well they are screwed anyway no matter how good they are. You are identifying the issues from the wrong end of the horse. Yes, many LTA, and lower level officers are less than desirable in their ability. But who's fault is that? If their leaders are scholar generals who are shit useless when it comes to tactics and implementation, how do they train the lower ranks the correct stuff? As will all organizations, its a trickle down effect from the top. The top has to identify the correct tactics, how to teach them, and how to identify capable platoon leaders. Well how do they do that when they are useless incompetent themselves and not professional career soldiers? You can see that OCS is also afflicted by this same scholar disease. Anyone who comes back to SIngapore to do NS with an overseas uni degree is automatically send to OCS. Why? What makes them automatic officer quality? Same too for A level holders, as they are also eligible for OCS. However, I dare say there are many O levels that would make good officers, but instead end up as peng kia. There is no aptitude test for officers. How scary is that for an army to say that? Ask yourself if Norman Schwarzkopf was in charge of the SAF, will you feel more or less confident? Of course, you will notice a real change, because this guy knows his army.

In terms of Armour, the capability of the enemy, the weakness of his armour, and even the types and numbers of his AFVs are not revealed to the people that need to know. This is stupid. The information is classified and sits in the S3's office. They are afraid that once its shown, than the real anticipated enemy will be revealed. And the SAF does not want to say who it is for political reasons. For example, numerically speaking, what will be the most common enemy AFV you will run into? Answer: Condor APC or Adnan ACV. How do you defeat if you are in an AMX-13, in a KP or in a Leo 2? Answer: HE round in all cases, don't waste an APFSDS round. How do you defeat the PT-91? WHat is its weaknesses, and what is the effective range of its main gun? All this information is not disseminated to the armour personnel, but there are those in armour that know. But really it begs the question of why don't we know our enemy inside out? Is that the fault of the LTA or 2nd LT? Or is that the fault of the General staff? So, I don't really see your viewpoint of LTAs and 2LTs as any endorsement that they are 1/4 inherently poor.

I never could understand this. What makes them so qualified to lead sports?

They are not qualified to lead any sports at all. They are parked there, and kept tabs on for a number of years until all the classified information they use to know is outdated. In the meantime, they get paid and stay in a cushy job. They do not want these people working for overseas or local defense consultants bidding on the many SAF procurements, and using their friendship with their buddies still in the SAF or inside knowledge to influence the procurements.

Well, the bad news is that some of the SAF Doctrine is wrong and in the case of officers learning the wrong doctrine, well they are screwed anyway no matter how good they are. You are identifying the issues from the wrong end of the horse. Yes, many LTA, and lower level officers are less than desirable in their ability. But who's fault is that? If their leaders are scholar generals who are shit useless when it comes to tactics and implementation, how do they train the lower ranks the correct stuff? As will all organizations, its a trickle down effect from the top. The top has to identify the correct tactics, how to teach them, and how to identify capable platoon leaders. Well how do they do that when they are useless incompetent themselves and not professional career soldiers? You can see that OCS is also afflicted by this same scholar disease. Anyone who comes back to SIngapore to do NS with an overseas uni degree is automatically send to OCS. Why? What makes them automatic officer quality? Same too for A level holders, as they are also eligible for OCS. However, I dare say there are many O levels that would make good officers, but instead end up as peng kia. There is no aptitude test for officers. How scary is that for an army to say that? Ask yourself if Norman Schwarzkopf was in charge of the SAF, will you feel more or less confident? Of course, you will notice a real change, because this guy knows his army.

In terms of Armour, the capability of the enemy, the weakness of his armour, and even the types and numbers of his AFVs are not revealed to the people that need to know. This is stupid. The information is classified and sits in the S3's office. They are afraid that once its shown, than the real anticipated enemy will be revealed. And the SAF does not want to say who it is for political reasons. For example, numerically speaking, what will be the most common enemy AFV you will run into? Answer: Condor APC or Adnan ACV. How do you defeat if you are in an AMX-13, in a KP or in a Leo 2? Answer: HE round in all cases, don't waste an APFSDS round. How do you defeat the PT-91? WHat is its weaknesses, and what is the effective range of its main gun? All this information is not disseminated to the armour personnel, but there are those in armour that know. But really it begs the question of why don't we know our enemy inside out? Is that the fault of the LTA or 2nd LT? Or is that the fault of the General staff? So, I don't really see your viewpoint of LTAs and 2LTs as any endorsement that they are 1/4 inherently poor.

Uncle, senior leadership in saf CMI for long time liao. I am just pointing out the junior officers are just as bad. I only a pengkia, I don't see senior officers in action but I only encounter company level officers. If OC don't know what he is doing, the whole company will only turn into cannon fodders.

As for classified info, why saf never pass down to it officers, I dunno the reasons but officers can at least find out themselves from the web. I attend simulator course with officers, none of them know msia has pt91 or it a modified t72. Their boh chapness amaze me.