• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Royal Carribean Cruise

roadrunner

for many routes except alaska, hawaii, mexico, panama and the caribbean, there are fewer americans these days. it depends on the season, discounts and economy.

The Caribbean cruises back in 2005/6 before the shit hit the fan was full of Yanks, not sure about now, i've done my share of cruises & probably won't do anymore.

any cruise with too many bumpkin asians on board, especially sinkies, chinkies, hongkies is a no-no for me. it's not a holiday cruise anymore where you can relax and enjoy.

again i don't know, last Asian cruise i did was in the 1980s those days it wasn't PRCs but local Towkays from Singapore & KL, cow-bay-cow-bu with each other, even talkcock also so damn loud, once bar opens for drinks they cheong, not shy to ask for double or triple scotch one after another, the more drunk they got the worst they became!

roadrunner

Bro which carribean islands did it go thru? Did it go thru jamaica? Trindiad and tobago has also pretty nice music. Haiti sucks of course.

Barbados, Grenada, St.Vincent, Antigua, St. Lucia, St. Kitts. BVI. it did not go to Jamaica but on another trip i sailed from Belize, Cayman, Jamaica, Turks & Caicos all the way up to Florida. That was 10 times better than any cruise but alas my sailing days are over:(

Nice. The smaller islands are like paradises on earth. Belize is just like guyana that are part of the main land of america rather than islands but still a part of the carribean. How was the islands like?

chuckyworld

Try Princess cruise, foods are excellent shore excursion you pay, price wise are not expesnive, value for your money worthwhile spending....:biggrin:

If you happen to visit the places listed, please do the FAS a favour by talent spotting some cheap soccer players for our S-League.

Try Princess cruise, foods are excellent shore excursion you pay, price wise are not expesnive, value for your money worthwhile spending....:biggrin:

princess is my favorite. best itineraries, best value, best service, best food, best crew and best passengers.

costa, which is part of the carnival group which includes seabourne and princess, is offering 200% discount now on the starboard side of the costa concordia. need to bring scuba gear. :*:

chuckyworld

princess is my favorite. best itineraries, best value, best service, best food, best crew and best passengers.

costa, which is part of the carnival group which includes seabourne and princess, is offering 200% discount now on the starboard side of the costa concordia. need to bring scuba gear. :*:

Sweet, i was on ruby princess earlier this year 14 days cruise med. carribean cruise suck, been to a few no interest, prefer to do river cruise by Viking worth every cents you spend on it......:smile:

roadrunner

Nice. The smaller islands are like paradises on earth. Belize is just like guyana that are part of the main land of america rather than islands but still a part of the carribean. How was the islands like?

The islands that cruise ships drop anchor, they're all geared towards tourism, nothing wrong with that if you like that kind of thing. Some of the islands are quite dry, i guess it was dry season when i was there or else it would be Hurricane season & you would dread not knowing if you had a roof left on your house! Island life can be quite EX as those drier islands had water rationing & what they can't produce themselves had to be shipped in. One house i stayed in had a small swimming pool but it was very EX to fill it up so nobody bothered! Quite common to see water tanks in compound & you pay for that once a year to be topped up. In the rural areas it's like malay kampung lifestyle, houses with open compound & those "malay" kampung chickens running around! All the older folks i spoke to had more or less the same thing to say, that life was better in the old days even though they all had more money now but also more problems with "dem yoot".

Belize was the best for fauna & cultural diversity but i couldn't understand their patois, Cayman was nice but flat & EX, Jamaica was a real surprise, it was really green & mountainous but you really need a guide or friend to bring you out especially in the towns if you want to go listen to music or hang out in a bar, Turks & Caicos is another super EX resort with private villas but also rather flat, the Bahamas was very civilised, quite a lot of Angmos living there, boleh chakup patois like the locals, but on the whole it was pretty boring for me as it was quite Americanized. If i were to choose, i'd say the Windies/Windward islands are the best but it's also quite a lot of tourists during the dry season, that's why i prefer Belize as it's tucked away, machiam relaak one korner in the Caribbean :smile: hope this answers your Qs Jah.

roadrunner

If you happen to visit the places listed, please do the FAS a favour by talent spotting some cheap soccer players for our S-League.

Bro GoldenDragon, i doubt i'll be heading that way soon, not in my current condition but i'll ask my friend, his father is a MP or probably a former MP now in Grenada, but like all retired politicians he doesn't do anything for free, what's my cut? mister 25% is what i used to call him. If you're looking for cheap soccer players my guess is Jamaica & Haiti becos they're much bigger islands & have more people & they're quite poor & desperate to get out.

roadrunner

Ahahaha.. that one called Zuppa de Mare, can really taste the seafood, super fresh! :eek: :biggrin:

Sweet, i was on ruby princess earlier this year 14 days cruise med. carribean cruise suck, been to a few no interest, prefer to do river cruise by Viking worth every cents you spend on it......:smile:

took the ruby princess too last year on the grand med cruise. venice to barcelona with stops in athens, kusadasi/ephesus, instanbul, mykonos, naples, civitavecchia/rome, livorno, monaco. fantastic vacation at a reasonably affordable price. booked oceanview, and got upgraded to balcony for no extra charge. did the california coastal this year. will do the 14-day roundtrip from san fran to hawaii next year.

chuckyworld

took the ruby princess too last year on the grand med cruise. venice to barcelona with stops in athens, kusadasi/ephesus, instanbul, mykonos, naples, civitavecchia/rome, livorno, monaco. fantastic vacation at a reasonably affordable price. booked oceanview, and got upgraded to balcony for no extra charge. did the california coastal this year. will do the 14-day roundtrip from san fran to hawaii next year.

I did the same cruise as you,most shore excursion we do it ourselves plus you see more , we flew to Rome a few days earlier to explore Rome, Florence and Milan before joining the ship in venice.....most likely next year will be doing the South America cruise from Brazil to Peru, will be doing the river winter cruise if time permit as i migh be heading back to SG for a couple of week....:smile:

Fook Seng

Bruce Lee was handicap in that respect, he was only firing from 1 ball ahahha. Tracy should bring her own "Do not disturb" sign for her door, it should read "Trying for 1st baby!" :biggrin:

Then she will find her room often broken into using the master key and a sheepish looking crew staff uttering "对不起".

Fook Seng

you can discover a sinkie by the way he speaks. and everyone around him will cringe. to have a loudmouthed sinkie at a table does not give you a good dining experience, that i can guarantee. :biggrin:

How about Anericanised Sinkies? Do they do this in a fake American accent?

Fook Seng

again i don't know, last Asian cruise i did was in the 1980s those days it wasn't PRCs but local Towkays from Singapore & KL, cow-bay-cow-bu with each other, even talkcock also so damn loud, once bar opens for drinks they cheong, not shy to ask for double or triple scotch one after another, the more drunk they got the worst they became!

Sinkies those days were like PRCs today. Today Sinkies are very quiet - dare not talk. Same here in Singapore.

Kuailan

I have been invited to a Royal Caribbean Mariner of the Seas Cruise.

Anyone familiar with this cruise? Any advice?

Thanks in advance

If you go for Carribean cruise if you'll never never like the others.
e.g. Star Cruise!

Carribean Cruise is well organised u never feel its so crowded like Star Cruise,
human traffic jam! even dinning or breakfast at Carribean cruise u feel there's no rush,
dinning hall is so big, where spaciousness, sitting area, feel comfortable!

When arriving and departure at Carribean Cruise there's no rush, one word: Well Organised!
Food is fantastic!!

TracyTan866

Not much difference, it's jam packed with old retirees, young & middle aged couples & the majority of the passangers are Americans, although not as many families with kids like the Asian cruises. Every port of call they let you off for 1/2 day to do duty free shopping or just hit the local bars, after a while it's damn sian man. Had the opportunity to see life on the side of the local Caribbean islander, it's pretty much idylic island life like you see in the movies but when the cruise ships came into port, KNN it was panic stations, like the local population trebled or quadrupeld in size! during peak season, 2 or 3 cruise ships would come into port but can't complain as that's when the islanders make their money before the Hurricane season starts.

Would be interesting to see how Atas the passangers are on your cruise & if there's any uncouth PRCs, don't say i see people no up ah, but i remember last time i was on a Asian cruise during the 80s & simply hated the AhPeks & Towkays, they spat & talked loudly & spent every minute cry father, cry mother & that was before they hit the bars for their free drinks, sipay jialat & i sumpah never to go on another Asian cruise!

sounds like it is npot a fun crusie...may have to skip the crowded places and stay onboard.

One of my aim is to get out of crowded SG..i dont want to go to another crowded cruise