• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Any of the bros here been to DB before during NS?

i did think about revenge often but somehow i think its pointless,u cant really blame those who put u there....ur just a victim of the system.....a very retarded system......even when i look back,i realise even ur superiors in the army are nothing more than monkeys in a cage and u guys are just acting out a freakshow.

Sinkees need to learn how to fight back. Those in position of power tend to think that they are kings and can do as they please. I wouldn't take that nonsense.

how to seek revenge?i have to be the richest man in the world,bill gates or rockefeller,then i can put those PAP dogs and whitehorses in DB and let them have a taste of their own medicine.

Can't take revenge on the PAP yet ...their day will come ...I do hope that they can be exiled to Pulau Sudong and then sinkees allow to go on safari to hunt them down.

Sinkees need to learn how to fight back. Those in position of power tend to think that they are kings and can do as they please. I wouldn't take that nonsense.

Can't take revenge on the PAP yet ...their day will come ...I do hope that they can be exiled to Pulau Sudong and then sinkees allow to go on safari to hunt them down.

you really have a Sudong fetish.

If have please share. Narong i think you been inside before since you been to chalet resort changi and in thailand too.

nah. just confinement, though warrants and MOs have threatened to charge me before.
i did serve AWOL for ICT though. money/job > ict wayang.

what u wanna know? it thought it was quite boring, but relaxing. but AWOL sentence usually very short so maybe u shld ask someone else for more colorful story.

Wow, this I didn't know. Many by then more humane? My time, there were 5-6 in a freaking cell all sharing 2 urine pots!

all cells have toilet bowl now i think.to prevent escape when they ask go toilet? talked to someone who's been to police jail and db traffic accident, they say jail is cleaner but crowded at least 6 people to 1 cell, DB much more space or the solitary cells and holding cells have smelly toilets because of bad plumbing, flashed with black water.

one simple advice is dun go against the regiment, in army, it's important to be a yes man and you will be out smoothly in no time.:o

For JWs, it's not just a matter of non-violence; it is also that they will not show allegiance to anything / anyone other than God. Hence, as have already been said, they will not pledge themselves to the country, salute the flag (or officers) and will not even wear any insignia that suggests that allegiance.

Why the gahmen don't let them serve in the police force or civil defence? I find JWs very decent folk compared to mainstream folk. It's a pity the sect is outlawed because of resistance in serving NS in the arm force.

ok,i mean the DB structure looks pretty damn old to me including the interior architecture,i would figure mowbray BD is at least 30 years old,u telling me u didnt even have a toilet with working plumbling?are u sure u are not in a japanese wwii internment camp or something?

can u imagine if one inmate produce 500ml of piss every morning?who the fuck have to carry 2.5 liter of piss in a jug?
Oh, they do hv working loos but since all are locked up, this is the fastest way to relieve onself. Only if one wants to take a dump would they open the cell door. What usually happens is tat only 1 urine pot will be used by all in a cell, the 2nd was used to cover the 1st or the smell in ur cell, oh my lol

all cells have toilet bowl now i think.to prevent escape when they ask go toilet? talked to someone who's been to police jail and db traffic accident, they say jail is cleaner but crowded at least 6 people to 1 cell, DB much more space or the solitary cells and holding cells have smelly toilets because of bad plumbing, flashed with black water.
As mentioned, my experience was in the 90s. I won't be surprised if there are many changes now. The SAF has changed since my days. So very much more "HUMANE" compared to those days. Civil side, no clue, never broke any civilian laws except traffic fines lol

During my time JW go DB for 3 years while NS only 2/2.5 years.
No reservist after that.

Yep, that's right. And that actually works out to less time for them overall. If u compare to a NSmen 2.5 years plus cycles of Reservist, it will be more than 3 years.

If you have spend any amount of time in the SAF as an Officer, you would have eventually visit most of the DBs in your formation. The main DB is Tanglin, and that is literally the worse place in Singapore. People tell me that Changi Prison is a picnic compared to Tanglin DB. The main difference is not only the facility, but the parade marches with back packs of rocks, etc. The whole objective is to make the detainees shagged and tired, so they don't have enough strength to plot escape or trouble. SOme of the MPs at Tanglin are real sadistic, and will whack the prisoners until they require medical attention. One of my friends was a medic there, and he used to see cases all the time. I remember one time, he told me there was a riot about to erupt at tanglin, and the senior NCO walked a trained attack German Shepherd in between the cells and dared anyone to come out. LOL. I have been there numerous times because SAF policy is for an officer to visit anyone in their unit at least once a month to check on their welfare. Most of the time we visit them to interview them about the location of missing equipment assigned to them. For example, I had to go in and ask a detainee who was in my unit where his tank helmet was. That was an expensive piece of equipment. he claimed he did not know where it was, but I think he probably sold it at sungei road or some place like that.

Other cases are not send to Tanglin, as those tend to be the most hardcore. But send to their formation DB which is usually located in camp associated with the formation. For example, 41 SAR had a DB outside the camp, where Armour detainees can be send. And this DB also contained JWs. They are always wearing white shirt with blue shorts and slippers. They are to grow vegetables for the cookhouse. But from what i can see, its a hard life too, they are out in the sun the whole day with the chungkol. Some of the MPs tell me they are always running into snakes when they clear the brush.

A lot of comments here on this thread about how detainees deserve to be in DB, and they must be guilty of some things. I can honestly tell you that 50% of the DB detainees are there for offences that are not jailable or prosecutable in the outside civilian world. Because my unit has a large orbat of vehicles, and they are always on the road, accidents happen all the time. I know one case where I defended a LCP who drove a 3-tonner out of camp. At that time 41 SAR had a narrow road in Lim Chu Kang going into the camp and he langared a speeding civilian car driven by armour personnel booking back into camp. So, he got charged. when I did the accident investigation, i ascertain the fault to be 50-50. But in those days, the SAF policy is that if a SAF vehicle got into an accident with a civilian car, no matter who is at fault, the SAF driver will get charged and go to DB. For how long, is dependent on the court martial. Even though in this case, the civilian driver who know the 3 tonner driver as they were in the same unit, did not want to see that guy go to DB, its not up to him. In the end, he ended up in DB. Quite unjustified in his case. I also know of another case where a SAF ambulance was on the way to Alexandria hospital with a casualty from Area D. Even though the ambulance had its siren and lights on, a woman driver in a car did not give him way and crashed into the ambulance in the intersection. the woman was 100% at fault, but the driver was court martialled and went to DB. So, I would cut these detainees some slack. yes, some are SS and some are degenerate criminals, but many are just ordinary guys that are screwed by the system.

At the time I was called up, I was a very simple person. I just accepted that it was what every able bodied male citizen was expected to do, so I didn't question the reason(s) I was in it. Just somewhat worried if I could tahan the physical demands. Yes, sometimes it was tough, but that was only because we were converting from civilian lifestyle to that of a soldier. After the end of BMT, I didn't think it was as tough as I had expected, but was glad to pass out. I do not know about those who felt their studies were affected, I wasn't in that category, neither did I have any political inclinations. To me it was just part of youth.

As a working man, I can understand how work and family life can be disrupted by reservist stints, and even IPPT. Perhaps the authorities and those involved can work out something here. Not pro-army here, but keeping fit is definitely worth considering.

that's because you must have gone to a keng unit if the toughest part of your NS was BMT. for most other people, BMT is a cake walk compared to those courses they have to go to. Like OCS, or Commandoes, or Sniper school, etc.

Your view point is wrong, service vocations like storeman, clerk, armskote man, technician, etc BMT is the toughest part.

If you have spend any amount of time in the SAF as an Officer, you would have eventually visit most of the DBs in your formation. The main DB is Tanglin, and that is literally the worse place in Singapore. People tell me that Changi Prison is a picnic compared to Tanglin DB. The main difference is not only the facility, but the parade marches with back packs of rocks, etc. The whole objective is to make the detainees shagged and tired, so they don't have enough strength to plot escape or trouble. SOme of the MPs at Tanglin are real sadistic, and will whack the prisoners until they require medical attention. One of my friends was a medic there, and he used to see cases all the time. I remember one time, he told me there was a riot about to erupt at tanglin, and the senior NCO walked a trained attack German Shepherd in between the cells and dared anyone to come out. LOL. I have been there numerous times because SAF policy is for an officer to visit anyone in their unit at least once a month to check on their welfare. Most of the time we visit them to interview them about the location of missing equipment assigned to them. For example, I had to go in and ask a detainee who was in my unit where his tank helmet was. That was an expensive piece of equipment. he claimed he did not know where it was, but I think he probably sold it at sungei road or some place like that.

Other cases are not send to Tanglin, as those tend to be the most hardcore. But send to their formation DB which is usually located in camp associated with the formation. For example, 41 SAR had a DB outside the camp, where Armour detainees can be send. And this DB also contained JWs. They are always wearing white shirt with blue shorts and slippers. They are to grow vegetables for the cookhouse. But from what i can see, its a hard life too, they are out in the sun the whole day with the chungkol. Some of the MPs tell me they are always running into snakes when they clear the brush.

A lot of comments here on this thread about how detainees deserve to be in DB, and they must be guilty of some things. I can honestly tell you that 50% of the DB detainees are there for offences that are not jailable or prosecutable in the outside civilian world. Because my unit has a large orbat of vehicles, and they are always on the road, accidents happen all the time. I know one case where I defended a LCP who drove a 3-tonner out of camp. At that time 41 SAR had a narrow road in Lim Chu Kang going into the camp and he langared a speeding civilian car driven by armour personnel booking back into camp. So, he got charged. when I did the accident investigation, i ascertain the fault to be 50-50. But in those days, the SAF policy is that if a SAF vehicle got into an accident with a civilian car, no matter who is at fault, the SAF driver will get charged and go to DB. For how long, is dependent on the court martial. Even though in this case, the civilian driver who know the 3 tonner driver as they were in the same unit, did not want to see that guy go to DB, its not up to him. In the end, he ended up in DB. Quite unjustified in his case. I also know of another case where a SAF ambulance was on the way to Alexandria hospital with a casualty from Area D. Even though the ambulance had its siren and lights on, a woman driver in a car did not give him way and crashed into the ambulance in the intersection. the woman was 100% at fault, but the driver was court martialled and went to DB. So, I would cut these detainees some slack. yes, some are SS and some are degenerate criminals, but many are just ordinary guys that are screwed by the system.

DB detainees should go after the complainant and the presiding officers.

one simple advice is dun go against the regiment, in army, it's important to be a yes man and you will be out smoothly in no time.:o

It is not easy to be a yes man when you are an intelligent man.

Your view point is wrong, service vocations like storeman, clerk, armskote man, technician, etc BMT is the toughest part.

Like I said, these are all keng vocations. And not PES A. Probably PES C vocation. These vocations are in the minority. I don't even think they went for the real BMT, unless they got downgraded after that. Likely, they went for the 9 week switch off BMT with light physical training. Not a real BMT in my opinion.

there is no choice in an army regiment, either be a yes man or get grounded for weekend duties for the rest of the 2 years.:o

It is not easy to be a yes man when you are an intelligent man.

Yep, that's right. And that actually works out to less time for them overall. If u compare to a NSmen 2.5 years plus cycles of Reservist, it will be more than 3 years.

Not worth la got criminal record next time hard to migrate.
Back then NSFs kena charged more than 40 days cannot go to local Uni.....not sure if this is the case still.
Seen many got to go overseas to study or put uni entry on hold due to this fucked up ruling.

Not worth la got criminal record next time hard to migrate.
Back then NSFs kena charged more than 40 days cannot go to local Uni.....not sure if this is the case still.
Seen many got to go overseas to study or put uni entry on hold due to this fucked up ruling.

Criminal record check does not include and reveal SAF record. Its is from the Police only, so if you want to immigrate, it will not show up . And also if you are JW, u can claim religious persecution and claim refugee status in some countries, as a refugee from political persecution.