• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jasonjst

I do have other reasons for moving here, but put that aside, strictly for assessing if it is worthwhile:

1) Gas costs me MYR35 x 20 = MYR700 per month ==> same as the S$300 per month i would incur to travel from Bukit Batok to Bedok + local commute daily

2) Toll was $9.20+MYR21.60 = S$18 daily ==> S$360 per month, if i work at office everyday (meaning i could chose to work from home some days) This has now been reduced and it is about S$280 per month.

3) Travelling time: daily to and fro office-bkt batok is 1:30 mins, daily to and fro JB-office is 2hr to 2:30 mins ==> in fact the incremental time is no more than an hour in total daily.

4) Food and Supplies: generally about 30% to 50% cheaper in JB, depending on what you spend on. Hence if meals and household supplies costs S$2000 a month, my savings is about S$600 to S$1000.

5) PUB Bills... my bill was about S$350 per month in SG, i incur about MYR300 per month in JB but with a 2.5hp aircon turned on 24 hrs.

6) House cost: Average S$800k condo in Bkt Batok. Now rented out at S$3k per month = MYR7k. Rented a corner terrace in Nusa Idaman for MYR1k p/mth ==> left with surplus MYR6k per month.

I leave you to do the sums.

I'm a poor man hence these savings are significant for me. The main draw is my huge dog has a big garden to run about, and we have lots of space in a comfortable house, plus nice food.

Plus i can ram my car up to 200kmh every morning. :biggrin:

Hmm ... really anvi your kind of lifestyle ! Too bad that I can't do this now cause
got 3 kids going school at different time of day. Can only join you sometime later , but my "lau pok car" can only go at 140KM/H on full throttle , can't catch up with you at 200KM/H :p

Coolsaint77

Hmm ... really anvi your kind of lifestyle ! Too bad that I can't do this now cause
got 3 kids going school at different time of day. Can only join you sometime later , but my "lau pok car" can only go at 140KM/H on full throttle , can't catch up with you at 200KM/H :p

haha no lah... just boast boast a bit to make living in JB sounds more fun

Weekend home is good but house cannot be too big... otherwise you might spend a lot of time doing house cleaning... even at Nusa Idaman there are a few families who bought corner terrace and come every weekend... there are also those who just leave the house there with long grass because too busy to come...

Coolsaint77

There was a Xmas buffet lunch at East Ledang today, anyone went?
They brought 2 bus loads of Singaporeans.

For some reason they are postponing the official launch of the Phase 8 terraces but just getting people to register, so no official pricing.

The 2 showhouses were done in one week! That would be my aim when it comes to renovating my house lol.

jasonjst

I do have other reasons for moving here, but put that aside, strictly for assessing if it is worthwhile:

1) Gas costs me MYR35 x 20 = MYR700 per month ==> same as the S$300 per month i would incur to travel from Bukit Batok to Bedok + local commute daily

2) Toll was $9.20+MYR21.60 = S$18 daily ==> S$360 per month, if i work at office everyday (meaning i could chose to work from home some days) This has now been reduced and it is about S$280 per month.

3) Travelling time: daily to and fro office-bkt batok is 1:30 mins, daily to and fro JB-office is 2hr to 2:30 mins ==> in fact the incremental time is no more than an hour in total daily.

4) Food and Supplies: generally about 30% to 50% cheaper in JB, depending on what you spend on. Hence if meals and household supplies costs S$2000 a month, my savings is about S$600 to S$1000.

5) PUB Bills... my bill was about S$350 per month in SG, i incur about MYR300 per month in JB but with a 2.5hp aircon turned on 24 hrs.

6) House cost: Average S$800k condo in Bkt Batok. Now rented out at S$3k per month = MYR7k. Rented a corner terrace in Nusa Idaman for MYR1k p/mth ==> left with surplus MYR6k per month.

I leave you to do the sums.

I'm a poor man hence these savings are significant for me. The main draw is my huge dog has a big garden to run about, and we have lots of space in a comfortable house, plus nice food.

Plus i can ram my car up to 200kmh every morning. :biggrin:

Why dont you buy a unit there since you enjoy living in JB ?
Got mind 2yrs back at 400K now is already 560K liao !
Thinking of buying another one but got not enought bullet liao , ha ha :confused:

jasonjst

Weekend home is good but house cannot be too big... otherwise you might spend a lot of time doing house cleaning... even at Nusa Idaman there are a few families who bought corner terrace and come every weekend... there are also those who just leave the house there with long grass because too busy to come...

No lah , was so sick of the long lalang ! Finally get rid of them and make a little garden that require very little maintainance. All diy ...:smile: Can only put 5 pics ?

• 154342_479420469343_650059343_5551244_553699_n.jpg
    154342_479420469343_650059343_5551244_553699_n.jpg
    70.3 KB · Views: 229
  • 154342_479420479343_650059343_5551246_1317011_n.jpg
    154342_479420479343_650059343_5551246_1317011_n.jpg
    90 KB · Views: 226
  • 156871_479415244343_650059343_5551170_5594114_n.jpg
    156871_479415244343_650059343_5551170_5594114_n.jpg
    75 KB · Views: 219
  • 162810_479415249343_650059343_5551171_3094957_n.jpg
    162810_479415249343_650059343_5551171_3094957_n.jpg
    75.3 KB · Views: 235
  • 155271_479415239343_650059343_5551169_1810369_n.jpg
    155271_479415239343_650059343_5551169_1810369_n.jpg
    92.9 KB · Views: 216

jasonjst

Few more here .... on way I can do this in my HDB:smile:

• 155271_479415234343_650059343_5551168_87886_n.jpg
    155271_479415234343_650059343_5551168_87886_n.jpg
    67.7 KB · Views: 232
  • 154342_479420489343_650059343_5551248_4716110_n.jpg
    154342_479420489343_650059343_5551248_4716110_n.jpg
    96.8 KB · Views: 222
  • 25143_115738855120287_100000525201508_183610_2675799_n.jpg
    25143_115738855120287_100000525201508_183610_2675799_n.jpg
    85.7 KB · Views: 204
  • 26093_113237212037118_100000525201508_174508_6931627_n.jpg
    26093_113237212037118_100000525201508_174508_6931627_n.jpg
    53.6 KB · Views: 253

jasonjst

The car prices in Singapore is simply going CRAZY. I was shopping around for a new car recently when I found out that an STI now cost S$170K estimated?! When I was test-driving it just 1-2 years ago, they were selling at S$100K exactly. STI, mind you!

And for other car prices, the increase is ridiculous. AS if coupled with season parking to screw you permanently every month without fail, the government here tries all ways to screw you from all corners with the initial HIGH ERP + LOW COE. Now COE is bloody high ( COE alone in Singapore for Cat B can now buy a Toyota Wish OR TWO toyota Vios in Mudland )

My car insurance is even more surprising. Every year my NCD goes down but my insurance cost goes up! What is this rubbish? It only happens in our dear Singapore. One of my Vans used to cost S$800+ per year for insurance. Last year it was $1200 and this year I almost fainted when I received the renewal form for $2200! How can Sinkie be happy to stay in a place like this I really donno.

I was talking to a regional manager of a major courier firm in JB when he broached the subject of Sinkie buying a JB-plated car and employing drivers at RM 1500/month to drive us in. Not sure about the viability but to a certain extent, it could save us some bucks.

For those old folks without children, I would suggest they rent out their 3 or 4 room HDB for RM 4000 a month and retire like Kings/Queens in Johor Bahru. The government has screwed them big time.

Yah lor , STI cost S170K same price as my freehold JB house ! Maintainance a mth is RM100/= , water is RM4 , electrical is RM25/= (for me) , car park is free !
:smile:

Jogs1

Hello to everyone. I'm currently looking at HH n EL, hopefully will become ur neighbor soon:biggrin:

Jason, envy u has a beautiful home in JB...n must praise ur nice garden as well. Good job!

Coolsaint77

Few more here .... on way I can do this in my HDB:smile:

Nice! I bet the stones outside the fence is done by yourself as well? Which nursery did you buy your stuff from? I go to the one before Taman Sutera.

Seems to me your place is open concept? So they allow you to fence up the whole place except the gate i suppose? I had to sign a covenant for my EL purchase... the covenant which is basically a set of by laws about what you can and what you cannot do to your property. EL is open concept as well.

Coolsaint77

For those old folks without children, I would suggest they rent out their 3 or 4 room HDB for RM 4000 a month and retire like Kings/Queens in Johor Bahru. The government has screwed them big time.

haha saw quite a lot of 40s and 50s people at the EL Xmas party.
I think Khaw Boon Wans's vision of JB becoming retirement village for S'porean is already starting to materialise.. lol

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
"I was talking to a regional manager of a major courier firm in JB when he broached the subject of Sinkie buying a JB-plated car and employing drivers at RM 1500/month to drive us in. Not sure about the viability but to a certain extent, it could save us some bucks. "

Some of my friends were talking about this recently, we should hire someone to just drive us in but then the daily $30 SGD is pretty prohibitive? A friend sms me just now after having lunch with his friends and they were just talking about this.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I deleted a PM too soon, bro weetabix(hope i got it right), you are welcome and let me know if you need more information.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Cannot remember the source now but someone once sent me this:

Singapore will decline like Venice
In the 19th century, the British maintained a hands-off policy. They invested very little for our development. They let Chinese dialect groups and gangs fight one another. They didn’t bother to do LKY-style social engineering. Singapore still grew very fast. It was because we had a great location as a deepwater port of call between East and West.

During our few decades as a nation, we exploited our deepwater port advantage. We built industries that catered to the shipping trade routes inherited from colonial times. We offered value-adding or processing services to ships that brought raw materials or components, and sent these on to their destinations. We capitalized on the colonial legacy of English to draw in Western tourists, build an international business and legal infrastructure, and extend our shipping hub into an airport and MNC headquartering and conferencing hub.

We did not do anything visionary or ‘out of the box’. We merely developed our preexisting advantages to their logical conclusion. These advantages would have been present regardless of which party was in power.

I understand many Singaporeans are trained in our tunnel-vision education system. Many will not know economics. Let me stress that none of our early economic policies require World Class Talent or Graduate Mother IQ. Any O-level economics student (yes, Cambridge offers Econs O level) can analyze our ‘comparative advantage’ and give the same advice.

Singapore also became a place of refuge for people fleeing instability and racism in other Asian countries. That has brought in a lot of investment in both monetary and human capital. In other words, we profited from others’ misery.

As long as our neighbours remain poor, racially polarized and badly governed, we will continue to be more attractive.

But Malaysia and Indonesia are becoming democratic. They are still discriminatory, but this is decreasing. They are making progress in developing their legal and sociopolitical infrastructure. They still have a long way to catch up, but Singapore is steadily becoming less attractive.

We are not the only port near shipping routes. We have always had our regional rivals. Aceh, Penang-Georgetown, Melaka and Jakarta/ Batavia all come to mind. These places have declined because of war, political instability or central government neglect. But do not assume that Aceh will forever be mired in civil war, that Jakarta will perpetually be corrupt, or that Malaysia will forever direct all development to inland Kuala Lumpur. Betting your future on others’ folly is folly itself.

Vietnam, India, China and the Gulf Arabs are also improving rapidly. Yes, we are still ahead in medical services, in education, and pharmaceuticals. But the manufacturing and most value-added pillars of our economy cannot survive competition from these countries. And will they never develop their own education and medical sectors? This is the same kind of arrogant fantasy that presumes the child of a non-graduate mother cannot succeed!

China had the world’s highest GNP per capita during the Song and Ming dynasties. Bengal (Bangladesh plus West Bengal, the area around Kolkata) had a higher GNP per capita than Britain until the late 18th century. 13th century Abbasid Arabs manufactured more industrial products than all Europe until they were destroyed by Genghis Khan. (Arabs made glassware, handguns, precision machinery and even robot toys of the type immortalized in Sinbad the Sailor and Middle-Eastern Wizards’ Golem fantasies. They developed the world’s most advanced hospitals, banks and courier services).

As late as 1830, India and China produced roughly half of global output. Britain had overtaken them in per-capita GNP, but these two countries remained ahead of poorer Eastern European lands.

It is unwise to fantasize that the Middle East, India and China will be forever poor and backward and require Singaporean manufacturing genius to supply them with processed goods. To assume that others are stupid and you are smart is plain folly.

During the 1990s, Singapore placed enormous bets on wafer fabrication like Chartered Semiconductor and the petrochemicals industry on Jurong Island. Now the Arabs are developing their own petrochemicals industry. China is making its own semiconductors. Market rumors even suggest that Chinese firms may make a bid for Chartered.

You don’t need a first class honours from Cambridge to realize that it doesn’t make sense to spend huge sums reclaiming Jurong Island to build a petrochemicals industry when we produce no oil and consume so little. Any O-level economics student can tell you the same. Why would the UAE and Saudi Arabia export crude thousands of km to us and pay us for refined products exported back to them? Why would China buy refined products from us if they can refine the crude at source in Kazakhstan? Other producers built their own refineries, so now Jurong Island is being kept afloat primarily by oil from Indonesia and Bunei.

We cannot even expect Indonesia not to develop its own refining industry. During the Suharto years Indonesia exported crude for foreign exchange so it did not care to do its own refining. As Indonesia industrializes it will increasingly make sense to locate oil refining in Indonesia, right where both the production and the market are.

And what about the semiconductors? Again, any O level economics student should tell you to locate a wafer fabrication plant where land is more plentiful, where engineers are cheap, where water is easily available, where there are many related industries (electronics plants) and where there is a huge domestic market. China and Taiwan have all these. Do we?

LKY and PAP have spent the last few decades praising themselves as geniuses with exceptional foresight. Are they? Even worse, they keep assuming other people are equally lacking in foresight!

Singapore has placed enormous bets on some of the most expensive casinos ever built. And now Taiwan is building casinos on Kinmen and Penghu. Cheap land, cheap labour, cheap food, beautiful scenery, real Chinese-speaking, within swimming distance from China. Should we bet that Chinese gamblers will choose Singapore instead?

Singapore gave UBS our biggest residential property, Command House, just before the banking sector crashed. Now UBS is sacking entire private banking teams in Singapore.

From 2006 onwards, the U.S. media, veteran investors and mainstream economists were increasingly warning of a real estate bubble and impending crisis. During the same time Singapore liberalized its laws on property sales and loosened regulations on the financial sector. The property market is declining steeply now. Many developers have bought ultra-expensive en bloc estates that they must develop to pay back their loans. More property is scheduled to enter the market in 2010 and 2011 than ever in our history. At a time when we are shedding a record number of jobs and more foreigners are leaving.

You don’t need O levels to figure out what will happen to the property market. You don’t need A levels to figure that if Singapore banks are making loans to businesses, investors, REITs and individuals using property as collateral, the future doesn’t look rosy.

Should we praise LKY and PAP for their vision?

Let me conclude with a warning:

Venice was a rich, thriving port for many years despite its autocratic government. Then it declined and fell into genteel obscurity. Today Venice is a sinking city, swamped by rising sea levels, visited by tourists only.

In the 1980s the government once compared us with Venice. Is a Venetian future awaiting us?

As the government has said so many times, we are dependent on others. We rely on foreign orders. Our economy needs foreigners. We ride on their coattails.

In the past, we were able to progress by offering what others did not have. Low Crime. Stability. Rule of Law. Efficiency. Lack of Corruption. But none of these things are unique to Singapore. All of our advantages can be replicated in other countries. And bit by bit, they are.

Big countries always take a long time to develop. LKY will not live to see Indonesia or India or China rise to first world status, and develop their own economies to the point when they have no need of Singapore. He will not live to see Aceh reclaim its 13th-17th century place as the greatest Southeast Asian port.

Unlike us.

We almost certainly will see Java regain its 11-13th century position as one corner of an economic triangle linking China/Northeast Asia with Southeast Asia and India/the Arabs.

What lies ahead of us if we lack truly visionary leaders who can lead us into the future? What will happen when our neighbours develop themselves? What will happen as the children of elites pass straight through Raffles, get scholarships and take power as the next generation of elites? Will they continue to pay themselves multi-million dollar salaries, suppress all criticism and award themselves ever-higher titles and posts? 5 Deputy Prime Ministers and 5 Senior Ministers, perhaps? Will they continue living in their own SPH-manufactured fantasy world, relying on foreigners to keep us going?

Decline rarely happens quickly. We are a stable country and remain so for the foreseeable future. We will not collapse in riots and civil war. But if things should continue moving in the same direction, we will slide into genteel poverty. Because it is too expensive to live here, non-elite people who don’t have high paying civil service jobs and health-pension benefits will leave. Over time, we will become a quiet, depopulated backwater like Venice where tourists outnumber locals at any time.

Is that what you want?

weetabix

Bro Wuqi,

Just wanted to thank you for advice.
Saying "Hello" to all on this lively forum.
New addition to the HH community at the Golf.

Agree with the tight security , tried to get someone to go into property to help cut and maintain grass while I am not there ... security denied entry.

How to bros here maintain lawn and landscape work ? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Coolsaint77

The only thing obvious to me is, with the huge cost differential between SG and its surrounding neighbours, there is a very high chance the gap will be narrowed over time.

If the Malaysian government cares to improve governance, in particular arresting crime rate and executing projects successfully, it will be really good for our investments. As i always said, they just need to score 5 out of 10.

As quickly as foreign funds pour into Singapore, it can flee equally fast in times of uncertainty. The good thing is infrastructure, law and order are well in place hence we might not see massive change in Singapore during my life time :-p

A lot of us are thankful the country has enriched us in assets, so for those who are willing to cash out, many has become instant millionaires. I missed the cycle hence i have to accept my fate that i may never make money from property in SG. I hope to be luckier in JB... sigh

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi Danteakc, i understand, would you want to delete that so that we maintain your privacy?
I am pretty sure i pointed out earlier but from my experience, i would avoid this bank.

You can PM me. I would think the best would be to go down there, talk about this nicely and threaten to speak to the consumer protection folks in JB if all else fails.

The $2k is just ridiculous and seems to serve to arm twist you into the deal but did you really ignore their calls, etc? It may be necessary to go down and speak with the bank manager as emails and phones may not always be the best way to go about this.

Status
Not open for further replies.