• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WP at the Crossroads?

Most people mistakenly assume that there are only two ways to vote. There is a third way and that is to spoil your vote.

There's no point voting for a useless, incompetent and effete opposition in protest of the PAP. To do so is to send a message to the WP Parliamentarians, or any opposition party for that matter, that choosing to be a career politician simply because the jobs pays very well but being hopeless, useless, incompetent, ineffective, effete and pussilanimous are acceptable conduct and performance as an opposition MP.

I will strongly encourage people to spoil their votes and not vote for the WP until and unless these elected WP MPs shed their incompetence, cowardice, silence and lift their game.

no matter how "useless" WP mps are, they are still streets ahead of the pap arseholes who support Ftrash only.

The outcome comes in very different depth. You have said it all. It has turned into blind hatred and pure blind voting according to party, nothing to do with candidates as well, which you have conveniently ignored.

Png and Lee didn't win because of who they are or what they are, but just which party they join. Well, that is a terrible signal people are getting but in retrospect, what comes fast will go fast as well. Such sentiments can turn very fast. This is due to the irrationality displayed and not something substantial that could have any sustainability.

Well maybe WP leaders know about such possible shortcomings and last I heard, they are only going to focus on winning just another GRC in East Coast while for others, just literally putting tissue papers to chope places or just to prevent other parties to win any seats. Thus, with such strategic mindset installed, I am not that optimistic as Golden Boy that WP will want to send a whole troop of good mix of well qualified people with grassroot people aiming to win more than 30 or even just 20 seats. Sorry folks, this is NOT going to happen as long as the current leadership stays.

Goh Meng Seng

This has to be most ridiculous post ever by you.

There were no distraction and to your point an opportunity that does not affect the political landscape ( I think you mean normal function of government), and the voters had clear options. And in both BEs, they spoke loud and clear. It was not a freak result.

The only uncertainly is the inertia associated with party incumbency.

It no longer was about Yaw, scholars, professionals, etc. It was about the conduct and performance of the PAP which they rejected and chose 2 people who have proven themselves to the voters. Png Eng Huat was no frog jumping from party to party. Li Lian walked the estate twice and the contested the ward unsuccessful during the GE. She and Png also did not make arrogant and stupid comments to the press and the public. Both also did not come out with some silly story about being born in biscuit tin and only with a pair of chop sticks to survive.

Honestly what results would have been good. Who do you think should have won the BEs - Desmond?

You mean we pay our MPs 16K per month to selling party letter??? If PAP MPs are seen selling PAP news letter... They will be fucked left, right and centre...:D

hammer is a source of funding for WP.

petir on the other hand printed using PA aka taxpayer money and given to general public FOC to collect dog poo.:D

The outcome comes in very different depth. You have said it all. It has turned into blind hatred and pure blind voting according to party, nothing to do with candidates as well, which you have conveniently ignored.

Png and Lee didn't win because of who they are or what they are, but just which party they join. Well, that is a terrible signal people are getting but in retrospect, what comes fast will go fast as well. Such sentiments can turn very fast. This is due to the irrationality displayed and not something substantial that could have any sustainability.

It a positive development because that prove that you got the party branding and a system of fighting elections rather than to depend solely on personality to draw the votes. People need to ask the hard question what happen to NSP if Nicole Seah decided to quit?

Well maybe WP leaders know about such possible shortcomings and last I heard, they are only going to focus on winning just another GRC in East Coast while for others, just literally putting tissue papers to chope places or just to prevent other parties to win any seats. Thus, with such strategic mindset installed, I am not that optimistic as Golden Boy that WP will want to send a whole troop of good mix of well qualified people with grassroot people aiming to win more than 30 or even just 20 seats. Sorry folks, this is NOT going to happen as long as the current leadership stays.

Goh Meng Seng

If you have limited resources, you don't have much choice. Let not forget you yourself acknowledge the mistake of spreading your limited resources thin post GE11. If you focus all your best men and resources on TP GRC, who knows NSP might had won?

hammer is a source of funding for WP.

petir on the other hand printed using PA aka taxpayer money and given to general public FOC to collect dog poo.:D
hahaha....it is best to double check before making wild allegations....
don't be like scroobal who always mixed up pap as a party and PA as stat board.
if papee used PA fund to print petir...it is indefensible and papee is not as kuku as you think.

I will strongly encourage people to spoil their votes and not vote for the WP until and unless these elected WP MPs shed their incompetence, cowardice, silence and lift their game.

You do realize that most opposition voters place WP at the top of the pedestal but will vote for any opposition candidate. If they start behaving like you in the opposite way and vote only WP, what will happen? Is this what you want to see?

Png and Lee didn't win because of who they are or what they are, but just which party they join.

WP's brand name didn't go up by magic. Or did you expect the same magic to happen to NSP and was surprised it didn't happen. Members like Png and Lee made the party what it is, not only the other way round. In short, the party brand and its members nurture each other.

Well maybe WP leaders know about such possible shortcomings and last I heard, they are only going to focus on winning just another GRC in East Coast while for others, just literally putting tissue papers to chope places or just to prevent other parties to win any seats.

WP is rather open about the number of seats it plans to contest. Nowhere did I recall it will claim tissue paper over all 87 seats. In 2011, that closest honour belonged to the RP. (But I can't conclude that RP did that to prevent other parties from winning.)

Except for being more robust and challenging in their style in parliament, they cannot do anything else in parliament. They can't even gain access to PA and HDB facilities that was offered to the PAP. They don't even have access to the govt funds which are in the hands of defeated PAP candidate. They also no access to any of the grassroots organisations such as RC, CCC, MCCs which are funded by taxpayers.

They however can take seats away as the PAP has lost its grip over voters. LTK is the shrewdest politician in opposition. Why should LTK go? Who is going to replace him?

Common sense will tell you to play to your strengths.

Thus, with such strategic mindset installed, I am not that optimistic as Golden Boy that WP will want to send a whole troop of good mix of well qualified people with grassroot people aiming to win more than 30 or even just 20 seats. Sorry folks, this is NOT going to happen as long as the current leadership stays.

Goh Meng Seng

Has the prize of Lumber Satu WP Hater been awarded?It must be to Mr Goh Meng Seng!Sayang!

Except for being more robust and challenging in their style in parliament, they cannot do anything else in parliament. They can't even gain access to PA and HDB facilities that was offered to the PAP. They don't even have access to the govt funds which are in the hands of defeated PAP candidate. They also no access to any of the grassroots organisations such as RC, CCC, MCCs which are funded by taxpayers.

They however can take seats away as the PAP has lost its grip over voters. LTK is the shrewdest politician in opposition. Why should LTK go? Who is going to replace him?

I can see that you are trying hard to keep the embers of dissent burning. Responding to General Goh Meng Seng the xiaxue male lookalike constant pouring of cold shit water shows how desperate you are. Don't you get tired? I suggest you get Low Thia Kiang to move aside and let this bastard take over WP and all will be peaceful under the sky.

I am really surprised to read what Kingrant is writing here. :)

But I will say, not only PAP needs to change, WP needs the change quite badly. This is already past the half way point since last GE2011. The whole problem of WP, from weak performance in Parliament to FMSS, all point to the need to change leadership. Without an overhaul of leadership, there will be no new vision, new direction and new way of tackling problems and performance in parliament.

I am personally impressed with Chen Shao Mao's way of conducting his MPS which is quite professionally done to increase efficiency using technology. Although I still think his parliamentary performance still fall short of expectation but I believe this man is no simple potato by simply looking at the way he organize his workflow. He should be able to bring in fresh ideas and new ways of conducting politics. I believe his hands are tied by the current WP leadership, from the simple observation that a man of his caliber, has not been appointed to any official position! Not in CEC or Town Council, even though he is practically a FULL TIME MP and politician! It is an obvious attempt to sideline him and tying his hands!

But I doubt the cadres will support a leadership change. From my interactions with some of the WP cadres, they are not favourable for a leadership change. So we will be stuck with a overly conservative leadership which will not grow the party nor make of progress of the party. I empathize Chen Shao Mao's current situation because that is exactly what I dislike before I quit WP. Politicians have to be given room for their grooming, in all aspects. Such tying of hands and legs of good talents will not do the party any good.

Goh Meng Seng

Who amongst the WP cadres are you interacting with Mr. Goh?

hahaha....trust the retarded empty vessels, scroobal and his pcc partner (papsmearer) to cum up with this type of thread.....and get away with it..
anybody with half a brain should know that if u have nothing good to say about things you support, don't say anything....
with such threads casting doubts in the mind of the neutrals, u are sabotaging the overall opps cause...
so don't blame the 60.1% and blatantly label others papee IBs ....look at the mirror yourself first....
truly retarded anal-ysts....

Kukubird, you are my idol!

Most of you are just too coined in that little box of PAP.

There are four official languages in Parliament and Chinese is one of them; not Hainanese.

LTK looks very pathetic when he needs to listen to interpretation while PM Lee hoot him while he tried very hard and sometimes LOST when he translated his thoughts from Chinese to English. Just let PM Lee listen to interpretation while trying to understand LTK's rebuttal lah!

LTK has said he doesn't aspire to be to PM and WP not going to be ruling party any sooner. There is absolutely nothing wrong with using Chinese. In fact, if PM Lee or PAP shows any issue with this, LTK would have mocked them for their failure of "Mother Tongue" education!

Between looking like a lost sheep or tongue tied while debating vs making effective strong points during it, I would choose the later. In fact, I will switch in between languages!

Goh Meng Seng

Mr. Goh, I ask you once more. Will you work with Roy and the activists?

GMS thinks very highly of himself. I dare say he sees Roy and the rest no up. If he relents, they have to work with him and not he work with them.

When one day Goh Meng Seng stopped to think very highly of himself and his values, alternative voice will be in trouble except alternative action.

Png and Lee didn't win because of who they are or what they are, but just which party they join. Well, that is a terrible signal people are getting but in retrospect, what comes fast will go fast as well. Such sentiments can turn very fast. This is due to the irrationality displayed and not something substantial that could have any issue papers to chope places or just to prev

Goh Meng Seng

吴明盛

仇恨,妒忌,报复令你脑残。放下执着,敞开胸襟。你会快乐一点。

Goh Meng Seng

If WP fielded Desmond in place of Ah Huat or Ah Lian, Desmond now MP? Surely an intelligent man like you knows it cannot be just WP that entices voters to vote their candidate.

I have already explained earlier.

I was a skeptic of Chen Shao Mao but after I visited his MPS and see how he organizes his work, I am convinced he is the hidden dragon within WP. People normally brush away such simple minor things but I see great potential in him via such simple things which he can make such drastic changes. Yes, he will be the agent of change for WP although on the outside, he seems to be reserved and conservative, most probably due to Party Whip.

All these complains about no access to stuffs controlled by PAP is only half valid. There are many things that one could leverage on, using minimum resources to create the greatest impact on the political front. You need people who can think out of the box, be creative and innovative in looking at issues and problems. CSM, through his little unintended display of talent through that simple MPS conduct, you can see all these qualities and talent in him.

IF WP didn't CHANGE back in 2001-2006, you won't be seeing any substantial brand progression. There are a lot of agents of change during that period and some of the things we have initiated back then, are still being used, followed or further improvised for the present WP. But these are not enough. We need more agents of change for WP, to have people to come up with fresh new ideas to improve all aspects of political work... starting from MPS to many other things. I believe CSM will have that brain to move a lot of things.

But alas, as I have said, the cadres aren't seeing it that way and most of them seem to think like you. So to me, WP will not be that progressive as it has reached its bottleneck with the current leadership. We will have to look into other places for new methodology and ideas to be carried out so to challenge PAP more effectively.

Goh Meng Seng