• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mobile Food Sellers of Yesteryear

Heard that EW Barker went there for haircuts :D

Those days Orchard Rd wasn't so expensive back then & there was no Sri Dewi back then

Sometimes had my hair cut at Clementi, back then it was rather ulu place. The chinese barber there had a kind of shack :)

Who says...Sri Dewa, was at the back of the Old Heeren building..in the back...where I use to cut my hair, until they demolished the place...:p

Don,t forget the thick leather belt the mama swipe up and down. I think its used for sharpening the blade for shaving sideburn...hahaha..

That was when I had first hand experience of "slapping leather'...remember the old chinese barber, used to have this light bulb on the stand...and they do, ear cleaning as well......

well, I never, wanted my ears to be cleaned..never used the Chinese barbers, except the first one that gave me the 3 x 4, Hylam look...:D

Me also grow up in Kim Pong Rd, but never see mobile barber. My malay barbers one near the bridge that spans the drain between kim tian rd & kim pong rd, the other malay barber shop near the outram road - eng hoon street side near a house temple....

The barber shop got Beano, Dennis the Menace, Roy of the Rovers comics .... I LIKE :D

I used to live in Tiong Bahru Estate too..but for only two years..and two short memorable years..I know what you are talking about...

Remember there was an old quaint Ladies Hair Salon called was it "Nancy" or "Lucy" or...that use to front Tion Bahru Rd....indirect where TB Plaza is today, amonsgt the furniture store...

It was around until it was demolished years ago...

I never knew what was going on in T Bahru estate until I was grown up....anyway I can still lyrical about the place... the bird corner, the old market & community centre... the bakery...the old post office... the old primary school, and those who know T Bahru... "Bo Bo San"...now two towers of swanky condos...:p

and the distributors for SUNMAID - raisins & sultanas, where I would buy six small boxes and eat at almost one go!.

That is at Eng Hoon Street, the old temple is still there.. near where Hotel 81 is today... ha ha ha:D

Me also grow up in Kim Pong Rd, but never see mobile barber. My malay barbers one near the bridge that spans the drain between kim tian rd & kim pong rd, the other malay barber shop near the outram road - eng hoon street side near a house temple....

The barber shop got Beano, Dennis the Menace, Roy of the Rovers comics .... I LIKE :D

I remember those comics. I liked the war ones, under the brand Commandoes or something like that. They were half the size of the regular comics. I recall there was a wet/open market in Marine PArade, i used to patronise a comic store there. Or else, go to national library, and borrow books, and than walk a short distance to MPH and read books for free there in aircon comfort. Rarely could afford to buy a book at MPH though.:D Dun know what happened to my comic collection now.

Who says...Sri Dewa, was at the back of the Old Heeren building..in the back...where I use to cut my hair, until they demolished the place...:p

The Heeren building site had a clusterr of 2 story buildings. Remember having a haircut at the corner where there was a barber/saloon , next to the shop selling fur, coats,...but did know about Sri Dewa. Otherwise sure to go :D

In later years I would go to one of the Sri Dewa outlets, the one located in Norfolk Rd.

I remember those comics. I liked the war ones, under the brand Commandoes or something like that. They were half the size of the regular comics. I recall there was a wet/open market in Marine PArade, i used to patronise a comic store there. Or else, go to national library, and borrow books, and than walk a short distance to MPH and read books for free there in aircon comfort. Rarely could afford to buy a book at MPH though.:D Dun know what happened to my comic collection now.

I miss Stamford Rd MPH, used to be my LIBRARY after the one across the street, like you, were the generation of free browsers at MPH. When I started working I had more money, I bought a lot of books, novels, etc from MPH. Some of the collection from the timeback is now classics in modern fiction, books from Harrod Robbins, Jacqueline Suzanne, Joseph Wambaugh, Sidney Sheldon, who else....Han Suyin novels, most of them... I bought Dr.Mahatair Red Colored cover, "The Malay Dilema" from MPH, before ot was banned!...

MPH later years was too sterile....even though they had a cafe at mid level & the CD shop at top level....the cafe used to serve decent food & coffee..

I miss MPH...btw the lady cashier knows mw my sight back then...for I spent most of school days there...and later after work browsing...

:p

My old KopiTiam Ah Pek uncle buddy say there also got one old aquarium used to be along the same row of shops near Specialist Shopping Center, that shop known as something like Sabab Center or sound like that.

He said this aquarium shop is very narrow and very very deep in, a very long and deep shop, with many good fishes for sale.

Then he also got tell me Macho Ranchu story, I so happy to listen.

The Heeren building site had a clusterr of 2 story buildings. Remember having a haircut at the corner where there was a barber/saloon , next to the shop selling fur, coats,...but did know about Sri Dewa. Otherwise sure to go :D

In later years I would go to one of the Sri Dewa outlets, the one located in Norfolk Rd.

It was SRI DEWA....can recongnize the barbers there, used to have my favorite..we all have our preferences......:D

I remember those comics. I liked the war ones, under the brand Commandoes or something like that. They were half the size of the regular comics. I recall there was a wet/open market in Marine PArade, i used to patronise a comic store there....

The Commando comics:eek:

Last month while I was browsing in Popular(in JB's City Sq)I saw a compilation collection of the best of Commando comics. Same size but hard bound. It seems that they're still popular:D

Is the comic store in the wet/open mkt in Marine Parade called Silver Kris:confused: They were originally located on Marshal Rd at Katong. Used to go there for my comics. :)

I miss Stamford Rd MPH,... I bought Dr.Mahatair Red Colored cover, "The Malay Dilema" from MPH,:p

Same same, that MPH Building & outlet has character .... so many split levels, the sub-basement sells dictionaries, then the stairs up to the mezzanine, left side sell cards from Hallmark & American (always buy Valentine cards from there), right side I can't remember leow ... this is before the later cafetaria re-design, 3rd floor children's books, I got my 3 Investigators, Hardy Boys & Enid Blyton fix in the late 60s & 70s there ... 4th floor almost attic like, also got sale items....
oh yes, I also got buy Madhatters' Malay Dilemma, not red color cover I think, but the words in Bold Red against white background I think ....
Ground floor, always browse the latest Harold Robbins books/ Irving Wallace 'Fan Club' etc for free & flip & look for sex scene narrations :D

memories .... then become MPH Member, subsequent outlets like MPH Robinson, MPH Centrepoint, MPH Parkway Parade .... now it seems MPH has downsized so much ....

Of course, the other book attraction - remember Bras Basah's row of Indian bookstores ..... from Rendezvous Restaurant side start ... the 2nd hand book store got Fanfare, Cosmopolitan magazines, there was a Thai astrology shop along the way ........all the way down to the corner of Waterloo St .... with all the 10-year series, geography maps for you to do project, textbooks....

This type of mom-pop size bookstores the remnants can be found in Bras Bash Book Complex now, but they are a dying breed ....

What about those cowboy comics - Buck Jones, Kit Carson, Billy the Kid, Buffalo Bill, Lone Ranger.....?? I dont see them on ebay or anywhere else. I guess they are even impossible to find now in the U.S. due to the demonising and ridiculing of the Red Indians in them. Now they called the Red Indians First Nations.

Of course, the other book attraction - remember Bras Basah's row of Indian bookstores ..... from Rendezvous Restaurant side start ... the 2nd hand book store got Fanfare, Cosmopolitan magazines, there was a Thai astrology shop along the way ...........

Got my 1st copy of playboy from one of those shops :D

Same same, that MPH Building & outlet has character .... so many split levels, the sub-basement sells dictionaries, then the stairs up to the mezzanine, left side sell cards from Hallmark & American (always buy Valentine cards from there)>

Of course, the other book attraction - remember Bras Basah's row of Indian bookstores ..... from Rendezvous Restaurant side start ... the 2nd hand book store got Fanfare, Cosmopolitan magazines, there was a Thai astrology shop along the way ........all the way down to the corner of Waterloo St .... with all the 10-year series, geography maps for you to do project, textbooks....

This type of mom-pop size bookstores the remnants can be found in Bras Bash Book Complex now, but they are a dying breed ....

Bought most of my Enid Blyton's from MPH, also the Beano, Dandy Comics plus the annuals.. all my cards were bought from them, from Valentine, Birthday to Christmas...Hallmarks etc.. ahh!..FANFARE..anyone have a visual copy of that magazine? I lost my entire collection from issue 1 to last issue..."sarabat Talk, Kichi boy"...Paik Choo.Siva Choy....

The Bras Basah Row from Rendevous, would be THE SAINT, was it Mubarak & Sons?, where we have to buy our school textbook from?, a sporst shop, where I use to string my badminton racket, later years my squash & Tennis...glue my ping pong bat with fast/slow rubbers, trying to emulate the Chinese players of our time ha ha ...in between a FORTUNE TELLER, a Shoe Maker ( not cobbler), where you cut out the design from CQ magazine, go there & make a decent copy to wear... and a coffee shop that sells quite good wanton mee...and all the second hand books shops there, mostly Indians...

The boys from SJI, ACS, and convent girls..would know this row by heart:D

I miss Stamford Rd MPH, used to be my LIBRARY after the one across the street, like you, were the generation of free browsers at MPH. When I started working I had more money, I bought a lot of books, novels, etc from MPH. Some of the collection from the timeback is now classics in modern fiction, books from Harrod Robbins, Jacqueline Suzanne, Joseph Wambaugh, Sidney Sheldon, who else....Han Suyin novels, most of them... I bought Dr.Mahatair Red Colored cover, "The Malay Dilema" from MPH, before ot was banned!...

MPH later years was too sterile....even though they had a cafe at mid level & the CD shop at top level....the cafe used to serve decent food & coffee..

I miss MPH...btw the lady cashier knows mw my sight back then...for I spent most of school days there...and later after work browsing...

:p

I was in the military section most of the time. Saved up my money to buy 1 hardbound thick encyclopedia on aircraft. Got scolded by my mom.:) Just judging by this thread, it seems that we have a lot of common shared experiences, likely we ran into each other or may know each other. :D Yeah, that MPH at Stamford road was like my second home and the meeting point for many of my dates and kakis. From there, easy to walk to cheap makan places and movie at capitol, etc. Great times. never to be seen again.:(

Got my 1st copy of playboy from one of those shops :D

psst plus those naked ones with the various positions in B&W from the under the table...at a cost of course from the sneaky Indians...

that was before the internet....and also Hustlers...and what else.. no Sammyboy also...

:D

The Commando comics:eek:

Last month while I was browsing in Popular(in JB's City Sq)I saw a compilation collection of the best of Commando comics. Same size but hard bound. It seems that they're still popular:D

Is the comic store in the wet/open mkt in Marine Parade called Silver Kris:confused: They were originally located on Marshal Rd at Katong. Used to go there for my comics. :)

Yes, that isthe one. Its Silver Kris. They used to sell used Playboys too. :D I was too young to buy it than. But the artists on Commando books were really great, the drawings of Spits and ME 109s very acurate.

U bring up a good point. I think many of these reminiscences of our younger days might still be found in JB. the food, comic books, and in general the atmosphere might still be there. I know in those old towns that died when the NS highway opened, like Ipoh, a kopitiam is still a kopitiam in the original location. like the White Coffee shop there.

Bought most of my Enid Blyton's from MPH, also the Beano, Dandy Comics plus the annuals..
The Bras Basah Row from Rendevous, would be THE SAINT, was it Mubarak & Sons?, where we have to buy our school textbook from?, a sporst shop, where I use to string my badminton racket, later years my squash & Tennis...... and a coffee shop that sells quite good wanton mee...and all the
The boys from SJI, ACS, and convent girls..would know this row by heart:D

Yes, how I can forget ANNUALS - from all the EPL club annuals, to Noddy & Pelehant Annuals ....

Me too, string my Slazanger / Ascott / Dunlop / Grays Squash Racket strings there...

Wow ! I totally forgot .. you know about that WONTON MEE shop ! Amazing ... that old lady & the small stuffy shop but excellent WONTON !

Damn it, you must be a fellow ORA ET LABORA boy .....:D

I was in the military section most of the time. Saved up my money to buy 1 hardbound thick encyclopedia on aircraft. Got scolded by my mom.:) Just judging by this thread, it seems that we have a lot of common shared experiences, likely we ran into each other or may know each other. :D Yeah, that MPH at Stamford road was like my second home and the meeting point for many of my dates and kakis. From there, easy to walk to cheap makan places and movie at capitol, etc. Great times. never to be seen again.:(

We may have, in the 'sands of time back' have bumped into each other..that was also my meetng place for friends...gf's..

Ate at Armenian Street coffe shop, where the Char Kway Teow man & the Ngoh Hiang Man was...with the homemade barley...at two generations of food there, from the old man to his son & the Ngoh Hiang man till he retired to his niece...and then now the place is demolished...ahh!! Walmer clinic next to MPH & The New Shanghai Resturant thereafter...

The Wanton Noodle at the National Library Coffee shop was good, & the Malay Nasi Campur store too...

Now that area...is devoid of LIFE..:mad:

Yes, how I can forget ANNUALS - from all the EPL club annuals, to Noddy & Pelehant Annuals ....

Me too, string my Slazanger / Ascott / Dunlop / Grays Squash Racket strings there...

Wow ! I totally forgot .. you know about that WONTON MEE shop ! Amazing ... that old lady & the small stuffy shop but excellent WONTON !

Damn it, you must be a fellow ORA ET LABORA boy .....:D

OMG Grays....my Grays broke at the handle....used an Ascort for a long time, still have that raquet....for tennis I use Prince, then wanted to be like BORG, bought his raquet...ha ha ha...

Yeah...the football annuals also..plus the small pocket books annuals, where I once was crazy about aircrafts...

:D

Kim Pong Rd - where King's Theatre was- is actually on the fringes of TB, and since yr stay was only 2 years, you cld have missed out plenty that happened in the core where I stayed for the best 12 years of my boyhood - around Guan Chuan/Chay Yan/Yong Siak Streets and there was a grass field bounded by these streets where we used to play football or catch the breeze in the evenings. Now it's a carpark. "See Kah Ting" 4 legged temple -home of the triads- was at the bend of Yong Siak St/Moh Guan Terrace, has gone long ago, as have BoboTan. There was a field known as the triangular field for its shape further on next to the market but now it seems more rectangular.

I used to live in Tiong Bahru Estate too..but for only two years..and two short memorable years..I know what you are talking about...

Remember there was an old quaint Ladies Hair Salon called was it "Nancy" or "Lucy" or...that use to front Tion Bahru Rd....indirect where TB Plaza is today, amonsgt the furniture store...

It was around until it was demolished years ago...

I never knew what was going on in T Bahru estate until I was grown up....anyway I can still lyrical about the place... the bird corner, the old market & community centre... the bakery...the old post office... the old primary school, and those who know T Bahru... "Bo Bo San"...now two towers of swanky condos...:p

and the distributors for SUNMAID - raisins & sultanas, where I would buy six small boxes and eat at almost one go!.

That is at Eng Hoon Street, the old temple is still there.. near where Hotel 81 is today... ha ha ha:D