• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mobile Food Sellers of Yesteryear

damn,you guys brought a tear to my eye....
those bygone days when singapore belongs to singaporeans......

damn,you guys brought a tear to my eye....
those bygone days when singapore belongs to singaporeans......

It was reallu UNIQUELY SINGAPORE..in fact, we have many we can call 'fusion' food, that is culled from different races to be UNIQUELY SINGapore, only thing is, we are never bother to spend that kind of money to promote...

For example: Mee Siam
we have a few variation of differing taste for Mee Siam, I start with a few:

(1)The "ram' Indian Vendors, with the pink bee hoon, sweet tasting with I think lemon grass gravy, top with 'tau gua' ( Bean), a dollop of hot chilli paste.

(2)The Malay version, with Assam ( tamarind), shallots, chillies with semi-clear broth...and a dollop of hot chilli paste also

(3)The Chinese version, almost the same as the above, with more Assam & peanuts grounded into paste with clear broth or those with lemon grass added.

Chicken Rice by The Hainanese

or

The Nasi Lemak, the various variations;
(1) Malay with the small deep friend fish ( Ikan kuning?), Ikan billis (anchovies), Cucumber, fold over egg, chiili paste , coconut lemak rice in banana leaf.

(2)Chinese version with coconut lemak rice, with chicken wings, eggs.etc

and can add the Indian version with gravies, plus pandan flavoure rice etc...

You can call this and many others..UNIQUELY SINGAPORE...not that your SINgapore ( that belongs to the foreigners!)..
:rolleyes:

1) the old aunty who carried 2 metal containers with a stick in between (like pigsy) selling chee cheong fun and fried mee/mee hoon.

2) the chinese uncle on a tricycle selling fried carrot cakes (u can bring your own egg somemore).

3) the uncle selling living on the 1st storey of my old hdb flat selling satay outside his doorstep.

Really bring back good memories althought i am not that old to know some of the stalls mentioned. One of my neighbour father complains abt the food standards nowadays. He said mostly of the stalls food are sold by prc. These prc dont know abt our Singapore taste.

Sometimes i wonder how these prc can sell laksa or lor mee.
!&!!

Wow! Did not know that there are so many Ting Ting Candy lovers here!

The ones they sell these days taste lousy. :mad:

Wow! Did not know that there are so many Ting Ting Candy lovers here!

The ones they sell these days taste lousy. :mad:

The last Ting Tang Candy seller, in my area walk for Kilometeres to sell his wares...children told him to retire, but he kept on going, he didn't need the money...just something to keep him busy...

I think with licencing from NEA...or he had passed away killed the ting tang seller... it was one of the best candy...it just melts in your mouth..

the ones selling today...not worth a tasting..

1) the old aunty who carried 2 metal containers with a stick in between (like pigsy) selling chee cheong fun and fried mee/mee hoon.

2) the chinese uncle on a tricycle selling fried carrot cakes (u can bring your own egg somemore).

3) the uncle selling living on the 1st storey of my old hdb flat selling satay outside his doorstep.

The carrot cake was wrapped in the green leaf, in whch the seller would wipe with his cloth, which he wipes other things too..ha ha..no NEA those days..we survive the germs & food poisoning...no one died!...bring your own egg...and add to the carrot cake..some evern bring along some sliced pork..carrot cake with a good dose od "bak chor"..pork fats and plenty of oil, sweet sauce, chilli sauce...just simply smells wonderful..hmmm..good for heart attack too...who cares!..and not HALAL..and who cares in those days...

Life was so carefree...one eat to live, live to eat!!!;)

the auntie selling malt sugar candy along Holland Village... the last few surviving ones, i always buy the candy from her

"mak ar tong'?..the ones they twill on sticks?..still selling?...these are the candy the DENTIST RECOMMEND!:D haven't eaten this for a long time..:p

Really bring back good memories althought i am not that old to know some of the stalls mentioned. One of my neighbour father complains abt the food standards nowadays. He said mostly of the stalls food are sold by prc. These prc dont know abt our Singapore taste.

Sometimes i wonder how these prc can sell laksa or lor mee.
!&!!

The tau chew will teach the PRC 80% of his kung fu, PRC will teach the next PRC 80% of the 80%, do the math :D

On a separate note, as an 80s kid i only remembered the following:

1. Mcdonalds in town (what a treat)
2. KFC at Kampung Java (with corn on the cob, ceramic plates, real knifes/forks and fresh buns)
3. Cotton Candy whenever i am at Gayworld amusment park
4. Potong Ice cream man
5. Indian milk sellers delivering fresh milk in milk bottles
6. Rojak man on motorbike, he opens up his box to reveal a pile of fritters, tau poks, pineapple, radish and banana flowers

...........shit you guys are right, where are they now? PAP fucked it up...again :mad:

The last Ting Tang Candy seller, in my area walk for Kilometeres to sell his wares...children told him to retire, but he kept on going, he didn't need the money...just something to keep him busy...

I think with licencing from NEA...or he had passed away killed the ting tang seller... it was one of the best candy...it just melts in your mouth..

the ones selling today...not worth a tasting..

The last good one I tasted was a few years back. That one was solid! Milky white, hard, not-sticky and sweet tasting too! Unlike the ones they sell these days. Soft and sticky to the touch. Taste mostly of malt and poor coloration. :(

Hahaha I can still remember the egg sellers and soya sauce sellers who used to come by every week to top you our supplies. Those were the days. :)

"mak ar tong'?..the ones they twill on sticks?..still selling?...these are the candy the DENTIST RECOMMEND!:D haven't eaten this for a long time..:p

yeah, the auntie is fast catching up on years, try looking out for her around Holland Village.

maltcandyreg.jpg
3043973863_bb640e2b22_m.jpg

If she's still around, should be 98 yrs old

525183800_9a365d9e95.jpg

http://www.flickr.com/photos/75053260@N00/3322978868/

Hahaha I can still remember the egg sellers and soya sauce sellers who used to come by every week to top you our supplies. Those were the days. :)

the agg aunties, as we us to call her, would come in the old van, with trays of eggs on grey cardboards..you can smell the chicken feathers in the van, smell of eggs.. fresh eggs every week..

the soya sauce man with his soy sauce from his rattan basket, the home made or from which ever soy sauce factory...then later from his motorcyle & sidecar...you give him your bottle & he fill it up...

you get fresh soy sauce plus other sauces..fermentated black beans, soya beans, sweet plum sauce, black sweet sauce or the sweet sauce you use for chee cheong fun...

Nothing like buying fresh...to the house & not some bottled use by date from the supermarkets...

yeah, the auntie is fast catching up on years, try looking out for her around Holland Village.

Really, have not eaten that for years, and have not been to Holland Village for a while too...is the contsruction for the MRT station completed or is it still messy?

the agg aunties, as we us to call her, would come in the old van, with trays of eggs on grey cardboards..you can smell the chicken feathers in the van, smell of eggs.. fresh eggs every week..

the soya sauce man with his soy sauce from his rattan basket, the home made or from which ever soy sauce factory...then later from his motorcyle & sidecar...you give him your bottle & he fill it up...

you get fresh soy sauce plus other sauces..fermentated black beans, soya beans, sweet plum sauce, black sweet sauce or the sweet sauce you use for chee cheong fun...

Nothing like buying fresh...to the house & not some bottled use by date from the supermarkets...

Now that really brings back the memories. Don't forget the friendly delivery amn who delivers the glass bottled soft drinks and groceries :D

I always prefer to scoop a teaspoonful of honey into my mouth than to put all that sticky gummy stuff over all my teeth.

My old uncle says he loves this thread very much.

He always ask me to translate all the posts for him. He study only plemly two.