• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chinese tourists refused to return stainless steel cutlery on SQ flight

But the ah tiong already go to space ..and also the whole world only take plane about 50 to 60 years,,,so still not enough meh? and they got 5000 year of history leh,,,dont play play...and yet they still get no where..

another ingenious tiong thing, they are already building the aircraft carrier for space,,..its in the ah tiong news..amazing..but they stole the designs from Hollywood,,,

[video=youtube;DnPeBULLDYY]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DnPeBULLDYY&feature=c4-overview&list=UU8Ioh4atNDO5a0Vy2qFmauQ[/video]

Take 5000 years to be cultured, air traveling only barely 50 60 years mah, must wait 4950 years more

Singaporeans behaved like this before back in the 60s to 70s time.

Got into the planes grab all the magazines and newspapers the moment they entered the planes. Go to the toilet grabbed all the toiletries stuff and empty the whole planes. Now you can see this filthy behaviours repeated for you to see. Who are these Singaporeans no other than the old baby boomers of LKY, LHL age group (1946-1964). Shame on them.

ilovesingapore

Singaporeans behaved like this before back in the 60s to 70s time.

Got into the planes grab all the magazines and newspapers the moment they entered the planes. Go to the toilet grabbed all the toiletries stuff and empty the whole planes. Now you can see this filthy behaviours repeated for you to see. Who are these Singaporeans no other than the old baby boomers of LKY, LHL age group (1946-1964). Shame on them.

thanks to mr lee kuan yew's relentless campaigns, we singaporeans are a more cultured, more refined and more sophisticated people

with some exceptions of course > the phuacb gang and the wicked incestuous paedopilic WIKIPHILE!!!

nothing to do we LKY and his campaigns, dont give him credit.

This is part of growing up and Singaporeans just don't do it anymore and now watch their past guilt and their shame shown before them today.

thanks to mr lee kuan yew's relentless campaigns, we singaporeans are a more cultured, more refined and more sophisticated people

with some exceptions of course > the phuacb gang and the wicked incestuous paedopilic WIKIPHILE!!!

But the ah tiong already go to space ..and also the whole world only take plane about 50 to 60 years,,,so still not enough meh? and they got 5000 year of history leh,,,dont play play...and yet they still get no where..

another ingenious tiong thing, they are already building the aircraft carrier for space,,..its in the ah tiong news..amazing..but they stole the designs from Hollywood,,,

[video=youtube;DnPeBULLDYY]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DnPeBULLDYY&feature=c4-overview&list=UU8Ioh4atNDO5a0Vy2qFmauQ[/video]

Bro, this Asian girl not pretty ya?

Whatever campaigns that PAP rolls out reflect the lacking in our society. The courtesy campaign started because there were a lot of rude bastards around in Sinkapore. It stopped not because we have improved but because they found out we were hopeless.

i think the chinese need mr lee kuan yew courtesy campaigns every year

youth123

Yes this I have to agree with you The_Hypocrite

Also very true, even if not working under them also must working against them in competition.

The article says Zhejiang province which is southern china province, aka Jiangnan area, not northerners as depicted by The_Hypocrite. I think The_Hypocrite has taken his dislike for Mandarin too far by being so extreme. I think majority of Chinese, north or south , do not hold his extreme views.

true. my sinkie friend also kapok 8 sets of sq cutlery plus those cute tiny cubelike salt and pepper dispensers. and he served meals for me and buddies using them at his home. he was very proud and fond of them. he was on a round trip tour on sq with his wife and 2 kids. on the way to l.a. he, wife and kids took and hid 4 sets. on the way back, they hid 4 more sets. if they took all sets from all meals, the total would have been 24. :eek: they are kind and gracious enough to restrict themselves to 8. :biggrin:

so why didn't you chastize him for this boorish behavior?

The article says Zhejiang province which is southern china province, aka Jiangnan area, not northerners as depicted by The_Hypocrite. I think The_Hypocrite has taken his dislike for Mandarin too far by being so extreme. I think majority of Chinese, north or south , do not hold his extreme views.

Since most sinkies are from the extreme south like fujian/ guangzhou areas, areas that are considered the south of china would be like the north to them but that's kind of silly cos in that cos only fujian and guangzhou would be the south of china.

ilovesingapore

even some europeans are doing it

nice spoon, nice fork, nice knife...sia all very nice to steal....and usually they don't check at all

the ice cream spoon is very cute,unique and nice...but i give it a pass...proud to fly sia always

cockie

Why are Chinese tourists so rude? A few insights

After almost every 'rude Chinese tourist' story, unfortunately, made SCMP.com's top-10 list, I decided to give the question some serious thought
They are seen as pushy, loud, impolite, unruly, and they are everywhere.

And although destination countries welcome the tourism dollars the Chinese spend, they loathe the chaos and hassle some mainland tourists bring upon their cities and other tourists.

“Why can’t they just behave?” people wonder, some aloud.

I have been asking myself the same question in the past months after reporting on the uncivilised, sometimes galling behaviour of some compatriots.

It seems that every time a “rude Chinese tourist" story is published on SCMP.com, it goes straight into the site's top 10 most read articles - one such article even managed to crawl back to the top months after it was posted. So I decided to give the question some serious thought.

I read up on the topic, talked to tourism experts and travel agents and chatted with some of these tourists who are now at the centre of public anger.

It soon dawned on me that the real question to ask is: “Why are the Chinese rude?”

Yong Chen, tourism researcher and post-doctoral fellow at Hong Kong Polytechnic University, said most “bad” tourists don’t intend to be “bad” or “tourists”, they are just being themselves - they are being Chinese.

Education makes a difference

Not every Chinese tourist is a rude one, and educated people are usually better behaved than those who have had a lower standard of education, said Chen.

This could be why middle-aged or older tourists who have been deprived of or received little education during China's politically tumultuous times tend to act more unruly. Many of them do not speak English, and some are not fluent Putonghua speakers. Their knowledge of the destination country and its culture is often at best outdated or non-existent.
This might explain the behaviour of a "rogue” mainland couple who recently visited Hong Kong with a group. They called the police and demanded HK$3,000 yuan in compensation after being made to wait two hours for their coach. The travel agency later said the coach had broken down and accused them of “blackmailing”.

Disregard for customs and rules

Jenny Wang, a Beijing-based Maldives travel agent, said uneducated tourists usually turn a blind eye to local rules and customs.

A Chinese man who was recently vacationing at a Maldives resort flipped out after discovering that the restaurant where he wanted to eat was fully booked, Wang said. He yelled threats and slurs at Chinese staff until one member was in tears.

“You cannot reason with these kinds of people,” Wang said. “They think they can do anything with their money.”

But one thing many Chinese vacationers don’t want to do with their money is tip - a custom in some places which many have ignored, Wang said.

Though most travel agents in China would educate their clients about tipping in a foreign country ahead of their trip, most people ended up tipping very little or none.
Some are not used to the idea of tipping, and they fail to understand that staff working at the Maldives resorts, who usually earn a meagre salary, rely heavily on tips, Wang said.

This has created increasing tensions between the Chinese and their hosts. Staff would naturally prefer serving guests from countries with a tipping culture. Other staff have gone after Chinese clients and asked openly for tips, a rare thing for them to do in the past.

Lawless for a reason

Students at Ewha University in Seoul, known for its beautiful campus, have recently complained about an influx of Chinese tourists, said the school.

Apparently taking photos on campus was not enough. Some camera-toting Chinese would also stride into libraries and take photos without the permission of students, according to media reports.

“As much as we want to keep the campus open to the local community,” said a university representative, “we’d like to prioritise our students’ right to study in a quiet and safe environment.”
Ewha resolved the crisis by putting up multi-language signs advising tourists to stay clear of study areas.

It seems that thousands of years after Confucius admonished his students not to “impose on others what you yourself don’t desire", the Chinese now act in quite the opposite way.

Such people, both overseas and at home, selfishly skirted rules for a reason, said Chen.

Living in China, where the rule-of-law doesn’t exist, means everyone has to look out for their own interest. It also means people have little or no respect for laws.

This is bound to happen when ordinary folk are forced to watch their laws being violated every day by their leaders, Chen said, citing the Chinese idiom, shang xing xia xiao, meaning “people in lower class follow what their leaders in the upper class do”.

How long do we have to put up with bad tourists?

China and its people are paying a price for the bad behaviour of their tourists.

A poll by the Public Opinion Programme of the University of Hong Kong recently found that the number of Hongkongers holding negative feelings towards Beijing and mainland Chinese is up by about 40 per cent since November.

Following that survey, SCMP.com conducted another online poll on Wednesday, headlined “What makes some Hongkongers dislike mainland China and its people?”
As of noon, more than 50 per cent readers blamed the negative feelings on “ill-behaved tourists”.

“The Chinese government and travel agencies should take the initiative to educate our tourists,” Chen said, urging co-operation from both authorities and private sectors.

While many argue that historically American and Japanese tourists were also criticised for their bad behaviour when they became wealthy enough and traveled abroad for the first time, Chen said the Chinese should not use this as an excuse.

In fact, the Communist Party's Central Guidance Commission for Building Spiritual Civilisation and the China National Tourism Administration have recently issued a 128-character-long rhyme to remind tourists of behaving in a “civilised manner” on the road. The topic has also been a big hit on China's social media, where bloggers discuss and criticise the uncivlised behaviour of their compatriots.

But many are not optimistic that the situation will change any time soon.

“Chinese tourists have a long way to go before they will be respected by the world,” said Wang.

Very good SCMP article. To all those who say singkies act like take toilet paper etc from the planes in the 60s till 80s or whatever, I do not think singkies have gone to such extremes as highlighted in the article.

Bus late for 2 hours, they complain, and demand this and that. Were singkies that unreasonable? Even the Koreans are pissed off with them, and Koreans are not that cultured themselves. So this just proves these mainlanders especially from the north and the mandarin speaking ones are worse than uncultured, they are barbarians. And to think in chinese history, the Ming Dynasty was the greatest empire, when the tang dynasty was around, the brits were still living in huts and caves...the chinese invented gunpower, paper, the Cheng Ho's treasure fleet which were more advanced than what the british had during the opium wars. and yet this is the mentality and attitudes..

The article states the chinese have to fight and demand their rights etc, the law dont protect them.
Communism was suppose to advanced china, and it did, look at chinese cities, so advanced, etc etc,,but the attitude is no better than the barbarians,,and chinese always see others as barbarians..but yet are the barbarians themselves,,

just my rants

Very good SCMP article. To all those who say singkies act like take toilet paper etc from the planes in the 60s till 80s or whatever, I do not think singkies have gone to such extremes as highlighted in the article.

Bus late for 2 hours, they complain, and demand this and that. Were singkies that unreasonable? Even the Koreans are pissed off with them, and Koreans are not that cultured themselves. So this just proves these mainlanders especially from the north and the mandarin speaking ones are worse than uncultured, they are barbarians. And to think in chinese history, the Ming Dynasty was the greatest empire, when the tang dynasty was around, the brits were still living in huts and caves...the chinese invented gunpower, paper, the Cheng Ho's treasure fleet which were more advanced than what the british had during the opium wars. and yet this is the mentality and attitudes..

The article states the chinese have to fight and demand their rights etc, the law dont protect them.
Communism was suppose to advanced china, and it did, look at chinese cities, so advanced, etc etc,,but the attitude is no better than the barbarians,,and chinese always see others as barbarians..but yet are the barbarians themselves,,

just my rants

I am very clear about this, I've 3 very frightening experience before. I could only keep quiet and watch while these people went bonkers.

Yup that is why to me, Everywhere else is the north,,and looking at the map,,why is Nanjing called Nanjing? its not in the south wat,,,,

Since most sinkies are from the extreme south like fujian/ guangzhou areas, areas that are considered the south of china would be like the north to them but that's kind of silly cos in that cos only fujian and guangzhou would be the south of china.

Yup that is why to me, Everywhere else is the north,,and looking at the map,,why is Nanjing called Nanjing? its not in the south wat,,,,

I think the reason is because its south of Beijing that's why its known as Nanjing and East of Beijing that's why they call it 东京 Tokyo. Don't laugh, there is also a 西京 XiJing in the west.

It's called context lor. China is damn big anyway.

Take the east and the west. The US is very big and considered part of the western world. Europe is the east of US but considered part of the west too. Countries like turkey for example are not a part of europe so they considered the east aka near east.