Cheap meals under threat - Seah Chiang Nee

Most heartland kopishop have very affordable economy rice stall, one meat dan one vege atau egg only $2.00:)

Now a plate of $4 chicken rice at the hawker center is considered cheap. How to survive in this sinkieland?

Huh, your place hawker centre sells chicken rice for $4? You mean the simple plate with breast meat only (no drumstick and never add anything else)??

Gee... at hawker centres, I usaually plate $2.5 or $3 for a simple plate of chicken rice.

:)

Huh, your place hawker centre sells chicken rice for $4? You mean the simple plate with breast meat only (no drumstick and never add anything else)??

Gee... at hawker centre, I usaually plate $2.5 or $3 for a simple plate of chicken rice.

:)

Agree.

$4 for one plate chicken rice at hawker center ?? Oo yia boh yia .... ??

After 1 month close shop liow !!:o

Most heartland kopishop have very affordable economy rice stall, one meat dan one vege atau egg only $2.00:)

Blah blah blah...what do you know about heartland hawkers? You live in a landed estate, drive a big car, breakfast at dimsum restaurant, lunch at steak restaurant, dine at seafood restaurant, drink at KTV and grab a girl to bakkutteh supper and then hotel all the way! :eek:

In mid 1990s, when HDB prices began to soar, hawker and coffeeshop prices began to take off. There was alot of complaints within the grassroots and the govt actually acted on it. They relaxed rules on Malaysians setting up or manning foodstalls including helpers. There was an immediate drop in price so much so that one chap started selling chicken rice at $1.

It also started a mini boom as Malaysians began running economic rice and other cheaper and better versions of hawker food.

Looks like we going hit the wall and this time, there is not going to be any relief.

if one could not afford just $5.00 for a meal ...something is very wrong with his life .

wahlaneh...
how can say like that?
means u never been poor before lah.
dun happy too fast - maybe hvnt kana u yet.;)
but is not about whether can afford or not but why must pay so much $5/- for a plate of chap chye png when i can easily have it at just $2/- i can buy 2 plates with ur $5/- still got balance $1 for my kopi-O 60cts only still got balance 40 cts to buy black hacks.:D

It's not about affording. It's about wasting when one doesn't have that big an appetite. Anyway, the hawkers are free to state their minimum order required to serve, that I acknowledge. I'm also free not to patronise them and to comment on the practice according to my opinion.

Another dish I haven't eaten in a long time is Indian rojak. They make a piece of fish cake or prawn cake etc. so big and charge S$1.20 or even S$1.50 per piece. What rojak are we talking about? Rojak is supposed to be a mix. One or two pieces can already fill a decent non-glutton stomach. Why not make these smaller pieces so that people can choose more varieties for a real rojak? They'd still get their S$3 to 4 per dish or per pax. But no, they oversize their pieces expecting people to over order for a good rojak mix. Whether people over eat or waste food, not their problem.

It's not about affording. It's about wasting when one doesn't have that big an appetite. Anyway, the hawkers are free to state their minimum order required to serve, that I acknowledge. I'm also free not to patronise them and to comment on the practice according to my opinion.

Another dish I haven't eaten in a long time is Indian rojak. They make a piece of fish cake or prawn cake etc. so big and charge S$1.20 or even S$1.50 per piece. What rojak are we talking about? Rojak is supposed to be a mix. One or two pieces can already fill a decent non-glutton stomach. Why not make these smaller pieces so that people can choose more varieties for a real rojak? They'd still get their S$3 to 4 per dish or per pax. But no, they oversize their pieces expecting people to over order for a good rojak mix. Whether people over eat or waste food, not their problem.

singaporean will not complain the serving is big ( most of them are yeow gui )...why cant they just admit that they dont want to pay more , i always can hear the serving is small .. . ;) . if free somemore can bring plastic bag to takeaway ....

Yeah, guess I've never been the typical Singaporean all the while. :rolleyes:

It's not about affording. It's about wasting when one doesn't have that big an appetite. Anyway, the hawkers are free to state their minimum order required to serve, that I acknowledge. I'm also free not to patronise them and to comment on the practice according to my opinion..

Me hate the minimum order too... doesnt make sense ... shit :oIo:
In JB / Msia you cannot find this... you take 2 you pay for 2...
especially the chee-cheong-fun...

heng ar ...thats the reason last time you could get japanese girlfriend ? ;)

It was by luck (or fate). I met her on transit at Narita, on my way to SF. She was working for Casio and posted to SF for attachment. At that time, I couldn't speak any Japanese beside arigato and sayonara. She's on biz class and I was on econ class. But as luck (or fate) has it, a Japanese student tour group needed an extra econ class ticket, and JAL asked around offering free upgrade to biz class. Family or group would find it hard to accept. But me traveling alone, of course I gladly grabbed the offer. That's how I met her. On the plane, we were seated together. She could speak English (guess that's why she's posted to SF). Well, the rest is history.

It was by luck (or fate). I met her on transit at Narita, on my way to SF. .........Well, the rest is history.

hahaha...sounds like a good story plot...u should find a producer and make a film...

Agree with you. Rojak means variety and it defeats the purpose of calling it Rojak.

There was a short period when oversized and too many fishballs were thrown into fishball noodles and they charged $4. When the public refused to budge, they reverted to normal.

bro....i oso very poor ...im sleeping in the park now ...im homeless .

I've actually talked to some Jap chaps who lived in cardboard "houses" at Shinjuku station and Nihonbashi bridge areas. Don't know if they're still there now. Far more creative and stylish than US homeless folks.

they are always there ...during winter time ( now ) many of them freeze to death ...dont know when is my turn . lucky i smart enough , winter time i hide in internet cafe :D....:(

US homeless folks (mostly blacks but also quite many whites) would go outside supermarket and steal a trolley. That's their vehicle and storage. Then go one alley corner still unoccupied and make it their home. Very disorganised and stinky. These people probably haven't bathed for years and unlikely to do so in the near future or even for the rest of their lives.

Japanese homeless are better organised and much cleaner.

Singapore is besto! LKY says there's no such thing as homeless in Singapore.