• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Royal Carribean Cruise

TracyTan866

if you're sailing on an oasis class liner, the latest two ships, oasis of the seas and allure of the seas, have recently been upgraded to carry over 6000 passengers and 2300 crew members. these two ships normally sail the caribbean. but if one of them is sailing the far east, it's big news for the cruise world as neither of them can get thru' the panama canal. it must be a smaller ship. :p

mariner of the seas, voyager class, 3000 passengers, 1000 crew.
10-night exotic asia cruise
departure: june 8, 2013
ports of call: singapore, ho chi minh, hong kong, okinawa, jeju, shanghai
starting price: usd1,170 per passenger

wow..oasis and allure are big ships!!!

roadrunner

sounds exotic.. why did u give up on cruising?

once you've done a few, it's pretty much the same thing, i prefer something different & stimulating for my holidays & that's why we sailed from Belize all the way to Florida with a experienced sailor which my friend from Grenada recommended. It was all hands on deck & took about 4/5 months but it was an experience & we saw so much more of the locals & their culture. Belize i liked very much, very interesting mix of people there too!

TracyTan866

once you've done a few, it's pretty much the same thing, i prefer something different & stimulating for my holidays & that's why we sailed from Belize all the way to Florida with a experienced sailor which my friend from Grenada recommended. It was all hands on deck & took about 4/5 months but it was an experience & we saw so much more of the locals & their culture. Belize i liked very much, very interesting mix of people there too!

wow..you sound like a rich man

TracyTan866

I have cruise on most cruise line which is available, i did a couples of cruise on Royal Carribean it is inexpensive doesn't cost more than 700 which include flight for 1 week cruise from Canada.

Try Princess cruise and Viking cruise and you will see the different that is my opnion, here is a link http://www.smartcruiser.com/

good to know that Royal Caribbean is not expensive.

my only cruise experience was on Superstar Virgo

liongsam

The most satisfying and romantic holiday has to be Florence.

You can share a romantic and blazing sunset on Ponte Vecchio and cuddle up for a romantic kiss with the backdrop of some street musician.

Into the evening, you can go to San Nicholas, famous for intimate restaurants, where you can enjoy a quiet and romantic dinner by candlelight with your loved one. It is just a flight of steps down to the district, for some sumptuous erotic and culinary delight.

The islands that cruise ships drop anchor, they're all geared towards tourism, nothing wrong with that if you like that kind of thing. Some of the islands are quite dry, i guess it was dry season when i was there or else it would be Hurricane season & you would dread not knowing if you had a roof left on your house! Island life can be quite EX as those drier islands had water rationing & what they can't produce themselves had to be shipped in. One house i stayed in had a small swimming pool but it was very EX to fill it up so nobody bothered! Quite common to see water tanks in compound & you pay for that once a year to be topped up. In the rural areas it's like malay kampung lifestyle, houses with open compound & those "malay" kampung chickens running around! All the older folks i spoke to had more or less the same thing to say, that life was better in the old days even though they all had more money now but also more problems with "dem yoot".

Belize was the best for fauna & cultural diversity but i couldn't understand their patois, Cayman was nice but flat & EX, Jamaica was a real surprise, it was really green & mountainous but you really need a guide or friend to bring you out especially in the towns if you want to go listen to music or hang out in a bar, Turks & Caicos is another super EX resort with private villas but also rather flat, the Bahamas was very civilised, quite a lot of Angmos living there, boleh chakup patois like the locals, but on the whole it was pretty boring for me as it was quite Americanized. If i were to choose, i'd say the Windies/Windward islands are the best but it's also quite a lot of tourists during the dry season, that's why i prefer Belize as it's tucked away, machiam relaak one korner in the Caribbean :smile: hope this answers your Qs Jah.

Yes tourism is a big money maker in the carribean. Nothing wrong with that. Many countries depend on tourism for their livelihood. This country also uses touriusm as one of the main factors to earn income hence the fake merlion and the other artificial shit.

Rural life in the carribean is like the malay kampung life. Attap houses with zinc roofs. The patios on each island is also different. There are 2 main languages spoken on the carribean but in patois form not in the pure form which is basically just like singlish. Spanish and english. The only island different from the rest of the carribean is haiti cos they speak a french patois rather than spanish or english.

Nice that you went to jamaica. I figure you didn't go to kingston over there. Overall i figure that ppl in the carribean are rather poor just that some islands are lucky they get strong tourist dollars from european and american tourists like the bahamas. The bahamian currency is quite strong. I think 1 bahamian dollar is probably even bigger than the USD. The sing dollar is of course pretty strong, singapore dollar is a very strong currency.

Thanks for sharing your experience.

does he sound like a refined person to you?

Eatshit known as cutebayhunk in the old forum. I understand he's not that young rather like a grandfather. The fact of the matter isn't his demeanour or how he posts on the forum. It is his external appearance. Since he looks chinese ppl are just going to assume he is from HK or china and it is still true that the majority of chinese and asians for that matter speak their native language rather than english so yes i figure they thought he was one of the HK or china ppl. Why would they think otherwise?

Two things. Today, Sinkies are more self-conscious. PRCs are not. We know if we open our mouth, it is all Singlish coming out unless we are more careful. Even if we speak in a polished tongue, we can leave the odd impression in others: "Why is this Chinese speaking in English? No he is not American because he doesn't roll his 'r's".

The next alternative is to try speaking in Mandarin or dialect. The Chinese will probably know you are not one of them but to the others, including Americanised ex-Sinkies, you are some loud-mouthed PRC. So better remain quiet.

Secondly, we are conditioned not to speak our mind. So what do we have to announce to the public about?

Just wondering whether Neil Humphreys is a forummer here. He might be able to gather sufficient material for his new book when you have finished with your cruise. Or was he the one who invited you?

Hasn't neil done his adventures or something to that effect life on a small island to death?

Time to move on to another country. What new insight could he garner about this island that has not already been said in his past books or on forums like this?

Fook Seng

Hasn't neil done his adventures or something to that effect life on a small island to death?

Time to move on to another country. What new insight could he garner about this island that has not already been said in his past books or on forums like this?

He has returned from Australia and I heard he has yet another new book on this small island but I have not read it.

Fook Seng

Imagine with his writing skills what he can create out of making babies on board a cruise? And a cruise is actually moving to another country, in fact to several countries in one go. Also a ship is like a tiny island.

no thanks. anyone that built their writing career from writing a repertoire of stories on sinkland is like someone making gold from straw.

roadrunner

The patios on each island is also different. There are 2 main languages spoken on the carribean but in patois form not in the pure form which is basically just like singlish. Spanish and english. The only island different from the rest of the carribean is haiti cos they speak a french patois rather than spanish or english.

Jah, Haiti is not the only country in the Caribbean that speaks French, the islands of St. Martin, Martinique, St Barts & Guadeloupe are all part of France's DOM - Départements et Territoires d'Outre-Mer, it means it's govern just like in France, it uses the Euro as it's currency, these islands are not French colonies but are in fact France!

The Dutch are also represented in the Caribbean, they're called the Dutch Antilles, Aruba & Curacao the well known ones.

Nice that you went to jamaica. I figure you didn't go to kingston over there.

Had to go to Kingston to get the onward paperwork for our boat sorted out, after that we drove anti-clockwise round the island to Spanish Town, Negril, Montego Bay, Oracabessa bay, Port Antonio. i think about 3 weeks there.

Not all of the Caribbeans are poor, lots of mix blood just like the rich old Perenakans in Singapore & Malaysia, there's families with old money & of course new money. It's all about connections my friend tells me.

Eatshit known as cutebayhunk in the old forum. I understand he's not that young rather like a grandfather. The fact of the matter isn't his demeanour or how he posts on the forum. It is his external appearance. Since he looks chinese ppl are just going to assume he is from HK or china and it is still true that the majority of chinese and asians for that matter speak their native language rather than english so yes i figure they thought he was one of the HK or china ppl. Why would they think otherwise?

i am neanderthal. always am, always will be. :biggrin:

I don't know why , all of suddenly I think of this song when I saw this thread :wink:

[video=youtube;saalGKY7ifU]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=saalGKY7ifU&sns=em[/video]