how much 1 stick? ...the auntie selling malt sugar candy along Holland Village... the last few surviving ones, i always buy the candy from her

I always prefer to scoop a teaspoonful of honey into my mouth than to put all that sticky gummy stuff over all my teeth.
Ok lor,
since you so experienced, I will listen to you.![]()
Old no good , meh?
Old then this thread got credibility, mah.![]()
check, check, how many here above 50 years old.?![]()
damn,you guys brought a tear to my eye....
those bygone days when singapore belongs to singaporeans......
The carrot cake was wrapped in the green leaf, in whch the seller would wipe with his cloth, which he wipes other things too..ha ha..no NEA those days..we survive the germs & food poisoning...no one died!...bring your own egg...and add to the carrot cake..some evern bring along some sliced pork..carrot cake with a good dose od "bak chor"..pork fats and plenty of oil, sweet sauce, chilli sauce...just simply smells wonderful..hmmm..good for heart attack too...who cares!..and not HALAL..and who cares in those days...
Life was so carefree...one eat to live, live to eat!!!![]()
Wa, this thread only all the Ah Lao and Lao Yanky will be so happy to post.
My grand uncle today tell me his favourite also got that laksa man carry the laksa curry pot and huge basket for his bowls and other barang-barang on a bamboo stick on his shoulder, said got real fragrant "dayum kesum".
Then he also said he missed those duck meat (Ah-Bak) man which also let you roll dice in a big porcelain bowl like casino like that, dam shiork.
But got no photo to show me, I also don't know what is like. Hope some old grand uncle can post some old photos?
Then we have Char Kway Teow man with his wicker basket with a stick slung over his shoulders, one wicker with his wok & charcoal coker, and ther other his ingredients & bowls etc..
The Bish ball noodle man same as above..
The Karchang putih Indian man, that balances the square wooden rack on his head, 5cts for various types of nuts, and 20c for cashew nuts...he even have a lucky dip with colored stick...to win one more roll of karchang putih or thegrand price of cashew nuts.
Scroobal started a similar thread some days back. Wondre if we could merge.
There's the guy who hit two bamboo pieces together in a musical tattoo ard tiong Bahru and took orders for meepok. Residents on upper floors dangled basket with a rope and change to pay for and collect the food.
The yong tau foo seller or the loh mei guy on his tricycle with the sauces in glasses at the front of the tri. The tricycle is the type with 2 wheels in front and 1 at rear.
The Chinese/Malay guys who carried satay grill/laksa/meesiam/meerebus on a bakar pole.
And the kacang puteh man on his bicycle.
Besides, mobile food, can I also add the guy who came around to sell light soya sauce in big kerosene tins and if you want only a bottle, he has a mechanical pump to draw out the stuff.
How abt the roaming barber who carries his briefcase of trade tools and you supply a chair or stool for him to cut yr hair there by the five foot way?
I remember the roaming barber, wah you must have lived in ulu places like pungol or tampines. I never trusted him at all, I don't know why. He was usually a chinese barber. I preferred to get my haircut from an Indian barber who than pounded your back afterwards. Shiok.
<
I had my hair cut by those CHINESE barber, forced to, came out looking like twhat we call, the HYLAM TAU... 3 by 4 crew cut!, SWORE from that day, on, I get mine cut by the Indian, who slap your back thereafter twist your neck & douse you with their threes sisters COLOGNE WATER! or the Malay Barber...mine was Sri Dewa at Orchard Rd...those who know, know where it is...![]()
Oh yeah, I think I remember this. This is the carrot cake u eat with the toothpick. Itsthe dark one with rectangle shape carrot cakes, fried with the dark sweet sauce as opposed to the one where its more scrambled, and fried with the light soya sauce. Didn't they put it on the bleach white leaf (the same one used for the Rochore mee/Hokkien mee) rather than the green leaf? Love to add the eggs to it. heehee.
m.
Like I was telling the other posters the PAP has turned sinkies into eunuchs.
The white leaf came after...the green leaf ones, used to be popular...the carrot cake doesn't come with egg, egg extra, or bring your own! or add your own ingreddients too, like I had said, pork or even squid!!![]()
Today familee can make easy millions without any effort only have to look at LHL. :( If you have mandarins you have eunuchs.
Other than food vendors I remember people going around selling chinese newspaper papers by shouting but didn't see the same for the english papers![]()
I remember the roaming barber, wah you must have lived in ulu places like pungol or tampines. I never trusted him at all, I don't know why. He was usually a chinese barber. I preferred to get my haircut from an Indian barber who than pounded your back afterwards. Shiok.
<
I had my hair cut by those CHINESE barber, forced to, came out looking like twhat we call, the HYLAM TAU... 3 by 4 crew cut!, SWORE from that day, on, I get mine cut by the Indian, who slap your back thereafter twist your neck & douse you with their threes sisters COLOGNE WATER! or the Malay Barber...mine was Sri Dewa at Orchard Rd...those who know, know where it is...![]()
Oh yeah, the neck twisting required skill. I used to go to them as a scrawny 10 year old. I remember one time, I was getting my haircut at the Indian barber, and one tall angmo came in for a haircut. He had to wait his turn. So, after watching the other patrons get slapped on the back, and neck twisted, etc. He refused to undergo it, just only took the haircut. Chicken shit. Skinny little kid like me can tahan the back slap, and all that, and he cannot.To this day. I marvel I never got a broken neck!
Remember the Indian Barber, used to have those wooden swing doors, just like the ones in the Westerns, where the sherif or the bad guys walk in through the swing doors...![]()