• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

More PAP sad stories - Family lived on a tin of biscuits for weeks

By Judith Tan and Audrey Tan
The New Paper
Monday, Jan 21, 2013

PEOPLE'S Action Party (PAP) candidate Koh Poh Koon said he knows what is like to be poor.

Speaking at the first campaign rally of this by-election, the 40-year-old colorectal surgeon told a crowd that growing up, his family of seven had to share a kuning fish (yellowstripe scad).

"My mum would strip the fish bare of all the flesh, mesh it up, mix it in the porridge and flavour it with some soya sauce. And that was all we'd get for a meal," he said, adding that his mother would eat only the bones, fish head and tail.

"There were times when we could not even afford this. A tin of biscuits given by my uncle would be the ration for the whole family for a couple of weeks," he said.

Having lived through poverty, Dr Koh felt he would be able to empathise with the issues of the lower-income families. He told the crowd that hope, family and action have shaped him and made him what he is today.

"And I humbly offer myself to be at your service, to be your MP," he said.

Dr Koh also spelt out plans for Punggol East. They include:

- A new community club located near Rivervale Plaza, which is expected to be completed by July; n Pushing for earlier implementation of the dual- carriage LRT;

- Working with residents and transport operators on introducing feeder bus services for residents living in the peripheral areas to connect with the rail;

- Looking into integrated eldercare facilities and comprehensive health screening for the elderly;

- Plans to extend the capacity of the childcare centre at Block 195 and to build more childcare facilities in the community;

- Asking the Education Ministry to expand after- school care within the schools in Punggol East;

- Exploring the possibility of making more coffee shops available in Punggol East;

- Setting up a job placement centre, together with the monthly food distribution programme to help families experiencing difficulties get back on "their own two feet".

Also addressing residents of Punggol East, Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean said the party is carrying out all the programmes it promised during the General Election in 2011.

"Poh Koon will build upon the good work that has been done in the past... I intend to appoint Poh Koon to the Town Council's welfare committee, (to) look into how we can better assist those residents who are facing financial difficulties... This will ensure continuity, that your home, your estate, your families continue to be well looked after," he said.

Also weighing in was Education Minister Heng Swee Kiat,who called Dr Koh"a good man".

Spirit of service

"His peers respect him. His patients trust him. His soldiers are prepared to soldier on with him. He has a spirit of service. Give him an opportunity to serve you in three ways:

As your MP to help you if you have difficulties;

- As a member of the Pasir Ris-Punggol Town Council to improve the estates and facilities ...

- As your voice in Parliament, and more importantly, as your voice to the ministries on issues that you are concerned with,"Mr Heng said.

Resident Joseph Lee, 42, a project manager, said both the PAP and the Workers' Party seemed more active in the constituency.

He said: "Definitely, we have to select an MP who can raise issues like housing and the cost of living." Another resident, Mr Norshahril Saat, 29, a PhD student who is is back in Singapore for field research, said that he is looking for a candidate who "can fulfil promises".

He said: "Some of the issues would be the (renovation of) Rivervale Plaza and the municipal and national issues that overlap, like transport, housing and population."

Madam Tee Ah Hong, 55, a resident and Chinese calligraphy enthusiast, said before the rally: "I'm always excited about voting... We residents are quite simple. If we have any problems, we hope they can help us. Even if you're not voted (in), but still look after us, you'll have another chance."

She had written a Chinese couplet for Dr Koh, which said: "PAP promises true capability, Punggol East residents vote for Dr Koh."

Speaking to reporters after the rally, Dr Koh said he felt energised "because they (the residents) stood in the rain, cheered and supported me".

"They gave me a lot of strength and energy," he added.

His wife and two daughter also attended his maiden rally.

[email protected]

If he truly empathize with the poor, why has he done anything prior to joining the PAP? Surely, he could have provided free services to those who seek his expertise but could not afford his fees.

You judge a person by his actions, not his spin. He's spinning away. But his actions do not match up with his spin.

looneytan

biscuit%20tin-%20big%20-.png

" "My mum would strip the fish bare of all the flesh, mesh it up, mix it in the porridge and flavour it with some soya sauce. And that was all we'd get for a meal," he said, adding that his mother would eat only the bones, fish head and tail.

Wow sibey touching hor :wink: can tell he's trying to hard to win votes . :wink:

how come he never say he sell his backside to earn a living to feed his sick and old mum last time.

so he decided to work hard in selling more of his ass and then save up to train up to be an Ass doctor to treat all sinkie Ass.

After so much he has gone through, he decided to help all Asses in the world, thanks to his mum for giving him Ass encouragement.

I wonder how many sympathy votes is he going to get with the constant flow of sad tales of this 'poor' cancer specialist from Mount Elizabeth Hospital?

songsongjurong

practically begging for sympathy vote,seem he is the only grew up in poor family.

incredible tales......

my poor neighbour then , bread dip in plain water...

practically begging for sympathy vote,seem he is the only grew up in poor family.

incredible tales......

my poor neighbour then , bread dip in plain water...

I have dipped my roti in "ang chee gu ni" for breakfast, & eaten plain rice with soya sauce for lunch & just vegetables for dinner when young, he is not the only one. He so poor thing...

TuaGow

a very sad story for another sinkie. pap pigs should give them more help and not helping those ah tiong, ah neh and pinoy who keep coming to make life even worse for these sad families.

sad stories and sad movies always make me cry.....i will vote for the candidate who made me cry the most....hehe

Uncle , using emotion to think is very dangerous whether its for voting or in a sticky situation .

i agree sifu.emotions always blind and delude us. but uncle is a very emotional old man...cry easily, laugh easily and vote easily...haha

Poor? What poor? Everybody has a car where got poor?

[video=youtube;ty8qo0uvBxE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=ty8qo0uvBxE[/video]

godiva

PAP owned media kelong again today.

Saw on todayonline web version for today's BE news coverage.

PAP : 1/2 page
SDA : 1/2 page
RP : 1/4 page

even SDP not competing in BE : 1/4 page

WP : 1/8 page.

:mad:

PAP now trying to drum up support even for SDA and RP to dilute WP's votes :oIo:

kiwibird7

If he truly empathize with the poor, why has he done anything prior to joining the PAP? Surely, he could have provided free services to those who seek his expertise but could not afford his fees.

You judge a person by his actions, not his spin. He's spinning away. But his actions do not match up with his spin.

The PAP was in power for more than 50 yrs under the leadership of LKY then GCT; the time when this 40 + yr old chap was eating Ikan Kuning porridge and biscuits in a tin, so poor thing. That would be around the early 80s or after 20 yrs of PAP rule and nothing much was done for the poor and under privileged even after 20 yrs of PAP rule!

NOTHING has changed much for the PAP then, now and the future. To think this arse doctor is going to make a monumental mindset change in the PAP is PURE DELUSION.

batman1

i agree sifu.emotions always blind and delude us. but uncle is a very emotional old man...cry easily, laugh easily and vote easily...haha

Koh thinks he is from poor childhood.Does he really know what is poor ?
Has he seen families sharing 1 apple cut into 8 pieces ?
Has he seen familes eating plain porridge and smelling a small piece of salted fish hanging in the air ?
Come on,Do u all think a high class mortal understand the daily problems of the lesser mortals ?
Moreover,Even if he understand he also cannot do anything cos his hands and legs are straitjacketd , mouth masking-taped and eyes blind-folded.
Think about it over breakfast.Who will cry for Singapura ?

commoner

KNN,, if his mother had met LKY in the past, LKY would have put spurs on his mother's and father's ass,,,,,

why drag his mother into the picture? I don't think his mother is so useless and he had to keep bringing how bad his mother brought him up,,,

KNN CB Kia,,, 夭寿