• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

contra

The other day I was visiting Horizon Hills and there was a coach with police escorts at the Fairway Suites Showroom. Mah Bow Tan and contingent was there to check out Horizon Hills.

By the way checking Onemotoring videocam shows high traffic at this time in both Woodlands and Tuas. Last Friday I was crossing 2nd link at 10am and was stuck there for an hour, mostly at Malaysian side. Is this due to the holiday seasons?

contra

Last Thursday I went to the UEM Land showroom in SGX 2 (thanks for the tip, so I owe it to the forumers to share what I learned). This is what I found out about terrace houses in East Ledang. Phase 1 & 2 terraces which were launched 2 years ago were sold for RM450k-550k. After that, Phase 7 terrace at RM650k. They are all sold out. Now they are taking bookings for Phase 8 terrace starting from RM715k with dimensions 26X75 and 2700sqft. Only Phase 1,2,7 & 8 have terrace. The other phases are semi-d and bungalows. How does this compare to Horizon Hills? For apple to apple comparison I make references only to the intermediate terraces in these. The pricing is similar. Even the maintenance fees same. HH remaining Hills terrace 26X80 are RM650k-685k depending on 'Types' & orientation. This is similar to EL's Phase 7 terrace prices. Asked HH sales personnel and was told Greens terrace will be launched at RM715k or more. HH seems to be on same pricing as EL , for the terrace. This indicates it boils down to personal preference. Some people like open concept as EL, while others prefer fenced personal space for more privacy as HH. I am of the latter, so see you in HH. Must say EL showroom for the semi d's and bungalow are impressive (they did not make for terrace). With the Coastal Highway the difference in distances to anywhere from either of the 2 are negligible. One last thing - the international destination resort has now been brought more to the east, just south of HH and north east of EL.

Coolsaint77

Hi Danteakc, i understand, would you want to delete that so that we maintain your privacy?
I am pretty sure i pointed out earlier but from my experience, i would avoid this bank.

You can PM me. I would think the best would be to go down there, talk about this nicely and threaten to speak to the consumer protection folks in JB if all else fails.

The $2k is just ridiculous and seems to serve to arm twist you into the deal but did you really ignore their calls, etc? It may be necessary to go down and speak with the bank manager as emails and phones may not always be the best way to go about this.

For UOB there is a clause stating if you have signed and accepted the LO, there is a cancellation fee of MYR2k if you subsequently chose to cancel the loan. UOB has one of the longest LO i've ever seen compared to the other banks. Typical UOB fashion, the terms are rather comprehensive in protecting the bank.

On top of the long LO, there is also a very long loan agreement... which is normally signed along with the LO... or soon after that.

Jade is the "by the book" kind of girl and can be quite blunt but overall she is quite competent... so you gotta be quite vigilant in dealing with her.

jasonjst

Nice! I bet the stones outside the fence is done by yourself as well? Which nursery did you buy your stuff from? I go to the one before Taman Sutera.

Seems to me your place is open concept? So they allow you to fence up the whole place except the gate i suppose? I had to sign a covenant for my EL purchase... the covenant which is basically a set of by laws about what you can and what you cannot do to your property. EL is open concept as well.

Hi ,
Bought my nursery stuffs from both the nusery , one is near the temple and the other opposite Casania , Sutera Utama . Very friendly uncles there. The stones outside the fence is provided by developer Sutera.
Some people still cant accept open concept due to security reason. But for my estate , it seem quite a hit . Neighbours actually walking around to greet each others when they are on the way home or going out . Sometime we talk about gardening , food to eat , where to pay bills , etc. They are very helpful.
Most people also keep their gardens very nice and well lighted at night as everybody is so proud of their homes / deco. The whole place just look great and lively , which you wont experience in a close gated estate. :smile:
rdgs

jasonjst

The other day I was visiting Horizon Hills and there was a coach with police escorts at the Fairway Suites Showroom. Mah Bow Tan and contingent was there to check out Horizon Hills.

By the way checking Onemotoring videocam shows high traffic at this time in both Woodlands and Tuas. Last Friday I was crossing 2nd link at 10am and was stuck there for an hour, mostly at Malaysian side. Is this due to the holiday seasons?

Exploring the possibility of enbock , and built the place into HDB then sell to sinkies of SGD500K ?

toolate

Bro Wuqi,

Just wanted to thank you for advice.
Saying "Hello" to all on this lively forum.
New addition to the HH community at the Golf.

Agree with the tight security , tried to get someone to go into property to help cut and maintain grass while I am not there ... security denied entry.

How to bros here maintain lawn and landscape work ? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Hi, been around this forum for 4-5mths already, had some login probs so was unable to post... in the meantime bought ourselves 1 semi-d and signed for another larger one at the Hills.. Great conversation going on.. nothing much to contribute for now except our 'patronage' :smile:

Just wanna share one experience 1 week ago while my wife and I were meeting a friend to show them our place at Gateway. We were sorting out some things at the office so somehow they wandered in (!) and called to say they were outside our place. This was his first time in HH and so much for the security we were raving about to him.

What happened was he followed behind an entourage who were given entry via the resident's gantry and was assumed to be one of them. As he was my guest, I felt a little paiseh to tell the guardhouse... I will let them know the next time while those who are staying there now pls be aware that this is a potential way that outsiders can sneak in and be vigilant to point out if it happens.. for our own safety...

Coolsaint77

The jam at the 2nd link is definitely due to the holidays ( entering and jam at malaysian side due to many pple who visit Mudland once a year and no white card so the long delay )

Usually on normal days on the 2nd link heading into Mudland, there will not be jams except when going home timing between 6pm-9pm. Avoid this timing. Normal time usually u will drive straight to the booth on both sides. Now is holiday season. I was struck in the 2nd link Mudland side for almost an hour last Sunday too.

Last Saturday was a freak day. I was going into SG via second link and got jammed at MY side for 30mins.

I saw an unprecedented jam for vehicles coming into MY... imagine the 2nd link bridge is 7km long... the jam stretched almost till the SG end.

I think the Wikileak effect will persist for a while for now. Got used to this frequent squabbles though. :biggrin:

Jogs1

Last Saturday was a freak day. I was going into SG via second link and got jammed at MY side for 30mins.

I saw an unprecedented jam for vehicles coming into MY... imagine the 2nd link bridge is 7km long... the jam stretched almost till the SG end.

I think the Wikileak effect will persist for a while for now. Got used to this frequent squabbles though. :biggrin:

Last Sat, I was jammed for almost 2 hrs at 1:30pm....my friend went out later than me was struck for 2 1/2 hrs.

I was looking at the EL semi-d, fall in love with it immediately. May getting one soon...quite expensive but the sales told me the freebies like kitchen cabinet, only till end of Dec... Must decide ASAP:((

Coolsaint77

Last Sat, I was jammed for almost 2 hrs at 1:30pm....my friend went out later than me was struck for 2 1/2 hrs.

I was looking at the EL semi-d, fall in love with it immediately. May getting one soon...quite expensive but the sales told me the freebies like kitchen cabinet, only till end of Dec... Must decide ASAP:((

Yeah... the semi-D is really nice. Gotta act quick, i think there are limited type A & type B left. Type C no more, type D is... not too bad. Type E is horrible.

Coolsaint77

Hi, been around this forum for 4-5mths already, had some login probs so was unable to post... in the meantime bought ourselves 1 semi-d and signed for another larger one at the Hills.. Great conversation going on.. nothing much to contribute for now except our 'patronage' :smile:

Just wanna share one experience 1 week ago while my wife and I were meeting a friend to show them our place at Gateway. We were sorting out some things at the office so somehow they wandered in (!) and called to say they were outside our place. This was his first time in HH and so much for the security we were raving about to him.

What happened was he followed behind an entourage who were given entry via the resident's gantry and was assumed to be one of them. As he was my guest, I felt a little paiseh to tell the guardhouse... I will let them know the next time while those who are staying there now pls be aware that this is a potential way that outsiders can sneak in and be vigilant to point out if it happens.. for our own safety...

Just have to screw the security company nicely. They need to be constantly reminded. The Malaysian culture is a bit more relax, eg. at cheaper places like Nusa Idaman, i can take my dog into the opposite development for a walk. To them we are faces they see everyday what's the trouble? Need to constantly reinforce.

aangsc

does anyone has a good grass cutting service in johor to recommend ? Am using my HH place as weekends home, so cannot be there to supervise. Need a reliable one to do a monthly job at reasonable price.

vincentck

Hi everyone,

I've been reading all the posts for the past 3-4 weeks and just finished it today. Thanks to bro wuqi for his sharing and enlightenment on living in JB, as well as everyone else who has contributed to this topic, whether positive or negative.

My wife and I just bought a corner terrace in Nusa Idaman phase 8 last Sunday, and this Sunday will go down again to sign the SPA as well as pay the 10%. We checked out HH Gateway, Golf and The Hills; liked the security and BU of the houses, but hate the high price. So, we drove around and found Nusa Idaman to be more affordable. With the money saved, we plan to renovate and spend on security features for our new house 2 years later when the house is complete.

I've only one thing to contribute for now; we had dinner last Sunday at a corner mamak restaurant in Nusa Idaman, opposite the UEM sales office... the next day, my wife developed stomach cramps, vomitting and diarrhea around lunch time, while I got the same symptoms after dinner. We suspect it is food poisoning from the mamak shop; we only ate roti telur and maggi goreng with hot milo and ice milo drinks. If it was 1 person, then it could have been anything we ate on Monday during our working hours, but since both of us have it, we conclude it's food poisoning from that shop and we're banning that shop from our list.

jasonjst

does anyone has a good grass cutting service in johor to recommend ? Am using my HH place as weekends home, so cannot be there to supervise. Need a reliable one to do a monthly job at reasonable price.

Why dont you just change the grass to " pearl grass " which dont required cutting at all ?

Jogs1

Yeah... the semi-D is really nice. Gotta act quick, i think there are limited type A & type B left. Type C no more, type D is... not too bad. Type E is horrible.

Ya, type A n B not much left. I'm lucky enough to secure one of type B unit which has morning sun. Just made payment for the first 10k this morning:biggrin:

Actually type D quite good but it's too huge for my small family. U are rite about type E, too many steps to climb, not suitable for retirement... nevertheleds it had it own beauty, exclusive masterbedroom at it own floor.

Ok, think I eligible to say HELLO to my neighbors now:smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

Ok, one of our neighbours, Mr B, has a maintenance biz doing this, i will get his details for you when i see him.

jasonjst

Hello to everyone. I'm currently looking at HH n EL, hopefully will become ur neighbor soon:biggrin:

Jason, envy u has a beautiful home in JB...n must praise ur nice garden as well. Good job!

Price is a little higher now but not too late as price may just go even higher if you wait too long . Just a small investment that you and your future generation can enjoy ! :smile: For me it is my best investment ever !:cool:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Ok latest new, having some food with the family at HH clubhouse, seems some dato just bought a unit here. I was just introduced but a bit embarrassed as i am usually dressed very casually. :smile:

Jogs1

Ok latest new, having some food with the family at HH clubhouse, seems some dato just bought a unit here. I was just introduced but a bit embarrassed as i am usually dressed very casually. :smile:

How's the food at the clubhouse?? Ex??

Nice to know u have Dato as a neighbor. HH indeed very secure n safe place to live:smile:

toolate

talking about the clubhouse...
may have missed out some fine details.. my family were supposed to meet friends at Cathay for dinner on Monday evening. He arrived there first at 7pm and told me there was not a single car around and both the clubhouse makan place and Cathay was closed. Is Monday the restaurants off day? or was it a unique situation. We met at Jusco eventually.

Btw, we had dinner at Cathay a couple of times and liked it there. Its slightly more pricey than Beijing but more private and convenient definitely. Would recommend it. Nice deserts too.

Status
Not open for further replies.