• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Any of the bros here been to DB before during NS?

I knew a guy who spent the longest time in DB.... Total of 10 years.
He was a 30 year old NSF private from tengah airbase....everyone calls him uncle Chong.
AWOL and ran road to Thailand dealing drugs and trafficking women. Surrendered and deported because he wanted to see his dying mother.
Newspapers ran a story on him back then.

Its a Christian sect, or cult the way some see them. They believe in sojme doomsday prophecies, and subscribe to some kind of belief administered by The Watchtower. They do not believe in serving any army on earth as they only serve God's army and hence their members will not swear allegiance to Singapore when they are called to enlist. For a while I received some of their publications and I noticed drawings of tigers and lions living in peace together with sheep and goats, I think they were converted to vegetarians.

bro, what is Jehovah Witnesses?

I never received any charges during NS, but on enlistment day at Mindef, two guys were singled out during the swear in ceremony. They were Jehovah Witnesses. I ran into them a year or so after that at Tanglin Dentention Barracks. They were assigned gardening duties and mostly left alone. I was told they do not have to report for reservist after ROD.

Perks of being a Jesus believer?

I do not support their beliefs, but throwing them in lockup again is not right. Once in jail to serve time for a "crime" they committed will suffice for the "punishment" meted out. Twice, or more is unnecessary.

JW spend their NS in DB ...working like dogs. They are servants there ...serving the MPs and officers.
For reservist, they spend it in DB again.

Its a Christian sect, or cult the way some see them. They believe in sojme doomsday prophecies, and subscribe to some kind of belief administered by The Watchtower. They do not believe in serving any army on earth as they only serve God's army and hence their members will not swear allegiance to Singapore when they are called to enlist. For a while I received some of their publications and I noticed drawings of tigers and lions living in peace together with sheep and goats, I think they were converted to vegetarians.

A colleague once confided in me. Son's a JW. Consoled him by asking him to look at the positives. Son, being a JW will not be an SS member. Neither will his son get involved in drugs or other undesirable activities. Now his son is happily married and moved to the US.

At the time I was called up, I was a very simple person. I just accepted that it was what every able bodied male citizen was expected to do, so I didn't question the reason(s) I was in it. Just somewhat worried if I could tahan the physical demands. Yes, sometimes it was tough, but that was only because we were converting from civilian lifestyle to that of a soldier. After the end of BMT, I didn't think it was as tough as I had expected, but was glad to pass out. I do not know about those who felt their studies were affected, I wasn't in that category, neither did I have any political inclinations. To me it was just part of youth.

As a working man, I can understand how work and family life can be disrupted by reservist stints, and even IPPT. Perhaps the authorities and those involved can work out something here. Not pro-army here, but keeping fit is definitely worth considering.

It's not about rough and yes at times it can be quite fun. But the major problem is it is taking years of our productive lives away. When we go out and compete in the labour market, frequently we are 2-3 years older and it is a disadvantage and downright detrimental in career opportunities, loss of income, age discrimination,etc. We are not compensated for this loss. Time is the most valuable commodity, not money. You can always make more money but you can never buy more time.

For this sacrifice, we are rewarded with loss of jobs via competition with substandard FT's.

If I want to have fun, I can book a safari tour and shoot an elephant.

A colleague once confided in me. Son's a JW. Consoled him by asking him to look at the positives. Son, being a JW will not be an SS member. Neither will his son get involved in drugs or other undesirable activities. Now his son is happily married and moved to the US.

Putting asides their stupid belief, I find JWs very decent and truthful folks unlike their bros and sisters from other sects, the act holy but very nasty type of people.

Not all believers of Jesus obtained exemption from NS training. Catholics, Baptists, Presbytarians, Anglicans and others had to go through what their brothers who believed in Buddha, Krishnan, Allah and Tua Pek Kong and Lau Lee had to.

Perks of being a Jesus believer?

It's his son's choice. Good to hear his son is happily married. Wish him all the best and a happy life.

Putting asides their stupid belief, I find JWs very decent and truthful folks unlike their bros and sisters from other sects, the act holy but very nasty type of people.

Yes, many times more decent than the Moonies. JW char bors more chio too. Most give tuition to chari makan. Met them in Tanglin DB in the mid 70s.

I do not support their beliefs, but throwing them in lockup again is not right. Once in jail to serve time for a "crime" they committed will suffice for the "punishment" meted out. Twice, or more is unnecessary.

Why the gahmen don't let them serve in the police force or civil defence? I find JWs very decent folk compared to mainstream folk. It's a pity the sect is outlawed because of resistance in serving NS in the arm force.

It's his son's choice. Good to hear his son is happily married. Wish him all the best and a happy life.

Yup. Between JW son or SS/druggie son, better have the former. They are harmless people. JW is not an illegal entity in many countries.

Cheers too!

I do not have an answer to your question other than for certain cases, the gahmen wants to look tough. Example is Tan Wah Piow. The guy will be arrested and thrown into jail if he ever sets foot in Singapore for "escaping" NS. I don't think a person should be jailed for his/her own religious or even political beliefs. Being thrown in jail should only be for violent criminals and keep them locked up for the safety of law abiding folk out there.

Why the gahmen don't let them serve in the police force or civil defence? I find JWs very decent folk compared to mainstream folk. It's a pity the sect is outlawed because of resistance in serving NS in the arm force.

In the 70s, used to have Tanglin and Kranji DBs. I believe now left with one only. Somewhere in Choa Chu Kang. Heard many stories of MPs kena hantamed by these detainees outside DB. Only the lumber one is authorised to carry revolver.

They not only dont carry arms. They dont even recite the pledge.

I served before. Early 90s. Charged 30days for fighting one to one with another officer. Both went in, due to our ranks, were sent to become CO runner.
The most memorable time was day 0. When we "CONVICTS" all lines up shoulder to shoulder to DEKIT! There MPs would hv a feild day & tekan all the newbies till jialat jialt. I remembered a sergeant shouted. Oooi, you 2 officer ah. Ok, just see show ok & told the rest to leave us alone. We were regulars fyi! We watched the newbies kenna tekan left right center for quite a while, all dripping in sweat in the middle of the night, some even kenna tekan to tears but can obviously see some of the sadistic look of several MPs laughing & clearly enjoying themselves. Some can see they were disgusted so they just left the dekit & check in room.
Life in DB is just like BMT, OCS. Very regimental. Just follow procedures & you'd be fine. Only thing then is, sleep on concrete floor, no blanket, no toilet doors and a MP will be looking at you when you take a dump. Also, every sunday, sardine will be the maindish for meals, to let you know it's Sunday & a week has passed. You will find many weird folks in DB. Some clearly mental. Some damn sad story & I will share a few.
1) Combat engineers: Bloke say his OC well known to be lenient, so he AWOL 2months kenna charge DB 7days. OMG, he say the price quite worth it. I was like, WTF!!!!
2) Another combat Engineer: Shouting fall in, lost his locker key, to break lock, accidentally break locker hinge, kenna charge 2weeks DB for that
3) RSN: During parade, walk away from parade coz gonna faint, note, this bugger is a CSM, kenna 30days compliments of Winston
4) Infantry man: Lost his mass tin: kenna 1wk DB
5) 2SIR: Young chap, held in isolation cell, awaiting court martial. Was said to hv forced a sissy platoon to suck his cock!
Some, will sit there talk to wall, laugh at god knows wat, talking to dunno wat. Some can see clear case mental but still in DB?

For the JWs, from what I learnt in there, their religion does not allow them to bear arms. So, for serving NS, they serve their time in DB. But make no mistake, they will do all general duties etc n is no way treated like the other inmates there. They hv books to read etc, weekend bookout etc.

They not only dont carry arms. They dont even recite the pledge.

When they attend former schools, still need to recite pledge every morning?

Civil defence force don't need to carry arms but need to recite pledge. I think they can do NS in other areas. Assistant nurses, NPark rangers.

In the 70s, used to have Tanglin and Kranji DBs. I believe now left with one only. Somewhere in Choa Chu Kang. Heard many stories of MPs kena hantamed by these detainees outside DB. Only the lumber one is authorised to carry revolver.
Yes, this is true. I personally witness a MP book out that weekend & came back black and blue. Also treated all the other detainees like good friend after. Damn super welfare. Heard he tekan an inmate who is some SS 老大 outside so his boys were waiting for him. Heard regular MPs sometimes telling some new MPs not to overdo it. These are also people and beware of karma. It's usually the NSFs that are damn kwailan. The regulars are mostly damn steady & approachable. Those NSF bloody chow private, LCP, CPL all act like they god hahaha only to kenna hammer outside. Karma's a real bitch